View Full Version : Does anybody Respect "Flog Quartermain"?

shotta
14 Jun 2008, 22:29
Not hard to see why his best mate is Maher, Birds of a feather.......

retroparty
14 Jun 2008, 22:31
Nope.

fishbowl
14 Jun 2008, 22:31
He is better than Dwayne Russell and Tony Shaw.

Arecsa
14 Jun 2008, 22:33
I rate the Ox over Quarterbrain and his flog mates from channel 10.

dmc333
Not hard to see why his best mate is Maher, Birds of a feather.......

He is a Hawthorn man.

That counts for nothing? :(

doofdoof
More biased than Eddie ever was

Hawthorn1971
The answer is NO.

IF Hawthorn ever again achieve the 'Ultimate Glory', and SQ is still alive, he has no right to partake in celebrations.

I will repeat that.

IF Hawthorn ever again achieve the 'Ultimate Glory', and SQ is still alive, he has no right to partake in celebrations.

thewhippersnapper
14 Jun 2008, 22:35
The answer is NO.

I will repeat that.

Why is that?

dmc333
14 Jun 2008, 22:35
I rate the Ox over Quarterbrain and his flog mates from channel 10.

Oh no you didn't.

That needs to be retracted, sure 10 are scraping the bottom of the barrel, but Ox is the bottom of the barrel.

jonesy86
14 Jun 2008, 22:36
At least Ch 7 don't let their bias come through in their commentary... Ch 10 are shocking, Quarters, Lane, Walls, Christian, Maher, Hudson etc... don't even try to hide it any more.

hawks_time
14 Jun 2008, 22:37
I'm just glad he barracks for Hawthorn.

anon_ehawk
14 Jun 2008, 22:38
He was fighting against adelaide and carlton people. No chance. No worries. He lost.

Arecsa
14 Jun 2008, 22:39
Ox is good entertainment value, I can only imagine the looks Dennis and co constantly give him in the commentary box when he puts forth his "special comments" and the Ox thread on here is gold aswell. Quarterbrain and his mates are just useless though.

likka
14 Jun 2008, 22:39
Oh no you didn't.

That needs to be retracted, sure 10 are scraping the bottom of the barrel, but Ox is the bottom of the barrel.

What he said, scraping the bottom of all sporting commentator barrells... not just footy.

Can tolerate Quarters, more enjoyable to listen to than flogs like Tim Lane and a dementia ridden Malcom Blight.

Black JuJu
14 Jun 2008, 22:40
Quick mods!

Move this thread to that completely redundant 'footy media' board you created for no apparent reason! :thumbsu:

likka
14 Jun 2008, 22:41
Ox is good entertainment value

About as entertaining for the listener as a boiling coffee enema.

Gods_Son23
14 Jun 2008, 22:51
I've never been a fan of Quartermain

MightyHawks
14 Jun 2008, 22:55
Any idea who Tim Lane was going for?

Really interesting how they replayed an incident twice where buddy got a free kick when bock landed on his back. Tim kept saying there was no free kick, but they kept stopping the replay before the incident...

Carn Hawkas
14 Jun 2008, 23:00
Quarters isnt that bad. Much better than the knobs he was working with tonight.

serenityNow
14 Jun 2008, 23:02
Nope.

Messenger
14 Jun 2008, 23:04
If Hawthorn slip up (again) this season or go through a slump in form, the first person in line from the media to throw a rock at the HFC will be S.Quartermain. Fair weather supporter of the highest order.

Seriously people, there are many worse than him.

peejay
14 Jun 2008, 23:24
He has great sporting knowledge but is not a good caller. And believe it or not Andy maher is a nice bloke when not on TV.

branedotorg
14 Jun 2008, 23:30
i liked the time he drunkenly picked a fight with jean claude van damme after the kickboxing midget was checking out quarter's wife.

as a commentator? not so much

sen entertainment bloke
15 Jun 2008, 00:54
Good genuine bloke.

Black JuJu
15 Jun 2008, 17:32
i liked the time he drunkenly picked a fight with jean claude van damme after the kickboxing midget was checking out quarter's wife.

Van Damme grabbed his wife's chesticle, good on him for standing up to the guy!

boomer37
15 Jun 2008, 20:28
At least Ch 7 don't let their bias come through in their commentary... Ch 10 are shocking, Quarters, Lane, Walls, Christian, Maher, Hudson etc... don't even try to hide it any more.

totally agree! it is getting worse as each round goes by. and also Tim Lane seems to use him commentary time to get on his soap box and complain about rules and continually go on about them for 10 minutes. He is a flog and should be given the boot!

Channel 10 have the worst group of commentators by far. I only like hudson, blight, voss.

Chief
16 Jun 2008, 00:15
Quick mods!

Move this thread to that completely redundant 'footy media' board you created for no apparent reason! :thumbsu:

You mean the board that is rapidly overtaking the Umpires board? The board that is getting more and more traffic? The board that is meeting a need?

PS: Shut up BJ.

carntheroos4eva
16 Jun 2008, 08:51
I think that Steve Quartermain is a much better commentator that those Brian Taylor and Rex Hunt characters. At least Quarters doesn't carry on like a little kid and act stupid all the time.

Scruff83
16 Jun 2008, 11:18
"FRANKLIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Cant stand him.

Robert Walls
18 Jun 2008, 05:47
nope, he's a tool

Pelkanet
18 Jun 2008, 15:46
What he said, scraping the bottom of all sporting commentator barrells... not just footy.

Can tolerate Quarters, more enjoyable to listen to than flogs like Tim Lane and a dementia ridden Malcom Blight.
He has no idea what he is on about, I don't think he even watches the game half the time, just dozes off, and then wakes up and says something like "The weathers nice tonight". Walls is slightly better because he actually watches the game.

Pelkanet
18 Jun 2008, 15:49
"FRANKLIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Cant stand him.
"Leo Barry you SUPERSTRAR!" Absolute wanker.

BLPC08
18 Jun 2008, 18:17
Huddo isn't biased, has everyone on here forgotten his "I see it but I don't believe it" call when his own team got booted out of the finals.

Dawn2Dark
19 Jun 2008, 17:08
Quarters would've probably burst into tears if it were his beloved Hawks. I believe Huddo's call was in respect to Nick Davis' blitz rather than his team getting done in the last seconds.

shotta
6 Sep 2008, 20:17
Now he's ready to hang a goal ump who has made an awesome decision from a perfect position regarding Harvey's goal. But no Quarterflog from 150 metres away is a better judge and has the right to attempt to destroy this blokes career when he is wrong. D ickheads like him are a pathetic disgrace and an embarrasment to the AFL.

Adelaide Hawk
6 Sep 2008, 20:39
Now he's ready to hang a goal ump who has made an awesome decision from a perfect position regarding Harvey's goal. But no Quarterflog from 150 metres away is a better judge and has the right to attempt to destroy this blokes career when he is wrong. D ickheads like him are a pathetic disgrace and an embarrasment to the AFL.

That's the thing that intrigues me about commentators. If they disagree with the umpire's decision, it never enters their minds that maybe the umpire could be correct and the commentators could have it wrong. They really do believe they are something special just because they have a microphone.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
6 Sep 2008, 21:38
He is better than Dwayne Russell and Tony Shaw.

Spot on. Those two are idiots.

TimeIsRunningOut
6 Sep 2008, 22:32
Not to mention he just said the public should purchase the "ultimate grand final package" so they can watch Franklin kick 15 goals. Yes, a joke, but he is supposed to be a professional presenter/commentator.

On the bench
12 Sep 2008, 10:28
Don't mind 'Quarters',i remember back when 'The Grill Team' was on Triple M Saturday mornings in the late 90s early 00s gee they used to hang shit on him in a good natured way though!

shotta
27 Jun 2009, 21:51
WorstHawthorn "supporter" of all time, his calling is embarrassing.

The bloke is just a pure dic khead.

damochandler
27 Jun 2009, 21:57
no one should he has been terrible again tonight. he should get sacked by all. ten and triple m

hamG
28 Jun 2009, 01:34
I used to like him about five years ago but he has been stuck in a stupid rut of free kicks and umpires at every second contest "oh that was a throw surely umpire!" "oh free kick not paid" "cmon you gotta pay that umpire!" "surely that was a mark!"

We struggle to produce professional commentators, but I can understand how impossible it is to eliminate your personal passion while you watch footy.

September_Glory
28 Jun 2009, 11:10
We struggle to produce professional commentators, but I can understand how impossible it is to eliminate your personal passion while you watch footy. That is true, but the facts are that the whole Ch10 team doesn't even attempt to hide it. And when you do that, your credibility is shot.

Apart from his normal subpar performance, I thought he called the Naitanui moments last night pretty poorly. The crowd (and everyone watching) were going nuts over the goal and he didn't bring the excitement in his call.

Also, generally I think Huddo is pretty good. He doesn't let his support for Geelong effect his objectivity for calling the contest.

There was a funny moment in yesterday's game (Freo vs C'wood) where he was trying to make a very pertinent point, setting it up for one of his "expert" colleagues. After an awkward moment of silence, Walls who apparently wasn't even listening, starts talking about ruckmen.

Xtreme
28 Jun 2009, 12:24
I used to like him about five years ago but he has been stuck in a stupid rut of free kicks and umpires at every second contest "oh that was a throw surely umpire!" "oh free kick not paid" "cmon you gotta pay that umpire!" "surely that was a mark!"

Agree, i was actually excited when it was first announced that 10 had the rights, i enjoyed his radio work on MMM and didn't mind his work week to week in the footy. However after the Leo Barry mark in the '05 Grand Final, i think that moment has been stuck in his head and inflated it quite a bit.

He hasn't had the same spark/impact ever since.

IanG
29 Jun 2009, 08:38
"Leo Barry you SUPERSTRAR!" Absolute wanker.

That moment actually shows what a ******** he is. Tim Lane was commentating at the time and quarterflog came straight over the top of him without any changeover in the commentator.

30 Jun 2009, 13:36
Yeah, he's a flog and a closet egomaniac; and pretentious :p

He's just a cashed-up bogan from Ringwood (or somewhere around there), yet he speaks like the bloody Queen! He says: "charnce, arnsar, demarnd", etc, like a Brit. I hate that crap like that. Lyno does it too. There's no excuse for such pretentious rubbish. Arguably the smartest guy on air anywhere is Doc Larkin, and he doesn't feel the need to put on the hoity-toity pronunciations

picture in me pasta
30 Jun 2009, 16:58
That moment actually shows what a ******** he is. Tim Lane was commentating at the time and quarterflog came straight over the top of him without any changeover in the commentator.
False.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CER_nddHmzA

damochandler
30 Jun 2009, 17:35
i would bet any money if he got the chop from 10. he wouldnt get another gig as an afl caller any where else. he is a terrible caller

King Of The Hille
9 Jul 2009, 01:32
what makes him even worse is his bias to some players ie when ben cousins flipped the bird quarters wouldnt shut up about it. has he ever played afl, talking to dnstall like that, dunstall should have turned around and kinged him that ought to put the flog in line

peternorth
9 Jul 2009, 09:28
Yeah, he's a flog and a closet egomaniac; and pretentious :p

He's just a cashed-up bogan from Ringwood (or somewhere around there), yet he speaks like the bloody Queen! He says: "charnce, arnsar, demarnd", etc, like a Brit. I hate that crap like that. Lyno does it too. There's no excuse for such pretentious rubbish. Arguably the smartest guy on air anywhere is Doc Larkin, and he doesn't feel the need to put on the hoity-toity pronunciations

actually he lives in mont albert. drives a nice car too.

Jock Inhale
12 Jul 2009, 19:39
Quartermain = Quarter Brain.