View Full Version : Tassie Team IS In VFL
Just announced on Telly here in Melbourne of a Tassie side being admitted into the VFL. Didn't hear who (Northern Bombers ? ) but I'm interested to hear from tassie footy supporters how they feel about this.
Matthew Armstrong is coach.
------------------
"You will respect my Authoritah "
Pessimistic
20 Jan 2001, 04:36
I'm not a taswegian but I think they got a bit of a raw deal. They have until March 15 to submit names of players and play the first game in April. Given that most players not playing in the tassie leagues will now be contracted to their teams It seems like it will be a miracle if they are competitive.
Yet the VFL will judge them after one season and possibly sling them out.
This could be Tassies best chance to establish a club which could go on to become a full AFL team. Lets hope some AFL clubs are generous enough to help the out with coaches, support staff etc.
Let's wish them well but they will need a lot of luck.
Yeah fair call Pess, I thought that some of the conditions were a bit rough as well. However I don't think they will have too much of a problem getting players - the contracts with clubs would all probably have a get out clause if Tassie got a "proper" side going. They did 3 years ago anyway http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
Not sure of the skill levels of the players (ie whether they are up to VFL level) but I can almost guarantee that a Tassie team would lead the league in hard ball gets - lots of hard nuts to choose from!!!
Good luck to them and heres hoping that the general public gets behind them, evidently they need a crowd of about 2000 per game to be ok - shouldn't be a problem!!!
Cheers
Gonzo
Please guys, no Tasmanian jokes. My mother is a Tasmanian and all her family still live down there, which means half of me is down there. I spend a lot of time down there too, I love the place.
I don't know much about this new team yet, but I find out what I can. All I know is there is a lot of mixed feelings about it.
I know there are some good players down there who never got the chance to play AFL, but if what Pess says is correct about not having much time to get it altogether then it may be really unfair on them.
I'll contact some rellies see what I can find out.
Bloodstained Angel
20 Jan 2001, 06:57
I wonder where all this leaves the 'big three' Southern Tassie teams who, as far as I know, still have nowhere to play this season.
I'm talking about Clarence, Glenorchy and Nth Hobart. These three traditional Power clubs of the old TFL have been hung out to dry with the collapse of the Satewide League and I understand for some reason these guys can't get back into the re-born TFL.
Now of course with this VFL exercise coming along, these clubs will lose all their good players to the VFL club.
So where to for these three great clubs I wonder ?
I spoke to my uncle who tells me at the moment the team has no name, no logo, no guernsey,no official coach(although Matthew Armstrong is unofficially appointed)and no team list. It still pretty much mixed feelings on it. It is only for a 12 month trail period, which seems harsh because they don't have a lot of time to get every thing up and running. Apparently the first match will be on April 7 against Sandringham.
BSA how come you know so much about Tassie football? Those three teams at the moment have no where to go. There is a competition known as the SFL but apparently they don't want them in there because they know they are too strong for them.
My rellies are all North Hobart supporters.
Do you follow all the leagues in Australia, BSA?
Bloodstained Angel
20 Jan 2001, 07:45
Pretty much Bee
I closely follow the SANFL because I used to live there and its also nice to go along to Trumper Oval here in Sydney sometimes to catch a little SFL action (although the standard is appalling !)
I also take a passing interest in the VFL, especially since the Swans have a joint venture with Port Melbourne (carna Borough !)
Why do I follow the Tassie footy scene ? - Coz I just love Tassie thats why ! - Its all so small and freezing cold and a bit of a backwater, reminds me an awful lot of New Zealand actually.
I also follow Tassie football because of my respect for Tasmanian footballers, tough hardball-get types like Darryn Cresswell for example.
As well the Byzantine political machniations going on in Tassie is terribly entertaining - you know what I mean - feudal politics, turf wars, Leagues forming and then falling apart, Clubs at each others throats, the perrennial North v South parochialism - and on and on it goes - riveting stufff for those like me who enjoy observing this sort of nonsense.
Probably not such fun for those involved though.
The real reason is Bee, that like you, I just really really like Tasmania and care alot about the place -so, naturally I take an interest.
cheers
Mmmmm, I presume you are joking about it being a backwater. And as for cold. It's only cold in the winter and even then it's no colder than Melbourne and no where near as cold as Canberra. Hobart is a beautiful place. The harbour,and I'm sorry to say this BSA, leaves Sydney for dead. But I'm off topic, it's supposed to be about a Tassie team in the VFL. They don't have a name yet, so can anyone in here think of one? And please let's not have the usual crap about two heads etc.
------------------
The BLUES. The Best in the Business.
Bloodstained Angel
20 Jan 2001, 09:32
Much as I love the place Bee, you would have to acknowledge that, with a population of around 450,000 and economic activity a tiny proportion of other states, Tasmania is indeed somewhat of a backwater.
But please don't get me wrong - I'm not having a go at the place, I'm pointing out the bleeding obvious. Also I might add that because its a backwater, thats what makes it so damn nice to be there.
Sydney Harbour vs The Derwent ? - dunno mate, they are both spectacular natural harbours, I know Sydney because I've swam, fished and sailed on it alot so I know it intimately. But you will get no disagreement about the relative merits of the Derwent from me !
cheers
Pessimistic
20 Jan 2001, 10:26
Will the 'Map of Tassie' get a look in on the guernsey or Logo ?
PESS
I knew someone would use that gag but I thought Alf or Joffa might of used it. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
------------------
"You will respect my Authoritah "
Jethro Q Walrustitty
20 Jan 2001, 11:23
Originally posted by Pessimistic:
Yeah, they could have Helen D'Amico as their mascot! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
Sydney Harbour vs The Derwent ? - dunno mate, they are both spectacular natural harbours, I know Sydney because I've swam, fished and sailed on it alot so I know it intimately. But you will get no disagreement about the relative merits of the Derwent from me !
cheers
BSA
I'd sail on the Derwent no problem, swim? (not within 30ks of Hobart!), fish? make sure you take along those industrial gloves to get them off the hook!!! - the fish glow in the dark down there! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
30 players are training with the side tonite!
Have they choosen a venue too play at yet?
North Hobart Oval Or York Park?
Mags
TasSaint
20 Jan 2001, 12:49
They are playing the games all around the state. Apparently 4 games each for hobart and launceston and one in burnie and devonport
I wouldn't be too concerned about the Tassie team being uncompetitive. In the last five years the TFL rep side has beaten the SANFL twice (once in Adelaide), the WAFL once and had a win and a loss (19 points at the MCG) against the VFL. It will be pretty much that team in the VFL. No doubt it will take a few games to settle into the team-bonding stuff but they'll do OK.
Forgot to mention, according to the SFL web-site there is a meeting on Jan 22nd to decide if Clarence, Glenorchy and North Hobart will join the SFL (Southern Football League) which currently has teams from suburban Hobart and surrounding towns (eg New Norfolk, Sorell, and the Huon teams). There were concerns pre-VFL licence that admission of C, G and NH would lead to a lop-sided competition but with the best players from these teams now likely to be in the VFL team the odds of the three being admitted to the SFL has risen. See www.footyradio.com.au (http://www.footyradio.com.au) for more info and the SFL view of the Football Tasmania administrators!
Does anyone know if there is a web-site for the VFL with the roster etc.?
Originally posted by tim:
I wouldn't be too concerned about the Tassie team being uncompetitive. In the last five years the TFL rep side has beaten the SANFL twice (once in Adelaide), the WAFL once and had a win and a loss (19 points at the MCG) against the VFL. It will be pretty much that team in the VFL. No doubt it will take a few games to settle into the team-bonding stuff but they'll do OK.
Tim,
The TFL beat the SANFL in Tassie in 1995. It was a real kick in the pants for the SANFL and they have never asked Tassie to play them since! However you are pretty spot on in the rest of your post. They take state footy very seriously and have been very competitive in the last few years.
Jerome
eastaugh36
21 Jan 2001, 08:10
Tfl never beat sanfl here in adelaide.
they beat us in hobart and since that wake up call the sanfl have been dominant and are the best outside the afl. a rematch with tassie would be nice though
BUBBALOUIS
21 Jan 2001, 09:31
Originally posted by Mags:
30 players are training with the side tonite!
Have they choosen a venue too play at yet?
North Hobart Oval Or York Park?
Mags
Mags they are actually going to play some games in Hobart and some in Launceston with one each for DEVENPORT AND Burnie
Originally posted by Pessimistic:
I knew it wouldn't take long before someone would come up with that line.
Actually when they are representing Tassie, the players actually refer to it as "playing for the map". Ummm, they are referring to the guernsey of course.
mud n blood
23 Jan 2001, 09:31
teehee .... You're silly !
ClarenceGirl
24 Jan 2001, 17:54
Just a short update from someone who has supported the Clarence Roos here in Tassie for her whole life (23 years) and hardly missed a game!!
Clarence, Hobart Demons and Glenorchy were all accepted into the Southern Football League as of last night, under the proviso that if their colours, names etc clash with a team already in exsistance in the league they must change theirs. Which means Glenorchy will no longer be Black and White, Hobart Demons will no longer be Red White and Blue, and my beloved Clarence can no longer be known as the Roos as another team are known as the Kangaroos, therefore having to change our song etc.
It's hard to lose all the tradition, it's something that's part of the team. I can't see many supporters of the 3 teams going for this, but if it means we'll get to see our beloved take the ground again this year, we'll just have to live with it.
Karen (a die hard RooGirl)
P.S I hope that Football Tasmania are HAPPY NOW!!!!!
Clarencegirl, as someone who is half Tasmanian and been inundated with everything about the North Hobart Football club all my life, let me correct a slight error you made. The Hobart Demons(North Hobart Football Club) are NOT red, white and blue. They are Red and Blue. Same strip as Melbourne! You can bet that this proud club which boasts 26 premierships is not happy with these new arrangements. According to my rellies, (and I will censor exactly what they said) "why should we have to accept the rules of a mickey mouse league to play against second class sides who wouldn't even know the meaning of the words tradition and history, lose out identity because some little suburban club has the same strip. Jesus Christ, we are 120 years old! Football Tasmania are a pack of idiots lead by a politician, which explains why the league became such a mess!"
Anyway, Clarencegirl, I will be down there at Easter, so I guess I will see then for myself what this new league is like! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Bee
I don't think NH has any alternatives - it's either change and play or not play at all I guess!
and I think both leagues are run by politicians - scarey stuff!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
Gonzo, I think they realise that, but it's just the thought of what is about to happen that's got them upset. I actually saw this side's last two premierships, back to back in 91 and 92 they were coached then by Mark Yeates and believe me the competition then was of an extremely high standard. I can't believe that in just 10 years the whole competition has been stuffed! Scarey stuff for sure! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Pessimistic
25 Jan 2001, 05:38
The SFL situation sounds quite farsical. The equivalent here would have been Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon actually forming their 'breakaway' league that they threatened to do back in the eighties. that would have been the 'AFL' and the VFL would still consist of Hawthorn, St Kilda etc.
The 'AFL' would have folded and the VFL would insist on Carlton Collingwood and Essendon changing their colours and emblems before being re-admitted to the VFL
So beware, star-gazers. A sport hat has too many 'splits' is doomed. Take Rugby, If they can't merge leage back into union they will ultimately fail.
Pessimistic
25 Jan 2001, 05:41
..But it might be a chance for one of those teams to adopt the Brown and Gold, Call themselves Hawks and allign themselves with the greatest club ever !
Bee
No need to convince me about the standard (played u19's and Reserves for Hobart and Clarence!!) but is a totally bizarre situation. The southern league clubs must be laughing their guts out at making Clarence, Glenorchy and NH do a little dance!!! How the mighty have fallen perhaps!!
BTW do you know who the teams are that have already got the jumpers/logos/nicknames etc in the southern league??
Cheers
Gonzo
Pess
Burnie (an ex Statewide team)used to be the Burnie Hawks and ran around in the Hawthorn colours.
But the changed their name and jumper to
get this........
the Burnie DOCKERS!!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
So are you a Tasmanian Gonzo?
Do you mean which teams that are already in the SFL have the same logo's strips etc as NH Glen and Clarence? Not sure, but I think I was told that Claremont are black and white and called the Magpies, so that effects Glenorchy and Brighton are Red and Blue but they are not called the Demons they are known as the robins. So the strip of Brighton will effect NH but maybe they can keep the Demons name. I don't know.
I know they are a proud club and it is going to hurt to have to change anything. And apparently New Norfolk and Hobart voted against letting those three teams in. A case of sour grapes probably.
I think most footy followers down there are embarrassed about what is going on. It should be interesting when I get there at Easter! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Yeah originally from Tassie!
I would've guessed that New Norfolk and Hobart voted against these clubs due to the fact that they got voted out of the Statewide league by such clubs as NH, Glenorchy and Clarence in the first place - politics, you gotta love it!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
I thought Hobart and NH merged to become the Hobart Demons, might be wrong!!
Cheers
Gonzo
PS Take your thermals at Easter http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
No Gonzo, Jesus you would give my rells a heart attack. North Hobart merge with anyone! Bite your tongue!
As far as I know, the North Hobart Football club never ever wanted Hobart out of the league, they have as much tradition and pride as each other.
The administration has stuffed it completely.
Whatever it sounds like a real mess.
Thermals? It's not that cold!
[This message has been edited by Bee (edited 24 January 2001).]
Oops!! so many changes down there it's hard to keep track!
Not that cold - bloody SNOWED (thats SNOWED!)on the mountain on Christmas Day (thats Christmas Day)!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/eek.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
Well if you are originally from there, Gonz, you would know that the mountain with snow on it, doesn't mean that there is snow in Hobart. Still no colder than Melbourne and not as cold as Canberra. Where did you live?
Moved around a bit!
Mostly South Hobart and Taroona (down past the Casino!) - played junior footy for Sandy Bay!
Yeah I know it matches temperatures in Melbourne but you get those southerlies coming in and then you start seeing brass monkeys wearing jock straps!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
Sandy Bay? That's where the snobs live isn't it?
And yes it's the wind chill factor in Hobart that makes it cold, but it's still a beautiful place, I love it.
Yep I was completely surrounded by Carlton supporters http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
Cheers
Gonzo
Touche http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
ClarenceGirl
28 Jan 2001, 18:19
Sorry to the North Hobart supporters on the forum, about the red, white and blue thing. We have played the Demons enough to have known they are Red and Blue (Sincerest Apologies lol)
Luckily for Clarence we seem to have gotten off lighter in the name/logo/colour change department. Kermandie are the Kangaroos, but whether or not that will affect the Clarence Roos, we aren't sure yet. You are right with Claremont being Black and White and Brighton, Red and Blue, so it seems both the Hobart Demons and Glenorchy will have to change their whole identities.
I guess know we've gotten used to the idea, it's not the worst that could've happened, at least we'll still be able to watch them play, although we may struggle to make the 40 a side team, as a lot of our players will be drained by the VFL side and also players who have already transferred to other clubs!!!
You really can't blame New Norfolk and Hobart for wanting to keep the three teams out of their new league, we never wanted to see them go from our competition either, there was so much tradition and rivalry between us, but I'm glad in the end they lost, and we got in.
Go the Clarence ??? (whatevers)
Long Live the Roos (if only in our memories!!)
Karen
Originally posted by tim:
Does anyone know if there is a web-site for the VFL with the roster etc.?
Tim, give this site a try. It should be regularly updated once the season is up & running.
Cheers!
http://www.footballvic.com.au/vfl/index.htm
A team from Tasmania ? I don't think so as they couldn't even successfully field a team in the NBL competition, they went broke in no time flat. You need money to field a team in this competition and Tassie has none, no big sponsorship dollars that are needed to survive in the competition. Haven't even mentioned facilities which are at best third world by mainland standards.
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Haven't even mentioned facilities which are at best third world by mainland standards.
Have'nt heard about the upgrade to York Park Oval in Launceston have you? They have just spent several millions on it. It is now the size of the MCG, with lights and a brand new 8000 seat grandstand, with changerooms and facilities suitable for an AFL club. Easily the best ground in the state.
Have they announced the club name and jumper yet? Please tell me they have come up with something better than The Mariners!
Jerome
Is this the best Tassie can do..York Oval ! 8,000 seat grandstand and some light towers !! I bet it its a problem moving the sheep off on game day. Oh well I suppose you have to be seen as doing something to help our poor second cousins like we did with South Australia way back when. Like Tassie they have nothing to offer in the way of a lifestyle so it is Victoria to the rescue once again. As Sam Newman said .. Sth Australia is proof that Tasmanians can swim.
Still doesn't solve the problem of finances in fielding a team ..I suppose you can get Centrelink to sponsor a team as that seems to be the biggest industry in Tassie...
Go Hawks in 2001 we are making our donation to Tassie when we play our game out there..hope they have hot water for the showers.
------------------
"Stick it up em"
ClarenceGirl
29 Jan 2001, 19:29
Here's a thought Orion,
'Get a life!!!'
From a Proud Tasmanian
[This message has been edited by ClarenceGirl (edited 29 January 2001).]
Orion why not attempt the following steps:
1. Go and find out some facts
2. Put a constructive argument together
3. Come back here and post it
Then you will find out that people will pay you some of the atttention that you so desperately seem to crave!!
Cheers
Gonzo
Orion, thats rubbish.
I dropped into York Park a couple of months ago whilst there and was impressed. Nice grandstand and surface looked great. More than up to VFL standard - have you been to some of the VFL grounds ?
If they could just get rid of that eyesore factory that dominates the outer it will be even better.
ClarenceGirl
1 Feb 2001, 18:38
Did anyone see the new design for the Glenorchy jumper....??
Not Bad, better than the Black and White http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Sounds like they'll now be known as the Glenorchy Storm!!
Karen
amazonstud
1 Feb 2001, 18:41
According to a post I read after the draft Mtthew Armstrong and a few others contacted all those Tassie players who missed out on the draft and told them about the new Tassie side. They asked them not to take opportunities at mainland clubs as the new side will give them the chance to impress in the VFL and still stay at home.
You don't think they'll call them the Devils do you?
Gonz,
Don't worry about Orion he is obviously like all the other idiots who have never been down to Tassie, yet seem to think they know what it is like. Down in Tassie they refer to it as "mainland ignorance".
Pessimistic
2 Feb 2001, 05:43
I love Tassie !
I wish the venture all the best. - perhaps there may be an AFL team one day.
So who might be good Players for VFL tassie ?
There was a CHF who played for the Hawks - Jason Taylor - who might still be young enough to get a game.
Pess,
Some players that I know of to watch out for are. Jeremy and Matthew Brereton, Ben Atkin, Brendon Bolton. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
ClarenceGirl
2 Feb 2001, 19:00
For those of you who haven't seen the 50 players chosen so far for the VFL side, I thought you might like to see the list and where the players come from.
This doens't include those players such as Jeremy Sharpen (ex Clarence/Collingwood) who are players, hopefully FT are successful in wooing back to Tassie.
Anyway these are the squad of 50 announced today!!
From
Brighton: John Bowering
Burnie Dockers: Arrin Butler, Andrew Best, Brad Davis, Paul Gaby, Scott Matheson, Matthew Wooldridge
Clarence: Anthony Cole, Brett Geappen, Cameron Thurley, Craig Millar, Gavin Cooney, Ian Callinan, Matthew Jones, Matthew Jamieson, Paul Ransley, Sam Burnett, Scott Allen, Wally Hulm
Devonport: Duncan O'Toole, Matthew Langmaid, Wade Anthony
Friends: Simon Taylor
Glenorchy: Ben Atkin, Ben Careless, Brendon Rogers, Craig Carter, Hugh Miller, Jason Britten, Mark Corbett, Matthew Bernes, Tim Green
Hobart Demons: Andrew Cox, Gary Splann, Jeremy Brereton, Matthew Brereton
New Norfolk: Kim Harvey
Northern Bombers: Anthony Taylor, Brendon Bolton, Gregg Sharman, Leigh Walker, Matthew Jones (didn't know there were 2 of them), Matthew Muir, Michael Praciak, Nathan Howard
North West Coast: Josh Adams
South Launceston: Ben Johnson
Tassie Mariners: George Bailey, Matthew Westfield, Ryan Innes
A lot of those people I though were pretty predicatable, a few dark horses who I haven't heard of, anyone you think they missed out???
Shows how poor the competition is down there when all this excitement is about playing in a VICTORIAN competition. Wait till all these people turn up to see the Mighty Hawks play down there as it will be akin to the second coming, Ooooh how exciting !! A "map of Tassie" on the front of the guernsey is a good idea, they will play like C....... back to the real world for me...Go Hawks
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Tim_in_Philly
4 Feb 2001, 02:18
Has there been any news of the structure of the club yet - ie membership based or something else? If anyone sees anything please post the details here as, though I'm a long way away at the moment, I'd like to contribute to the club in some way - eg becoming a paid-up member.
mud n blood
6 Feb 2001, 10:46
Slightly off-beat .... who were the Tassie premiers and who got the Leitch medal for last year ?
ClarenceGirl
6 Feb 2001, 18:39
Clarence won the Premiership at York Park for 2000, they beat North Launceston 105 to 46.
And the William Leitch Medallist was Nathan Howard of the Northern Bombers, who didn't even make an appearance at the Medal Count!!! They got him out of the shower to make an acceptance speech from his home!!!
On another note, there was a genius at work this week, he was the person who named the new Tasmanian VFL side... wait for it..... Tasmania!!! Could be any less original???
And it was nice to see some big men added to the list of players, with the likes of Charlie Beaumont and Stuart Probert, make the side look a lot better on paper!!
Pessimistic
8 Feb 2001, 11:00
Go Tassie ! - Definately my 3rd fav team
Grow up, Orion. Have you ever stepped foot outside Victoria? Go get an education then go get a life.
My My, How provincial are your comments. Facts are facts, Tasmania can barely look after themselves and rely on the mainland for their prosperity, we Victorians and indeed mainland states do look after our poor cousins down south. Can't wait to see all your smiling faces at York park when the Hawks play down there soon as it will make us feel good in doing our bit to make life exciting for you even for a brief shining moment and hope to make it last a little longer when a team from down there play in our VFL ... it makes us feel warm inside knowing that this is the biggest moment in your sporting world...it is akin to giving aid to a third world country. So come along one and all and watch a suburban team from Melbourne make you guys feel all warm and fuzzy, it is all so exciting
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Dick head, I am a Victorian. But idiots like you make me ashamed to be a Vic.
Do yourself a favour, step out of your little cocoon and take a good look around. You never know, you might even learn something.
------------------
Bee. You have a distinct lack of of sticking to the facts and are more concerned about sledging other peoples opinions with gross and obscene personal attacks that can in no way be subtstantiated, then when one cannot debate a point the only bastion left is to make baseless, unfounded and mindless verbal assaults. I must point out that this profiles your lack of maturity and raises the question is this the best you can do? Can you refute any of the claims I have made in a ration response ? This may seem daunting to you but have a go, accept the challenge, it can be so rewarding when you excerise that grey matter.
Tasmania is in no doubt an economic backwater and if attaching themselves like a limpet to Victoria makes them feel good then so be it, where is the pride and self worth in developing their own competiton as opposed to attaching themselves to Victorias second string competition ? Since they have no financial muscle I guess there is little other option than to see this as a major sporting coup for the entire state.
I will have a wry smile on my face when the Mighty Hawks play Richmond down there shortly and seeing all the happy smiling faces of the local population as they clamour to support these two wonderful teams doing their bit to spread the word and bring joy to these poor unfortunate cousins of ours. Go Hawks in 2001
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Orion, I have no intention of getting into a slanging match with you, as it would be extremely unfair on you. But obviously you think you can come in here and make derogative comments on something you know nothing about and think no one will take you to task about it. Well think again, my little ignoramus. But by all means, if you want to show your ignorance go ahead and keep sprouting the uneducated crap you have been.
As for your comment on Richmond and Hawthorn being two wonderful teams, that only goes to prove that you do lack intelligence.
BTW don't ever make the mistake of thinking I am gullible or stupid. You don't fool me for a minute "Orion".
------------------
Well enough said, by your own words you have condemned yourself and displayed your small mindedness in refuting any of my claims and still persist is sledging and slanging, shows a lack of breeding as you are so very..ummm common I bet you are a Tasmaninian born but are to ashamed to acknowledge the fast, mind you this is merely an opinion and not a statement of fact. Furthermore there is no need for me to err in thinking you are gullible or stupid you perform this feat all by yourself and with no assistance required. If I am making claims that are derogative, untrue or from ignorance make a stand and expose the facts, the floor is yours.
I also have the opinion that you have lack of education for anyone worth their salt would not subscribe to the drivel you comment about and spew all over the place with ill informed remarks with no contributing value what so ever. Still just watch these people turn up in droves (with concession cards in hand ) to watch the mighty Hawks play.
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Wrong I am not Tasmanian born, but I think you already know that.
Lack of education? I will put my qualifications up against yours anytime.
Concession cards? So now you are making fun of those a little less fortunate in society, are you? Must be so nice to know you have been brought up not to respect those who may be down on their luck. Such sensitivity from you!
Not that I have to explain myself to you, because I believe you have read this before, but I visit Tassie regularly, my mother is a Tasmanian, all her family are there. And I would gladly swap places with any of them to have the lifestyle they have.
You obviously have never been there, because if you had you would know a lot different, than the rubbish you have been posting.
But like I said I am not gullible, I am not stupid. You are doing it deliberately to get a bite from the Tasmanians on this forum. I honestly thought all those stupid backwater type jokes about Tassie stopped when you finished school, unfortunately someone forgot to tell you that is now time to grow up. You are one of the types of Victorians that the rest of Australia despise. Loud mouthed, crude and think Australia does not exist outside the Vic borders. The same type that make me ashamed to be a Victorian.
Keep replying if you like, I could argue with you forever. I like playing with fools.
------------------
[This message has been edited by Bee (edited 09 February 2001).]
Sydneyfan
10 Feb 2001, 07:47
It's good to hear about the Tassie being admitted into the VFL. Is the team going to be officially in the VFL, playing all games for premiership points?
I read somewhere a couple of weeks back that the Tassie was going to admitted in the second half of the season and not playing for premiership points. Has this changed?
Anyway, it's good for Tassie to have a team in a high standard State competition. I hope they good well.
I'd like to the VFL extend its boundaries to possibly include Sydney and Canberra one day as well but the finances might not be there to have teams from these regions.
------------------
My webpage is now @ <A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/el_canguro/index.html" TARGET=_blank>http://www.geocities.com/el_canguro/index.html
</A> Football and Sports links from all round the world go to:
http://www.geocities.com/el_canguro/sportslinks.html
ClarenceGirl
10 Feb 2001, 19:33
Is there any chance at all the Bee and Orion could exchange email addresses and slang each other to death in privacy.
Getting a bit tired of the whole Tassie sucks thing, can't be bothered even reading Orions posts, please do the same, we're finding paying attention to him, is playing into his hands.
Lets get back to the football!!!
They profiled a few of the lesser known players in the Mercury during the week, they all seem ready and raring to go!!
Karen
P.S Come on the Hawks for the 18th!!!
Just heard that the Ansett game at York park is a sell out...Thanks to all the half bred hayseeds for filling the coffers of the mighty Hawks...not that we need the money but then a fool and there money are soon parted... Ha Ha ha ..Go Hawks
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Half bred? Do you mean inbred?
If you are going to insult someone, learn to do it right. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif
------------------
Gee...thanks for pointing it out as I was confused at the time between half witted sloths and inbred hayseeds...either way it all adds up to the same conclusion.
Originally posted by Bee:
Half bred? Do you mean inbred?
If you are going to insult someone, learn to do it right. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif
------------------
"Stick it up em"
Scarlet
21 Feb 2001, 12:42
Orion, I have been browsing this site for a while. I normally post in the Carlton website and a couple of other Carlton sites. So obviously I am a Blues fan, but more importantly I am also from Hobart. You are an absolute twat! Do you realise that originally Tasmania was settled from NSW and Victoria settled from Tasmania? That would seem to make a common gene pool running through us all, wouldn't it?
play on
21 Feb 2001, 13:05
To sydney fan
The tassie side will be playing for premiership points and as a result they will be playing at the start of the year. The draw is at the football vic website.
ClarenceGirl
21 Feb 2001, 17:31
What a baptism of fire for the Tassie Team, with Sandringham in the first round, I hope all of the supporters bite the bullet, get over their mood with Football Tasmania (which is not easy) and for the sake of Tasmanian Football, get out there and support the Tassie VFL boys at North Hobart against Frankston in Round 2. They are, after all, the reason we all watched the SFL every week right???
P.S Thanks Scarlet for joining the 'orion bites' club!! I didn't think we derserved that either!!!
Pride of the Bay
22 Feb 2001, 16:22
Hi Bee,ClarenceGirl,
I need some info on Charlie Beaumont as he has join my local club,Glenelg(SANFL).All i know he is very tall. Can he play a key position?,does he like a good hard scrap?,is he a left or right footer and how old is he?
Thank you in advance for any feed back
Pride
ClarenceGirl
22 Feb 2001, 16:50
Oh Pride of the Bay, you have just broken my heart!!!
Has Charlie really joined with Glenelg??
Please tell me it is not true!!!
Charlie actually played for my team here in Tassie, he was thrown into the role of ruckman in his first year with the Roos because of a lack of height in the team. To say he blossomed would be an understatement!! He played as the only ruckman in our North v's South game during the year and beat all three of the Northern Ruckmen in the same day.
And he is one of the most genuinely nice guys in this world, we had some pretty wild celebrations while he's been here (although he won't remember a lot of them!!) If you get a chance to talk to him, ask him to show you how he drinks a can of coke through his nose like he did for the Clarence girls on Grand Final Recovery day.... you really do have to see it!!!
He has just finished uni, and at a guess I would say he was around about 23 years old, he suffered no injuries through the year.
He is an assett to any club, I just wish he had gone to play with the Doggies like I told him!!!
Now I'll have to keep an eye on Glenelg more carefully!!!
If there is anything else you want to know, let me know *sob sob*
ClarenceGirl
Sydneyfan
23 Feb 2001, 10:26
Does anyone what colours the Tassie team are playing under? Or their nickname?
Cheers
mud n blood
24 Feb 2001, 06:05
I could give you an answer here, but I'd be being funny, and it may upset a few do-gooders around the park .....
ClarenceGirl
24 Feb 2001, 19:12
The mind boggles at what mud n blood was about to rattle off http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Leaves it wide open for a good cheap shot, you may as well use them now!!
ClarenceGirl
4 Mar 2001, 15:04
Pride of the Bay, I just noticed Charlie Beaumont is named in the 40 strong squad for the Tassie VFL side, he is definately not playing for Glenelg, thank goodness http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
The news may be a bit late, but I'm lucky to get a copy of The Mercury in SA at all!
If you didnt already know, Tasmania played the Essendon reserves at York Park, May 11.
Scores : Dons 12.12 -84, Tassie 10.13 - 73
Best: Dons - Mahoney, Bannister, Peverill, Johnson, Goldsworthy, Longhall, Goddard
Tassie - Bowring, Barnes, Beaumont, Millar, Howard, Hulm, Walker, Bolton, Carter, Geppen
Dons coach Terry Daniher believes Tassie will be a competitive side and would be helped by another hit out before the opening match at Sandrigham on April 7. Tasmania officials are currently trying to organise a match against the Box Hill Hawks, but it all depends on available plane flights.
Tassie Coach Matty Armstrong is still reviewing his squad and has put a new training program in place. Armstrong is very concerned with Tassie's lack of pace and fitness and is looking for moke blokes thaat can run. Tassie were in the lead in the last quarter against the Dons but just stopped running.
No mascot or jumper for Tasmania has been announced.
Did any big footy posters attend the match? I'd love to read your thoughts on the match.
cheers
Jerome
ricohawk
19 Mar 2001, 09:30
Just to let you know that this weeks game IS on...i.e Tassie vs Box Hill Hawks on Saturday.
-Rico
ClarenceGirl
25 Mar 2001, 19:40
For anyone who hasn't seen the results already, Tassie beat the Box Hill Hawks by 6 points today at North Hobart, and came through with no injuries, and full of confidence!!!!
Originally posted by ClarenceGirl:
For anyone who hasn't seen the results already, Tassie beat the Box Hill Hawks by 6 points today at North Hobart, and came through with no injuries, and full of confidence!!!!
GO TASSIE!
I hope you enjoyed the game Kaz. Did they get a good crowd? Who were Tassies best? Have they worked out a mascot and jumper for the team yet?
Jerome
What is the feeling down there about this Tassie side ? Have the footy people accepted this situation and getting behind this side ? Is there genuine enthusiasm, scepticism or even resentment ?
Originally posted by Woofer:
What is the feeling down there about this Tassie side ? Have the footy people accepted this situation and getting behind this side ? Is there genuine enthusiasm, scepticism or even resentment ?
The attendences for the two games thus far ahve been 2800 in Launceston and 1019 in Hobart. The AFL matches this year have pulled in crowds of 10,000 to 14,000.
I think the hasty arrangement, the one year deal and the fact that they dont have a jumper and mascot is counting against them at the minute. Having said that once the jumper is approved and the team starts winning games I think more people will come around.
Jerome
Tim_in_Philly
29 Mar 2001, 01:44
I visited Tassie on my last trip home a couple of weeks ago and was disappointed at the lack of information/marketing concerning the team. It is a couple of weeks till the first game and we don't know team colours, mascot, membership or otherwise for structure, or any other useful information. Most people haven't even seen a roster to know when the team is playing at the various grounds in Tasmania.
If the football administrators are serious about Tasmanian football they should be promoting this venture to the hilt as it is a way to get the foot in the door for an AFL team in the future (even if it is in 50 years). Instead of that, there seems to be nothing happening - OK, there might be lots of activity behind the scenes, but who knows? If they are to successfully engage the public in this venture then they have to let them in on the secret.
To put it simply, I would like to become a paid-up member of the club to help support it - but I don't know how and nobody else seems to either. It will be a shame if this fails because of useless and amateurish administrators (and lets face it, Football Tasmania is over-run with them).
Tim,
You are deadset spot on. Especially when they have been talking about getting a Tassie AFL side in for years, you would have thought they would have had some designs organised.
The Mercury have covered the games fairly well and seem to be right behind it. The Mercury site however is'nt running any sports stories which is kinda strange.
However, check www.themercury.com.au (http://www.themercury.com.au) this weekend. According to Tuesdays Merc, the team jumper and mascot will be revealed this Friday at 11.30am. The thing that scares me is that the story also mentioned that the design would be similar to The Tassie Mariners!!
Tim_in_Philly
30 Mar 2001, 00:59
Thanks Jerome. I look at the Mercury site every now and then but it is pretty useless. The Examiner is a subscription pay-site for all but the most basic stories so I finish up looking at the Advocate for news, though this is pretty scarce too. You'd think FT would get their own web-site organised so that we could get news directly. Oops, I did it again, mentioned "Football Tasmania" and "organised" in the same sentence! I must stop doing that.
ClarenceGirl
31 Mar 2001, 17:59
Well Jerome,
I am sad to say your nightmares have come true, the Tassie Jumpers are almost the same as the Mariners!!! A little different, but not much.... Charles Beaumont tried to make the reason for them sound better by saying, the fact they are similar gives everyone a sense of being as one!!!! Please!!!! Not likely.
They also announced the memberships... From Memory it was $110 for an upgraded membership, whatever that is.... $90 for a family.... $44 for an adult and that includes entry to all 10 home games... so thats not too bad.
Well that's all the info I have right now
Catcha all later!
Karen
Tim_in_Philly
1 Apr 2001, 00:14
Thanks for the info, Karen. Is there an address for memberships? How do you join (bearing in mind I'm in the US at the moment)? Any suggestions/information would be gratefully appreciated.
ClarenceGirl
1 Apr 2001, 20:10
I will get some info as soon as I can, and let you know!!!
I am going to phone the number in the Mercury today so I can join, and I'll find out all the details.
Karen
Blues_Brat
1 Apr 2001, 21:26
I guess the rape of the TFL by Victoria is complete.
30 years ago Tassie had the best attended league (per capita) in the entire nation, yet they couldnt get a team in the extended VFL before Qld.
Personally I think Tassie should have a team at the highest level.
The TFL suffered the same fate as the SANFL and WAFL with players being leached by VF clubs, yet they werent given the chance to field a team of their own and keep locally bred players.
Originally posted by Tim_in_Philly:
Thanks for the info, Karen. Is there an address for memberships? How do you join (bearing in mind I'm in the US at the moment)? Any suggestions/information would be gratefully appreciated.
I picked up Saturday's Mercury today and the jumpers did'nt look too bad - colours blue, green, gold and maroon, with the map of Tassie in the middle. I guess the reasl test of how good it looks will be this week at Sandringham.
With plane tickets from Hobart to Melb @ $40 at the minute is are any Tasmanians coming over? I will definatley be there.
Membership details - $44 adult, $33 concession, $90 family, $ 16.50 child All Memberships include: 10 home games, membership card, sticker, poster, birthday card and 2 copies of Football Life - Tassie's new footy mag. Premium Memberships are the same deal except you receive 4 copies of Footy Life, a free ticket to an AFL match and the rest goes to the Tasmanian Football Club Development Fund - total $110.00
You can call (03) 6234 9177 or send them a fax @ (03) 6234 3577 and they will fax you an application form. It may not come out too clear but they will accept most credit cards. I am going to send them another fax asking for additional info (ie. websites, training times in Vic for this week) so if I hear anything else I'll post it here.
Jerome
Tim_in_Philly
3 Apr 2001, 23:19
Thanks for the info, Jerome! I'll give them a call and see if I can join up.
Tim_in_Philly
7 Apr 2001, 06:02
I just saw on the ABC web-site that they are going to telecast the Sandringham/Tasmania game into Tassie this Saturday.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/state/tas/mettas-5apr2001-14.htm
Winny Blues
10 Apr 2001, 22:36
Looks like the Tasmanians will be fodder and percentage builders for the rest of the competition...What a piss poor effort ..so much to play for and to get flogged and humiliated by a whopping 84 points ... and you want to field a team in the AFL National competiton..get real, and try and reform the TFL this si where you are best suited.
Tim_in_Philly
11 Apr 2001, 02:04
How about we review the situation in a couple of months? A first game loss for a team that hasn't been together even two months yet, against the reigning premiers on a ground they've never seen before isn't the end of the experiment by a long shot. It will take a few weeks to get their act together and people need to be patient.