View Full Version : Congratulations

Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2008, 05:43
Didnt see one of these on your board, so i thought id start it.

Congratulations on a gutsy win tonight. Good teams win those games, and you guys did, its another tick on the checklist of qualities premiership teams have.

Im pretty shattered at losing it like that, but it was always a tense, close, quality game of football.

Well done on the win, and good luck until next time we meet

B&GBlood
15 Jun 2008, 08:59
Too sporting, stop that now!

Your boys will be spitting chips after leading most of the night.
Bock was very smart with his play on Buddy, made sure every ball was a contest and given the average delivery last night never gave Buddy any space. Having said all that he could have easily kicked a couple more goals...Freak.

I didn't beleive we would win until the bell went.

Gary Shadforth
15 Jun 2008, 09:04

Thank you, Southerntakeover, for your graciousness. It must be a gut wrenching result for you and your fellow Crows supporters after having the lead for much of the play.

You have a very good quality side which makes our win all that special, in particular, that it was played on your paddocak.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

Goldhawk
15 Jun 2008, 09:36
Thanks for your kind words.Yes it certainly was a nail biting finish to the end.

CyberKev
15 Jun 2008, 09:53
Nicely said, Southern.

It was a game well worth watching, for mine.

A really brute of a result, from your perspective, but your boys are still well ahead on points with what they've done to us over the years...

Freddy Bassett
15 Jun 2008, 11:00
Congratulations lads. Im devestated but you guys were the better side and deserved to win. I thought with the great players you had out and with Chance going down early if we were ever going to beat your club last night was the night. But, the cream rose to the top and you guys only needed a sniff where we werent good enough to take our chances. I have no doubt after seeing a depleted Hawks outfit and withoutBuddy being his usual dominant self defeat us that you are the best team in the league. All the best:thumbsu:

rdhopkins2
15 Jun 2008, 11:04
Cheers fellas. About to watch the game as was at a bday party last night but certainly sounded like a hard fought affair with both teams showing alot of guts. Good luck for the rest of the year.

JessKM
15 Jun 2008, 11:06
Thanks heaps guys :thumbsu:

The Crows are defiantly on the right path. Great game.

wolvesjr34
15 Jun 2008, 12:24
Thanks guys... great attitude and you have my respect. Excellent game by Bock and Crows played very hard footy, and I think you guys are a legit team, stuff the media and what they have to say!

Dippers Donuts
15 Jun 2008, 12:34
Adelaide supporters are a pretty classy bunch in general on this site.:thumbsu: Fair play to ya's.
Well played Crows, definitely unlucky to lose this one but we'll take it and make off like bandits.

Nightwolf
15 Jun 2008, 12:35
No offense to you at all, im saying this in general.

These massive love ins every club posts after a win honestly makes me wanna puke.

Miss_Hawk_Fan
15 Jun 2008, 12:55
Didnt see one of these on your board, so i thought id start it.

Congratulations on a gutsy win tonight. Good teams win those games, and you guys did, its another tick on the checklist of qualities premiership teams have.

Im pretty shattered at losing it like that, but it was always a tense, close, quality game of football.

Well done on the win, and good luck until next time we meet

:thumbsu: Top effort by both teams.... Great game, see you in the finals.

rdhopkins2
15 Jun 2008, 13:23

These massive love ins every club posts after a win honestly makes me wanna puke.

I think its good that the majority of Hawks can enjoy a friendly rivalry with the opposition but be gracious in defeat and humble in winning. Good show IMO.

Each to their own I suppose!

Southerntakeover
15 Jun 2008, 17:39

Love ins?

Nah dont get me wrong. No love about it, i damn sure wasnt loving what happened last night.

Ill just give respect where its due, and man up when we lose.

vanders
15 Jun 2008, 17:49
Cheers guys :thumbsu:

fightingdreamer88
15 Jun 2008, 18:19
Well after having the ascendancy all night in terms of the general flow of the game it was very hard to stomach a loss but bad kicking is bad football, and when it counted it was Hodge who stepped up and showed his class. You guys will certainly be around the mark so long as you can keep Hodge and Franklin healthy. :thumbsu:

stoner
15 Jun 2008, 19:38
It's a pity the crows players aren't as gracious in defeat as their supporters. I nearly choked on my milo this morning when I heard Bernie Vince on the radio say the Hawks were lucky to be in front when the siren went.

Luck my F#$king ass!

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 21:41
:thumbsu::thumbsu: THANKS MATE WAS A TOUGH GAME , I DON'T HAVE ANY NAILS LEFT , DON'T MIND A GOOD TUG OF WAR LIKE THAT

Southerntakeover
16 Jun 2008, 01:11
It's a pity the crows players aren't as gracious in defeat as their supporters. I nearly choked on my milo this morning when I heard Bernie Vince on the radio say the Hawks were lucky to be in front when the siren went.

Luck my F#$king ass!

I wouldnt take too much from that.

The crows under Craig have held that there is an element of luck involved in all close games.

I doubt he was trying to denigrate your efforts.

fightingdreamer88
16 Jun 2008, 03:02

Luck my F#$king ass!

As ST said I wouldn't take that the wrong way. I'm sure if you asked Vince why Adelaide didn't win, he would say it was because they weren't good enough to capitalise on their opportunities and your mob was.

Mervyn Beasley
16 Jun 2008, 11:10
Thanks for the kind words guys, however, I must say I am completely and utterly over the moon for the few Hawk supporters who live over your way whom enjoyed their first taste of victory in 14 years.
Would be great to be a Hawk in an Adelaide office today and finally have some bragging rights.

kbrowne
16 Jun 2008, 13:16
Thanks for the kind words guys, however, I must say I am completely and utterly over the moon for the few Hawk supporters who live over your way whom enjoyed their first taste of victory in 14 years.
Would be great to be a Hawk in an Adelaide office today and finally have some bragging rights.

I am and they have all been very gracious in defeat.:thumbsu:

Went to the game and enjoyed it. As usual, they make it as unfriendly as possible for opposition supporters eg showing only Crow goals at the breaks, Crow crowd interviews etc. Does Hawthorn do that to them in Melbourne/ Tassie? I don't remember it if so.

Jables
16 Jun 2008, 17:42

Luck my F#$king ass!

I bloody thought we were lucky.

HAWKS HEROES
16 Jun 2008, 22:04
i was at a hawk function that i thought had all hawk supporters watching the game somewhere during the game after a crow goal i hear go crows , i thought ok must have yelled that through window at the back of room can't be in this room surely, found out at the end of game yes he was he silently left the room , felt sorry for him a little bit

HAWKS HEROES
16 Jun 2008, 22:09
I am and they have all been very gracious in defeat.:thumbsu:

Went to the game and enjoyed it. As usual, they make it as unfriendly as possible for opposition supporters eg showing only Crow goals at the breaks, Crow crowd interviews etc. Does Hawthorn do that to them in Melbourne/ Tassie? I don't remember it if so.
not that i have noticed if games are here i am sure you see bits of both sides but will endeavor to take more notice in future out of interest there usually show a game between the two teams before the game [at the ground not sure on tv though]

HAWKS HEROES
16 Jun 2008, 22:12
i have no nails left

King Elvis
16 Jun 2008, 22:16
I'd also like to thank Hodge for not killing Richard Douglas when he had the chance; could've quite easily smashed him, but had enough class not to.

Bloody good game from your mob; shattered we lost, but it was great footy to watch.

I rate your mob more than Geelong.

anon_ehawk
16 Jun 2008, 22:25
This was one game I was truly scared of losing. Congrats on being such great opposition. I was enjoying a game for the first time in a while. :thumbsu:

Just kidding, I've seen most games this year but this was such a good one!

HAWKS HEROES
16 Jun 2008, 22:36
I'd also like to thank Hodge for not killing Richard Douglas when he had the chance; could've quite easily smashed him, but had enough class not to.

Bloody good game from your mob; shattered we lost, but it was great footy to watch.

:thumbsu: thanks yes Hodge is a class act and a nice guy to chat to you would have no prob's going up to shake his hand or have a chat no matter what team you supported :thumbsu:

Boyler_Room
17 Jun 2008, 11:54

:thumbsu: thanks yes Hodge is a class act and a nice guy to chat to you would have no prob's going up to shake his hand or have a chat no matter what team you supported :thumbsu:

Too bad Buddy didn't have a bit more common sense.

Gained a lotta respect for Adelaide supporters on this board, not that it wan't there already.

Great game you guys were tough and would have been proud of our boys if the result was reversed.