View Full Version : Round 12: Geelong v Port Adelaide @ Skilled Stadium

Ninty
15 Jun 2008, 09:25
No one has made this thread yet and the game is on the way in a bit over 4 hours... >_<

Where and when: Skilled Stadium, Sunday, June 15, 1.10pm

Head to head: Geelong 10 wins, Port Adelaide eight wins, one draw

Last time: Geelong 15.15 (105) d Port Adelaide 14.12 (96), round one, 2007 at AAMI Stadium

FORM

Geelong: WWLWW

Port Adelaide: WLLWL

SUMMARY

Geelong is doing what it has to do to get over the line each week. It played some pretty good footy against North Melbourne and while the Roos were always within reach, the Cats always seemed to have the match in control. Geelong has been relying more on individual efforts at times in 2008 but that has been enough to achieve a 10-1 record. The Cats return to their beloved Skilled Stadium this weekend where they lost only twice last season – one of which came at the hands of Port Adelaide.

The Power’s finals hopes might have flickered out last week after fading dismally against Carlton. Outspoken coach Mark Williams has let the footy world know what he thinks of the Blues’ improvement as perhaps Port Adelaide’s man in charge feels the heat. It has been a frustrating season for Choco and his men, with all at Alberton knowing they have more ability than their ladder position reflects.

KEY MATCH-UPS

Harry Taylor v Justin Westhoff

Harry Taylor seems certain to come into the Geelong side this week after a week out of senior footy against North Melbourne last week. Justin Westhoff, at 199cm, is a difficult match-up for most defences. He hasn’t been in great touch this season but looked to be finding some form against Carlton early last week. Taylor is likely to get first crack.

Gary Ablett v Kane Cornes

Dom Cassisi has often been the go-to man for Choco Williams but, given the Geelong master’s recent form the coach might have to think about ramping up security. Williams has flagged the prospect of Kane Cornes getting the job, which opens the door for one of the more tantalising duels of the season. Cornes often wins plenty of it but will Ablett care too much, given how damaging he can be himself? And how much can Cornes restrict him?

Cameron Mooney v Alipate Carlile

Carlile has been terrific for Port Adelaide this season and kept Blues spearhead Brendan Fevola pretty quiet last week. He’s likely to get Geelong’s main strike weapon this week, whose confidence will be up after a career-high seven goals last week. Mooney treads a fine line with his aggression, so finding that right balance might be half the battle for him. Carlile might be wise – and brave – to test that balance.

WILDCARDS

Geelong – Tom Lonergan

Geelong is likely to see the extra value of Tom Lonergan this week. He was forced to go back to the defensive end last week after Matthew Scarlett’s hamstring went ‘twang’, and he might again play a dual role. At 197cm, he also has the ability to play the swingman, with VFL coach Leigh Tudor having groomed his game well at either end. With Scarlett missing and some tall Power forwards lurking, don’t be surprised to see him down back.

Port Adelaide – Warren Tredrea

While Daniel Motlop is Mr Unpredictable and will provide headaches at some stage for the Geelong defence, perhaps it is the Port Adelaide skipper’s return to form that could throw another spanner in the works. Tredrea is approaching some of his best form since a chronic knee injury, and the Cats will need to get their match-ups right to curb his influence.

QUESTION MARKS

How will Geelong’s back six cope with not one, but two, of its All-Australian key defenders missing?

How will the Power respond to last week’s shattering loss to Carlton?

And will the Power adopt the same approach as North Melbourne against Gary Ablett and simply try to corral him, rather than tackle the man with one of the strongest cores in the AFL?

BLUFFER'S GUIDE

Geelong played some good footy last week and took the full four quarters to shake a determined North Melbourne, while Port Adelaide should have wrapped the four points up after dominating three quarters against the Blues. The Power, which won at the Cattery last year, has a definite chance against an undermanned Geelong defence. A win this weekend would keep the finals dream alive and it isn’t out of the question. But can the inconsistent Power flick the switch for four quarters?

PREDICTION:

Geelong by 25 points

http://www.afl.com.au/Results/tabid/11433/default.aspx?seasonid=66&roundid=684&fixtureid=4919&display=1&newsid=61298

thomasleary
15 Jun 2008, 09:50
Port got close to the cats at Kadinia Park last year, but you'd have to expect this one's going to be a miss match.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 10:01
I think it will be a closer game then recent form suggests, only cause our players do that and reguarly do the unexpected.

But I still think Geelong will win regardless.

Big Nasty
15 Jun 2008, 10:44
Port got close to the cats at Kadinia Park last year, but you'd have to expect this one's going to be a miss match.
We didn't have Bartel, Ling or Selwood, and Port were tons better than they are now.

Forzaport
15 Jun 2008, 11:07
It's these kind of games that port can surprise and win, especially considering our woeful final quarter against carlton. Considering only 2 teams have beaten geelong since round 6(?) 2007 and one of them is port at skilled stadium, i'm expecting a decent contest.

Us getting burgoyne back and the cats losing scarlett should even things up. Don't let our win/loss count fool you, we're not too far from our best and we've been competitive in every game this year bar 1. The tide has to turn at some stage and hopefully for us, it'll be this week.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 12:04
We didn't have Bartel, Ling or Selwood, and Port were tons better than they are now.
Still making excuses?

Get over it, we beat you.

Cuzz09
15 Jun 2008, 12:47

they got close? They won! :p

I think cats will win but it will be close.

Port will come out with something to prove.

P.S. Ive never heard so many teams supporters being so happy about a player being out injured as Ive heard this week about Thurstans being out :p Every team has a player that their own supporters shudder when they get the ball....

At the Eagles that player is..... um everyone at the moment :p

Prediction: Geelong by 19 points.

Forzaport
15 Jun 2008, 12:57
Ive never heard so many teams supporters being so happy about a player being out injured as Ive heard this week about Thurstans being out :p Every team has a player that their own supporters shudder when they get the ball...

That has been a bit disappointing. I think most of us (port supporters) are happy purely because our defence is now better balanced with talls/smalls.

I_Am_The_Lid
15 Jun 2008, 13:03
Still making excuses?

Get over it, we beat you.

We are over it, 119 times over it!!

Apperently Williams isn't, according to him your best will beat us any day. Who is making excuses now?

Cheshire Cat
15 Jun 2008, 13:09
still Making Excuses?

Get Over It, We Beat You.

Hahahahahahaha! ;)

vealesy
15 Jun 2008, 13:14
anyone heard the official changes yet??

windyhill
15 Jun 2008, 14:16
Port, over possessing the ball. Geelong just waiting for the one mistake.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 14:20
Tredrea = Champion

Port have a very different structure today.

Adelaide Hawk
15 Jun 2008, 14:27
Geelong are using the legitimate tactic of allowing Port to lead early so they can run over them later on.

DeanoT
15 Jun 2008, 14:30
Would be nice if Josh Hunt could find a way to put his head over the ball during a contest. If I had a body like his I wouldn't have a heart the size of a pea.

Duskfire
15 Jun 2008, 14:42
End of first quarter

Geelong 3 5 23
Port 2 2 14

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 14:43
Im happy with the game so far apart from a few lost opportunities to kick some goals. Port have been goin in hard and tackling well but i wonder how long they can keep it up.

Geelongs run and play on has been good too.

Ottens u star

And_ROOS
15 Jun 2008, 14:45
Been a pretty good match to watch so far, cant believe Geelong dominated so much so early but didnt put the score on the board.

Alas, round 2, *ding*

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 14:49
Well done cornes , thanks for that.

good kick for mackie goal.

Mikester
15 Jun 2008, 14:50
Lol @ Port Thuggery. Fail.

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 14:50
Typical port dirty style football..

Can never be hard at the ball to prove any hardness, gota resort to dirty play..

Nice knee drop from k cornes on ablett and then a player got abletts head between his knees and was trying to crush it between his knees :thumbsd:

Along with the rest of the crap

haywood jablome
15 Jun 2008, 14:51
Port resorting to troll tactics.

couchy555
goal to chappy

cats. 5.5.35

prt 2.2 14

s johnson reported.

Tapee
Was the report of S. Johnson for head butting?

zebbity
Would be nice if Josh Hunt could find a way to put his head over the ball during a contest. If I had a body like his I wouldn't have a heart the size of a pea.

He had his head over the one he bumbled along for 20 mtrs but it was looking up at what was coming :o

Adelaide Hawk
15 Jun 2008, 14:52
Can you believe they just reported Steve Johnson for THAT??!! We're starting to see some really ridiculous reports these days.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 14:52
lol at the pea heart Geelong fans on the net on bigfooty when their team is playing at home.

You aren't fans.

haywood jablome
15 Jun 2008, 14:53
lol at the pea heart Geelong fans on the net on bigfooty when their team is playing at home.

You aren't fans.
You think we all live in Geelong you disease.

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 14:53
motlop shot for goal

misses pressure shot. suprise

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 14:54
What was that pathetic free to motlop!!!???

Lol contested ball is something like 45-20 geelongs way..

Try win some of that for once port..

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 14:55
scrappy here for both teams

Adelaide Hawk
15 Jun 2008, 14:55
What's Chad Cornes doing today? He hasn't had a touch yet. Time for Williams to get him where the ball is.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 14:56
What was that pathetic free to motlop!!!???

Lol contested ball is something like 45-20 geelongs way..

Try win some of that for once port..
Get lost flog you are trolling and no one cares what you say.

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 14:59
Get lost flog you are trolling and no one cares what you say.

You are a dead set bore.. Rack off insignificant boy..

You're the troll having a go at the cats fans in here for not going to the game, im commenting on the game- the free kick and the contested ball situation is what you quoted me on..

I forgot, everyone to you is a 'troll'.. Get original for once..

Lol@you..

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 15:00
You are a dead set bore.. Rack off insignificant boy..

You're the troll having a go at the cats fans in here for not going to the game, im commenting on the game- the free kick and the contested ball situation is what you quoted me on..

Lol@you..

Nah mate, its called small penis syndrome, your mob last night choked now your trolling in a Port thread, so why don't you do Bigfooty a favour and log off.

Nasma
15 Jun 2008, 15:27
Nah mate, its called small penis syndrome, your mob last night choked now your trolling in a Port thread, so why don't you do Bigfooty a favour and log off.

Trolling is being provocative just to get a response. He pointed out that Port are being smashed in contested possessions.

They are.

It's relevant.

All you've done is insult people.

Big Nasty
15 Jun 2008, 15:27
Haha Dirty Port players getting stuck into Ablett & he's still winning the ball, and he's even killing Kornes the supposed best tagger. :rolleyes:

stinky wingman
15 Jun 2008, 15:28
what is going on with s johnson? i recruited him to my dreamteam this week and from the looks of it he's scored poorly?

pavilion103
15 Jun 2008, 15:31
what is going on with s johnson? i recruited him to my dreamteam this week and from the looks of it he's scored poorly?

hasn't had a lot of it! rushed a few shots on goal and given away a couple of free too!
I've got him in my team also, a bit hot and cold :mad:

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 15:36

Read the post below your last one.. Im talking about the game, you're in here abusing cats supporters..

Are you that thick to understand that?

And we didnt choke 'mate', nice try to pass that tag off.. I know how bad you want to hand it to someone else but your mob own it :D We fought out a great game that one side would happen to be in front at the right time, not getting 7 goals up and choking like your rabble.. Constantly i might add..

You're a joke.. Now stick to the game and stop doing the trolling yourself little paranoid one..

stinky wingman
hasn't had a lot of it! rushed a few shots on goal and given away a couple of free too!
I've got him in my team also, a bit hot and cold :mad:

i always make sure i have lots of players from teams that dominate, so from geelong i have johnson, bartel, and corey.

i can't have inconsistent players in my team come finals time, ill get ripped by the guys in my league, ill get rid of s johnson if he scores less than 50 for this game lol

couchy555
Not a bad game this one, interesting spot. Port arent out of this at all coz i reckon they have done well to have their forward line open a lot with just motloop down there, though he hasnt done that much.

But hes more than capable.

I think were winning coz were smashing them in the midfield, they just cant get clear posession to deliver into their forward line.

Think we will get this one but not over yet.

PoidaCat
15 Jun 2008, 15:37
Kane cornes going for some sort of choke/neck twist on Ablett and then drops his knees into his back! :thumbsd:

And the Steve Johnson report. I think ants would have been able to migrate successfully off both of their foreheads without any deaths.

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 15:37
Haha Dirty Port players getting stuck into Ablett & he's still winning the ball, and he's even killing Kornes the supposed best tagger. :rolleyes:

Dead set genius this man is.. What a player, his workrate is enormous

stinky wingman
15 Jun 2008, 15:39
Kane cornes going for some sort of choke/neck twist on Ablett and then drops his knees into his back! :thumbsd:

And the Steve Johnson report. I think ants would have been able to migrate successfully off both of their foreheads without any deaths.

steve johnson reported?

will he get any weeks?

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 15:42
What play from ablett on the wing.. As i said, genius..

Got a crook bounce over his head, laid a great tackle then just ripped the ball out of kornes hand and a lazy underground handball

stinky wingman
15 Jun 2008, 15:43
What play from ablett on the wing.. As i said, genius..

Got a crook bounce over his head, laid a great tackle then just ripped the ball out of kornes hand and a lazy underground handball

didn't really strip it from kane cornes's hand..........kane knew he was going to be pinned holding the ball so he stupidly thew his hands out to claim he didnt have it

Tapee
15 Jun 2008, 15:44
Port to get routed by 80+.

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 15:44
Fat ladys sung.

cats 10.9.69

port 3.6.24

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 15:46
this gettin ugly ( or pretty) depends on your point of view

LifeSpan-Void
15 Jun 2008, 15:48

your team sucks and is playing the thug, unsuccessfully. Go home.

Rascally
15 Jun 2008, 15:52

Sort of like your trolling of the Crows threads??? Funny how you called last nights a choke, it just shows how little you have, and this game shows has small a heart your team has.

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 15:55
Sort of like your trolling of the Crows threads??? Funny how you called last nights a choke, it just shows how little you have, and this game shows has small a heart your team has.

Theyre trying to cling to anything lol desperate..

windyhill
15 Jun 2008, 15:57
Port, over possessing the ball. Geelong just waiting for the one mistake.

Called it early, very ugly to watch port.

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 15:58

I don't beat 9 months later about a game that didnt involve my team....

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 16:02
Prismall, good goal.

cats 13.12.90

port 4.6. 30

Rascally
15 Jun 2008, 16:08
I don't beat 9 months later about a game that didnt involve my team....

Erm, ok whatever that is meant to say. Just learn to appreciate good footy, you never know, your team may play in one day.

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 16:09
is ablett in line for votes in this game?

pavilion103
15 Jun 2008, 16:09
steve johnson reported?

will he get any weeks?

steve johnson won't get suspended for that. will hardly get looked at...

he dominated that 3rd quarter, up in DT fro 26 at half time to 70

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 16:10
lol i love the port power, adelaide crows hatred lol its just genuienly nasty lol

keep it up!!

PowerForGood
15 Jun 2008, 16:14
Why are there so many crows troll posts on an AFL Gameday thread?

I don't mind it on Bay 13, but getting it on the main board and in Gameday just shows me that the Crows mods obviously have double standards - I copped it from a Crows mod for keeping a thread going on why Adelaide supporters greatest day was Port Adelaide's GF thrashing.

So if they won't do their job, I will.

F**k off.

LifeSpan-Void
15 Jun 2008, 16:17

I don't mind it on Bay 13, but getting it on the main board and in Gameday just shows me that the Crows mods obviously have double standards - I copped it from a Crows mod for keeping a thread going on why Adelaide supporters greatest day was Port Adelaide's GF thrashing.

F**k off.

how about we keep it relevant on THIS thread you tool? Geelong still up by 56

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 16:21

F**k off.

You blind or something?

Comments are on the game, its your fellow supporter pafc1 that cant shut up and has a paranoia problem..

Its like you lot see Adelaide in the team supported and cant handle the poster being in here..

couchy555
15 Jun 2008, 16:22
jeez wish mooney would concentrate a bit more when hes takin a shot on goal

Powerade 08
15 Jun 2008, 16:23
Well said, Crows posters are the Adam Goodes of the main/gameday board.

...you tool? Geelong still up by 56

Speaking of tools... Milburn wasn't happy about being hit head high in the 1st quarter was he... :o

PAFC_1
15 Jun 2008, 16:23
You blind or something?

Comments are on the game, its your fellow supporter pafc1 that cant shut up and has a paranoia problem..

Its like you lot see Adelaide in the team supported and cant handle the poster being in here..
GTFO of this thread you flog

Great goal Mots

mantis
15 Jun 2008, 16:24
Score please.

Powerade 08
15 Jun 2008, 16:25
Score please.
Cats: 13.14.92 Power: 6.6.42

LifeSpan-Void
15 Jun 2008, 16:25
score Please.

93-42

bigcatman
15 Jun 2008, 16:26
varcoe and stokes both miss

LifeSpan-Void
15 Jun 2008, 16:28
varcoe and stokes both miss

Stevie J doesn't. 100-42

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 16:29
GTFO of this thread you flog

Great goal Mots

Even the other posters have told you you're being the fool..

Go back to the comforts of your power board..

Great goal steve johnson

DOCKER CLINT
15 Jun 2008, 16:32
lol i love the port power, adelaide crows hatred lol its just genuienly nasty lol

keep it up!!

There's nothing like it in the country. The WCE/Dockers rivalry is like a diplomatic convention by comparison.

If you know the history of what Port did to SA footy, you'd understand the hatred of that club and the joy your club brought to the majority of South Australians in last years GF.

haywood jablome
15 Jun 2008, 16:33
Blakeyyyyyyyyy !!

Tapee
15 Jun 2008, 16:34
Blakeyyyyyyyyy !!
CLEARLY touched, not sure what the goal umpire was doing.

stinky wingman
15 Jun 2008, 16:35
was there much in the steve johnson report?

i have him in dream team just wondering if he is gonna be playing

haywood jablome
15 Jun 2008, 16:37

Will get off, nothing in it

bigcatman
prismall is on fire....must of cemented his spot in the side after today.

Tapee

He should be fine, was very soft.

Kamikaze Krowz
15 Jun 2008, 16:41
prismall is on fire....must of cemented his spot in the side after today.

Not sure how well he's regarded there but he seems another good player you've found..

I like gamble also

33 scoring shots to 14, lucky the cats kicked a bit inaccurate..

Ablett 19 contested.. Wow

Nasma
15 Jun 2008, 16:42
A lazy 19 contested possessions to the GAblett

Nasma
15 Jun 2008, 16:46
Also- not that it means much- back on top of the ladder.

JDC!
15 Jun 2008, 16:49
Geelong were very impressive today and everyone had a stack of the ball.

Chad Cornes and Steven Salopek were good for Port. Interesting that halfway through the second quarter Cornes hadn't had a possession yet he finished with 26.

mantis
15 Jun 2008, 16:58
Also- not that it means much- back on top of the ladder.

It will to the Hawks supporters, ;)

McCrabb for PM
15 Jun 2008, 17:04
Geelong were very impressive today and everyone had a stack of the ball.

Chad Cornes and Steven Salopek were good for Port. Interesting that halfway through the second quarter Cornes hadn't had a possession yet he finished with 26.

Yeah but how many contested?

DeanoT
15 Jun 2008, 17:04
CLEARLY touched, not sure what the goal umpire was doing.

Clearly touched, yes, before the line, no.

Eudes
15 Jun 2008, 17:13
Selwood & Prismall... The future of the geelong midfield looks very bright!

Motormouse
15 Jun 2008, 17:18
I choose to use my biased comment for this year for this post.....

Suck Shite Port.... Your dirty play and tacticts counted for squat when viewed against a side that would stand up against whatever you were capable of, and dealt it back to you.

If you were capable you would have weathered the storm and performed.

We saw what you did.

Ricardo
15 Jun 2008, 17:42
Great 4 quarter effort, one of the best performances of the year IMO, hard at the ball, very good defensive set-up held up Port on so many occassions, tackling was very good (after quarter time especially).

Port looked pretty flat going forward, we did well without Scarlett to restrict them to just 49 points.

The only negative was the goal kicking, could've been another 5-6 goals up but still very pleased with that performance.

Asty
15 Jun 2008, 18:08

You aren't fans.

As someone else mentioned we dont all live in Geelong.

BTW. How many supporters do the power have and how many do they get to their home games (minus the travelling supporters). Our stadium holds less supporters than the cats have membership so cant all be there.

winty
15 Jun 2008, 18:37

That generally happens when you play as the loose man in defence for a half.

Barabbas
15 Jun 2008, 19:56

BTW. How many supporters do the power have and how many do they get to their home games (minus the travelling supporters). Our stadium holds less supporters than the cats have membership so cant all be there.

Coming from a team whose fans don't show up for home finals too.

Inferno
15 Jun 2008, 21:04

You aren't fans.hahaha extraordinarily ignorant call you tool. If you knew anything about Skilled Stadium you would know its next to impossible to get into, even for members if they are new. And newsflash not all Geelong supporters, or any supporters for that matter are able to be at every home game! We have 32k members and a 24k stadium, it doesn't take Einstein to figure out not everyone can fit in it.

At least we actually have fans to turn up to games, in a city of 1m people your club is lucky to get over 30k. You can't even sell out a showdown :rolleyes:

iameviljez
15 Jun 2008, 22:47

I love this quote when you look at the guy's location right next to it.

danbeacom
20 Jun 2008, 03:07
At least we actually have fans to turn up to games, in a city of 1m people your club is lucky to get over 30k.
Very well said.

I have lost so much respect for Port Adelaide.
I had initially respected them after going down to them in round 21.. despite geelong missing Ling, Bartel, Selwood.

Didn't palm them off prior to the GF because it's not good to get complacent. However this year I have been amazed at their inability to finish games.. and really, had we kicked straight in this match.. it could've been much more embarrassing.

G. Ablett for the brownlow