View Full Version : Box Hill Match Reports!

#6 Mark Williams
15 Jun 2008, 17:56
Hey guys, I've been scouting around a bit and I couldn't find much, so if anyone went, please post your match reports here. Specific questions for me are how did: Dawson, Whitecross, Dowler, Thorp (if played) and Bailey go? Cheers guys.

Bennycoff
15 Jun 2008, 18:01
Don't think Thorp played. Don't think Bailey played either.

Newy Hawk
15 Jun 2008, 18:01
Hey guys, I've been scouting around a bit and I couldn't find much, so if anyone went, please post your match reports here. Specific questions for me are how did: Dawson, Whitecross, Dowler, Thorp (if played) and Bailey go? Cheers guys.

Brendan got Best on Ground.. (you little beauty WELL DONE MATE)
Dowler - if buddy is out sounds like he might get a run up front, was solid..

i only caught the last half of the third quarter and the final quarter, sounded like we were scrappy at times, but really held high intensity right till the end which was great and this win will be a much needed confidence booster..

Sorry its not really a report at all, im at work and listening to it on the computer. Was just what i gathered from hearing it..

Well done Boys all the same..

Cheers,
Troy

BuddyHawkers
15 Jun 2008, 18:31
Heard that Bailey played in res

Goldhawk
15 Jun 2008, 19:01
What did we finally win ?

Line in the Sand
15 Jun 2008, 19:13
what Did We Finally Win ?

Yes!! Woot!!

noosa hawk mad
15 Jun 2008, 19:21
Great news on B Whitecross BOG!:thumbsu:

hawks_time
15 Jun 2008, 19:25
Thankgod we won!

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 19:28
Max jarred his knee in first 5-10mins of 1st quarter of ressies game he was going going to play a half of a game but only managed those first few minutes he did get some touches but was in a contest situation and went down getting a scan i hear on monday and is hoping to play if all is ok next week

BuddyHawkers
15 Jun 2008, 19:32
The only thing I now is

Box Hill Hawks 0.7 5.7 10.10 13.12 (90)
Werribee Tigers 6.1 7.5 7.10 11.16 (82)

GOALS: Kenna 3 Grima 2 Moss Whitecross Breese Neville Morrell Dawson Dowler McEntee

BEST: Pedersen Whitecross Tuck Kenna Kennedy Breese

Big Ronnie
15 Jun 2008, 19:55
Hey gang, yes went, today, didn't see Ggallin or flyby or any of the regulars, was the smallest crowd have seen at a BH game this year by a mile, but jesus what a beauty:thumbsu:

For the first time everybody seemed to be playing on the same game plan and they truely played their best footy of the year. They won it, not Werribee losing it.

Thats deliberate will be stoked cause Whitecross played his best game so far by miles. Was evening diving in the mud to get the pill and not looking for the easy chop out, was everywhere. I wouldn't have had him BOG though, from a spectators view it was Travis Tuck from K3. The ground was bog and tucky threw himself at everything, you couldnt even tell who he was playing for he was that covered. K3 lot of the pill, but his disposal was ordinary at times, but he is a magnet.
Steve Kenna the little midget number 2 was dynamic and was in everything also.

Will try to run down the Hawks players according to BR:

Whitecross: If Changa no good he may get his spot as a runner, however still would like Tucky in.
Travis Tuck: Has 3 testicles! If Barry Mitchell had of told him to run in to a goal post he would of. Very much a soldier and in everything
Gary Moss: Lots of possies, one of his best but disposal at times off target
Beau Dowler: Played better in a variety of roles, but still lot of work to do. I actually think now that after seeing 5 games, that Digby Morrell stuffs him up by being in the team. Morrell takes the big guy leads that they should be blooding Dowler to do, and the BH (not Hawks) guys look for him more. Beau has a great set of mits, but the kicking a little off at present.
McEntee: Moved the rain clouds at one stage, he gets that high:eek: NOt a day for big guys but servicable.
Thorp: Didnt even see him at the ground watching
Stokes: Sat with Cyriol watching in the stands
Zac: Played back,forward,ruck, cant say he did anything outstanding but saw a bit of it. When he spoils he has this kind of late reaction thing to spoil like he's just picking up on it when everybody else has already made their decisions in a contest. Kind of makes you nervous. Should be doing more, he looked like a big boy against some of the opposition.
Grima: Kicked a couple but dosent exactly control a game. Looks like a BH player only at best. Would draft Neville,Kenna before him

Very cold day but there was this one guy there from the Box Hill family who sit each week behind the southern goals who had the foghorn going all day. You could hear him from everywhere coaching.

Sightings: Brent Renouf said well done, Thommo in designer gear kicking with his tacker (would the boy still qualify for us under father/son?) Cyriol,Stokes,Beau Muston who goes to every game in his pork Pie hat, and a lot of bleached blonde 18 year old chicks trying to get out of the getto. Musn't of known that Thorpy wasn't there today;)

Shit it was cold:(

BR:thumbsu:

flyby hawk
15 Jun 2008, 19:56
Anyone know more about Max's injury - my heart is in my mouth.

Desperate to know!!!!

noosa hawk mad
15 Jun 2008, 19:56
Max jarred his knee in first 5-10mins of 1st quarter of ressies game he was going going to play a half of a game but only managed those first few minutes he did get some touches but was in a contest situation and went down getting a scan i hear on monday and is hoping to play if all is ok next weekLets hope he's alright HAWKS HEROES can't take a trick with injury's!

rdhopkins2
15 Jun 2008, 20:01
Well done Zac & boys, great team effort, keep those 2nd/3rd efforts up. Tackling was top notch, pressure high when we didn't have the ball and we stuck to our guns after qtr time, hardly giving away goals in junk time. Good to see Tuck & Whitecross playing well, Zac also having a good game. Well done, hope this is a confidence booster for the boys. Well done to the Box Hill faithful who made the trip down there today to cheer the boys on. Great to see the standing ovation as they left the field, the boys were thrilled, song sung in great gusto! We're a Happy Team at Box Hill tonight!

Had to laugh: with the ball in the centre and 50/50 situation, Zac and his opponent were having a little friendly argy bargy in the goalsquare. #35 I think it was for Werribee decides that he doesn't like it, grabs Zac by the neck and pulls him to the ground. The ump is inside the centre square, sees the act and runs 50m to pay the free kick. From 5m out Zac kicks it through the sticks for pretty much the sealer!! Gold!

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:05
crawf rough muston dicko rioli stokes tails Mitch [left early for a function] to name a few who went and watched jess sinclair and Nathan Thompson and son and another roo player was there watching had a good chat with Thommo , is hoping to get up and play this weekend his son spilt the beens that his knee was sore though i don't wish injuries on anyone and hope he is ok but he can do a lot of damage in their forwards line so sorry thommo play the week after just for me not this weekend coming :D:o:thumbsu:

flyby hawk
15 Jun 2008, 20:06
Hey gang, yes went, today, didn't see Ggallin or flyby or any of the regulars,

BR that's been the problem - too many Big footy posters attending :thumbsu:

Thanks for your report - much appreciated.

noosa hawk mad
15 Jun 2008, 20:07
Hey gang, yes went, today, didn't see Ggallin or flyby or any of the regulars, was the smallest crowd have seen at a BH game this year by a mile, but jesus what a beauty:thumbsu:

For the first time everybody seemed to be playing on the same game plan and they truely played their best footy of the year. They won it, not Werribee losing it.

Thats deliberate will be stoked cause Whitecross played his best game so far by miles. Was evening diving in the mud to get the pill and not looking for the easy chop out, was everywhere. I wouldn't have had him BOG though, from a spectators view it was Travis Tuck from K3. The ground was bog and tucky threw himself at everything, you couldnt even tell who he was playing for he was that covered. K3 lot of the pill, but his disposal was ordinary at times, but he is a magnet.

Whitecross: If Changa no good he may get his spot as a runner, however still would like Tucky in.
Travis Tuck: Has 3 testicles! If Barry Mitchell had of told him to run in to a goal post he would of. Very much a soldier and in everything
Beau Dowler: Played better in a variety of roles, but still lot of work to do. I actually think now that after seeing 5 games, that Digby Morrell stuffs him up by being in the team. Morrell takes the big guy leads that they should be blooding Dowler to do, and the BH (not Hawks) guys look for him more. Beau has a great set of mits, but the kicking a little off at present.
McEntee: Moved the rain clouds at one stage, he gets that high:eek: NOt a day for big guys but servicable.
Zac: Played back,forward,ruck, cant say he did anything outstanding but saw a bit of it. When he spoils he has this kind of late reaction thing to spoil like he's just picking up on it when everybody else has already made their decisions in a contest. Kind of makes you nervous. Should be doing more, he looked like a big boy against some of the opposition.
Grima: Kicked a couple but dosent exactly control a game. Looks like a BH player only at best. Would draft Neville,Kenna before him

Very cold day but there was this one guy there from the Box Hill family who sit each week behind the southern goals who had the foghorn going all day. You could hear him from everywhere coaching.

Sightings: Brent Renouf said well done, Thommo in designer gear kicking with his tacker (would the boy still qualify for us under father/son?) Cyriol,Stokes,Beau Muston who goes to every game in his pork Pie hat, and a lot of bleached blonde 18 year old chicks trying to get out of the getto. Musn't of known that Thorpy wasn't there today;)

BR:thumbsu:Great report BR appreciated mate!:thumbsu:Hot up here mate nearly had my speedos on!:p

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:10
Well done to the Box Hill faithful who made the trip down there today to cheer the boys on. Great to see the standing ovation as they left the field, the boys were thrilled, song sung in great gusto! We're a Happy Team at Box Hill tonight!

Had to laugh: with the ball in the centre and 50/50 situation, Zac and his opponent were having a little friendly argy bargy in the goalsquare. #35 I think it was for Werribee decides that he doesn't like it, grabs Zac by the neck and pulls him to the ground. The ump is inside the centre square, sees the act and runs 50m to pay the free kick. From 5m out Zac kicks it through the sticks for pretty much the sealer!! Gold!

wondered what happened as i was chatting waiting for the bounce to happen and next i saw was the free paid to Zac :thumbsu: i was standing at the gate clapping away when they went into the rooms and followed them in and sang with them great to finally get the monkey off ourbacks and get a good win :thumbsu:

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:12
Lets hope he's alright HAWKS HEROES can't take a trick with injury's!

hope so too hopefully wasn't too bad

halfback dasher
15 Jun 2008, 20:12

Cheeres BR:thumbsu::)

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:14
Don't think Thorp played. Don't think Bailey played either.
thorp was watching Bails played but was injured in first 5 to 10 min of the ressie game which started at 11 am so if you were not there then you would have missed it

halfback dasher
15 Jun 2008, 20:26
Does any one know why mitch missed again... hip and feet again?:confused:

Time Machine
15 Jun 2008, 20:33
Does any one know why mitch missed again... hip and feet again?:confused:Thorp is ok, the fitness and coach have decided to change the tactic on his fitness and physical development giving him long blocks of work at training and build him up so he is fully fit. Basically due to missing the past 2 pre-seasons he has had trouble just keeping up.

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:35
does Any One Know Why Mitch Missed Again... Hip And Feet Again?:confused:
Think He Will Be Out For one more Week I Think Thats What I Heard

Mr Lizard
15 Jun 2008, 20:38
...Bails played but was injured in first 5 to 10 min of the ressie game...

Heard big Max possibly did his ACL, might be out another 12 months.

:mad: and :(

hawks_time
15 Jun 2008, 20:47
Bullsh_t!! That's terrible news.

Blasé
15 Jun 2008, 20:48
Max jarred his knee in first 5-10mins of 1st quarter of ressies game he was going going to play a half of a game but only managed those first few minutes he did get some touches but was in a contest situation and went down getting a scan i hear on monday and is hoping to play if all is ok next week

oh yeah, having a knee test is just a routine test for any player - except of course this guy's got a history of knee problems!

i think realistically, all of us will be hoping for the best, and that he can get back playing for the BH 2nds next week and get through 1 game.

knee problems are serious - just ask muston.

amazing that the seniors are flying when 1 top 10 pick (thorp) is injured always, 1 top 10 (dowler) is still trying to adjust after a car crash, 1 10-20 pick (bailey) still struggling with recurring injury, and a 21 pick (muston) has been cut down by another knee.

considering that, we've had a number of later picks that have picked up the slack and allowed us to cover significant senior player injuries.

it just shows how much more potential improvement we have.

congrats to box hill with their break through win. hopefully this is the start of a few more wins.

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 20:51
Heard big Max possibly did his ACL, might be out another 12 months.

:mad: and :(

chatted to him after he came out sound positive and thought and was hoping he would be fine to play next week
hope that comes true for him :thumbsu::)

markr
15 Jun 2008, 20:55
Thorp is ok, the fitness and coach have decided to change the tactic on his fitness and physical development giving him long blocks of work at training and build him up so he is fully fit. Basically due to missing the past 2 pre-seasons he has had trouble just keeping up.
Good news, I've often wondered why they didn't do this sort of thing with young blokes who miss the pre-season.

Mr Lizard
15 Jun 2008, 20:56
chatted to him after he came out sound positive and thought and was hoping he would be fine to play next week
hope that comes true for him :thumbsu::)

Oh, ok. Well, I hope I am completely wrong!

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 21:02
hope so for all our sake rather just a small injury then one that takes him out for a year again , i reckon you would nearly give it up if that happened

Realist
15 Jun 2008, 21:36
oh yeah, having a knee test is just a routine test for any player - except of course this guy's got a history of knee problems!

i think realistically, all of us will be hoping for the best, and that he can get back playing for the BH 2nds next week and get through 1 game.

knee problems are serious - just ask muston.

amazing that the seniors are flying when 1 top 10 pick (thorp) is injured always, 1 top 10 (dowler) is still trying to adjust after a car crash, 1 10-20 pick (bailey) still struggling with recurring injury, and a 21 pick (muston) has been cut down by another knee.

considering that, we've had a number of later picks that have picked up the slack and allowed us to cover significant senior player injuries.

it just shows how much more potential improvement we have.

congrats to box hill with their break through win. hopefully this is the start of a few more wins.
I hear that they're expecting Dowler to be over the car crash by his mid forties.
When are the apologists for Dowler realise that this bloke is a dud and an embarassing waste of a number 6 draft pick. This guy should be dominating the VFL and he can barely get a kick. I'd say we should trade him but we'd get nothing for him. Better to delist him at the end of the season and learn from the mistake (ie. never draft an 18 year old that has been in a serious car accident one month earlier when there are plenty of more capable players to pick instead).
Really, Pelchen and his cohorts have some explaining to do. Since the Buddy draft which was as much a case of Richmond's incompetence as opposed to Hawthorn's foresight we have drafted Dowler, Muston and Thorp who all had serious injury clouds hanging over their heads in the lead up to the draft. So far none of these picks have paid off as they are still not over these injuries. I've even heard Pelchen say that Geelong would regret drafting Selwood because of his dodgy knee. Well Selwood has already given Geelong more service than those guys put together and I would trade all three for him in a second. If Pelchen can achieve that then maybe he'll start living up to his reputation.

Hawk43
15 Jun 2008, 21:46
bring in tucky back to the seniors, tough as nails and a ____ing gun good to see him dominate at BH

markr
15 Jun 2008, 21:54
There should be a button on each post to add someone to your ignore list, rather than having to wade in to their profile.

Davo23
15 Jun 2008, 21:59
Really, Pelchen and his cohorts have some explaining to do. Since the Buddy draft which was as much a case of Richmond's incompetence as opposed to Hawthorn's foresight we have drafted Dowler, Muston and Thorp who all had serious injury clouds hanging over their heads in the lead up to the draft. So far none of these picks have paid off as they are still not over these injuries. I've even heard Pelchen say that Geelong would regret drafting Selwood because of his dodgy knee. Well Selwood has already given Geelong more service than those guys put together and I would trade all three for him in a second. If Pelchen can achieve that then maybe he'll start living up to his reputation.

Yes, well said, Realist: Pelchen has no idea, he just picks duds yet our club is 11-1 and equal top of the ladder. We are internet heroes and know so much more that Pelchen

We should have got Tambling and Deledio rather than duds like Franklin and Roughead :eek:

(/sarcasm)

flyby hawk
15 Jun 2008, 22:19
Normally I don't like written sarcasm - however that is well put Davo23:thumbsu:

There have been many posts on this board showing what the recruiting dept have achieved in the last 3-4 years and believe the Hawks have achieved a lot.:thumbsu:

HAWKS HEROES
15 Jun 2008, 22:23
Normally I don't like written sarcasm - however that is well put Davo23:thumbsu:

There have been many posts on this board showing what the recruiting dept have achieved in the last 3-4 years and believe the Hawks have achieved a lot.:thumbsu:
will agree with both you and Davo23 can not believe someone reckons the guy who got Buddy Lewis Roughie is a dud thats a totally crazy thing to say !

what is that person smoking :eek:

BigAl3001
15 Jun 2008, 22:53
Hang on a sec didn't Pelchen arrive after Roughy, Buddy and Lewis were drafted? That was Bucky's good work. I too am not happy with the selection on Dowler and Muston in hindsight but at the time I could see merit because we had so many high picks in that draft. We also got Ellis and Birchall and Tuck in the same draft. Bailey was a steal and it really was bad luck he's done his knee so I hold nobody to ransom over his mis-fortune.
Thorp had huge wraps and unfortunately hasn't been able to get himself right. Let's be patient with him, we can afford to be given the depth of KP talent. The concern is Dowler at pick 6 and with Pat Ryder and Mitch Clark playing great footy in there 3rd years you would have expected the young man to have made more of an impact by now. Tim Boyle is hanging onto a spot precariously. Dowler should be putting his hand up for that position but I question whether he really wants it or believes he is good enough. Somebody give me evidence to the contrary.

markr
16 Jun 2008, 07:41
Hang on a sec didn't Pelchen arrive after Roughy, Buddy and Lewis were drafted? That was Bucky's good work.
My understanding was that Bucky was desperate for Tambling, although I may have heard wrong.

The concern is Dowler at pick 6 and with Pat Ryder and Mitch Clark playing great footy in there 3rd years
Clark has done nothing and Ryder is the most overrated young player in the AFL. The only player I've ever seen him beat is Mooney.

Buddy and the Hawk
16 Jun 2008, 11:33
How can anyone get on Muston's back. Did you guys not see him for the limited tim in the preseason. Had it not been for his knee he'd be playing seniors every week. Can't help injuries, it happens, very hard to guess that kind of stuff, if we could Dutchy would have been off to Adelaide before he did his shoulders.

Big Ronnie
16 Jun 2008, 19:34
I hear that they're expecting Dowler to be over the car crash by his mid forties.
When are the apologists for Dowler realise that this bloke is a dud and an embarassing waste of a number 6 draft pick. This guy should be dominating the VFL and he can barely get a kick. I'd say we should trade him but we'd get nothing for him. Better to delist him at the end of the season and learn from the mistake (ie. never draft an 18 year old that has been in a serious car accident one month earlier when there are plenty of more capable players to pick instead).

Mate what sort of an idiot are you?

Dont post crap like above again or just ____ off you moron. YOU DO NOT HAVE A GOD DAMN CLUE!!:mad::thumbsd:

Roger Rogerson
16 Jun 2008, 21:12
Did Suckling play in the ones? How did he go?

changalanga
16 Jun 2008, 22:33
Did Suckling play in the ones? How did he go?

yeh suckling played in the ones. i was happy with what i saw.

started on the wing and got fair share of the ball.. and when he gets it he knows what he is doing great desicion maker. went down forward in the 2nd half and didnt do a great deal. had 2 shots at goal. missed both.

really looks to be improving week by week had 20 touches and 5 tackles..
looks to be a lot more physical and harder this year which is great.. foot skills are amazing..

speaking of amazing whitecross was awesome. diving in running hard and even a spear tackle.. must be some of the qld background coming out in him.. chance looks to miss a couple might get a chance which would be very exciting.

dawson- for the 2nd week in a row has gone forward and made a huge impact.

where is hugh sandilands??

Roger Rogerson
16 Jun 2008, 22:40
Thanks Changa. Sounds like Suckling could be another find by the end of the season. Looks a likely type (finally).

Great to hear about Whitecross who must be killing them at the moment.

Coathanger
17 Jun 2008, 12:21
Yeah I'd like to hear how Sandilands is going as well?

HAWKS HEROES
17 Jun 2008, 21:56
Box Hill Reserves Match Report
Round 9 at: City Oval – Date: June 15 – Report by: James Ranson

Box Hill continued their winning ways with a comfortable 57-point victory over Werribee on Sunday, their fourth win from their past five games.

It was yet another impressive display from the Hawks as they brushed aside the Tigers in the second half to slip into the top five.

Box Hill led by just five points at the main change, but imposed themselves on the contest thereafter with a 12 goal to four finish.

There were a number of standout performers, Kris Nye and Steve Daniher had (22 touches), Dale Bull (26), Adrian Papaluca (30) and George Anelopoulos (27) provided the Hawk’s core in the midfield.

Angelopoulos chimed in with three goals as well to cap off a fine game while Kris Shore and Troy Wright stood up in the forward line with three and four goals respectively.

Tim Walsh’s performances in the reserves are beginning to raise a few eyebrows after he finished with 17 disposals, 10 marks, 20 hit outs and four goals.

These are all promising signs ahead of next week’s crucial game with Frankston. The Dolphins sit just ahead of the Hawks on percentage in fourth, providing Box Hill with a great opportunity climb further up the ladder and close the gap on the top three.

Box Hill Hawks: 4.3 / 8.7 / 15.12 / 20.14 (134)
Werribee Tigers: 3.2 / 8.2 / 11.4 / 12.5 (77)

Goals: Wright 4, Walsh 4, Shore 3, Angelopoulos 3, Nye 2, Sinclair, Hogan, O’Sullivan, Hatton

Best: Wright, Papaluca, Angelopoulos, Walsh, Smithwick, Shore

HAWKS BREAK DROUGHT
Tuesday, 17 June 2008

Box Hill Match Report
Round 10 at: City Oval – Date: June 15 – Report by: James Ranson

The Box Hill Hawks broke a near year-long winless drought, venting their frustration on the Werribee Tigers as they won 13.12.90 to 11.16.82 at City Oval on Sunday afternoon.

The last time the Hawks won a home and away game was July 8 last season when they defeated Port Melbourne by 38 points.

That set up a tense finish to a thrilling match, with the Hawks fighting back to clinch a memorable victory, after trailing by five goals at quarter time.

They kicked 10 goals to one in the second and third terms to lead by as much as three goals at three-quarter time, but Werribee, led by James Podsiadly, kicked the first four goals of the last term to stun Box Hill into action.

There was a widely regarded argument that the Hawks didn’t know how to win and it appeared they had let a golden opportunity slip conceding a three goal lead at the final change to trail by eight points in the blink of an eye.

But the Hawks side had a steely look about them and you got the sense that despite the Tigers’ charge, they weren’t done with yet.

Box Hill was given a rare opportunity to win, and the players answered the challenge with physicality and a new found resilience.

Hawks coach Barry Mitchell was relieved to get away with his first win in the job.

“Yeah it was fantastic, particularly after our poor start, I think we were six goals to one, I didn’t think we were playing too badly. We were disappointed but not too negative at quarter time and to the boys’ credit they fought back, Werribee came back at the end and we looked really tired but we’ll take that it’s been a long time coming.”

Mitchell was wrapped with his side’s even contribution but even more so with the relentless tackling on display.

“We’ve been trying to get that into our game for quite a while, it comes and goes but it was probably there for a longer period of time today. That’s the stuff that wins you games, I mean there’s always turnovers and errors but tackling wins you the ball back and it can be so crucial as it was today.”

But he denied his half time instructions provided the impetus for the win.

“I don’t think it was anything I said, you know, I’ve been saying the same things most weeks, and most coaches say the same things, I mean today you just talk about really wanting to win and I think that we did that.”

As in past weeks Mitchell threw defender Zac Dawson forward as well as Alex Grima and they provided an effective tandem act yet again kicking the Hawks’ three goals in the last quarter between them.

“We lacked a marking target. Grima plays a bit forward and a bit back and Dawson: we did it last week where we put him forward, it was a bit of a move we go to; he’s more of a defender but he’s quite athletic as a forward.”

The groundwork though, was done in the second and third terms with the Hawks piling on five goals in each.

steve_kenna_rd05_qr16_m.jpgSteve Kenna copped a heavy tag but looked very ominous forward of centre after quarter time. His crafty play was integral as were three goals and 20 possessions.

The third term - traditionally the Hawks weakest - turned into quite a spectacle as the home side’s sleek ball movement and unselfish play dismantled the hapless Tigers.

Two consecutive long goals, the first from Ryan Breese and the second from the brilliant Brendan Whitecross, sparked the crowd to life.

You could sense the belief amongst the crowd that this of all games pointed to an overdue victory after so many near misses.

As mentioned, Whitecross was superb, playing his best game for the Hawks in picking up 22 touches. His composure under pressure was outstanding and he played a distributing “quarter back” role in the midfield.

Cameron Pedersen (24 disposals) played a huge hand as well, his work around the ground and in the ruck was vitally important with the Hawks only ruckman Luke McEntee succumbing to injury at three-quarter time.

It was the even contribution though that will most please the coaching staff.

Nathan Batsanis (25), Josh Kennedy (22), Matt Suckling (20), Alister Neville (19) and Breese (16) finally gave the Hawks a look of solidity through the midfield.

Kennedy’s return added depth to the midfield as did Travis Tuck’s (19). His absence has hurt the Hawks but Tuck made a solid return laying nine tackles as well.

Joel Cross (19) was another player to impress, for a young, smallish type midfielder his courage and willingness to contest has seen him make a real impression on the senior side.

The only injury concern to come out of the game was that of McEntee. He played no part in the final term and will be monitored during the week.

But with the possibility of him missing next week’s match and Brent Renouf’s elevation, the Hawk’s could struggle in the ruck department. Max Bailey, the Hawks other promising ruckman out for the rest of the season after injuring his knee only 10 minutes into his come-back game in the Box Hill Reserves.

Mitchell touted rookie-listed Tim Walsh as a possible inclusion in the seniors next week to fill the void.

The Hawks still sit at the foot of the ladder but could leapfrog Collingwood next week if they defeat Frankston away.

For the timed being, all the players should bask in the win, it was a fantastic effort and well deserved victory, well done Hawks.

Box Hill Hawks: 0.7 / 5.7 / 10.10 / 13.12 (90)
Werribee Tigers: 6.1 / 7.5 / 7.10 / 11.16 (82)

Goals: Kenna 3, Grima 2, Morrell, Neville, Breese, Dawson, Dowler, McEntee, Moss, Whitecross

Best: Pedersen, Whitecross, Tuck, Kenna, Kennedy, Breese