View Full Version : is it just me ???

irish
15 Jun 2008, 18:42
we all know what a pain in the butt pie supporters are with bomber fans a close second but i am finding some doggie fans to be the new pies for, being full of smart arse cracks and full of themselves, especialy over the whole aka thing ! they seem to forget the huge hand out that lets them exist from the afl
!!
its great to be mid season champs lets see if they will be holding together in september ! yep they kicked our butts yesterday no argument ! but we are a team a couple of years away from a serious challenge so maybe some doggie fans should keep it in check to september till we see if they can compete with the big boys without a power forward ! after all no team has won a flag without one as yet !!

as for aka leopards dont change there spots its only time before we get some blowout in the kennel just wait and see !

lions_den
15 Jun 2008, 19:20
They think they're world beaters after beating us yesterday.

Fitzroyboy11
15 Jun 2008, 19:22
west coast.... and don't even try to mention Quintin lynch because hes a spud, except they had the middle field to pull it off.
and on the doggies note, we let them win.. they controlled the corridor but if our disposal efficiency was anywhere near where it should have been we would have taken them to the wire. pies supporters are in a league of there own... don't even try to put the dogs supporters in that category

KungFooSing
15 Jun 2008, 19:23
I dont find Doggie supporters all that bad, simply, there aint many of them. As a club, they've been high on my 'dislike' list for a long time now, harking back to the filthy grub tactics of Terry Wallace and the likes of Liberatore, Romero and Dimattina on top of that Brad Johnsons petulant theatrics.

Let them have their day in the sun (and they deserve it, they smashed us), for we all know that the doggies wouldnt know how to finish a season off for the life of themselves.

As for the 'new Bombers' that tag surely goes to the Hawthorn wagon riders.

bullish23
17 Jun 2008, 08:04
they seem to forget the huge hand out that lets them exist from the afl !!

Being a lions supporter I am sure you would be aware the dogs aren't the only ones who have received assistance before. Not really sure what this point has to do with your observation though. You seem to suggest supporters aren't allowed to celebrate wins because their club receive the CBF from the AFL?

its great to be mid season champs lets see if they will be holding together in september !

95% of the bulldogs supporters on bigfooty would agree with you whole heartedly, including me. Most bigfooty dogs posters are being very cautious. Don't judge a set of supporters on an odd few (which every club has).

yep they kicked our butts yesterday no argument ! but we are a team a couple of years away from a serious challenge so maybe some doggie fans should keep it in check to september till we see if they can compete with the big boys without a power forward ! after all no team has won a flag without one as yet !!

Of course we would love to have a Jonathon Brown but you can only work with the cards you are dealt. I too thought this would be our achilles heal this season. However the Robert Murphy/Mitch Hahn CHF dual option seems to be working fairly well so far.

as for aka leopards dont change there spots its only time before we get some blowout in the kennel just wait and see !

I think the dogs would be very happy with this trade. This has nothing to do with having a go at the lions. The way Aka and the lions split had nothing to do with the dogs. They simply were the team who really went for Aka after it was obvious that Aka would no longer be a lion. It was a credit to both clubs how the negotiations were handled. From your comment I sense a bit of envy due to how well Aka has been playing.

kimp
17 Jun 2008, 08:22
What I tihnk most supporters have issues with is the difference in attitude between the Lions and Aker. Aker has repeatedly come out bagging the Lions (team, staff coach) and yet not once has a Lion done the same. Read his latest article on Realfooty to compare what Aker states and his attitude with Brownie's. It's so unbelievably immature. That attitude has been accepted by 'some' Doggies supporters (definately a minority though, unfortunately some of them like to make themelves known on this board).

mpal6
17 Jun 2008, 09:51
Aker - mid life crisis.
Move on u wanker !! :D

Tim the Toolman
17 Jun 2008, 10:36
In relation to this thread's point let's not forget the hard time we gave the doggies over our great years because of the Romero / Liberatore scratchy incidents and I think there's some bad blood from those days. Throw in Lynchy's choking gesture in that final and our chickens are coming home to roost.

I've always had a soft spot for the doggies after they threw a lifeline to Fitzroy with our draconian deal with Carlton at Princes Park. Mind you, they never lost a game to us after the 1989 merger debacle either!

OldLion
17 Jun 2008, 10:50
Winners are grinners - just suck it in. The Dogs are due - it's been awhile - so good luck to them .. and their coach ( who I rate highly ). Remember we beat the Pies - yes the ferals - in TWO GFs .. it doesn't get any better than that ( considering the consequences of an alternative result - shudder ).

Aka - he's got what he wanted .. a life after footy in the media, so he'll be shooting the mouth off. Hearing the fans' squeals when he got the footy at the G means he's on board there. But I was amazed he got votes - was the icing on the cake IMHO. Anyway the G's his stage so good luck - just have a little respect for your old family.

Now if Carlton get on a roll, then you'll see some arrogant stuff ...

Grimreepah
17 Jun 2008, 11:50
What I tihnk most supporters have issues with is the difference in attitude between the Lions and Aker.

Agree. I think it's fair to say that with Aker's dislike for the Lions and his resulting comments it's only natural that this will lead to tension between the clubs' supporters.

Duritz
17 Jun 2008, 11:58
Now if Carlton get on a roll, then you'll see some arrogant stuff ...

Spot on there. Heaven forbid they make the bloody eight.

knaf
17 Jun 2008, 14:19
The Bullies fans were certainly barking in the last quarter on Saturday. But fair enough, the game was billed as a test for both teams and their team just about panced us. If the roles were reversed I would probably have been as vocal. But generally Bullies fans are OK and if the make the final 4, and we dont, I will probably be hoping the Bullies win the flag.

The big three for tosser suporters remain Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton. Though Hawthorn supporters are doing their best to try to join this group. I have to add that there are also decent supporters of all 4 clubs but I suppose there are just so many of them that when they get together the tossers really stand out.

Have to add I am loving Carlton at $41 to $1 for the flags. Imagine all those Blues fans doing their money.

Ceebee
17 Jun 2008, 14:30
Paul Malone has an article in todays Courier which,shock, amazement !!!!!!!!, actually is non loving towards Aker.and sticks up for the Lions :confused: Grim may be able to bring it up for us. I am still in shock.

Grimreepah
17 Jun 2008, 14:38
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23874068-5016169,00.html

irish
17 Jun 2008, 20:12
good article !!
i am not having a crack at all doggie supporters just a small % who cannot handle success with humility. and the whole we got aka thing is so droll ! all i am saying, is dogs there is a hell of a lot of water to go under the bridge even before finals and then finals are a whole different kettle of fish anyway, so keep it check till season 08 is closer to a finale

we have been there done that, you lot havnt so maybe keep it in your pants till you can say you have and maybe aka should keep his gob shut till the dogs have won a threepeat then and only then he can reflect on which is the better team

as for season 08 a dogs flag would be great for the competition, will it happen mmm doubt it key forwards win finals not fill ins. is there depth strong enough ? couple of injuries and they are back in the pack,

my only hope is if they do make it and good on them if they do to see aka suspended in the preliminary final for 1 week would go great and satisfying kama !!

lion_gooner
17 Jun 2008, 20:37
i really like the bulldogs except for 3 people

the 2 bulldogs people i got into a fight with on saturday

and one of my smartarse teachers at tafe that i hate

that go for them but apart from that they are great

Roy Fitzlion
17 Jun 2008, 20:48
[quote=OldLion;11404836Now if Carlton get on a roll, then you'll see some arrogant stuff ...
[/QUOTE]
No roll required..........they are arrogant slugs at any time. Let's hope they come back down to earth with a thud this week.:)

SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
17 Jun 2008, 20:59
Bookmark this..

The pride of Brisbane town will finish in the top 4

charles202
17 Jun 2008, 21:09
Ive never forgiven the Dogs for the whole Black scratching incident, what was that like 10 years ago now.

That on top of the whole Aka thing is a major part of the reason why the loss on the weekend hurt the most in a few years.

Not to mention we were completly outplayed in what i thought was the potential statement match.

notting18
17 Jun 2008, 23:09
Bookmark this..

The pride of Brisbane town will finish in the top 4

Your name gives me ABSOLUTELY no confidence:p

TheBrownDog
17 Jun 2008, 23:27
Ive never forgiven the Dogs for the whole Black scratching incident, what was that like 10 years ago now.

If memory serves... it was Craig McRae on the end of the Romero scratching.

lions_den
18 Jun 2008, 01:18
If memory serves... it was Craig McRae on the end of the Romero scratching.
I think he was but at least 2 players were scratched. I remember Black's one vividly. It was that 1999 match at the Gabba where the ground was flooded.

Anthony_
18 Jun 2008, 09:52
IThrow in Lynchy's choking gesture in that final and our chickens are coming home to roost.

I like Brisbane alot, hated Lynch since that prick did that move, was at the ground and happy Scott West punched him in the face for it. Another anti Lynch was when he was at Fitzroy he used to whinge and sook about playing games at the Whitten Oval.

KungFooSing
18 Jun 2008, 13:09
I like Brisbane alot, hated Lynch since that prick did that move, was at the ground and happy Scott West punched him in the face for it. Another anti Lynch was when he was at Fitzroy he used to whinge and sook about playing games at the Whitten Oval.
Who didnt? :D

campbell
18 Jun 2008, 14:05
I think he was but at least 2 players were scratched. I remember Black's one vividly. It was that 1999 match at the Gabba where the ground was flooded.

arrr, that deep end match. What a drowning we got that night. lol, and we lost to boot.

Anthony_
18 Jun 2008, 15:49
Who didnt? :D

Lol I loved it, going out to the whitten oval freezing my arse off, standing in the outer. :D

Monkey Daniel
18 Jun 2008, 16:25
Hope Bulldogs go well, but somebody remind Aker that he was a part of history with 3 flags in a row..... How good were we !!
How many other teams in their "premiership era" get that many. None !!
It's way back to the 50's and that great Demons team.
Then to open his big mouth and say the current bullies are a better team??? Hey Aker !! give us a call when you've won another 3 in a row!!!
Then we'll happily discuss and compare the two teams.
IMO Cats or Hawks this year.

Anthony_
18 Jun 2008, 16:29
Hope Bulldogs go well, but somebody remind Aker that he was a part of history with 3 flags in a row..... How good were we !!
How many other teams in their "premiership era" get that many. None !!
It's way back to the 50's and that great Demons team.
Then to open his big mouth and say the current bullies are a better team??? Hey Aker !! give us a call when you've won another 3 in a row!!!
Then we'll happily discuss and compare the two teams.
IMO Cats or Hawks this year.

I don't think he said the Bulldogs are better, he said more skilled. That does not translate to a better team. He said Brisbane were much harder and had the bigger bodies etc.

Roy Fitzlion
21 Jun 2008, 12:29
Another anti Lynch was when he was at Fitzroy he used to whinge and sook about playing games at the Whitten Oval.

I will stand corrected but I believe Lynchy left Fitzroy before he had to play at the WO.

Anthony_
25 Jun 2008, 23:21
I will stand corrected but I believe Lynchy left Fitzroy before he had to play at the WO.

Yeah you're correct but it was from his Roy Boy days he had cracks at the ground.

Tim the Toolman
26 Jun 2008, 11:11
Yeah but who could blame him. The old Western Oval was the worst place to visit - cold showers, crap facilities etc... No different to Pie Park but the Roys loved playing at Princes Park circa 1993 because the players honestly believed they could beat anyone there, and they did, but never could win at Western Oval.