View Full Version : Mitchell kicked a goal from general play!
Mitchell Madness
15 Jun 2008, 20:38
WOOOOO!!!!!!!!! nothing had been said about it, so thought i would start a thread, haha.
What a goal it was too. the way he was able to scoop up the ball and slot it with no margin for error (the pack was about half a meter in front o fhim) it was just awesome. take that doubters! 2 goals in a season:D:P
PottSie2
15 Jun 2008, 20:41
He did look for the handpass though first didn't he ? :p
This is what our midfielders need to do more of I reckon!
macdaddio
15 Jun 2008, 20:45
Looked awsome like the old times..:thumbsu:
How many goals has mitch kicked this year i think last night in the 2nd half he played some of his best footy....
flyby hawk
15 Jun 2008, 20:48
Yes I enjoyed the goal too.
Noticed that the Sunday H/Sun gave Mitch BOG:thumbsu:
Bennycoff
15 Jun 2008, 21:03
Just his 20th career goal in 120 matches and just his 2nd this season.
Nightwolf
15 Jun 2008, 21:05
It was a ripper, crucial goal too. Simon Goodwin take note :D
goal of the year!
i mean his only goal of the year:D
don't think he's 100% but still one of our best players, to cap it off with a goal is massive for him
philhawk
15 Jun 2008, 21:31
Was a great goal, too.
If Mitch can become slightly more selfish and start kicking more goals himself, he'll be even more unstoppable. :thumbsu:
croady_fan24
15 Jun 2008, 21:38
It was a great goal.
Never gets goals, great to see him kick one. :)
He did look for the handpass though first didn't he ? :p
This is what our midfielders need to do more of I reckon!
how can our midfielders kick goals when they always have to fill space in the backline. if they weren't playing so many back to zone, or more or less going one on one, then the midfielders could push forward, because they'd start being closer in the first place.
it's very simple, because while we continue to rely on heavily zoning, we are heavily reliant upon franklin being able to compete against 2-3 players.
good goal, and he didn't hesitate, which you may've expected from a player who kicks few goals.
Alex_au
15 Jun 2008, 21:57
Went nicely with Youngy's only contested mark of the year, which got us Hodgies goal!:thumbsu:
And it was awesome too.Did some beautiful things
lyndhurst
15 Jun 2008, 22:44
Kind of worth joking about but actually highlights the one major chink in Mitchells armor.
Great midfielder, excellent captain creative, does the rest of the gig well, but he does not kick enough goals. If we are going to win a flag, we need our midfielders putting points on the board.
If you look historically at the great midfielders, they call kick about one goal (roughly) per game over the distance of their careers.
Crawf : 220 in ust under 300 games
Voss : 173 goals in 210 games
judd : 138 in 134 games
Hodge : 79 in 119 ( and played back plenty)
etc etc
Yet sammy kicks a goal ever couple of months. Frankly, not enough. For a bloke who comes bursting out of the centre on a regular basis, he needs to put the ball away far more often
philhawk
15 Jun 2008, 22:52
Kind of worth joking about but actually highlights the one major chink in Mitchells armor.
Great midfielder, excellent captain creative, does the rest of the gig well, but he does not kick enough goals. If we are going to win a flag, we need our midfielders putting points on the board.
If you look historically at the great midfielders, they call kick about one goal (roughly) per game over the distance of their careers.
Crawf : 220 in ust under 300 games
Voss : 173 goals in 210 games
judd : 138 in 134 games
Hodge : 79 in 119 ( and played back plenty)
etc etc
Yet sammy kicks a goal ever couple of months. Frankly, not enough. For a bloke who comes bursting out of the centre on a regular basis, he needs to put the ball away far more often
To be honest though mate, i'd probably attribute it to the fact that Sammy is just so damn unselfish.
I doubt there's a stat for this, but i'd love to see the number of goals that Sammy has set up from nabbing the ball in the centre, streaming away to the fifty and drilling it into a forwards' chest.
As mentioned earlier, his first option is always the unselfish one - kick it to a team mate.
lyndhurst
15 Jun 2008, 22:56
To be honest though mate, i'd probably attribute it to the fact that Sammy is just so damn unselfish.
I doubt there's a stat for this, but i'd love to see the number of goals that Sammy has set up from nabbing the ball in the centre, streaming away to the fifty and drilling it into a forwards' chest.
As mentioned earlier, his first option is always the unselfish one - kick it to a team mate.
Sure, but every now and again he has to sink the slipper himself. He just does not do it often enough. I understand the rationale, and (dont get me wrong) I worship him, but that is the one weakness he needs to work on if he is to take things to the next stage.
Have a look at Ozzies goal from last night. Sam could do that hands down (perhaps not quite from the centre square) if he committed every now and again. The long goal from the midfielder is a powerful weapon in the bag of all great sides.
hawks_time
15 Jun 2008, 22:58
I believe the word is selfless phil and I agree, we don't need Sammy kicking goals, 11-1 proves that.
Roberiquez
15 Jun 2008, 23:16
how far can sammy kick it actually?
lyndhurst
16 Jun 2008, 06:15
I believe the word is selfless phil and I agree, we don't need Sammy kicking goals, 11-1 proves that.
Yes, it has been fine thus far this year
Not so fine in previous years. In the dark old days, when our only focal point up forward was Williams, it would have been very nice indeed if Sam could have stepped up to the plate ever once in a while with a telling major.
You are right. At the moment, we dont need Sam kicking goals. We can probably do without Guerra, Boyle, and a whole range of other players who have been injured or out of form, but things may not stay quite as rosy as they have for the first half of this year. People get injured, leave, go mad etc etc. Each player owes it to themselves to identify any weaknesses in their own game and to work on them. You could go through the whole team and do this, most of them 'fall over' in one area or another, and could work on those weaknesses.
When we have won a couple of flags on the trot (which we are clearly capable of doing with this playing list) then you can rest on your laurels.
For the time being however, I reckon Sam needs to work on kicking more goals.