View Full Version : Port are a bunch of soft cocks
ROARisWAR
15 Jun 2008, 21:59
Knew they couldn't win so thought they'd be tough and just give 'cheepies' all day.
Yeah it didn't really work did it:D
They wouldn't know the meaning of the word "tough".
A complete mentally-scarred rabble is what they've become and all because of us on that wonderful day last September.
Vegas 15
15 Jun 2008, 22:15
They really are our bitches. They've tried just about everything against us, and nothing has worked.
The Sim Dog
15 Jun 2008, 22:16
They wouldn't know the meaning of the word tough.
A complete mentally-scarred rabble is what they've become and all because of us on that wonderful day last September.
Did not help but I'd argue it started before the 07 GF. We have been smashing them one in every two games since the 04 qualifying final.
GFCats07
15 Jun 2008, 22:20
all through the week i think they expected to win,
it was all talk, no action..
once again Mark Williams was saying 'we have a better team and we can
beat a quality side' .. same words as before the grand final.
clearly they havent got the skill, did not step up at all when they were
down by quite a few points..
IMHO, they are a side that cannot rise to the occasion..
what havent they been doing right since last year?
ROARisWAR
15 Jun 2008, 22:22
They really are our bitches. They've tried just about everything against us, and nothing has worked.
How good were we today:thumbsu:
That's what I want to see god damit:cool:
Did not help but I'd argue it started before the 07 GF. We have been smashing them one in every two games since the 04 qualifying final.
I wasn't talking about just us, although we do have them beaten before the first bounce, but in general. How many chokes have they had this year - Brisbane and Carlton, both at home, for starters.
That Gary Ablett is no god, but he's a bloody damn good footballer Port.
Didn't see the Burgoyne incident on Johnson in the first quarter, but anyone reckon he'll be facing any charges. Loved the crowd getting stuck into a few port boys coming off the ground taking cheap shots at our players.
chapmanmagic35
15 Jun 2008, 22:29
Kane Cornes didn't look at the ball for most of the day. No wonder Ablett hammered him.
They're mentally weak.
darren forssman
15 Jun 2008, 22:30
cheapkick cornes is one of the most overrated footballers going around.
and dean bogan was trying to pummel cats like ablett and selwood any chance, like jumping a pack but making sure he hit a cat.
Power King
15 Jun 2008, 22:36
all through the week i think they expected to win,
it was all talk, no action..
once again Mark Williams was saying 'we have a better team and we can
beat a quality side' .. same words as before the grand final.
clearly they havent got the skill, did not step up at all when they were
down by quite a few points..
IMHO, they are a side that cannot rise to the occasion..
what havent they been doing right since last year?
^To the first bolded statement, Choco did not say we have a better team, but rather that we have to believe our best will be good enough to win. Surely all teams must carry that mentality?
To the second bolded point, there are MANY aspects that us fans have been very critical of this year. Last year however, there was no clear second best team, unlike the year before, or this year. We took our chances and made the grand final, which makes us look better than where we really are (still played better last year than this year though).
As for today's game, it was very frustrating to see how many frees we gave away. I don't mind the port boys getting stuck into the cats a bit, but the more important thing is winning the ball. Getting stuck into the cats doesn't equal playing tough football, so you guys smashing us in where it counts (clearances, hard ball gets) just made the 'getting stuck into the opposition' all the more frustrating, ie "yeah ok display your intent port, but what use is it if we can't get the bloody ball?"
This is my opinion whilst trying to remain unbiased. Feel free to attack it - it's your board.
chapmanmagic35
15 Jun 2008, 22:36
cheapkick cornes is one of the most overrated footballers going around.
and dean bogan was trying to pummel cats like ablett and selwood any chance, like jumping a pack but making sure he hit a cat.
Like a kid at an airport? :D
The Sim Dog
15 Jun 2008, 22:41
^To the first bolded statement, Choco did not say we have a better team, but rather that we have to believe our best will be good enough to win. Surely all teams must carry that mentality?
To the second bolded point, there are MANY aspects that us fans have been very critical of this year. Last year however, there was no clear second best team, unlike the year before, or this year. We took our chances and made the grand final, which makes us look better than where we really are (still played better last year than this year though).
As for today's game, it was very frustrating to see how many frees we gave away. I don't mind the port boys getting stuck into the cats a bit, but the more important thing is winning the ball. Getting stuck into the cats doesn't equal playing tough football, so you guys smashing us in where it counts (clearances, hard ball gets) just made the 'getting stuck into the opposition' all the more frustrating, ie "yeah ok display your intent port, but what use is it if we can't get the bloody ball?"
This is my opinion whilst trying to remain unbiased. Feel free to attack it - it's your board.
Nope that's one of the best posts we've had from an opposition supporter after we beat their team all year. :thumbsu:
Duskfire
15 Jun 2008, 22:57
I truly think our grand final win has scarred them mentally. They seem to no longer have the confidence to play out a game this year, and its something that has been plauging them all season. Last year they were able to fight out some tough wins such as against Hawthorn and Eagles in the Qual Final. However so far they just seem to be meek and well... a shade of what they were last year.
Cattery
15 Jun 2008, 23:11
Fully agree with The Sim Dog, no need to attack you for those statements [ though I'm sure some will ] they seem pretty reasoned to me.
On your first point, believing yourself good enough to win is one thing, making what amounts to rash statements in public is another, who think he would have learned from the lead up to last years Grand Final when he was made to look an idiot when all his trash talk blew up in his face.
I'd also be fairly worried at the direction your club is headed [ that's if you can believe anything that comes out of Williams mouth ] if you check what he said in the link below, if he seriously thinks that about his players attack "at the ball", and believes the supporters would be happy as well then things are not looking bright; you can't address a problem unless you first acknowledge there is one, and let's be honest, at the moment Port are as soft as any team going round, sniping off the ball and dropping the knees into players does not equate to "tough" footy.
http://hp-consumer.aol.com.au/sport/story/Aggressive-approach-warms-Williams/595461/index.html
Kent_Kingsley
15 Jun 2008, 23:24
who was that nobody who kept trying to beat up Stevie? the only time i ever saw him was when he was pulling jumper punches, what a freak.
chapmanmagic35
15 Jun 2008, 23:25
who was that nobody who kept trying to beat up Stevie? the only time i ever saw him was when he was pulling jumper punches, what a freak.
We needed you out there, Kent!
bigdroppunt
16 Jun 2008, 10:56
We needed you out there, Kent!
NOBODY NEEDS KENT !!!
Well Maybe port do.
Also did you guys know that all the port players were at St marys after the game ?
I dropped in to see a mate who was a port fan, and there whole team was there, Bloody wish our boys would do that someday, And they all seemed to be really nice guys, I chatted with both Cornes's for awhile.
I found it sad that none of the fans claped for them when they arrived tho,Sure be dissapointed,But show your colors. :thumbsu:
YYYAAABBBLLLEEETTT
16 Jun 2008, 12:10
Before the Grand Final Mark Williams tried to talk trash all week to get under our skin, FAILED. This time he gets his players to try and bully us off the ball, FAILED. Wonder what this genius will try next? Maybe just keep ur mouth shut and tell ur players to actuall play football, even though that will also fail at least u will look like less of the muppet u have previously.
On another point, i laugh every time i see that Westoff guy named for Port, what the hell does he offer??? to tall to be quick enough when the ball comnes to ground, not strong enough to outmark anyone, and if hes ever lucky enough to get the ball on the lead he misses more than he should. Please keep playing him Williams, every week he plays its Port 17 players to opponents 18. Hes a DUD!!!!!!!!!
dtrainium
16 Jun 2008, 12:18
Are you talking about Cassisi? He was giving Johnno a hard time for most of it, but that's how Williams thinks you beat him. Everytime we play Port, and even in the Tribute Match, he makes sure that Johnno's opponent is very physical with him all game. So it's not really Cassisi you should be unhappy with, but Choco.
Thread title of the year. :D
LifeSpan-Void
16 Jun 2008, 12:28
The only issue I have with this statement is reality: The simple fact is, that Port's best is currently not good enough. Period. It's all well and good to pump your team up and act confident going into a game, but you can't issue wishes as press releases, ditto with Michael Wilson's stupid comment about Gary Ablett. If there's a likelihood of it blowing up in your face, just don't say it. Note I said likelihood, not chance. This game was a foregone conclusion. Maybe in 2009 you'll regroup and take a different mindset into our encounter(s), but it's not going to happen again this year.
Pretty sure it was Nick Lower....
Sorry - in answer to who the nobody was hassling Steve Johnson all day.
Good post I am not sure on the specifics of what mark williams has said or hasn't said so I will stay out of those discussions.
I do think that Port performed above what was expected last year and that is why they probably didn't perform in the GF. But they do have a lot of young players and may be in a cycle similar to geelong in 2006. We made the finals for a couple of years before that but were never a real premiership threat no matter how close we got. It took the down year and getting those 50-100 games into players before we were able to perform regularly at a high level as a team.
Kent_Kingsley
16 Jun 2008, 19:52
Are you talking about Cassisi? He was giving Johnno a hard time for most of it, but that's how Williams thinks you beat him. Everytime we play Port, and even in the Tribute Match, he makes sure that Johnno's opponent is very physical with him all game. So it's not really Cassisi you should be unhappy with, but Choco.
nah nah this guy was medium build, dark hair but it wasnt Dom Cassisi...i know that hairy italian when i see him ;)
As soon as I saw Big Chin try to rough up a few of our midfielders, I had flashbacks to the qualifying final last year when the Roos ran through our huddle during the warm-up.
I actually found it funny watching Port Adelaide trying to be tough. Did anyone notice that most of the rough stuff Port tried to pull wasn't anywhere in the vicinity of one C.Mooney? I wonder why that was. ;) I also found it funny that the two main guys they did target, Ablett and Selwood, are two who thrive on the tough stuff.
I think Jake Niall hit the hammer on the head in the Age this morning.
PORT ADELAIDE has now provided the competition with the perfect template. For the second time in nine months, Port has shown everyone how not to beat Geelong.
The Cats had pipped the Power by only nine points in round one. So yesterday was what you might term the spiritual replay. The margin was a mere 59 points — 10 goals shy of the 2007 grand final result — but it was the way Port went about it that made this the real reprise, without Matthew Scarlett's 30 possessions from full-back.
While Alastair Clarkson, Rodney Eade and Paul Roos didn't need the help, Port's performance yesterday has established a series of reverse team rules — the things not to do — when confronting the greatest team of all.
1. Misplaced aggression and phoney toughness.The Cats had foreshadowed that they would give Port another belting in the first quarter, but didn't establish their grand final-like dominance until the second, when Port gave away consecutive goals to 50-metre penalties and reckless high tackles.
Presumably, the Power had watched Collingwood demolish Geelong with intense tackling, and forgot that you also need to win the ball at some stage. Whether the ball was hard, loose or something in between, the Cats were first in, Port second.
Kane Cornes helped trigger a Geelong run-on, when he kneed Gary Ablett on the wing — one of the few times he managed to touch the Geelong champ, who had 32 touches, half of them contested. Ablett sent the footy forward, where it was converted by Andrew Mackie.
Then, not to be outdone by a senior player, Shaun Burgoyne nailed Joel Selwood with a high tackle at the next bounce. The ball sailed forward, was marked by Paul Chapman (note, Port players, Selwood and Chapman are legit tough guys, and don't hurt easily), who was jumped on by Port's real hard man, Michael Wilson, gifting Chappie a goal-line major.
The Cats had been aware there might be cheap shots, and were keen to put their heads over the ball. Skipper Tom Harley, a graduate of Port Adelaide, thought Port's aggression was "a bit misguided". Harley added: "We viewed it as their last chance today and expected the knuckle and things like that and so long as we didn't get sucked into that and played the ball. Contested possession was 140 to 100, so we obviously played it the right way."
2. Go wide. Let Geelong play through the corridor.Self-explanatory. Port hugged the boundary for much of the game, would turn it over — or kick to a outgunned forward — and let the Cats run it back down the guts.
3. Let your good players chase Ablett and Joel Corey around.In this case, it was the Cornes brothers, who were assigned to Ablett and Corey. Chad, who sometimes sees his opponent for the first time when shaking hands at game's end, couldn't find Corey at the start of the game because the midfielder was on the bench.
He didn't find him much thereafter; Corey had 34 disposals, while Kane "restricted" Ablett to 32.
Had Geelong known Chad was to play on Corey? "We didn't know that was coming," Harley said.
"They have played on each other a fair bit. I mean, they're physically pretty similar sort of players … Chad, I think, is battling a bit of bone-on-bone knee."
4. Leave Andrew Mackie virtually unattended.In the second quarter, Mackie spent several minutes on Brendon Lade, which is what we call a mismatch for pace. Mackie quickly kicked one goal and created another. "Choco" Williams then gave Danyle Pearce a try on Mackie — at least, we think it was Pearce, since Mackie was not subjected to any physical attention, not even the misguided Port variety.
In his review, Harley gave the Cats high marks.
"It was a really good performance. I thought that we played four quarters … we got back to playing the way we really want to play."
Says it all really. :thumbsu:
Rustybugles
16 Jun 2008, 21:01
I'd thought of all sorts of things to say on BF today about P.A. and their misplaced aggression - and there it was in Jake Niall's article - good to see it all here. Thanks Winty!:thumbsu:
Skeppersap
16 Jun 2008, 21:05
That was actually a very good article by Jake Niall!
I'd thought of all sorts of things to say on BF today about P.A. and their misplaced aggression - and there it was in Jake Niall's article - good to see it all here. Thanks Winty!:thumbsu:
No probs mate! :thumbsu::D
Lingsface
17 Jun 2008, 00:46
Port Adelaide simply cant handle a contest there best players are front runners and when selwood comes charging at the ball full pelt they simply shat themselves. Who in that team would stand up and start winning some hard inclose ball? all those damaging skillful players like the burgoynes and motlop cant do much if there not willing to win a ball that is in a contest.
Brisbane was the perfect example once that rain came in the 3rd quarter and the contest became about who wanted it more they melted, Daniel Motlop should be there pin up boy talk it up and do all the flashy things but when it comes to crunch time they go missing.
Liam Pickering said what everyone knows on AFL Teams they are a dissapointment.
Thread title of the year. :D
After the last Showdown with Port playing the man not the ball so ridiculously it deserves to be on Billboards around the country. :D