View Full Version : Geelong's form - Where are we at?

pavilion103
15 Jun 2008, 23:41
I have been frustrated all year at the way we have played. The ridiculous expectations set at the beginning of the year had me thinking we would dominate from round 1.

I have been very pleased to be winning and I thought that 10-1 at the half way point was quite flattering, based on how we had been playing. Now that we are halfway through the season and we are starting to warm up after a late pre-season and nursing players like Ottens, where do people think we are at.

The first real confidence I had in the team, like I did last year, was against Carlton. I really think we could have blown them apart if it weren't for some easy missed scoring shots. Last friday night against the Kangas, I felt fairly confident again and was happy with the way we played. Today against the power I really felt like I did in 2007 and to be 11 goals up at 3/4, with a number of missed shots, really was a demolition job.

Do people share the same view that we are now starting to kick up a gear and you would expect more performances like today for the remainder of the year? It's just a feeling I get, not sure if I am alone or not!

ROARisWAR
15 Jun 2008, 23:48
I have been frustrated all year at the way we have played. The ridiculous expectations set at the beginning of the year had me thinking we would dominate from round 1.

I have been very pleased to be winning and I thought that 10-1 at the half way point was quite flattering, based on how we had been playing. Now that we are halfway through the season and we are starting to warm up after a late pre-season and nursing players like Ottens, where do people think we are at.

The first real confidence I had in the team, like I did last year, was against Carlton. I really think we could have blown them apart if it weren't for some easy missed scoring shots. Last friday night against the Kangas, I felt fairly confident again and was happy with the way we played. Today against the power I really felt like I did in 2007 and to be 11 goals up at 3/4, with a number of missed shots, really was a demolition job.

Do people share the same view that we are now starting to kick up a gear and you would expect more performances like today for the remainder of the year? It's just a feeling I get, not sure if I am alone or not!

I think we're back, but we need to go over to the West and rip the Eagles just to keep the momentum going

forrrestGump
16 Jun 2008, 00:29
worst team in the afl in terms of output
then again sitting with only one loss
hmmmm
gf here we come

Glassjaw
16 Jun 2008, 02:14
We're warming up. The block from Round 14-17 will tell us more. We've got Adelaide in Adelaide, the Dogs and Hawks in that bit.

GFCats07
16 Jun 2008, 23:25
We're warming up. The block from Round 14-17 will tell us more. We've got Adelaide in Adelaide, the Dogs and Hawks in that bit.

im gonna miss that game!
so mad!

Kent_Kingsley
16 Jun 2008, 23:47
yeah i think we're coming good now...next month is tricky though...2 interstate games and then the big 2 contenders in dogs and hawks.

moons needs to get his shit together

chapmanmagic35
17 Jun 2008, 00:04
11-1. We're in great form.

Glassjaw is spot on. The next month or so is what it's all about.

CatmanForever
17 Jun 2008, 01:11
yep can't wait to play the Bulldogs and the Dawks. I don't mind if we lose to one of these at this stage as long as we are competitive so that come finals time when we are hopefully playing at full tilt we will roll them both.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jun 2008, 02:38
Dogs at Skilled will be epic - first 'blockbuster' at home since St Kilda in 2004 I'd say.

Will really test out the true capacity of the place too, won't be the 27,000 listed, but there won't be a centimetre square spare.

Copernicus
17 Jun 2008, 03:19
Have to say that considering the debacle against the Pies, we're going pretty well. That loss could have stuffed us a little but since then we have had two easy ten goal wins (which frankly should have been more but for poor goalkicking) and one relatively comfortable, if tight win against a fired-up North.

Obviously the next month is going to watershed for us. If we can get up over two or three of Adelaide, Footscray or Hawthorn, we'll be in top shape and our confidence will be sky-high. I actually think Adelaide will be the biggest test - they're always a tough, gritty opponent, especially on their dungheap. Should be a fascinating month.

ant0s
17 Jun 2008, 11:14
yeah i think we're coming good now...next month is tricky though...2 interstate games and then the big 2 contenders in dogs and hawks.

moons needs to get his shit together

Moonz needs to get his shit together, i was happy with his work rate against the power but he needs to get consistency with the boot. Week in week out hes been down on his All-Australian form of last year.

Definitely a tough month ahead - the bulldogs are a notorious bogey team for us over the last 5 yrs, and i think this year we are really gonna struggle to nullify their options up front. We really need to fire in the midfield and we really gotta bring our A+ game. Personally, i think we will lose this game by 4-5 goals.

Then the Hawks, it could go either way but once again i take a pessimistic attitude.

TheTimeCometh
17 Jun 2008, 11:21
i reckon the 11 and one record is a lil misleading. same with the hawks and dogs records.
only coz of the fixture. if us three teams had have played eachother once, in some other match-ups cases - twice, then the respective records of each would look a lot different.

winning is good tho'.

jimmy.h
17 Jun 2008, 11:31
Dogs at Skilled will be epic - first 'blockbuster' at home since St Kilda in 2004 I'd say.

I'd argue West Coast last year.

The knives of 2006 were reemerging after the Roos loss, we had just destroyed Richmond and needed to beat the undefeated reining Premiers.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jun 2008, 11:34
I'd argue West Coast last year.

The knives of 2006 were reemerging after the Roos loss, we had just destroyed Richmond and needed to beat the undefeated reining Premiers.
I agree from an on-field perspective, but from a 'crowd-pulling' perspective not quite the same.

mustard
17 Jun 2008, 12:54
the slide down the ladder is imminent. thats the mail

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jun 2008, 12:56
You expecting company?

mustard
17 Jun 2008, 12:58
You expecting company?

were on the way. 2010 for the flag

thegerman
17 Jun 2008, 16:00
were on the way. 2010 for the flag

You're dreaming Sanchez. I'd expect any of the teams from top to mid table to be up for it by then. Your game on Friday night was absolutely terrible, indicating that not much has changed so far in the year.

If you cannot improve over a period of 10 or so weeks, you won't improve that much in 2 years. Your recruiting would have to go into overdrive to replace lost stock, there is not much experience left and the only real senior player who seems to step it up a notch on a regular basis is Hille.

Remember in two years both Lucas and Lloyd will age significantly as they will be getting near the end of their careers. Essendon needs at least 5 years to recruit. Their window is definitely shut up for a while.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jun 2008, 16:19
You're dreaming Sanchez. I'd expect any of the teams from top to mid table to be up for it by then. Your game on Friday night was absolutely terrible, indicating that not much has changed so far in the year.

If you cannot improve over a period of 10 or so weeks, you won't improve that much in 2 years. Your recruiting would have to go into overdrive to replace lost stock, there is not much experience left and the only real senior player who seems to step it up a notch on a regular basis is Hille.

Remember in two years both Lucas and Lloyd will age significantly as they will be getting near the end of their careers. Essendon needs at least 5 years to recruit. Their window is definitely shut up for a while.
Their current spine will not exist in 2010, except for Ryder.

TheTimeCometh
17 Jun 2008, 16:49
how the f___ does mustard get a response??

f___ you guys are suckers sometimes.

mantis
17 Jun 2008, 16:56
how the f___ does mustard get a response??

f___ you guys are suckers sometimes.

Exactly he's just a troll, he isn't a Bomber supporter, he was red carded last week, seems he's back, hopefully not for long.

Ricketts
17 Jun 2008, 17:19
Another thing to consider is Port's 4 & 8 record, given we both started preseasons the latest.

Is it really a setback having the latest preseason start? Or doesn't it mean much at all and is just a sign of Port's crapness?

The Sim Dog
17 Jun 2008, 17:27

Your next red card is imminent. That's my mail.

TheTimeCometh
17 Jun 2008, 17:36
and yer still f___ken respond.

Ricardo
17 Jun 2008, 18:24
I agree from an on-field perspective, but from a 'crowd-pulling' perspective not quite the same.

Rnd 21 last season anyone? 1st v 2nd IIRC, new post redevelopment attendance record, the place was jam packed, i could hardly move in the standing room, and could not see one spare seat from my view point.

I don't think the Dogs clash will beat it by much (if at all), but it'll be a bigger blockbuster type game if the two teams continue winning.

Btw- the game v Port really was a great effort by the team, gives you extra confidence now, they are just warming up.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jun 2008, 18:33
Rnd 21 last season anyone? 1st v 2nd IIRC, new post redevelopment attendance record, the place was jam packed, i could hardly move in the standing room, and could not see one spare seat from my view point.

I don't think the Dogs clash will beat it by much (if at all), but it'll be a bigger blockbuster type game if the two teams continue winning.

Btw- the game v Port really was a great effort by the team, gives you extra confidence now, they are just warming up.
But imagine that plus half Melbourne's western suburbs wanting to get in too.

Ricardo
17 Jun 2008, 19:01

Yeah, it will truly test the grounds capacity, unlucky this wasn't held at the MCG.

cat in sydney
17 Jun 2008, 19:04
Yeah, it will truly test the grounds capacity, unlucky this wasn't held at the MCG.

Not just for capacity reasons either. We play the 'G so much better than KP.*

* except on a Friday night against the pies.

muttley3028
20 Jun 2008, 10:30

Hey guys I know this is forum is about your form but there have been some post regarding the upcoming game cats v dogs. I can assure you that your right alot of dogs fans cant wait for this one should be a cracker I bought my ticket 2 weeks ago can't wait to get down to KP the last of the suburban grounds. Can you still have a kick on the ground down there after the game or have they banned it there too?

As for your form I think most of your game you have only played 1 - 2 quarters of footy and yet you still have only one loss to your name. Its a scary thought, well for the opposition anyway not for you guys.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

BTW its the first time I have ever posted on another clubs board and I hope I haven't appeared like a troll as it defiantly wasn't my intention.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
20 Jun 2008, 10:43
Hey guys I know this is forum is about your form but there have been some post regarding the upcoming game cats v dogs. I can assure you that your right alot of dogs fans cant wait for this one should be a cracker I bought my ticket 2 weeks ago can't wait to get down to KP the last of the suburban grounds. Can you still have a kick on the ground down there after the game or have they banned it there too?

As for your form I think most of your game you have only played 1 - 2 quarters of footy and yet you still have only one loss to your name. Its a scary thought, well for the opposition anyway not for you guys.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

BTW its the first time I have ever posted on another clubs board and I hope I haven't appeared like a troll as it defiantly wasn't my intention.
No worries champ. A kick on the ground is still a goer (unless there has been significant rain). Nice work getting in early for tickets, can't imagine they'll last long.

KardiniaPark
21 Jun 2008, 20:25
I think we're back, but we need to go over to the West and rip the Eagles just to keep the momentum going

I dont think we ever went away?. We are on top of the ladder ya know!

We do what we have to do to get the win. I dont think beating a bottom three team will prove anything at all. I dont think we will lose but i dont think we will flog em. If we win by 2 points thats a good win at this stage of the season. I think you will see a vastly different team come round 19-20 than we see now. Which is fantastic for all of us, from where i sit there is nothing to worry about at all. Sydney, Collingwood & the dogs are some tough opposition during the finals but bring it on , i think we have them all covered comfortably by time we hit our stride come september.

cats2rise
22 Jun 2008, 01:39
Flexing a little muscle in the middle of the season before a quiet-ish patch till the finals roll around.