View Full Version : Jono Brown on the Franklin Report

philhawk
16 Jun 2008, 01:19
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/brown-risks-fine/2008/06/15/1213468242280.html

Brown risks fine to slam Franklin bump charge
Marika Dobbin | June 16, 2008
BRISBANE Lions captain Jonathan Brown has risked the wrath of the AFL and a $5000 fine by criticising the report laid on Hawthorn star Lance Franklin for a high bump.

Brown said the policy that the head is sacrosanct was robbing the game of some of its spectacle and should only apply if there was a risk of spinal damage.

He said Franklin's report for rough conduct after bumping the head of Adelaide's Michael Doughty in the second quarter of Saturday's match was unwarranted.

"There's got to be some sort of force over the contact, fair dinkum, it was like a fly hitting his head," Brown said on Channel Nine.

"(It) was only glancing and, if anything, he missed him. No doubt the review panel will asses the contact, how heavy it was, but … you would have thought it's at the 'minor-ist' of contacts or the lowest scale."

Onya Browny. :thumbsu:

#6 Mark Williams
16 Jun 2008, 01:42
So Phil did he get fined?

Roughie
16 Jun 2008, 01:48
So Phil did he get fined?

Well seeing the article was written to be issued on Monday the 16th, you would think Adrian Anderson will read it today and decide what to do from there. I cant see anything coming out of it.

Good on Brown, like all AFL players, he has followed the unwritten law in trying to protect eachother when it comes to the tribunal.

Hawks1523
16 Jun 2008, 05:24
Onya Browny! At least the players are showing common sense. :o

Leather Poisoning
16 Jun 2008, 07:25
Anyone else sick of the word 'sacrosanct'?

Browny was being very helpful until he suggested that the Rugby League have the right idea where you can belt the crap out of each other as long as nobody else joins in.

flyby hawk
16 Jun 2008, 07:36
[quote=Leather Poisoning;11391301]Anyone else sick of the word 'sacrosanct'?

Yes I am too:thumbsu:

Adelaide Hawk
16 Jun 2008, 08:11
I didn't see the show, but I did see some snippets from it. I wasn't impressed by Buckley suggesting the elbow was "cocked", as if to suggest Buddy ran at the player looking to hit him with an elbow.

He ran in wit hthe arm down and the only reason he made contact with that area of the body is because he is 6'7" tall, and player he made contact with was falling to the ground.

We seem to have created a feeling in football that there is no such thing as accidental contact.

Gary Shadforth
16 Jun 2008, 08:52
Good on Jono! Could turn out to be an expensive speak-out.

I have, for a long time, been staggered as to why some legal eagle associated with the game has not challenged the AFL's draconian rules in the aspect of someone forming and expressing an opinion.

There is freedom of speech in this country. It is an opinion Jono has expressed which is separate from outlandish libel, the latter he has clearly not done.

J Brown is exercising a citizen's right to express an opinion in a game of sport. Pure and simple. Most likely the AFL will dish out a fine to Brisbane's champion - if so, it will be a breach of his civil liberty to do so and the mongrels at AFL House, or whatever they call their palace thesed days, should be brought to task in the highest court of the land.

Thank you for reading.

***steps down from soap box***:mad:

phreeze77
16 Jun 2008, 10:38
The incident was very similar to the Rocca one on Dempster last season.

Rocca got a week or 2 .. Dempster was falling .. if he stood up he would of got him straight down the middle.

I have a feeling he might be in a little trouble with our clubs recent record and the suspensions handed out to Hawks willy nilly.

FisherHawk
16 Jun 2008, 10:40
Good on Brown, like all AFL players, he has followed the unwritten law in trying to protect eachother when it comes to the tribunal.

It must be a "Browny" thing. Remember our Campbell came out in defense of Judd when he had his fingers stuck in Brownies eyes. And then, because he was looking after a fellow player and was found out to be "distorting" the facts, he coped a fine.

The AFL is like a dictatorship. I'm sure the AFL will hand out the appropriate penalty to big John Brown for daring to have an opinion on the direction of the game.

We need more blokes like the Brownies in our game to stick it up the AFL now and then. Tell it like it is.

TAZZIE HAWK
16 Jun 2008, 11:07
yep, just reported on SEN. J Brown fined $5000 for his comments on the L Franklin report & head high contact.

:thumbsd: How precise is the AFL

The TACHawks
16 Jun 2008, 11:13
yep, just reported on SEN. J Brown fined $5000 for his comments on the L Franklin report & head high contact.

:eek:
The AFL have gone to a new level. Watch out for the backlash from supporters :thumbsu:

wolvesjr34
16 Jun 2008, 11:46
A similar article (on Brown speaking up) in the Herald Sun had something very interesting with a former umpire stating that he believes Franklin should get off completely. Hope this guy is right.

I just hope that Franklin doesn't get punished because Brown came out and spoke on his behalf.

FisherHawk
16 Jun 2008, 12:01

I feel sick, but not surprised.

Now, how can we get about a Billion $$ together to start our own league and throw out the do gooders and cronies that ruin our game?

Gilbert_Hodge
16 Jun 2008, 12:04
Always had a heap of respect for Brown, and this just boosts that respect. :thumbsu:

Hawks1523
16 Jun 2008, 12:06
Now as a sign of appreciation I reckon Franklin should pay the fine for Brown. What a ____ing joke the AFL is becoming.

hawka187
16 Jun 2008, 12:16
cant believe brown got fined, just stating that MRP should look after players with spinal injuries and let the other stuff go :mad:

noosa hawk mad
16 Jun 2008, 12:52

:thumbsd: How precise is the AFLBloody ridiculous the AFL fancy pants have to much power!:thumbsd:

Hodgepodge
16 Jun 2008, 16:04
Anyone else sick of the word 'sacrosanct'?

No, it's sacrosanct, and it must be protected.

Anyway i would've thought there'd be a relaxing of the rules now that stem cell therapy in India is getting people walking again.

Hodgepodge
16 Jun 2008, 16:06
cant believe brown got fined, just stating that MRP should look after players with spinal injuries and let the other stuff go :mad:

It's a dictatorship down there, and SEN is the ute with the megaphone patrolling the streets spewing propaganda, courtesy of Kevin Barlett who is riding in the passenger seat.

Carn Hawkas
16 Jun 2008, 16:24
Onya Browny, what a champ.
Buddy should go halfs with Brown on the fine.

Badesumofu
16 Jun 2008, 16:31
If I were Brown, I would be thinking that was $5000 well spent. That's peanuts to him, and it forces the AFL to generate more bad press for themselves, and pushes the issue further into the spotlight. I think if I played, I'd be getting fined on almost a weekly basis.

Hodgepodge
16 Jun 2008, 16:32
If I were Brown, I would be thinking that was $5000 well spent. That's peanuts to him, and it forces the AFL to generate more bad press for themselves, and pushes the issue further into the spotlight. I think if I played, I'd be getting fined on almost a weekly basis.

I was thinking that too, i just wouldn't care. The AFL reminds me of the future-society in Demolition Man.

Beckers
16 Jun 2008, 16:42
There is freedom of speech in this country.

Do we live in the US of A? It is in their constitution but we don't have one so where this is documented that Australians have a freedom of speech?

....and i agree, shocking report and i hate the word sacro..........what ever it is!

Gary7Ayres
16 Jun 2008, 17:07
Much respect to the Big Brown Dog. We luv ya work.

Let's get the appeal going. I'm in for the first $20. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon3.gif

I'd have a tiny bit of respect for the AFL in these matters if the fine went straight to charity instead of office parties and trips for the boss to the Olympics....

Coathanger
16 Jun 2008, 17:10
Buddy is gone now for sure. Can't fine Brown and then let Buddy off,they'll look like fools.

Should of shut his trap and kept his kind words for his team of cubs that just got mauled!:mad:

mighty_fighting
16 Jun 2008, 17:20
I remember Choco going off about Burgoynes report not that long ago....and media speculation about him being fined a WHACK and nothing happened!!!

where's the consistancy???

don't start me on Goodes:eek:

Onya J.Brown keep it real

Boyler_Room
16 Jun 2008, 18:24
Once again reporters beating up what Browny said for some more papers.

Love ya Browny for supporting our Buddy. Hate the reporters for making it an issue...again.

Scum bastards.

gibovski
16 Jun 2008, 18:39
I really hate the AFL and all their sacrosanct propoganda. Softening of the game, business deals for tv rights, rediculous rule changes, fining players and officials for having an opinion. I really really hate it and wished I followed a different sport. The really annoying part is that there is no way to protest about it. The only way is to protest with your feet and stop going to games but that affects the clubs we love and doesn't make a lick of difference to the AFL.

Anyone know of a good way for the entire football community to let the AFL know what we think of em?

royboy2
18 Jun 2008, 23:01
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23883690-19742,00.html

Jonathan Brown cleared by AFL
| June 18, 2008 01:47pm

BRISBANE'S Jonathan Brown will not be fined by the AFL for commenting on Lance Franklin's report for high contact.
Brown said on a television program on Sunday that he thought Franklin's hit on Adelaide's Michael Doughty was too soft to warrant suspension.
"Fair dinkum, it was like a fly hitting his head," Brown said.
Franklin accepted a reprimand for the contact, enabling him to play this weekend but ruling him out of Brownlow contention.
Brown's comments on Channel Nine's Sunday Footy Show were poorly timed given Matthew Lloyd's recent close shave after appearing on the program and making similar comments about another case.
In the wake of Lloyd's escape a fortnight ago, Anderson sent a memo to all clubs reiterating their obligations under rules relating to public comment.
Today, Anderson said he wrote to the club and spoken to Brown about his comments in the context of AFL Player Rules concerning public comment on a case before it has been decided.
"We accept that Jonathan Brown's comments were not intended to influence or affect the outcome of the Franklin case and no sanction will apply in this case," Mr Anderson said.
"All clubs should ensure their players and coaches are familiar with the rules and exercise caution in commenting on specific cases before they have been determined," he said.

Boyler_Room
19 Jun 2008, 15:14
Yay, some frigin common sense.