View Full Version : I'm Sorry

Alberton_Magpie
16 Jun 2008, 23:16
Dear Geelong Supporters,
I am sorry for the way my weak excuse of a club treated your players on the weekend, our coach calls it tough football, but I see it as a bunch of soft guys trying to act tough by going after players and trying to injure them, Whoever tried to get Gary Abletts head between their knees in the first quarter should be dropped but knowing our coach he wont be because apparantly that is "TOUGH FOOTBALL". Ever since the Grand Final I hated the GFC but that changed this year when I started to see how Geelong are I always tell my mates that Geelong is a "Real Honest Club" and the fact that they just focus on winning games and nothing else and Port Adelaide should really take a leaf out of your books. Obviously I support a minority of Power supporters but hopefully this will show you that not all supporters liked the way our club acted on the weekend.

re cat
16 Jun 2008, 23:24
Thanks for that. I was shocked and glad we got through without suspensions. And the player you are referring to was 21.

cats2rise
16 Jun 2008, 23:35
Not good enough. Im sueing you for compensation.

I didnt actually watch the game haha.. Waiting to download it.

Kent_Kingsley
16 Jun 2008, 23:39
Dunno who it was that got gaz's head in a grip between their knees but K Cornes delibrately kneed Ablett in the back of the head when he was on the ground later on.

Ammo Man
16 Jun 2008, 23:44
Thanks for a considered post A.M. I'll never understand why players with the talent of Motlop, Kane Cornes and Shaun Burgoyne need to indulge in, shall we say, borderline behaviour. Hard at the ball and hard at the man with the ball wins games, not sniping.

dyertribe
16 Jun 2008, 23:45
Dear Geelong Supporters,
I am sorry for the way my weak excuse of a club treated your players on the weekend, our coach calls it tough football, but I see it as a bunch of soft guys trying to act tough by going after players and trying to injure them, Whoever tried to get Gary Abletts head between their knees in the first quarter should be dropped but knowing our coach he wont be because apparantly that is "TOUGH FOOTBALL". Ever since the Grand Final I hated the GFC but that changed this year when I started to see how Geelong are I always tell my mates that Geelong is a "Real Honest Club" and the fact that they just focus on winning games and nothing else and Port Adelaide should really take a leaf out of your books. Obviously I support a minority of Power supporters but hopefully this will show you that not all supporters liked the way our club acted on the weekend.

FFS. You're carrying on like we're the only team that's ever gone the 'biff'* when the chips are down.

Get a grip.

*I use the term lightly. The events of yesterday were far far softer than some of the stuff I've seen the likes of Ablett snr., Mark Yeates and Buddha Hocking deal out. Let's get some perspective. 'Sniping'?! Please.

winty
17 Jun 2008, 00:04
FFS. You're carrying on like we're the only team that's ever gone the 'biff'* when the chips are down.

Get a grip.

*I use the term lightly. The events of yesterday were far far softer than some of the stuff I've seen the likes of Ablett snr., Mark Yeates and Buddha Hocking deal out. Let's get some perspective. 'Sniping'?! Please.

There's a reason for the bolded part. Port Adelaide players are a lot softer than Ablett snr, Yeates and Buddha. Simple as that.

Hood007
17 Jun 2008, 00:07
Dunno who it was that got gaz's head in a grip between their knees but K Cornes delibrately kneed Ablett in the back of the head when he was on the ground later on.

Kornes again...
The guy should stick to tagging and not worry about being 'creative' as some Port fans have said...

Ammo Man
17 Jun 2008, 00:08

If you were a team that had little talent it may have some value. But when you have a reasonably talented side its a dumb tactic as the scoreboard showed. Especially when the culprits were amongst your most talented players.

dyertribe
17 Jun 2008, 00:11
There's a reason for the bolded part. Port Adelaide players are a lot softer than Ablett snr, Yeates and Buddha. Simple as that.

We've got massive problems on and off the field as a club, no-one is denying that (except Chocolate Williams, oh joy of joys - see avatar), but this righteous indignation from all and sundry that our performance yesterday was some sort of filthy tribute to the halcyon days of yore is fanciful and forgetful.

Yesterday's display of aggression was largely misguided and you can say it backfired (we'd have been smashed anyway), but seeing people everywhere in the print media and on these boards calling it 'sniping' and 'thuggery' is absurd.

You'd think someone was loaded in the back of an ambulance with a broken jaw and the perp was facing months at the tribunal, yet despite there being cameras everywhere there was no case to answer.

You steamroll on - good luck to you - we'll continue to struggle in a large Egyptian river, but posts like Alberton Magpie's are indicative of just how soft the game has become in general.

portentous
17 Jun 2008, 00:27
Sorry to intrude boys, but AM you are a girls' blouse. No joke. Footy is a man's game. Maybe you should go watch the friggin' badminton in future.

And well done cats. Far too good yet again.

cats2rise
17 Jun 2008, 00:39
Sorry to intrude boys, but AM you are a girls' blouse. No joke. Footy is a man's game. Maybe you should go watch the friggin' badminton in future.

Hey!! Dont bag Badminton. We played it heaps in Year 10 at school.. Its pretty good fun. Plus, where else do you get to play with a shuttlecock?

portentous
17 Jun 2008, 00:43
Hey!! Dont bag Badminton. We played it heaps in Year 10 at school.. Its pretty good fun. Plus, where else do you get to play with a shuttlecock?

You don't really need to be told the answer to that do you? ;)

Alberton_Magpie
17 Jun 2008, 00:52

LOL I play football and have for close to 10 years, I dont know about you but unless you played wemons football you wouldnt know sh*t, if you have you would know the difference between being hard at the ball and being a soft dog going hard at the man.

portentous
17 Jun 2008, 00:55
LOL I play football and have for close to 10 years, I dont know about you but unless you played wemons football you wouldnt know sh*t, if you have you would know the difference between being hard at the ball and being a soft dog going hard at the man.

No I play hockey. Take no prisoners and go hard. I've been watching football for long enough to be able to differentiate between sniping and hard footy.

I acknowledge that we overdid it as we were second to the ball and thus conceded too many free kicks but you are just plain ridiculous.

Don't give me crap about being a female, I'm far tougher than you'll ever be. :cool:

CatmanForever
17 Jun 2008, 00:59
Port just proved again that playing hard at the man never beats playing hard at the ball. They just looked stupid doing all that physical stuff because we all know that isn't their natural game. Changing from what you do well to what you badly as a gameplan makes me wonder if chocco williams needs to get the sack at the end of this season. Fresh blood needed at that club.

eliiiiza
17 Jun 2008, 01:02
Hockey is hardly the same as Football, its easy to watch something for a long time but playing it is another thing, so unless this topic is about a wemons hockey game getting out of hand you wouldnt really know dick, other than stuff you have saw and what you think is correct.

Oh by the way wemon on bigfooty arnt the sort of wemon that men look for, so im sure your probably the tough woman that you are, but I wouldnt call it tough, I would call it Feral, Butch, Ugly, Slag etc etc etc
What's a "wemon"? A female lemon? Piss off idiot.

CatmanForever
17 Jun 2008, 01:05

I second that:mad:

portentous
17 Jun 2008, 01:08
Port just proved again that playing hard at the man never beats playing hard at the ball. They just looked stupid doing all that physical stuff because we all know that isn't their natural game. Changing from what you do well to what you badly as a gameplan makes me wonder if chocco williams needs to get the sack at the end of this season. Fresh blood needed at that club.

The problem is that you look stupid doing it when you're second to the ball all game. Our focus was on the wrong part of the game.(and the fact we're way outsized by you guys anyway so it hardly slowed you down let alone stopped you)

FWIW I saw Geelong play the same style of game at Kat Park a few years ago when we beat you convincingly there. It just doesn't work.

Anyway, well played. You're a good side. We all acknowledge that. Thank god you had a few players out.

eliiiiza
I second that:mad:
Get your banning skillz out!

Alberton_Magpie

Oh im so sorry for spelling Woman wrong, I guess you have never made a spelling mistake in your life :o

eliiiiza
17 Jun 2008, 01:11
Oh im so sorry for spelling Woman wrong, I guess you have never made a spelling mistake in your life :o
Spelling errors are the least of your problems.

Alberton_Magpie
17 Jun 2008, 01:13
No I am actually sorry about what I said about girls on Bigfooty, they are generlisations and very harsh comments im not a sexist, sorry if anyone was offended by what I said :o I feel embarrased about putting all females in the same boat on Bigfooty in the same boat when I was angry at one female.

LifeSpan-Void
17 Jun 2008, 01:16
Don't know why the OP is apologising, it should be the Power themselves apologising for not only getting thumped again by us, but by being CRAP at going the knuckle. It wasn't even heartfelt on their part, when the bodycount only consisted of Milburn getting a cut head. You won't even notice a scar on his rude bonce. Garbage effort.

The Floodbuster
17 Jun 2008, 02:20
Don't know why the OP is apologising, it should be the Power themselves apologising for not only getting thumped again by us, but by being CRAP at going the knuckle. It wasn't even heartfelt on their part, when the bodycount only consisted of Milburn getting a cut head. You won't even notice a scar on his rude bonce. Garbage effort.

C'mon, you can't say that was deliberate on Milburn. It was totally accidental by Robbie Gray and he was going hard at the ball. If we presented ourselves at contests like that play instead of watching the man I believe we would have been a lot closer. One positive I took out of the game was Robbie Grays attack on the footy when he went on the ball.

Anyway, enjoy the win. Too big, too strong and team orientated for us. The Cats are a very very good side and will take a lot of beating this year.

rizzo
17 Jun 2008, 02:38
C'mon, you can't say that was deliberate on Milburn. It was totally accidental by Robbie Gray and he was going hard at the ball. If we presented ourselves at contests like that play instead of watching the man I believe we would have been a lot closer. One positive I took out of the game was Robbie Grays attack on the footy when he went on the ball.

Anyway, enjoy the win. Too big, too strong and team orientated for us. The Cats are a very very good side and will take a lot of beating this year.

Good post. That Robbie Gray attempt was about the only time a PA player put his ass on the line and went for the hard ball.

On that note, i find it quite amusing that Port went the man for the game and still inflicted nothing on our blokes. If your going to take blokes out atleast make sure they fell like they have been hit.

Forzaport
17 Jun 2008, 11:34
Dear Geelong Supporters,

Yes a minority of 1.:thumbsd:

bingle
17 Jun 2008, 12:54
To be honest, and i was there, i reckon i've seen alot worse than what Port dished out in their apparant "playing the man" style.
To think there was only Dash's cut head to come out of it is enough to suggest they really suck at the intimidation. No one came off at any stage for a full blooded hip and shoulder or anything. There's nothing wrong with a bit of physical intimidation if it's done the right way. This is hardly even news worthy.
To Kane Cornes, if it was him, who tried squeezing Gazza's head between his knees....fair dinkim!! get a damn clue. It was embarrassing actually. Something you'd do in under 8's. It bloody amazing what goes through's players minds sometimes. You can not justify that:rolleyes: Lets see Choco defend that bit of "play"

And yes Dash's cut head was purely accidental. There was absolutely nothing in that although the result looked bad.

wharfie_1870
17 Jun 2008, 13:05
LOL I play football and have for close to 10 years .....Played footy for close to 10 years :rolleyes: Wow, that must make you at least 16 years old :p

wharfie_1870
17 Jun 2008, 13:07
.... To Kane Cornes, if it was him, who tried squeezing Gazza's head between his knees....fair dinkim!! get a damn clue. It was embarrassing actually. .....It wasn't Kane Cornes but that doesn't make it any less embarrassing :o

Cattery
17 Jun 2008, 13:32
Yes a minority of 1.:thumbsd:

Which disproves the old adage that the majority are always right I guess.
What the OP was saying, and saying correctly, was that Port mistook sniping, misguided tactics as being "hard footy" when it was nothing of the sort.

Hard footy is not dropping your knees into someone, or slamming them into the ground after they've taken a mark, that's simply dumb, not to mention costly as evidenced by two fifty meter penalty goals.

Playing it hard means putting your head down and winning the hard ball, and there are to many Port players not willing to do that; at the moment Port would be as soft as any side going round, a team of receivers, with probably your smallest player [ Roden ] the only bloke putting himself in to contested situations on a regular basis.

cats2rise
17 Jun 2008, 13:42
Good psot Cattery. I saw about 15 minutes of the second quarter (Walked in just as Johnson was getting reported) and what I saw wasnt hard footy. It was weak footy.

Forzaport
17 Jun 2008, 13:55
Which disproves the old adage that the majority are always right I guess.
What the OP was saying, and saying correctly, was that Port mistook sniping, misguided tactics as being "hard footy" when it was nothing of the sort.

Yesterday's display of aggression was largely misguided and you can say it backfired (we'd have been smashed anyway), but seeing people everywhere in the print media and on these boards calling it 'sniping' and 'thuggery' is absurd.

You'd think someone was loaded in the back of an ambulance with a broken jaw and the perp was facing months at the tribunal, yet despite there being cameras everywhere there was no case to answer.

You steamroll on - good luck to you - we'll continue to struggle in a large Egyptian river, but posts like Alberton Magpie's are indicative of just how soft the game has become in general.

What he said. If you believe tripe in the OP, then i can't help you.

Alberton_Magpie
17 Jun 2008, 14:10
Played footy for close to 10 years :rolleyes: Wow, that must make you at least 16 years old :p

A couple of years off :)

Cattery
17 Jun 2008, 14:16
What he said. If you believe tripe in the OP, then i can't help you.

Actually the OP didn't refer to it as "sniping or thuggery" just said [ correctly ] they played dumb football which they mistook for tough footy.
If you or your coach want to believe what was dished up on Sunday was in any way, shape or form "hard football" then I can't help either or you.

Cattery
17 Jun 2008, 14:22
Good psot Cattery. I saw about 15 minutes of the second quarter (Walked in just as Johnson was getting reported) and what I saw wasnt hard footy. It was weak footy.

Think when you see the whole match you'll realise what they dished up was dumb, garbage football, attacks on the man masquerading as hard football.

When it came to actually winning the hard ball most of them were conspicuous by their absence, yet after the game Choco said he was pleased at their attack "at the ball."

Says a lot about where they are right at the moment.

Turkey Tom
17 Jun 2008, 14:46
We shouldn't get too precious about it. As one of the PA posters said, we played the same 'style' against Port a few years ago and got thrashed.

Think Milburn got reported that game for clobbering someone.

But it was still dumb football. Looks like Choco has run out of ideas.

Motormouse
17 Jun 2008, 15:16

It's what you cook your Wabbits with.......

Shhhhh.....be vewy, vewy quiet.....We're hunting Wabbits!!!:D

Lunchlady Doris
17 Jun 2008, 15:38
The only really offensive one was Motlop giving it to Taylor when he wa son the ground. That is Motlop's style though.

Forzaport
17 Jun 2008, 15:59

So the OP was saying port thought sniping and bad tactics was hard football...

Actually the OP didn't refer to it as "sniping or thuggery" just said [ correctly ] they played dumb football which they mistook for tough footy.
If you or your coach want to believe what was dished up on Sunday was in any way, shape or form "hard football" then I can't help either or you.

Hold on, now the OP wasn't refering to sniping or thuggery, but that port thought dumb football was tough football :rolleyes:

Nice to see you changing your argument to something which is actually in line with my sentiments. Givng away 10 extra free kicks and lame 50m penalties is very dumb football, but the players and club coaches would never ever think it was tough football.

I can understand people being upset about ablett's head being jammed between a port player's knees. That was poor. And i like to think those antics won't be repeated. As for milburn, it was unfortunate his head met with gray's elbow, but, for one of the few times on sunday, gray was contesting the ball and it was nothing more than a football incident.

Dawn2Dark
17 Jun 2008, 16:42

I just LOL'd @ work at that! *high five's*

sarah.13
17 Jun 2008, 17:39

Wow!! eliiiiza showing more hardness that the entire Pt.Adelaide team. :thumbsu:;)

THEWAITISOVER
17 Jun 2008, 21:31

Get a grip.

Those blokes could give and take it. as for the soft thigs from Alberton they need to have a look at themselves because as a club they let themselves down. I think you are certainly barking up the wrong tree having a dip at the Past players at GFC. They certainly were reported and suspended but I don't think for a minute that they saw sniping as we saw on Saturday as being tough. I don't think your club was even playing REAL footy when they were running around. Mark Williams can talk about 130 years being built on Tough aggression I would say 130 years of playing in a second rate competition where being tough meant you played dirty. Port Afdelaide embarrassed themselves on September 29th 2007 and did it again on Sunday. I reckon you know that!!!
Go Cats Premiers 2007:)

Cattery
17 Jun 2008, 22:51
So the OP was saying port thought sniping and bad tactics was hard football...

Hold on, now the OP wasn't refering to sniping or thuggery, but that port thought dumb football was tough football :rolleyes:

Nice to see you changing your argument to something which is actually in line with my sentiments. Givng away 10 extra free kicks and lame 50m penalties is very dumb football, but the players and club coaches would never ever think it was tough football.

I can understand people being upset about ablett's head being jammed between a port player's knees. That was poor. And i like to think those antics won't be repeated. As for milburn, it was unfortunate his head met with gray's elbow, but, for one of the few times on sunday, gray was contesting the ball and it was nothing more than a football incident.

Nice bit of word play there, which doesn't alter the fact that you know, or at least I assume you do, exactly what the OP meant, and you're drawing an extremely long bow suggesting I'm changing my argument, read my first post here and you'll see exactly what I thought of Ports tactics.

No complaints with the Milburn incident by the way, just an accident as I saw it.

Not sure about the Coach not thinking it was tough football either going by his comments after the match [ full text in the link below ] to quote him .....

"But generally they (his players) attacked hard at the ball."

"Our people back in Adelaide, while disappointed with the result, would like to see our players making physical contact no doubt."

"But I'm sure our supporters would rather them play that way than stand off and not play physical," he added.......

As far as I'm concerned hard attacks at the ball equals tough football, and that's what Williams said they did, unfortunately I saw few examples of it.

Hard to believe he thinks the supporters would like to see them play like that, and with him who knows, he is prone to talk trash quite a lot of the time; personally I hope he at least is happy with it, because if they continue to serve up that type of garbage against us in future they'll get their arses handed to them every time.

http://hp-consumer.aol.com.au/sport/story/Aggressive-approach-warms-Williams/595461/index.html

scottydeewah
17 Jun 2008, 23:08
Score flattered the Power in the end too, the barely made it inside their 50 and when they did came straight back out.

Motlop spent the entire day playing for free kicks, was really surprised by his lack of heart.

In the end if thats what the Port players want to dish up then so be it. We (and most of the good teams) will smash the crapola out of them when they do so it helps the percentage!

LifeSpan-Void
18 Jun 2008, 00:42
C'mon, you can't say that was deliberate on Milburn. It was totally accidental by Robbie Gray and he was going hard at the ball.

I didn't say it was deliberate. All I said was that was the extent of the damage from Port "playing hard". I recall last year when Geelong "played hard", opposition benches were down to 1 man and their fans were carrying on about unfair advantages. Fact is, Geelong were smashing the shit out of their opponents.

couchy555
18 Jun 2008, 03:13
Lmao. what the hell? dont apologise on a website for your footy team, we dont blame you.

Port are in trouble, and every man and his dog knows that, but its not u fans fault.

I dont know about other Cats fans, but in future, if im mad at port beating the cats (which is bound to happen) ill just chuck on the GF dvd, and ill be happy. Dont worry Port, its just ur turn to struggle, we will have it soon enough, so just grit ur teeth and bare with it, ull be right.

At least ur not Freo

Forzaport
18 Jun 2008, 13:37
Nice bit of word play there, which doesn't alter the fact that you know, or at least I assume you do, exactly what the OP meant, and you're drawing an extremely long bow suggesting I'm changing my argument, read my first post here and you'll see exactly what I thought of Ports tactics.

No complaints with the Milburn incident by the way, just an accident as I saw it.

Not sure about the Coach not thinking it was tough football either going by his comments after the match [ full text in the link below ] to quote him .....

"But generally they (his players) attacked hard at the ball."

"Our people back in Adelaide, while disappointed with the result, would like to see our players making physical contact no doubt."

"But I'm sure our supporters would rather them play that way than stand off and not play physical," he added.......

As far as I'm concerned hard attacks at the ball equals tough football, and that's what Williams said they did, unfortunately I saw few examples of it.

Hard to believe he thinks the supporters would like to see them play like that, and with him who knows, he is prone to talk trash quite a lot of the time; personally I hope he at least is happy with it, because if they continue to serve up that type of garbage against us in future they'll get their arses handed to them every time.

http://hp-consumer.aol.com.au/sport/story/Aggressive-approach-warms-Williams/595461/index.html

I can only go by what you've been posting, so if you posts aren't consistent the wrong message will be sent. So, going back to your original post, hard footy is not dropping your knees into someone etc... I agree. It isn't. it's dumb football, and was treated as such with frees against and 50m pentalties etc.

Port's tactic was to be agressive and for me, dyertribe summed it up best in post #10. To suggest they tagerted solely the man for the game is, i think unfair. Port still has the third youngest and second least experienced team in the comp (or something like that), so it's really no surprise when a player like lower gives away 5 frees - it was his fifth game after a nearly two years in the wilderness. That sort of performance won't fly in the long run, but hopefully it'll at least provide some understanding to what could be seen as 'garbage football'.

Now in regards to the coach's comments. there were some very positive signs for port to come out of the geelong game. Now, i'm going off the PRO-STATS website, we matched geelong in tackles, clearances, 1st possession and 1%ers. That's tough, that's positive and not the soft crap we've dished up in other rounds this year. We were killed in contested possession and contested marks - where we lost the game. The message? we tried hard, the effort was there - that's what port supporters want to see. Geelong is a superior, no, far superior team than port atm, far more experienced bodies and players in form so it's no surprise the result went the way it did.

Ultimately, you can believe the OP in that port thought the bullying was a form of hard football (which is the easy thing to do), or you can accept my argument as presented above. Perception is a wonderful thing, isn't it? :thumbsu:

Exhale You
18 Jun 2008, 18:21
Now, i'm going off the PRO-STATS website, we matched geelong in tackles, clearances, 1st possession and 1%ers.

Shannon Byrnes footskills are more accurate than the Pro Stats website.

BTW We had 11 more tackles than Port, despite having nearly 100 more possessions.

Cattery
18 Jun 2008, 19:01
I can only go by what you've been posting, so if you posts aren't consistent the wrong message will be sent. So, going back to your original post, hard footy is not dropping your knees into someone etc... I agree. It isn't. it's dumb football, and was treated as such with frees against and 50m pentalties etc.

Port's tactic was to be agressive and for me, dyertribe summed it up best in post #10. To suggest they tagerted solely the man for the game is, i think unfair. Port still has the third youngest and second least experienced team in the comp (or something like that), so it's really no surprise when a player like lower gives away 5 frees - it was his fifth game after a nearly two years in the wilderness. That sort of performance won't fly in the long run, but hopefully it'll at least provide some understanding to what could be seen as 'garbage football'.

Now in regards to the coach's comments. there were some very positive signs for port to come out of the geelong game. Now, i'm going off the PRO-STATS website, we matched geelong in tackles, clearances, 1st possession and 1%ers. That's tough, that's positive and not the soft crap we've dished up in other rounds this year. We were killed in contested possession and contested marks - where we lost the game. The message? we tried hard, the effort was there - that's what port supporters want to see. Geelong is a superior, no, far superior team than port atm, far more experienced bodies and players in form so it's no surprise the result went the way it did.

Ultimately, you can believe the OP in that port thought the bullying was a form of hard football (which is the easy thing to do), or you can accept my argument as presented above. Perception is a wonderful thing, isn't it? :thumbsu:

It's not a case of believing the OP or accepting your argument, it's arriving at my own decision after watching the game and also from reading your Coach's comments afterwards, in which he "appears" to be satisfied with your teams attack at the ball, which is what denotes hard footy in my view.

Dyertribe probably came closest to my own view when he described Ports efforts as largely misguided aggression, which is pretty much as I saw it, with Port players to often targeting the man rather then the ball.

Although I take them with a grain of salt, the one damming piece of info' from those Pro-Stat statistics you quoted, and which was evident from watching the game, was the discrepancy in contested possessions, and as I've already said, that's mainly what constitutes hard footy in my view, the willingness to put your body on the line and win the hard ball; Selwood is the perfect example of this, and unfortunately I saw precious little evidence of your guys prepared to follow his example.

In the long run it doesn't really matter one way or the other if Port thought what they dished up was hard footy or not, what matters is that you're heading in the wrong direction if that's the approach you're going to take in an attempt to reverse the [ and I'll use your words ] "soft crap we've dished up in other rounds this year."

As you point out, Ports tactics were to be aggressive, but that's pointless if the aggression is misdirected; if the roles were reversed I'd be livid at Geelong for a performance like that, winning or losing is irrelevant as long as the players give a 100% effort and direct their efforts in the right way, just don't believe your guys came even close to doing that, but as you say, perception is indeed a wonderful thing,

gwAllan
19 Jun 2008, 00:11
Suspect that Williams shouldn't be back next year. Also suspect that the GF loss may have had a fair impact on not a few Port players.

A couple of years back it was Port who alerted Geelong that a certain departed Cats employee was hawking club info to other clubs. As a club they have, and will retain, my respect.

iameviljez
19 Jun 2008, 00:34
Dear Geelong Supporters,

The haranguing (sp?) that the OP has got from this thread is mind-boggling - from their own supporters, and from us over a spelling mistake (and, fair enough, being sexist). I applaud what's written above - reminds me of when we went the whack against Carlton in Buddha's last game, awful "football".

I did used to think that most Power supporters here were knuckleheads. But a new respect for Alberton Magpie for me, for one.

iameviljez
19 Jun 2008, 00:41
I might just add that you idiots from the Power jumping in to harangue your own man are just disgusting. True pride in your club doesn't show itself in blind, stupid patriotism that defends the club at all costs.

True pride in your club shows when you accept all truths about the way it conducts itself and it either hurts or it pleases. Makes winning all the sweeter, too.

Shmoses
20 Jun 2008, 15:57
I'm only just now watching the game from Sunday and I've gotta say, Port played like real scum. These Port posters need to get the hell out of our forum, especially dyertribe - how can you expect to have anything you say about footy taken seriously when you change from a Crows fan to a Power fan just like that?

dyertribe
20 Jun 2008, 22:56
IThese Port posters need to get the hell out of our forum,

Why would you have such a siege mentality like this when Geelong are flying? I could come up with the most empassioned, airtight defence of the side's aggression (misguided or otherwise) ever and you could still trump me with '119'.

especially dyertribe - how can you expect to have anything you say about footy taken seriously when you change from a Crows fan to a Power fan just like that?

OK, this has been done to death by the emo and kiddie collection on the Crows board with no concept of football before 1995, but I'll at least provide some sort of explanation as is far, given your broadside.

See, I've always been a Port Adelaide man - and the very reason I started barracking for the Crows (at age 10 with inception) was because of Port players who I loved - Hodges, Smith, Abernethy, Tregenza, Brown.

Now by the time the club (Port) got its AFL licence, I was your typical fat angry teenage douchnozzle to whom footy was everything - by now had a Crows season ticket and was enjoying another Port boy, McLeod, rip it up at the highest level. The combination of teal shock and 'PORT POWER' marketing pissed me off too - although my fanboi hard-on for young Tredders and Wilbur (from their roles in the 1996 SANFL flag) was there and I liked to see the club do well in its foray into the bigtime.

But since 2005 or so the Crows didn't mean as much to me and I became more interested in Port games - to the point where I was more disappointed that the club lost in the 'ultimate Showdown' semi final (there's an empassioned defence of Byron in a thread slandering him that very night after he knocked out Biglands, if you'd care to look). I was also getting drilled by Crows supporters and being accused of being a Port supporter for 'defending Port' at every opportunity - funnily enough, by the same people who now accuse me of bandwagoning.

By the 2006/7 offseason I'd more or less turned full circle, but continued to go to Crows games with mates while also going to Port matches.

Knowing full well I'd cop the wrath the god from people like you (and the afforementioned crew on the Crows board), I didn't make it 'official' on here until the week of the Grand Final, but who cares. I'd have been slammed no matter when I did it.

I gave my Crows season ticket up in the summer and bought a full platinum one. I've sat through this awful season and will be there tomorrow supporting the club. Shit happens. :thumbsu:

CatmanForever
20 Jun 2008, 23:03
honestly this thread is totally irrelevant now so Port fans can go to wherever they go and we will see you next year.