View Full Version : Good Rookie Recruiting

bigstyletiger
16 Jun 2008, 23:59
Just thought i would draft a positive recruiting thread for a change.

Moore, Thursty, Foley and King all came off the rookie list. David Shwarze spoke glowingly about Thursty and Moore on the radio today saying they were kp backmen to build a very dangerous back line around. Thursfield is obviously a very committed and able stopper. Moore appears to be one of those players who can play on both talls and smalls. He is quick and has a massive leap. Is the new generation type of key back. Foley is an A grader or very very close. And King, for a bloke who was playing suburban footy three years ago is pretty decent, although kicking can sometimes let him down.

Overall that's 4 good players plucked out of obscurity and two of them, in hindsight, are worth first round picks at worst early second round.

astro_toby
17 Jun 2008, 00:03
Just thought i would draft a positive recruiting thread for a change.

Moore, Thursty, Foley and King all came off the rookie list. David Shwarze spoke glowingly about Thursty and Moore on the radio today saying they were kp backmen to build a very dangerous back line around. Thursfield is obviously a very committed and able stopper. Moore appears to be one of those players who can play on both talls and smalls. He is quick and has a massive leap. Is the new generation type of key back. Foley is an A grader or very very close. And King, for a bloke who was playing suburban footy three years ago is pretty decent, although kicking can sometimes let him down.

Overall that's 4 good players plucked out of obscurity and two of them, in hindsight, are worth first round picks at worst early second round.

moore wasnt a rookie - schwarz know shit.

but yes, i agree we have done well with our rookie's - but FFS -its hard to be excited about them when we have botched up so many 1st and 2nd rounders:o

RichosGuns
17 Jun 2008, 00:05
Hopefully Claton Collard and/or Tristan Cartlege can also join the list of great lookie listed players. Although I still reckon we should have taken Alistar Neville last year as our Coburg draftee. I reckon he just had "it" and with a pre-season at an AFL club he could have gained extra speed and increased his skill.

Greg Tivendale was also orginally a rookie and he was pretty good servant for 10 or so years playing 190 odd games.

Hopefully Liddle, or Carnell is the Coburg boy the gets the rookie spot next year :thumbsu:

beaver fever
17 Jun 2008, 00:16
Pretty sure Moore was a rookie astro.

mitch richmond
17 Jun 2008, 00:16
When Tiges get the $$$$$, it's vital they put that in to Player Development. There's no guarentee Pav would've been a gun at Tigerland. Aaron Fiora might've been a gun if he'd gone to another club at 17. We've had great success with Rookie List, - add Tivers and Howat to that list. Do you think our Rookie List blokes succeed 'cos they're more desperate and are less likely to relax than the listed ones 'cos they're on borrowed time?

mitch richmond
17 Jun 2008, 00:18
Pretty sure Moore was a rookie astro.

Good call. Moore was a 2004 Rookie elevation.

nut
17 Jun 2008, 00:42
When Tiges get the $$$$$, it's vital they put that in to Player Development. There's no guarentee Pav would've been a gun at Tigerland. Aaron Fiora might've been a gun if he'd gone to another club at 17. We've had great success with Rookie List, - add Tivers and Howat to that list. Do you think our Rookie List blokes succeed 'cos they're more desperate and are less likely to relax than the listed ones 'cos they're on borrowed time?

People seem to forget Fiora was one of the Best on ground for Port Adelaide in the GF in the SANFL. He still going too.

Good thread about the Rookies.... it's not Millers doing is it?? heaven forbid

Deledio2Tambling
17 Jun 2008, 00:43
Good call. Moore was a 2004 Rookie elevation.

Sweet username mate, loved the guy. :thumbsu:

Infamy
17 Jun 2008, 00:46
Generally I'd agree with you about Schwarz, but you look like an idiot now

mitch richmond
17 Jun 2008, 00:51

but yes, i agree we have done well with our rookie's - but FFS -its hard to be excited about them when we have botched up so many 1st and 2nd rounders:o

You're stiff astro! Schwarz makes 30 mistakes an hour and you pointed that one out. You'll bounce back!

rfctigerarmy
17 Jun 2008, 01:11
Generally I'd agree with you about Schwarz, but you look like an idiot now

Yeah, hes not looking great.. :o

YellowandBlackBlood
17 Jun 2008, 19:50
If Collard gets his body (and head) right he will easily be up their with the best of them. He is a genuine talent that makes things look easy and can do freakish things too.

Common Clayton (Tivendale, haven't you got a long term injury like the G-train?) show us what you've got!

lookkg386
17 Jun 2008, 19:56
a feel good story on our recriuting :thumbsu:
and collard could be the best one yet :p

bigstyletiger
17 Jun 2008, 20:06
Haven't seen Collard yet. Depending on where Coburgh are playing this week i might try and get out to have a look. Sounds exciting. A small lively forward with x factor who can put pressure on the backs would be a massive bonus for the side.

Who is Collard most comprable too in the AFL at the moment - Davey, Farmer, Stokes, Medhurst, Rioli, etc?

YellowandBlackBlood
17 Jun 2008, 20:14
Haven't seen Collard yet. Depending on where Coburgh are playing this week i might try and get out to have a look. Sounds exciting. A small lively forward with x factor who can put pressure on the backs would be a massive bonus for the side.

Who is Collard most comprable too in the AFL at the moment - Davey, Farmer, Stokes, Medhurst, Rioli, etc?

Plays tall (a good grab for his height) so probably Farmer like (when Farmer was at his peak he was taking hangers) and a dead eye dick for goal. Freo had recruited him to be Farmer's heir apparent before delisting him.

THE_GUN
17 Jun 2008, 20:14
im not very happy about coburg not playing our youngsters atm
gourdis ,collard ,rance ,collins should all be playing consistantly.

YellowandBlackBlood
17 Jun 2008, 20:20
im not very happy about coburg not playing our youngsters atm
gourdis ,collard ,rance ,collins should all be playing consistantly.

Lack of injuries has made it impossible to put all our youngsters in the one team. Therefore Coburg reserves has been having a field day with the team crushing every team they've come across.

THE_GUN
17 Jun 2008, 22:03
time for hyde ,tivvers ,bowden , pettiffer ,johnson to go on the long term injury list i think.

telsor
17 Jun 2008, 22:31
If Collard gets his body (and head) right he will easily be up their with the best of them. He is a genuine talent that makes things look easy and can do freakish things too.

Forget the body, it's all about the head.

Remember, the guy was a high draft pick and was thrown out of *FREO* half way through his initial contract because of his attitude.

Small chance we can turn him around, but if we do, it'll be a massive win, if not, well, it was only a rookie pick.

YellowandBlackBlood
18 Jun 2008, 22:44
Forget the body, it's all about the head.

Remember, the guy was a high draft pick and was thrown out of *FREO* half way through his initial contract because of his attitude.

Small chance we can turn him around, but if we do, it'll be a massive win, if not, well, it was only a rookie pick.

Gee, they've thrown out a few duds Freo, like Paul Medhurst, Trent Croad, etc.

Tiger67
18 Jun 2008, 23:07
time for hyde ,tivvers ,bowden , pettiffer ,johnson to go on the long term injury list i think.

That would leave us a few players short as we only have 4 rookies we could elevate and one of them is Howat and I would not swap any of the players you listed for Howat. Not even Tivendale.
In fact other than Tivers for Collard I don't think any of the others would be able to get a game even if they did manage to be elevated.
The options are Cartledge Sylvester Collard and Howat

Tetley Tigers
18 Jun 2008, 23:45

While a return of only 24 games in four seasons – including just seven in 2007 – is not ideal, the former rookie took important steps in his development last season. Discovering newfound belief that he has what it takes at the top level, the versatile defender showed some of his best form and will be looking to capitalise on the departure of Darren Gaspar this year.

Draft history: 2004 rookie elevation (Richmond).