View Full Version : Top 69 Metal CD's Of All Time (Revolver)
CowboyFromHell
26 Aug 2002, 23:36
Just picked up the new Revolver magazine, and they have released a Top 69 list that they have been doing for a few months. For those of you who want to know and discuss, I will post the entire list below! There are some different ones etc and I like the fact they have branched out and considered ALL angles rather than just what most people know. Enjoy! :)
1. Metallica - Master of Puppets
2. Pantera - Vulgar Display of Power (:))
3. Black Sabbath - Paranoid
4. Slayer - Reign In Blood
5. Emperor - Prometheus: The Discipline of Fire and Demise
6. AC/DC - Back in Black
7. Rage Against the Machine - Self Titled
8. System of a Down - Toxicity
9. Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction
10. Iron Maiden - Number of the Beast.
11. Metallica - Black Album
12. Meshuggah - Destroy Embrace Improve
13. Ozzy Osbourne - Blizzard of Ozz
14. Judas Priest - Screaming for Vengeance
15. Cradle of Filth - Dusk and her Embrace
16. Motley Crue - Shout at the Devil
17. Slipknot - Self Titled
18. Led Zeppelin - Led Zepplelin II
19. Anthrax - Spreading the Disease
20. Venom - Black Metal
21. Korn - Follow the Leader :confused: :mad:
22. Aerosmith - Rocks
23. Kiss - Rock and Roll Over
24. Death - Symbolic
25. Fear Factory - Demanufacture
26. Soundgarden - Badmotorfinger
27. Deftones - Around the Fur
28. Van Halen - Self Titled
29. Lamb of God - New American Gospel
30. Metallica - Ride the Lightning
31. Motorhead - Ace of Spades
32. Bad Brains - I Against I
33. Ministry - Psalm 69.....
34. Morbid Angel - Domination
35. Scorpions - Virgin Killer (Chosen more for CD cover! :rolleyes: )
36. Faith No More - Angel Dust
37. Ozzy Osbourne - No rest for the Wicked.
38. Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity
39. Mayhem - De Mysterilis...
40. Jimi Hendrix - Are you Experienced?
41. Jane's Addiction - Nothing's Shocking
42. Obituary - World Demise
43. Thin Lizzy - Jailbreak
44. Skid Row - Self Titled
45. Strapping Young Lad - City
46. Def Leppard - High n Dry
47. Pantera - Cowboys From Hell
48. Whitesnake - Slide It In
49. Marilyn Manson - Antichrist Superstar
50. Poison the Well - The opposite of December...
51. Entombed - Wolverine Blues
52. Carcass - Heartwork
53. The Cult - Electric
54. Megadeth - Rust in Peace
55. Cannibal Corpse - The Bleeding
56. COC - Deliverance
57. Dio - Holy Diver
58. At the Gates - Slaughter of the Soul
59. Prong - Prove you Wrong
60. Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger
61. Voivod - Dminesion Hatross
62. Hatebreed - Satisfaction is the Death of Desire
63. Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime
64. Sleep - Jerusalem
65. Testament - The New Order
66. Godflesh - Streetcleaner
67. Soilent Green - Sewn Mouth Secrets
68. Cro Mags - Age of Quarrel
69. Misfits - Earth A.D
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
35. Scorpions - Virgin Killer (Chosen more for CD cover! :rolleyes: )
I am betting you have not heard even ONE track off this CD. Very silly statement to make in that regard.
Black Majesty
27 Aug 2002, 08:49
dilinger escape plan...lamb of god..oh yes they're true classics!!
what a joke..
Top four can't really be argued with, but after that, it's all a bit head scratching.
One Black Sabbath album?
One Led Zeppelin album, which is incidentally ranked below System of a Down...I mean fair suck of the sav!!
No Sepultura???
Take this with a grain of salt I reckon...
Macca19
27 Aug 2002, 13:24
I got no problem with that. The album is a classic.
50. Poison the Well - The opposite of December...
Im trying to work out how that is in there!! Its a good cd but nowhere near the top 50 metal records of all time. They arent even a metal band - they're a hardcore outfit.
Mooster7
27 Aug 2002, 13:49
I only have 13 from that list. Perhaps I should stop considering myself to be a metalhead.
Led Zeppelin I may have been more of a Blues album than LZII, but their cover of Willie Dixons' 'I Can't Quit You Baby' has that motion from A to A# which I believe is one of the first seeds of HM music. Add to that the Beatles use of classical scales & modes with I, IV, V progressions and you have the moment of conception IMO. Peace,
Black Majesty
27 Aug 2002, 14:25
Figjam you have already proven that you dont know much about music
I think it is best that you keep your opinion to yourself
SydneyBomber
27 Aug 2002, 18:30
I've got 37 out of 69. I guess I must be slipping!
Some odd choices in there to say the least. Many worthy bands, but albums chosen that seem odd.
eg.
5. Emperor - Prometheus: The Discipline of Fire and Demise
Surely the first and second albums ('In the Nightshade Eclipse' & 'Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk') are more 'classic' than this one??!!
12. Meshuggah - Destroy Embrace Improve
Umm, would that be 'Destroy ERASE Improve' ? ;)
15. Cradle of Filth - Dusk and her Embrace
Vempire (EP) & 'Cruelty & The Beast' are much better. I'd even rate 'Principle' better than 'Dusk'
21. Korn - Follow the Leader
I would've thought the self-titled would've got a nomination instead of this one....
24. Death - Symbolic
R.I.P Chuck.:( :( :(
34. Morbid Angel - Domination
A good album sure, but certainly no "Altars of Madness'. What the hell were they thinking???
42. Obituary - World Demise
In a word NO! 'Cause of Death' was undoubtedly the greatest Obies record. Full stop!
65. Testament - The New Order
Toss up between this one & 'Legacy' for mine.
69. Misfits - Earth A.D
Another toss up. 'Walk Among Us' instead perhaps?
Interesting nonetheless....
CowboyFromHell
27 Aug 2002, 21:42
Originally posted by Darky
I am betting you have not heard even ONE track off this CD. Very silly statement to make in that regard.
And I am willing to bet that you have not got the magazine Darky.
They said it, not me! They said they chose it more for the cover and that there other CD's were generally better. So in fact, you can get stuck into THEM and not ME! Get your facts straight mate....
CowboyFromHell
27 Aug 2002, 21:44
Originally posted by Black Majesty
Figjam you have already proven that you dont know much about music
I think it is best that you keep your opinion to yourself
I would believe we would all listen to what FIGJAM has to say before you did mate.
He made more valid points than you did in any case.
Hank Jones
27 Aug 2002, 22:22
Just picked up the new Revolver magazine, and they have released a Top 69 list that they have been doing for a few months. For those of you who want to know and discuss, I will post the entire list below! There are some different ones etc and I like the fact they have branched out and considered ALL angles rather than just what most people know. Enjoy! :)
8. System of a Down - Toxicity
32. Bad Brains - I Against I
41. Jane's Addiction - Nothing's Shocking
43. Thin Lizzy - Jailbreak
49. Marilyn Manson - Antichrist Superstar
59. Prong - Prove you Wrong
68. Cro Mags - Age of Quarrel
69. Misfits - Earth A.D
8. SOAD.....at #8? It's not that good.
21. I think Korn pretty much suck.
32. About fu*king time someone recognised one of the greatest bands ever.
41. Metal?
43. DUUDE!! Love it.
49. This is a joke right?
59. 'Cleansing' and 'Force Fed' are better.
68. Cro Mags....NYHC!! Brilliant.
69. I never liked the Misfits and Danzigs a circus midget.
This is MY opinion. Not a bad list overall.
Savatage
27 Aug 2002, 22:47
He made more valid points than you did in any case.
I wouldn't question Black Majesty on music knowledge.
Savatage
27 Aug 2002, 22:48
Originally posted by Hank Jones
8. SOAD.....at #8? It's not that good.
21. I think Korn pretty much suck.
32. About fu*king time someone recognised one of the greatest bands ever.
41. Metal?
43. DUUDE!!
49. This is a joke right?
59. 'Cleansing' and 'Force Fed' are better.
68. Cro Mags....NYHC!!
69. I never liked the Misfits and Danzigs a circus midget.
This is MY opinion. Not a bad list overall.
I know it's your opinion but Thin Lizzy - Jailbreak is a ****ing awesome CD.
Hank Jones
27 Aug 2002, 22:57
Originally posted by Savatage
I know it's your opinion but Thin Lizzy - Jailbreak is a ****ing awesome CD.
I believe that I agree with you. DUUDE!! = two thumbs up!
Savatage
27 Aug 2002, 22:59
Originally posted by Hank Jones
I believe that I agree with you. DUUDE!! = two thumbs up!
Aah! I took that as DUDEEE! That Ain't ****ing metal!!
My bad, cheers!
Does anyone want to start a Thin Lizzy tribute band with me?
And I am willing to bet that you have not got the magazine Darky.
They said it, not me!
Fair enough, I apologise. Thought you were adding your comments to it.
In that case, the bloke who DID write that is a complete ****ing nuff-nuff.
They said they chose it more for the cover and that there other CD's were generally better.
The chick on the cover is like 10 years old, so if they chose it for that there's something wrong.
Scorpions might have one or two better CDs, but they didn't get mentioned. "Fly To The Rainbow" and "In Trance" are possibly better, but "Virgin Killer" is a great CD in its own right.
The guitar playing of Uli Jon Roth on all three albums has to be heard to be believed.
CowboyFromHell
27 Aug 2002, 23:33
Originally posted by Darky
Fair enough, I apologise. Thought you were adding your comments to it.
In that case, the bloke who DID write that is a complete ****ing nuff-nuff.
The chick on the cover is like 10 years old, so if they chose it for that there's something wrong.
Scorpions might have one or two better CDs, but they didn't get mentioned. "Fly To The Rainbow" and "In Trance" are possibly better, but "Virgin Killer" is a great CD in its own right.
The guitar playing of Uli Jon Roth on all three albums has to be heard to be believed.
No worries mate! :)
And yes, that is why I added a :mad: face because it makes no sense picking it on the basis of a controversial cover rather than the music on the CD. They actually said that they felt other CD's were better, yet didn't get on.
Makes you wonder eh?
I wouldn't question Black Majesty on music knowledge.
Why is she questioning mine?? She's only been here a month!! :confused:
Thanks for standing up for me up CowboyFH! :cool:
Savatage
28 Aug 2002, 10:11
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Why is she questioning mine?? She's only been here a month!! :confused:
Thanks for standing up for me up CowboyFH! :cool:
I wasn't having a go at you by the way.
Just saying that BM knows his ****.
I wasn't having a go at you by the way.
Just saying that BM knows his ****.
Nah, I know. I wasn't having a go at you either.
That's cool, but given that I am familiar with about 50 of those 69 albums and in fact sweat some of those albums out of my pores, I can't see why I can't comment without being cut down by some newbie troll!
I've just realised that there isn't a Tool album on their either. Undertow and Aenima are a lot better than quite a few of those albums...but then I should just keep my opinion to myself! :rolleyes:
Examining the list a little more closely :
There are a few albums/bands that wear the "metal" tag quite loosely.. Korn, Bad Brains, SOAD, Marilyn Manson....
There are a few artists where the WRONG album is on the list.. Ozzy's "No Rest..." WTF??? No More Tears was much better, as was Diary of a Madman.
Van Halen's first CD at 28???? This is bull****.
Priest's British Steel not in the whole lot? You're kidding!
Darkthrone's first two albums were better than Transylvanian Hunger.
The only plus out of the whole list was that Uli-era Scorpions was recognised, but as CFH pointed out, it wasn't without a stupid comment.
Thumbs down, outside of a reasonable top ten, this list is SH.IT!
Black Majesty
28 Aug 2002, 11:41
Come on Figgy stop sooking...
Originally posted by Black Majesty
Come on Figgy stop sooking...
Why? It gives me something to do outside of the ordinary!
I agree with Darky, there's so much genuine metal that has been pushed out by bands I wouldn't tag as metal.
Figjam,
I thought better of you. Why even bother responding to that troll?
CowboyFromHell
28 Aug 2002, 15:15
I give them credit for doing a list, as these are terribly hard to do. But they could have done a much better job.
I thought Sepultura, with Max as frontman, would have gotten a mention ahead of alot of the bands that DID get a mention.
SOAD and Korn annoyed me. While both are good albums, they are by no means "Metal", and having SOAD in the Top Ten with Metallica, Sabbath, Pantera, Maiden etc is a bit of a joke. Would have liked to have seen Van Halen up in there somewhere myself.
Tool are an interesting one, but I don't listen to much of their stuff to be honest, so I won't comment on them. But I wouldn't mind seeing one of their albums in there somewhere.
Manson is another interesting one, but meh....
From a Pantera point of view, I thought FBD was a much better album than CFH, and many Pantera fans would agree.
And FIGJAM, anytime! :)