View Full Version : Lions TV Coverage in Victoria

lionbear
17 Jun 2008, 12:22
I am officially sick of it...

This week we are on SEN only, which means outside of Melbourne the only way I can see or listen to the game is if I sit on the internet all night.

I wouldn't complain but then in a few weeks time the AFL says we are a Victorian Club and can you please play in Tasmania to cover the Hawthorn contract.

If we are a Victorian or interstate club then do one of the following....

Make sure we are either on free to air or ABC radio each week.

or

Not make us play as a Victorian club in Tasmania.

Sorry peoples but I am just getting frustrated as I can't afford pay TV and we seem to be in limbo with the AFL as to how to treat us with coverage down here each week.

Tim the Toolman
17 Jun 2008, 13:11
You're more than welcome to come to Berwick and watch in luxurious home theatre comfort if you want to make the drive (not knowing where you live obviously)?

archangel1979au
17 Jun 2008, 13:25
I know how you feel.

Was the same last year...Seems that unless you barrack for Essendon, Collingwood or St Kilda or you are playing against them there is little chance you will see the Lions on TV in Melbourne. I think there is only 5 games in Melbourne on FTA this year for the Lions...Thanks Fonzy....

Why is it the certain clubs get all the blockbusters and TV coverage while other clubs do not and are bullied to go interstate? I wonder how the Kangaroos finances would be if over a period of time that they were given the blockbusters and the coverage instead? (not to mention the dream draws..but thats another story). How many fans new to the game would prefer to follow a team which get so much airplay to a team that does not...

Even midnight replays would be well received.

Otherwise you could sell a kidney and get Foxtel who are free to charge like a wounded bull...

I have looked at alternative ways of getting the games in melbourne such as satellite TV etc to no avail..Who wants to download a game which you will probably hear the result beforehand?

At least when there was the midday/arvo games on sunday we got a few lions games.

I though the AFL was the peoples game...try justifying that to a fan with a young family that to follow their chosen team they will need to fork out money for a TV subscription which they used to watch for free or pay to attend a game which also costs a small fortune.

Well thats my rant. Hopefully Brissy can make the finals so at least we will be guaranteed another game on FTA :thumbsu:

lionbear
17 Jun 2008, 13:30
You're more than welcome to come to Berwick and watch in luxurious home theatre comfort if you want to make the drive (not knowing where you live obviously)?

I live about 2 hours North of Melbourne, but thanks for the offer;).

I guess the main issue I have is I like to be able to sit in the lounge with a stubbie and listen to or watch the game. I can't do either. I have to sit at a desk in the study and hope my 7 year old computer doesn't crash.

The AFL should make it the game not shown on channel 10 Saturday night must be broadcast on ABC where mmm and 3aw can't be heard. But that would make sense wouldn't it.

knaf
17 Jun 2008, 13:32
Hear Hear Lionbear. TV coverage of the Lions in Victoria is terrible and for supporters outside Melbourne it sounds like radio is worse. I think the Collingwood game in Brisbane is the only non-Melbourne played game that is to be televised this year. If the game is on in Melbourne, I will go unless their is an important family function as a clash and I guess most other Lions supporters feel the same. I down load games from bigpond which is both iffy and unsatisfactory in terms of vision quality. But one free to air game a year is a disgrace. And in fact a disincentive to buy a membership. If you can watch all the Melbourne games in the comfort of your home cinema in TtheT's case or my tiny flat, why trudge through the ice and snow to Docklands in winter.

royboy2
17 Jun 2008, 18:24
Im not sure where you are Lionbear, but when I was playing country footy up near Ararat.
I used to listen to 891 ABC adelaide to hear the lions v crows/port, unfortunately i had to listen in the car as it picked up the signal better, but it was the best of a bad situation.

Be prepared for a Very Bias call though

JasRulz63
17 Jun 2008, 18:49
I hear ya. Luckily being in Melbourne, I'll get radio coverage one way or another, but it's a poor effort.

When Channel Nine had the coverage, they used to show the 1pm Sunday game live, which Brisbane are playing a few times a year, now with Channel Seven, that's gone. For Brisbane to be on FTA, they basically need to be the only game on at that time of coverage, or playing someone big like Collingwood/Essendon.

Ah well, at least I get to follow us through the radio most weekends.

Hilly72
17 Jun 2008, 21:40
Lionbear, I really recommend getting onto one of the Foxtel free installation deals, I did last season after realising how few games where on FTA and it the best thing. As for the cost, I am sure you will find out that it doesn't make that big a dent in the budget once you are watching the boys run around every weekend!

FWIW, pretty much all I watch on Foxtel is the footy, but it is still worth it!

TheBrownDog
17 Jun 2008, 22:18
Lionbear, I really recommend getting onto one of the Foxtel free installation deals, I did last season after realising how few games where on FTA and it the best thing. As for the cost, I am sure you will find out that it doesn't make that big a dent in the budget once you are watching the boys run around every weekend!

FWIW, pretty much all I watch on Foxtel is the footy, but it is still worth it!

Not sure they even have television in Bendigo, let alone cable.

Roy Fitzlion
17 Jun 2008, 22:37
I though the AFL was the peoples game...try justifying that to a fan with a young family that to follow their chosen team they will need to fork out money for a TV subscription which they used to watch for free or pay to attend a game which also costs a small fortune.

The AFL is only interested in people with heaps of spare cash to spend at the footy or on cable TV. Unfortunately, AFL football is no longer the people's game, it's geared to suit the corporates. It's true it has to pay for itself but I think it has lost the "people" along the way.:thumbsd:

lionbear
17 Jun 2008, 23:19
Not sure they even have television in Bendigo, let alone cable.

I saw these people last weekend riding around in these funny looking motorised horse carts. it was really amazing to see:p

Sorry Hilly72 If I could justify the expense I would do it, but it is just too high a cost.

I am happy to just listen to the games on radio. I get upset because If I am at a party or something I want to be able to put an ear piece in, or if I am at home sit in the lounge with a beer and watch or listen. I can't do either this week:mad:

Tim the Toolman
18 Jun 2008, 11:49
I go up there (Bendigo) occasionally to visit my sister and boy they love the phone I have that works when you leave the house!

Kahn
19 Jun 2008, 13:56
Here we go again, another Brisbane supporter complaining.

Actually the obvious answer is to find a nice pub to watch the game, but knowing where Lionbear lives (i stalk him at nights) there is no good pubs to watch the game. Most pubs now have given up the foxtel licence cause its too expensive and they only get crap games on it (like brisbane games :D)

bears2lions
19 Jun 2008, 14:07
There ain't much coverage in Smallville, Kansas either.

Cara_Cougar #16
20 Jun 2008, 15:14
There ain't much coverage in Smallville, Kansas either.

COME HOME THEN! lol why are you there anyways?

bears2lions
20 Jun 2008, 15:18
COME HOME THEN! lol why are you there anyways?

Too much excitement in Metropolis... and that Lois.

lionbear
21 Jun 2008, 21:47
I am glad all the Victorian regional TV/Radio providers have picked the other game...

It is currently Geelong vs the West Coast Witches Hats in a training run.

Geelong 84 V West Coast 21 Half Time.

Kahn
21 Jun 2008, 23:42
I am glad all the Victorian regional TV/Radio providers have picked the other game...

It is currently Geelong vs the West Coast Witches Hats in a training run.

Geelong 84 V West Coast 21 Half Time.

I think your right.

There is nothing worse than seeing a team win by 135 points - especially when you support that team...:p:p:p