View Full Version : First Half of Season Unacceptable: Wallace
Realistic Tiger
17 Jun 2008, 18:08
BEGIN RANT
RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace has conceded that the Tigers failed to gain a pass mark in the first half of the year.
Their season record sits at 4-7-1 after Sunday's win over Melbourne, but it was a couple that got away earlier in the year that caused the Tigers to miss the grade.
"The two games that we were in a position to win – I think if we got the job done when we were three goals in front of the Bulldogs, and if we'd beaten St Kilda when we had two shots in the last minute of the game, I reckon we'd be in reasonable shape," Wallace said on Tuesday.
"Every season is really balanced off by winning your close games, and getting results in your close games.
"We've had a couple of opportunities to nail games this year, and haven't nailed them, and that's the difference between acceptable and not-quite-acceptable, to be frankly honest."
The Tigers have Port Adelaide, Carlton, West Coast, Essendon and the Lions coming up before August, and while Wallace noted that the coming weeks would define their season, he waved off suggestions that September action was imminent.
"Well, you've got to get those good couple of wins first. You don't get ahead of yourself in this competition, and one-in-a-row is not really a platform for anything at all, and that's the next challenge.
"We've got some games over the next few weeks that are going to be really important for the club.
"If we want to have any sort of say in having a strong, vibrant second half of the year, then probably the next month is really important to our footy club."
The above is from Tuesdays with Terry and I am happy to read the highlighted parts, for the simple reason that it backs up the views of us 'negative' posters that although we have improved this season it hasn't been as good as it could have been. Perhaps now some of the 'optimistic' supporters might see that we're not just feral Tigers supporters without a clue about the game.
Perhaps those of you who have had a go at us, can now write Terry and tell him that he has NFI and doesn't really support the club.
If it isn't good enough for Terry then why should it be good enough for us?
/END RANT.
Bruce Monteath
17 Jun 2008, 18:18
I was more interested in his comment that he thought we didn't get enough credit in the media for beating Melbourne.
Jesus Terry, who is your media advisor? What a ridiculous notion to draw attention to -
"Hey Robbo, we just beat the worst team in the comp - how about a pat on the back!"
CoggaRules
17 Jun 2008, 18:21
"RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace has conceded that the Tigers failed to gain a pass mark in the first half of the year."
yeah TW, and to many here you and your brainst trust failed badly in gaining a pass mark in the first half of the year. You picked the teams that failed dude. ;)
Peter SasseGum
17 Jun 2008, 19:02
Again, comments taken out of context.
He meant to say that it wasn't acceptable because we could have won a few of the close games, and that aspect is unacceptable.
THe team has fully embraced his carefully contructed gameplan, -combine this with the mix of quality youngsters, and stong on field role models, we now have the nucleus of a team that is destined for premiership success.
Well done to TW and the rest of the coaching staff for installing the belief and confidence into this up and coming Tigers outfit :thumbsu:
The Dice Man
17 Jun 2008, 19:19
Just a question, how long since we won 2 in a row.
CoggaRules
17 Jun 2008, 19:20
He meant to say that it wasn't acceptable because we could have won a few of the close games, and that aspect is unacceptable.
THe team has fully embraced his carefully contructed gameplan, -combine this with the mix of quality youngsters, and stong on field role models, we now have the nucleus of a team that is destined for premiership success.
Well done to TW and the rest of the coaching staff for installing the belief and confidence into this up and coming Tigers outfit :thumbsu:
FFS, is the club sending in the marketing team to BF now? Or is this next phase of the arse licking that low and behold, after how long? has the club appointing a tiger to some kind of ____ing role in Freeza?
Like after 4 years...they now have done what? admitted to their ____ ups? ;)
genghiskhan
17 Jun 2008, 19:21
BEGIN RANT
The above is from Tuesdays with Terry and I am happy to read the highlighted parts, for the simple reason that it backs up the views of us 'negative' posters that although we have improved this season it hasn't been as good as it could have been. Perhaps now some of the 'optimistic' supporters might see that we're not just feral Tigers supporters without a clue about the game.
Perhaps those of you who have had a go at us, can now write Terry and tell him that he has NFI and doesn't really support the club.
/END RANT.
Responsibility must always go up the chain of command, not down it. If the team has not made the most of its talent, Wallance is chiefly responsible.
If Wallace believes that criticism will help the players, then he should criticise them but he must criticise them in private. It is not acceptable for Wallace to be criticising them through the media.
jumpinjimmy
17 Jun 2008, 19:25
Well done to TW and the rest of the coaching staff for installing the belief and confidence into this up and coming Tigers outfit :thumbsu:If this bloke ever others you some 'Coolaid'...dont...I repeat dont take it:(
Sausage roll
17 Jun 2008, 19:27
Thank god TW has finally brought up our draw.
Someone from the club needs to stand uo to the AFL.
Forget the interstate game,s how the f**K did we draw the premiers twice for the fourth year in a row?? How? Why?
AS a bare minimum we should only get GEElong once when we were 0-9 and they won the flag.
Wouldn't you think?
Even Mario flogwagon would agree1
Roger Dodger
17 Jun 2008, 19:28
Poor coaching and player development left us wanting when the games against St. Kilda and the Western Bulldogs should have been well and truly dusted.
St. Kilda's form since has shown that result to be an utter disaster. Talk about snatching a loss from the jaws of victory.
Without any major injuries (an excuse TW browbeat us all with last year) to complain about Richmond should be sitting where Carlton currently is on the ladder.
Instead we circle the landing strip in bottom table limbo, unsure of our development, our recruiting and our leaders. Punt Road should be positively buzzing with confidence after a ten goal win over the Demons.
Our team still acts surprised when the opposition comes back at us. Sunday was just another glaring example of our ineptitude. Without Richardson we would have lost. Our first quarter was a disgrace.
WAKE UP!!!
Realistic Tiger
17 Jun 2008, 19:34
Not taken out of context at all. Wallace said that it is unacceptable to be in winning positions and then losing. I have said the same thing. As I mentioned to another poster 2 days ago, if we managed to hang on against the Dogs and Saints we would now be sitting 9th with only % keeping us out of the 8.
As for embracing the gameplan, I think you're off the mark. You have constantly criticised the side for overuse of handball. Saying that too is unacceptable yet they continue to do that. IIRC your gameplan is supposed to be built around hard running, fast ball movement into the forward 50. Yet time and again we are still pissing around with the ball in the back half or in the middle.
Anyway Terry, glad you don't take the sack Wallace threads to heart. But mate ease up on the spin in here otherwise the boards sullshit meter will explode.
Just a question, how long since we won 2 in a row.
Rounds 19,20 & 21 2006 were the last time we manage to win 2 or more in a row.
Madtiger2006
17 Jun 2008, 19:38
BEGIN RANT
/END RANT.
Yeah good one Negative Tiger :cool:
Madtiger2006
17 Jun 2008, 19:40
Rounds 19,20 & 21 2006 were the last time we manage to win 2 or more in a row.
Didn't we win 2 in a row last year?
just A Question, How Long Since We Won 2 In A Row.
The Dice Man
17 Jun 2008, 19:57
lol:thumbsu:
You gotta be in your 30s too to be so cynical.
I phase in and out of cynicallnessicity.
____in Richmond ruined my life.(Next years bumper sticker)
lookkg386
17 Jun 2008, 20:01
lol:thumbsu:
You gotta be in your 30s too to be so cynical.
I phase in and out of cynicallnessicity.
____in Richmond ruined my life.(Next years bumper sticker)
:D :D :D
for some reason I just pissed myself with that, anything to do with the fact I'm 32???
fanatigger
17 Jun 2008, 23:02
i have never seen or heard of such a blood thirsty pack of animals. no wonder this club has not seen much action over the last 27 years. l am glad that its ONLY a minority. Lay off you !@#$ing hacks.
genghiskhan
17 Jun 2008, 23:06
i have never seen or heard of such a blood thirsty pack of animals. no wonder this club has not seen much action over the last 27 years. l am glad that its ONLY a minority. Lay off you ____ing hacks.
You are as negative as anyone else. I blame Wallace for starting the negatively by publicly criticizing the players.
The Dice Man
17 Jun 2008, 23:20
I blame the Tigerskin. And Mabo.
tigertiger
17 Jun 2008, 23:22
Letter to RealisticTiger
You have no ____ing idea and do not support the club.
the End
i have never seen or heard of such a blood thirsty pack of animals. no wonder this club has not seen much action over the last 27 years. l am glad that its ONLY a minority. Lay off you ______
hacks.
WTF?
You clearly arent a Richmond supporter.
We were a blood thirsty pack even when we were winning premiserships. The club was built around being ruthless you phony.
Now bugger off back to Freo who enjoy losing.
I hope you're not stupid enough to be posting this stuff from your PC at work. It would be really embarrassing for the club when you get found out.
the ranger
17 Jun 2008, 23:34
BEGIN RANT
/END RANT.
What? Those comments don't back up the negative nancy argument at all. They imply that we are good enough to be 6-6 and in 8th place right now.
I'm disappointed with our first half of the season, but I'm still hopeful about our list and our future. Terry's comments here back up that point of view, not the idiots saying we have to tank because we're going nowhere otherwise.
Realistic Tiger
18 Jun 2008, 06:53
Letter to RealisticTiger
You have no ____ing idea and do not support the club.
the End
Why is that? Is it because I also believe, what the coach of the club believes, that the first half of the season was unacceptable and not worthy of a pass mark.
Gather you sent the same thing of to Wallace. ;)
Realistic Tiger
18 Jun 2008, 07:03
What? Those comments don't back up the negative nancy argument at all. They imply that we are good enough to be 6-6 and in 8th place right now.
I'm disappointed with our first half of the season, but I'm still hopeful about our list and our future. Terry's comments here back up that point of view, not the idiots saying we have to tank because we're going nowhere otherwise.
You're right, those comments do back up the view that some of us suppposed negative posters have said and that is losing games when in winnable positions was not good enough. I also get the feeling that Wallace would not have been too pleased with those 3 games where we have had half time leads and let opposition sides back into games, that would also add to the reasons he hasn't given them a pass mark for the first 12 weeks. When we stop doing that, the side will have improved enough to be a legitimate contender for the finals, not just a side who will play 1 game, get thumped and lose confidence.
Anyway, I don't believe I have ever suggested the club should tank, what I have asked for is for the kids to get games into them instead of the club going back to 'past it' players time and again. If thats good enough to finish up near the 8 then great, if it is only good enough for 12th then at least we know we still have work to do, if it is only good enough for a bottom 4 finish then we would know that those kids we have aren't good enough to ressurect the club and a lot more pain is forthcoming.
camsmith
18 Jun 2008, 13:23
TW is spot on.
the ranger
18 Jun 2008, 13:53
You're right, those comments do back up the view that some of us suppposed negative posters have said and that is losing games when in winnable positions was not good enough. I also get the feeling that Wallace would not have been too pleased with those 3 games where we have had half time leads and let opposition sides back into games, that would also add to the reasons he hasn't given them a pass mark for the first 12 weeks. When we stop doing that, the side will have improved enough to be a legitimate contender for the finals, not just a side who will play 1 game, get thumped and lose confidence.
And that's the optimist's argument. That we are on the right track and with experience we will be able to put an end to our inconsistency from one quarter to the next and become a legit finals team.
Anyway, I don't believe I have ever suggested the club should tank, what I have asked for is for the kids to get games into them instead of the club going back to 'past it' players time and again. If thats good enough to finish up near the 8 then great, if it is only good enough for 12th then at least we know we still have work to do, if it is only good enough for a bottom 4 finish then we would know that those kids we have aren't good enough to ressurect the club and a lot more pain is forthcoming.
I don't think anyone has a problem with us playing the kids if they are ready for AFL football. Polo, Hughes and Connors should all be getting plenty of time in the seniors over the last 10 games. JON, White, Edwards, Riewoldt should also get another half dozen games each, at least. Rance should debut and maybe Casserly or Collins, too. We can do that and still stay in the hunt for the eight. And if we slip back from the pack and finish 12th, at least we'll have a better idea what those players are made of before it's time to start delisting people.
Damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
if he says we gained a pass mark, people will bag him for spinning shit again.
He comes and out and is honest and people bag him.
However, Terry only has himself to blame. He picked the wrong team for three weeks after he'd picked the right team.
Peter SasseGum
18 Jun 2008, 13:56
TW is spot on.
Absolutely he is.
So far our season has been unacceptable, as the Tigers could be in the 8 now if they played with the same level of intensity and application as they did prior to the swans and crows game.
Well done to TW for being upfront and honest in his assessment of season 2008 so far :thumbsu:
HighFlyer
18 Jun 2008, 14:56
He didn't actually blame the players.
He said "we've" twice.
Which insinuates that they are all responsible for the effort and the situation.
genghiskhan
18 Jun 2008, 17:33
He didn't actually blame the players.
He said "we've" twice.
Which insinuates that they are all responsible for the effort and the situation.
If the players aren't maximizing their ability then the coach is solely to blame for picking the wrong team, playing players out of position or for not being a good motivator.
Terry needs to stop passing the buck. If the team doesn't deliver then needs to take some responsibility.
It's not people that say we should have won those games that we were in winnable positions in that shits me. What does shit me is when people say, or seem to imply, that we have made no improvement and we are as pathetic as ever.