View Full Version : Weakest midfield in the AFL

parrot
18 Jun 2008, 12:24
Those 4 are the clear standouts. It's probably out of Freo and Essendon at this stage. Pies are up there. Dees also, but they do have some good young midfielders coming through at least. :)

davey_magik
18 Jun 2008, 12:50
Would be interested to hear which players you think are good young midfielders from Melbourne parrot.

hellfire
18 Jun 2008, 13:04
Would be interested to hear which players you think are good young midfielders from Melbourne parrot.

I would imagine Mclean and Jones.

QuietHawk
18 Jun 2008, 13:25
I have tried to compare them by picking their best inside mid their best outside mid and their best player that do both.

heres what i came up with

Essendon:
Inside- Jobe Watson
Outside- Bachar Houli?
Both- Stanton

That is the best i could come up with, sorry bombers but your midfield struggles.

Collingwood:
Inside - Burns
Outside - Didak
Both - Pendlebury

I don't undertand why they are in the list, Fantsatic mix of youth and experience, much better now with davis and didak floating in and out

Femantle:
Inside- Carr?
Outside - Bell
Both- Palmer

Has Carr had a touch this year? bit worrying when your best allround midfielder is a kid with 10 games under his belt, only marginally better than the bombers.

Melbourne:
Inside - Jones
Outside - Davey
Both - McLean

I think their midfield is probably the best part of their team, which doesnt say much, but Mclean and Jones are real goers, Sylvia has talent and may come good, and i reckon Moloney might still come good.

When you stack them up against Geelong or Hawthorn for example they really struggle

Geelong:
Inside - Bartel
Outside- Corey
Both - Ablett

Hawthorn:
Inside- Mitchell
Outside- Bateman
Both - Hodge

anyway i reckon Bombers

Hodgepodge
18 Jun 2008, 15:47

Australia
18 Jun 2008, 17:00
Essendon:
Inside- Jobe Watson
Outside- Bachar Houli?
Both- Stanton

That is the best i could come up with, sorry bombers but your midfield struggles.

Collingwood:
Inside - Burns
Outside - Didak
Both - Pendlebury

I don't undertand why they are in the list, Fantsatic mix of youth and experience, much better now with davis and didak floating in and out

Femantle:
Inside- Carr?
Outside - Bell
Both- Palmer

Has Carr had a touch this year? bit worrying when your best allround midfielder is a kid with 10 games under his belt, only marginally better than the bombers.

Melbourne:
Inside - Jones
Outside - Davey
Both - McLean

I think their midfield is probably the best part of their team, which doesnt say much, but Mclean and Jones are real goers, Sylvia has talent and may come good, and i reckon Moloney might still come good.

When you put it that way it's an absolute joke Collingwood and Melbourne are even mentioned with Bombers and Freo, both the weakest parts of their teams.

TBoyleSuperstar
18 Jun 2008, 17:26
Fremantle or Essendon comfortably.

Freo's best mid is Palmer, which shows the depth they have.

Essendon just struggle in the guts, barring Watson who seems to simply refuse to kick the footy.

Rest are pretty strong i would have thought.

Possibly Richmond, Foley is a gun, but Deledio isn't always in the Guts, K Johnson isn't what he was and Shane Tuck is average at best.

TassieSaint
18 Jun 2008, 19:20
The fact that Freo's is only two votes ahead of Melbourne is a disgrace. I would take Melbourne's every day of the week over Freo. That said, Essendon's just atrocious, but I like the look of Lonergan, Houli and Myers and McVeigh isn't bad (was very good before he got injured). Should be decent in maybe 3 years but definitely the worst for now.

pinkus maximus
18 Jun 2008, 19:33
The fact that Freo's is only two votes ahead of Melbourne is a disgrace. I would take Melbourne's every day of the week over Freo. That said, Essendon's just atrocious, but I like the look of Lonergan, Houli and Myers and McVeigh isn't bad (was very good before he got injured). Should be decent in maybe 3 years but definitely the worst for now.
fremantle by far

we are doing a mini rebuild as we speak. palmer and ibbotson getting more game time in the centre, matt carr, mcmanus and bell to retire

Heater39
18 Jun 2008, 21:22
Probably have to be Essendon, no real stars. ours aint the best either but with Pendlebury, Swan, Burns and Didak, Davis etc. rotating through i think we got the dons covered

hellfire
18 Jun 2008, 21:35
How Collingwood has any votes with Swan, Pendlebury, Burns and Didak all in there, I'll never know.

parrot
18 Jun 2008, 21:41
How Collingwood has any votes with Swan, Pendlebury, Burns and Didak all in there, I'll never know.

Watch the last 1/4 Blues V Pies and you'll find out. :)

hellfire
18 Jun 2008, 23:03
Watch the last 1/4 Blues V Pies and you'll find out. :)

Watch all 4 quarters against the best midfield in the AFL and you'll find out. :)

gothedogs1
18 Jun 2008, 23:08
Melbourne have it

rotto
18 Jun 2008, 23:11
Freo by a mile. Wins taps and lose clearances. Fail to hit targets that included Tarrant, Farmer and Pavlich. Alots of TO's and slow as snail.

marcmurphy3
18 Jun 2008, 23:22
How I rate the midefields in the league:

1. Geelong
2. Hawks
3. Brisbane
4. Bulldogs

5. Carlton
6. Port
7. St Kilda
8. Adelaide

9. Sydney
10. Roos
11. West Coast
12. Collingwood

13. Richmond
14. Melbourne
15. Bombers
16. Freo

gopower
18 Jun 2008, 23:33
Freo's best midfielder has played about 10 career games, so they are a standout winner. Essendon's is shit too but it's not at Freo's level, and Collingwood and Melbourne shouldn't be on the list. If Melbourne do have a position where they're competent, its the midfield, with Bruce, Green and McDonald all good midfielders and McLean, Jones, Yze at his best and Sylvia good back-up.

Schmick
18 Jun 2008, 23:35
Probably ours or Freo at the moment. Should become alot better in a few years with all of the youngsters we have recruited to play in there though.

DTHitman
19 Jun 2008, 11:57
Essendon are the worst .. just.. there only good mid is stanton and watson is ok
Freo are slightly better ie Haselby/Palmer

DTHitman
19 Jun 2008, 11:59
1. Geelong
2. Hawks
3. Bulldogs
4. Brisbane
5. Carlton
6. St Kilda
7. Port Adelaide
8. Adelaide
9. West Coast
10. Sydney
11. Collingwood
12. North Melbourne
13. Melbourne
14. Richmond
15. Fremantle
16. Essendon

WN123
19 Jun 2008, 12:57
I have tried to compare them by picking their best inside mid their best outside mid and their best player that do both.

heres what i came up with

Essendon:
Inside- Jobe Watson
Outside- Bachar Houli?
Both- Stanton

McVeigh is our best midfiielder by a street. S/b
Inside- Jobe Watson
Outside- Stanton
Both- McVeigh

We are still competing with Freo for last spot but Reimers, Myers, Houli and esp Lonergan have all shown a bit in there so we can always hope.

sneakydaycrawler
19 Jun 2008, 14:05
Is Houli 'inside' or 'outside'?

Jono B
19 Jun 2008, 14:23
Is Houli 'inside' or 'outside'?
Houli is outside but has improved his inside skills out of necessity over the last couple of months.

Our midfield is still bad but will improve as the midfield develops understanding with each other. You need to remember that there is only 1 regular player in common between the 2005 and 2008 Essendon midfield and that is Stanton. It is a completely rebuilt midfield that should improve with time.

Australia
20 Jun 2008, 11:30

Theres your problem!

Hodgepodge
20 Jun 2008, 12:29
do you mean softest midfield? Carlton.

Nishmann
20 Jun 2008, 22:39
When i talk about Midfields i generally include ruckmen. In that case i would have to say Fremantles midfield is the worst. Sandilands improving and wins 40 hit outs a game...problem is 30 of his hitouts go to the other team. Swan, Didak, Pendles, Burns, Davis, Thomas is not worthy of being in this poll...however they are brought down by Josh Fraser who is a cheese ruckman.

Bananayard
20 Jun 2008, 22:41
Squibbs

DOCKER MAN
20 Jun 2008, 23:53
Freo's midfield with Haselby and Headland would be ahead of all bar Collingwood in that lot

Team Mo'
21 Jun 2008, 00:15
do you mean softest midfield? Carlton.
Do try to turn every thread against Carlton? :confused:Please keep on track...:rolleyes:

too answer the OP I'd say Fremantle and Essendon's are the two worst...

Ps: Hodgepodge, you try too hard:thumbsd:

Murphinator
21 Jun 2008, 11:18
Ess by a mile IMO.
Freo have a future in terms of midfield..

Hodgepodge
21 Jun 2008, 11:30
Do try to turn every thread against Carlton? :confused:Please keep on track...:rolleyes:

too answer the OP I'd say Fremantle and Essendon's are the two worst...

Ps: Hodgepodge, you try too hard:thumbsd:

it's no effort at all . . . squibbsy

Smyth94
21 Jun 2008, 11:41
Theres your problem!

Would walk straight into your team

WN123
23 Jun 2008, 11:44
Ess by a mile IMO.
Freo have a future in terms of midfield..

Had to come back and revisit this after our midfield absolutely smashed Carlton's (which has been rated number 5 in this thread)

MarkJohnson#1
23 Jun 2008, 20:53
It has to be Carlton on this weekends performance. They got their pants pulled down by an extremely inexperienced Bomber midfield so you would have to question the heart and courage of the Carlton midfield.

The Carlton pea hearts for mine.:thumbsu:

Schmick
23 Jun 2008, 20:56
We'll soon find out who has the better midfielder come this Sunday.

Top_4_Tiger
24 Jun 2008, 19:35
Possibly Richmond.

Foley, Cotchin + Deledio are the best trio of young midfielders in the AFL 22 and under.

With Cogs close to his real comeback, Tambling, White, etc then depth players like Tuck and Johnson breaking the packs I'd say our midfield is... at least 9th :D

Barry Zuckercorn QC
25 Jun 2008, 01:26
LOL Parrot :D

Whys Collingwood one of the options?

Essendon the worst, Freo close behind.

WN123
25 Jun 2008, 11:55

Where does that leave Carlton after we belted your midfield on the weekend.

Barry Zuckercorn QC
25 Jun 2008, 12:25
Where does that leave Carlton after we belted your midfield on the weekend.

Just a bad day at the office (and an average ruck division).

Centurion
25 Jun 2008, 12:46
Just a bad day at the office (and an average ruck division).

Thats all ive been hearing Bazza. A bit of pressure will bring down any midfield. I think ours is coming along nicely but is too early to rate them like you guys rate your own. Isnt the ruck division part of the middle? Its badly letting you down.

Mike_blues
27 Jun 2008, 21:02
geelongs hands down;)

sneakydaycrawler
27 Jun 2008, 22:38

She hate's Collingwood with a passion. You should read some of her insightful post's.

Lightning_Rod
27 Jun 2008, 22:59
a late entry, port adelaides weak willed outside recievers should take this poll

QuietHawk
28 Jun 2008, 01:12
Inside- Jobe Watson
Outside- Stanton
Both- McVeigh

We are still competing with Freo for last spot but Reimers, Myers, Houli and esp Lonergan have all shown a bit in there so we can always hope.
tbh mate i was close to rating McVeigh as one of the best mids in the comp (top 10ish) before he got injured, such was his form. But he has been back for a few games now and i havent even heard his name called, and i have watched a few essendon games!

parrot
19 Jul 2008, 11:44
After watching the Pies "midfield" last night V North in the 2nd half, the Pies must surely be close to having the weakest midfield in the AFL now. Burns, O'Bree, Swan are your classic workman-like Collingwood footballer without any class or talent. Rotating opportunistic forwards like Didak and Thomas through the midfield, doesn't make them automatically "midfielders" - both have no idea how to play that role. Pendlebury is the most outside outside "midfielder" I have seen over the past 5 years, and always fades when the game is on the line e.g. last night. The Pies desperately need some true quality midfielders. Trading away their first round pick last year for a 3rd string Brisbane ruck was a huge mistake. The Pies also had 2, top-10 superdraft picks, and somehow managed to avoid getting a quality midfielder. :)

Bombers1234
19 Jul 2008, 11:52
tbh mate i was close to rating McVeigh as one of the best mids in the comp (top 10ish) before he got injured, such was his form. But he has been back for a few games now and i havent even heard his name called, and i have watched a few essendon games!

You obviously didn't watch our last two games because he was easily BOG in Freo game and top 5 in the Brisbane game.

Deledio_Judd
20 Jul 2008, 13:01
Freo , lack of real talent, best inside midfielder this year has been Palmer imo