View Full Version : Do members have any reason to get upset when other members give their seats to opposition supporters
garlic munchers
18 Jun 2008, 13:59
In the Captains Club section against Sydney, there was a group of Eagles members that sit directly behind our players dugout who went feral over a vocal Sydney supporter (mind you, I can only remember her being vocal after half time).
She was repeatedly told to shut up and comments (embarassing) were made that "we don't pay thousands of $ to sit here and put up with supporters of other clubs", you know this is a members area etc etc.
Personally, I love it! In general, in Perth we miss the banter between opposition supporters and I regularly attend a match in Melbourne each year and love the atmosphere. North and the Saints in the last two years which we won were great.
On point however, do members have the right not to expect an intrusion into their areas? Do members have a moral obligation to ensure that only supporters use their tickets?
I am really interested in whether there is a general concensus on this as I have been guilty of giving tickets to to other teams supporters (we live in the country and work Saturdays).
P.S. I was kicked out the members area of Hawthorn at Waverly for supporting the Eagles during one particular belting we dished out, due to a members complaint. I didn't argue at the time, just went and sat in general admission.
eaglechick79
18 Jun 2008, 14:50
I guess from an outsider who doesnt live in the state nor goes to too many games in Perth, members areas are just that, for the members of that club, so giving the seats away to a supporter of another club i dont think is fair.
My understanding in Perth there are shortage of seats for EAGLES members, (is that correct? theres a huge waiting list?) so for someone to give away a ticket to an opposition supporter in the members area when im sure any one of those ppl who have been waiting for seats for ages would have taken it at a flash isn't really fair.You should think of your own first! ;)
But the second part, having opposition supporters around you, now that is an area i know too well! being a VIC member thats all we see, l felt weird going to perth and being surrounded by friendly supporters of the same team. Its part of the fun l say, esp in VIC, if lm not told to go home at least once through-out the season its not a game (even though im Melbourne born and breed)! it use to be every week, lately since losing ppl don't seem to give us as much crap, which is quite unusual, maybe they feel sorry for us!:rolleyes:
BUT l only experience that cause l support an interstate team in VIC, my understanding Geelong for eg have similar rules where 'member' only areas are just that, members only!!!
greennick
18 Jun 2008, 15:09
I don't think so. Members do not have any obligation to consider who they give their tickets to. I believe it would be nice if members tried to give their tickets to Eagles supporters, however if they have a friend who is a mad supporter of another team, I have no issue with them getting the tickets. After all, a lot of supporters of other teams do not have much of a chance of seeing their teams play in WA!! Tickets are often hard to come by. Eagles supporters have a lot more games we can go to each year, even with the stadium pretty much sold out every week. What would you do with people who support other teams but buy an Eagles/Dockers membership then?
Anyway, as has been said, the banter is good. Though, sometimes some opposition supporters can shit you! I suppose a lot of Eagles members can be just as frustrating. So many have less knowledge of footy than that Jess kid from TFS. They are always the vocal ones too!!
Subiaco needs whatever it can get to improve the atmosphere - the place is a fkn library.
Agreed, much prefer the banter at the Dome and G.
Tends to go off when things are going well, but is very morbid if we aren't winning.
Too many women and children if you ask me ;)
flyinghi64
18 Jun 2008, 16:15
Shouldn't matter a damn, whoever owns the seat tickets can give them to whoever they want.
BUT, not if this person is a feral, loud, one-eyed dik who wants to pick fights with grannys or kids. They should be told to respect the fellow members. You can be vocal, follow your team and even give the Eagles a bit of curry( everyone likes a bit of atmosphere and humour, particularly this year) but don't go over the top.
flyinghi64
18 Jun 2008, 16:20
But the second part, having opposition supporters around you, now that is an area i know too well! being a VIC member thats all we see, l felt weird going to perth and being surrounded by friendly supporters of the same team. Its part of the fun l say, esp in VIC, if lm not told to go home at least once through-out the season its not a game (even though im Melbourne born and breed)! it use to be every week, lately since losing ppl don't seem to give us as much crap, which is quite unusual, maybe they feel sorry for us!:rolleyes:
BUT l only experience that cause l support an interstate team in VIC, my understanding Geelong for eg have similar rules where 'member' only areas are just that, members only!!!
I have to ask, being Melb born and breed, what made you go for the Eagles:confused::confused:
Just curious.
Strider83
18 Jun 2008, 16:26
I sit in an area where there are quite a few "older folk". And some of the older folk are worse than anyone! haha They're friggen annoying too cos they bitch about our own team half the time. I actually enjoy having a vocal opposition fan near me cos it gives me more reason to yell out something witty in response to one of their remarks.
wce0632
18 Jun 2008, 16:29
I don't mind if people around me give their tickets to opposition supporters - as long as their not d***heads!
<rant>
What I hate more is when members decide that they can't be bothered and don't show up! That is so annoying! Don't take it for granted, turn up to every game unless something important comes up. You've paid for those tickets and there are plenty of other people out there who would take your ticket in a second if they could. So if you do have a ticket and know you aren't going to bother, put your membership in for that re-sell thing for the game. Let other people have the opportunity to create a good atmosphere and show support to the boys - the kind of SUPPORTers who will be there, shouting and screaming, clapping etc. through thick and thin! Too many members take it for granted imo - it angers me, even though I have a membership.
</rant>
Lion El'Johnson
18 Jun 2008, 16:38
I have to ask, being Melb born and breed, what made you go for the Eagles:confused::confused:
Just curious.
I'm in the same situation. However, nobody in my family follows/followed football so when I was a kid I just chose the first team that I ever saw on tv. Happened to be the Eagles. Must admit, never really followed them greatly till about 2004.
I don't mind if people around me give their tickets to opposition supporters - as long as their not d***heads!
<rant>
What I hate more is when members decide that they can't be bothered and don't show up! That is so annoying! Don't take it for granted, turn up to every game unless something important comes up. You've paid for those tickets and there are plenty of other people out there who would take your ticket in a second if they could. So if you do have a ticket and know you aren't going to bother, put your membership in for that re-sell thing for the game. Let other people have the opportunity to create a good atmosphere and show support to the boys - the kind of SUPPORTers who will be there, shouting and screaming, clapping etc. through thick and thin! Too many members take it for granted imo - it angers me, even though I have a membership.
</rant>
We are a fickle old bunch aren't we.
I refuse to go to WCE home games anymore purely for lack of atmosphere (Derbies excluded). I know member's who have decided not to go to games this year because it's a little wet. I mean really...
Too many old people is the problem. :cool:
I thought against Sydney the crowd was quite good, a lot of support after SYdney kicked goals which was nice. IMO if you can talk the next day after going to the footy you weren't cheering hard enough. :D
larrikin
18 Jun 2008, 16:52
I have a seated membership in Perth but live in Melbourne so rarely get there. My mates use it every week and they aren't eagles fans.
I pay for my seat, I can do what the ____ I like with it.
I have a seated membership in Perth but live in Melbourne so rarely get there. My mates use it every week and they aren't eagles fans.
I pay for my seat, I can do what the ____ I like with it.
Well done on contributing to our severe lack of atmosphere.
Lion El'Johnson
18 Jun 2008, 17:31
I don't think thats fair. If 30,000+ eagles supporters cant create an atmosphere than a supporter of another team is entitled to go. I mean really, he can do what the ____ he likes with his ticket anyway.
Dawn2Dark
18 Jun 2008, 18:09
I've just moved over from Melbourne to Perth and i have to say surprisingly, that i'm loving being out numbered in the crowd for once.
It's hard enough to get seats at Subi - if other clubs supporters are brave enough to sit in the eagles members area and add to banter, then good on them :)
larrikin
18 Jun 2008, 18:14
Well done on missing the point
West Coast 06
18 Jun 2008, 23:15
We are a fickle old bunch aren't we.
I refuse to go to WCE home games anymore purely for lack of atmosphere (Derbies excluded). I know member's who have decided not to go to games this year because it's a little wet. I mean really...
I make my own atmosphere! I cheer and shout and swear at times (usually at the umps :o) and really dont care what everyone else is doing, I am absorbed in the game in front of me. But then again I am a woman and take my children every fortnight, so I'm probably part of your problem.
We go every home game, so no-one ever gets our tickets. However when we had extra tickets to the GF we only ever considered selling them to Eagles fans.
I really hate it, the Captains club IMHO is for WCE supporters. We have a block close to us of about 15 seats that a company owns and it is often resold seats to opposition supporters. Fortunately there is only banter and not violence so far.....but if a Freo lowlife got in there and started trouble, there would be hell.
You see I love to see the same faces each season, it's great, I'd like to see more true WCE fans in Captains club seats, permanently.
Trouble is that the management of WCE couldn't care a less for the fans, we have a 20,000 queue, if we don't like it we can get stuffed.
It's all an AFL quagmire. They haven't got a clue.
For instance. In UK soccer, every club provides a program. Local companies advertise and the club makes heaps, the program is tailored to the game and is good reading. Income is fantastic. But we have to have the crappy review, and a lot less buy it, same as individual websites, great revenue raisers but AFL (VFL) gives it to crappy Telstra.
AFL =VFL = Willy Wonkers
refresh
19 Jun 2008, 00:29
i have two seats which i use once a year, for the other ten i have the right to do whatever i want with them
garlic munchers
19 Jun 2008, 13:57
i have two seats which i use once a year, for the other ten i have the right to do whatever i want with them
Are you are Freagle or are you referring to Freo membership only?
Reminds me of the time I gave tickets to Freo members for the Adelaide-WC coast game and they turned up in Freo regalia. I instantly cringed and pretended to not know them.
They made complete asses of themselves for the first 15 minutes and were gone by 1/2 time as we gave Adelaide a complete thumping (around a hundred pts if memory serves me right.
Apart from this, I agree with your sentiment with a waiver that robust banter is O.K.(being a visiting opposition supporter in members and acting like a dick, is not).
eaglechick79
19 Jun 2008, 14:31
Just curious.
I was a little kiddy and my mum took me to a westcoast collingwood match, prior to that, l had said richmond cause its sooo unmelbourne to not have a team, but l had never watched or been to a game. So we went to Vic Park one cold Melbourne afternoon, (on the train as well) l guess because firstly it was my first ever time seeing the game but also because of how here was this team no one liked, and those who did barrack for them got picked on, l seen one eagle supporter get bashed on the train by endless number of collingwood supporters, for no other reason then he was wearing an eagles jumper! so l was like well l'll support them.
Now l get the crap! its all part of the fun! l find being outnumbered means we are more determined to be louder and at the end of the day it helps the boys away from home! Plus made friends along the way too!
In AFL lm very much on the outer in Melbourne BUT l love it, but in everything else its GO VICTORIA!! ;)
Outlaw_Torn
19 Jun 2008, 17:56
Do u think opposition supporters would sit in the Collingwood members areas at Victoria Park??? We let opposition supporters off to easily.
greennick
19 Jun 2008, 18:39
Do u think opposition supporters would sit in the Collingwood members areas at Victoria Park??? We let opposition supporters off to easily.
It would be a little lonely sitting at Vic Park nowadays!
refresh
19 Jun 2008, 20:00
Are you are Freagle or are you referring to Freo membership only?
Reminds me of the time I gave tickets to Freo members for the Adelaide-WC coast game and they turned up in Freo regalia. I instantly cringed and pretended to not know them.
They made complete asses of themselves for the first 15 minutes and were gone by 1/2 time as we gave Adelaide a complete thumping (around a hundred pts if memory serves me right.
Apart from this, I agree with your sentiment with a waiver that robust banter is O.K.(being a visiting opposition supporter in members and acting like a dick, is not).
no i'm not a freagle. I use my freo membership for 11 games but i also have two WCE memberships which i bought during the Ken Judge days that i only use for west coast home derby. For the other 10 games i give them to whoever i choose
Masten2McKinley
19 Jun 2008, 21:36
i love the atmosphere of havin opposition fans around me to rip into them but u get it back twice as good
bunsen burner
19 Jun 2008, 22:25
Only want to sit amongst Eagles supporters? Harden the f*** up. No wonder people accuse us of being soft chardy sippers.
That's right, I forgot, there's heaps of c***smokes who come to this board who whine and bitch if anyone says anything negative about the team. If you want to live in warm and fuzzy land, it's not here and it's not at the footy. Harden up.
My company has four tickets.
I go once or twice a year, usually to games vs Adelaide or Essendon.
Some games I am the only one making any noise...I kid you not...
In the row we sit they must charge for every decibel above a whisper :confused:
wce_all_da_way
19 Jun 2008, 22:40
It's ridiculous. Something about Eagles games just drives people to silence.
bunsen burner
19 Jun 2008, 22:48
The perils of being a dockers supporter.
She was repeatedly told to shut up and comments (embarassing) were made that "we don't pay thousands of $ to sit here and put up with supporters of other clubs", you know this is a members area etc etc.
You're right, that is embarassing. Some people are pathetic.
Personally, I love it! In general, in Perth we miss the banter between opposition supporters and I regularly attend a match in Melbourne each year and love the atmosphere. North and the Saints in the last two years which we won were great.
Absolutely.
On point however, do members have the right not to expect an intrusion into their areas? Do members have a moral obligation to ensure that only supporters use their tickets?
Members should be able to give their tickets to whoever they want. Those that can't take someone barracking for the other team should **** off home to their loungeroom and watch it.
The main problem is when people think they are the most hillarious person ever and everything that comes out of their mouth is incredibly witty and perceptive.
Unfortunately, the majority of the time, this is not the case. I cringe just thinking about some supporters.
I tell you what is a crock of shit; last week went to Melbourne for the Eagles vs Essendon game. I sat with a mate and his mum behind the eagles bench, were both mad eagles supporters and like any normal supporters would do we stood up and cheered every goal we kicked. This old bag behind us got angry because we were standing up and told us we were being "annoying" and that we should sit down because she came all the way from Perth for the game. Well guess what SO DID WE. Its the ____ing football for christs sake :mad:.
She also needs her eyes checked after at one stage cheering "cmon wirra" when quienten lynch was 15m away from us. To be honest its not that hard to tell between wirra and lynchy.
And that brings me to the end of my weekly rant.
eaglechick79
20 Jun 2008, 10:07
Watching it on TV you can actually some games here the opposition supporters more then eagles, that seem to be when we losing, even when the game is in the balance! which l've always found weird given we have such a presents! Even going to games over in perth, l remember been told to shut up by an eagle supporter, l was shocked! l've heard horror stories of friends going to westcoast games in perth and barracking for their team and again been told to sit down and shut up!
l know not all eagle supporters are like that, but l can see why people over here think what they do!
l'll add a disclaimer ;) l mean no disrespect to anyone nor am l having a go at anyone! Its just some feedback on how its seem from someone outside perth!
UpForGrabs
20 Jun 2008, 14:29
I gave my ticket to a Sydney supporter a couple of weeks back, and honestly - I have no problem with it whatsoever.
She had a ball and I'd rather let her go than some casual WCE fan.
What I don't realy like is the knob who sits behind us, goes every game just so he can barrack AGAINST the Eagles, but most of the time talks loudly to the guys next to him about his week at work. Do that at the pub, idiot.
At the West Coast v Carlton game in Round 7 I stood up and booed a shitty umpiring decision ( I bought ITW resale tickets, so I was on the side of the city-end goal, good seats they were :thumbsu:) and the old geezer in front of me had a go at me for being too loud.
He didn't make a noise all game, bloody coot.
Stenglein's a Champ!
20 Jun 2008, 22:59
I copped shit about standing up at the Dome, from an Eagles supporter! As expected she would've been the wrong side of 70.
Apparently I was ruining it for her as she couldn't see anything, funny considering I was standing up after goals, not much to see I wouldn't have thought. She then went on to say that I wouldn't dare do that at Subiaco. Really? Even though I do it at every game.
F__k we have some annoying supporters.
royalsfan
21 Jun 2008, 12:47
Every team has some annoying supporters. I went to the game at the Dome last week and had to put up with four teenage Essendon supporters behind me who repeated the same crap (complete with expletives) all night - and thought they were highly amusing. Even worse - in front of me was a middle aged man who during the entire game abused players on his own team (calling them gutless, ....ing pricks etc).
At Subi, there is no designated "members area" so it would be impossible to legislate to keep opposition supporters out. In the WAFL it is possible to do so and I have seen opposition supporters removed.
I don't know why people think there is no noise at Subi during games - there is plenty. At the Dome last week, it was like a funeral for the first 20 minutes or so.
wce0632
22 Jun 2008, 00:58
Ah tonight, well all the eagles supporters were just having a laugh, relaxed just watching the likes of GAblett, Jimmy etc run amok and then a couple of d!ckhead drunks decided that it would be fun to make drug jokes, get in peoples face, say "wheres benny now? with his mate kizon that's where! Brauny's not his drugs tonight though blah blah blah" and I just thought, you idiot, you're team is winning...by alot! You live in Perth, you rarely get to see your team play just friggin enjoy it.
Before then everyone was getting on just fine and all just having a laugh (at the eagles effort and some players)...no-one was causing trouble etc. It just came out of the blue and that's the first time (other than derbies) that I just wished the block was all WCE supporters. It just completely ruined the mood.
We also had the Ch. 7 commentry team sitting behind us. That was great fun. lol.