View Full Version : Vic Cheersquad Banners

kobeh
18 Jun 2008, 17:18
hey everyone

i thought i would try and start to post our banners every fortnight (or maybe just for milestones, let me know what you guys want) because they take so long to make and the tv doesnt really show how cool they really are.

This was last weeks, Badgers 100th

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/5048/r12vbombers018ep5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Spongebob
18 Jun 2008, 17:51
Is there anything to see on the other side?

I was at the game but only saw the front.

daddy_4_eyes
18 Jun 2008, 17:53
Good to see you banner makers have got your act together and the ____er doesn't topple over every week anymore.

Essendon's banner was shit last week. Didn't even rhyme. I sat there with my mate laughing at the Essendon cheersquad...and he's a bombers man.

kobeh
18 Jun 2008, 17:53
From memory it says

West Coast Eagles
Pushing Harder
Aiming Higher

Last year it was One Team One Goal

daddy_4_eyes
18 Jun 2008, 17:54
btw, what does it say in the red letters on the left side?

All i see is FOC U
Foc me? No, foc u!

kobeh
18 Jun 2008, 17:59
Focus

every banner we put words down the side

koaster
18 Jun 2008, 21:24
Good to see you banner makers have got your act together and the ____er doesn't topple over every week anymore.

Essendon's banner was shit last week. Didn't even rhyme. I sat there with my mate laughing at the Essendon cheersquad...and he's a bombers man.

To be fair Daddy_4_eyes the problems with our banners has been fixed for a few years now and even then it only happened three times. Once against the Saints when we received our new poles. Another time against Carlton in the pre season final when the sleeve on one side came off and the last time against the Pies when the sleeve came off again. We now have super tape and no longer have problems like that anymore. As for the back it says A NEW BREED OF EAGLES PUSHING HARDER AIMING HIGHER. This is our saying the club has given us for season 2008. It also has our sponsors Hungry Jack's logos as well. The red words on the side are what we call our key words and are in red so that they are noticed by the players. We would rather that they at least read these words as they don't always read the banner. The same words are used on boards we put up in the change rooms to help the players feel at home. The Perth squad will be doing Badgers banner this week as well as that is their tradition. The next banner that will be posted on this site will either be Seabs or Hunts one or maybe both. Hope that answers your questions.

You live in Melbourne Daddy_4_eyes why don't you take the time to help make the banners and become a cheer squad member if there is any places left. Only around twelve to fifteen of us go down in the pre season and every fortnight during the season to make the banners which are 60ft by 25ft or whatever that is in metres. Then you can get the feeling that people like myself Kobeh and Eaglechick79 do of giving something back to this great club of ours. We even travel to all games interstate with a few other banner makers to hold the banners up and give the guys support. It's a great feeling.:thumbsu:

daddy_4_eyes
18 Jun 2008, 22:18
Didn't the banner also fail at the 2006 Grand Final? I'm pretty sure I saw you guys borrow tape off the Sydney cheersquad to patch it up before the players ran through it.

I appreciate the effort you guys have to put in to making these banners, and they're a great AFL tradition.

But its not something for me. Not something I'd be passionate about doing, or enjoy helping put together. Each to their own.

koaster
18 Jun 2008, 23:51
[quote=daddy_4_eyes;11424634]Didn't the banner also fail at the 2006 Grand Final? I'm pretty sure I saw you guys borrow tape off the Sydney cheersquad to patch it up before the players ran through it.

You will notice that we are always making minor repairs to the banner due to the poor quality of crepe paper that is now available. In answer to your question no it didn't fail on grand final day 2006 a camera man wanted to put his camera on top of our poles for a great shot of the players going through. The end result was a great picture for them an a more difficult job for the people holding the banner as it made it heavier. It still went up perfect as I have the photo's to prove it and it looked great.

People doing the game for what ever station they do it for can hinder us on the ground as they try and tell us when to put the banner up and what position it should be in to satisfy them not us. I let them tell us what to do in the pre season final against Carlton years ago and you know what happened. Now we put the banner where we want it for safety reasons
and put it up in our time with me out the front directing.

I would love us to put it up twice at the games but so far this year we have only been able to do this once. At the MCG it was too windy, friday night some twit left the roof open in the afternoon so the ground was wet. Lastly we can't do it at interstate venues due to inexperence people holding up the banner.

I'm hoping that the people that helped out at the Carrara game earlier this year will be available to help us at the Gabba as they did a great job. The problem we have at interstate venues is finding people that will listen to directions and hold the banner up instead of acting like showoffs just because they are out on the ground. The ones that do it right are asked to do it again if I see them again the other ones are never used again. If anyone is going to the Gabba in July and are the former rather then the later person they can PM me anytime soon for information on the time and place to be. Cheers.:)

BMckinley#1
18 Jun 2008, 23:54
Speaking of banners, has anyone noticed that since the game against Caltron(not really sure if it started here), almost all the opponents' banners has the word "Eagles"?
I reckon this goes to show how inferior they are of our might eagles!:p
Maybe if we put our opponents name in the banner, we will finally win some games...:confused:

koaster
19 Jun 2008, 00:11
The AFL has a rule that cheer squads are not suppose to put anything derogatory on our banners Unfortunately some cheer squads don't obey the rules and their club can get fined for it. Clubs like Collingwood for example let them do what they want because they love having the feral tag. West Coast doesn't and we would rather put something motivational on the banner to help the boys win then have ago at our opposition any day. Unfortunately we are playing badly at the moment but that will change sooner rather then later.:thumbsu:.

Masten2McKinley
19 Jun 2008, 00:21
From memory it says

West Coast Eagles
Pushing Harder
Aiming Higher

Last year it was One Team One Goal

dats an asume motto

Eagle Ant
19 Jun 2008, 02:57
At training they have this sign on the ground when the boys run out of the change rooms it says "Past This Point We Train"

Just an Idea for a banner, I dont know how you chose them but why dont you throw on the front "Past This Point We Bleed We Sweat We Win!" :thumbsu:

Also I for 1 think you guys and Girls do an awsome Job each and every week so I would love to see photo's of the banners from the Games!:)

kobeh
28 Jun 2008, 22:23
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/2807/r14vhawks030eu2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img164.imageshack.us/img164/954/r14vhawks036vq4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The back (the same all the time)

Smeagle
28 Jun 2008, 22:42
Great stuff, kobeh, you guys keep it up.

What's happened to the Vic Cheersquad's floggers? Last time I saw them was at the 2006 GF. :confused:

kobeh
28 Jun 2008, 22:50
Well people dont really like using them

plus with all the other stuff to take in the ute, theres no room

im thinking of bringing them with me next year

Eagle Ant
28 Jun 2008, 23:06
Another outstanding effort from the whole Cheersquad Crew

Keep it up.:):thumbsu:

kobeh
28 Jun 2008, 23:10
Thanks guys :)

Smeagle
28 Jun 2008, 23:24
Well people dont really like using them

plus with all the other stuff to take in the ute, theres no room

im thinking of bringing them with me next year

Yeah, you should mate. you guys know you're the only victorian-based cheersquad in the AFL with no floggers? Even freo have them lol (they double their supporter tally:D).

Pablo_Jackson
29 Jun 2008, 04:11
Koaster, would you be able to put the 2006 Grand Final banner on here??
Cheers

kobeh
29 Jun 2008, 13:47
Yeah, I'll bring them with me next year (hopefully they fit in my car) lol

Ill get that pic for you Pablo

kobeh
29 Jun 2008, 21:31
http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/7256/gameday029bs0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

kobeh
3 Aug 2008, 15:14
From Brissie

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/8348/r16vlions026on9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/5694/r16vlions029lg7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Enjoy