View Full Version : If they dump Mcnamara this week im going to be pissed

UltraMagnus
18 Jun 2008, 19:21
i mean seriously the kid had a great game last considering how many he has played and it was away from home, something i would doubt that some of the other "senior" players due to come back this week would have produced. If he gets dropped this week i question the intelligence of the selection people.

Now they feel pressure to put in the old boys due to the tanking talk i feel he almost certainly will loose his spot.

WCE57
18 Jun 2008, 19:28
I don't think Mcnamara is going to get drop. It will depend on match-ups, I guess.

I would think that Masten, Davis or Houlihan might be rested before Jamie gets drop.

Biggie
18 Jun 2008, 20:11
Houlihans time to rest for Kerrs inclusion, imo.

But who will Braun and Fletcher come in for, if they indeed come in at all?

wirra44
18 Jun 2008, 20:15
I heard something on the radio that kerr,braun and fletcher are nearly all certain starters. But sometimes you can't trust the radio.

Biggie
18 Jun 2008, 20:17
Yeash, I heard Whoosha say they would be "Available", not certain starters.

They'll play I reckon.

Nishmann
18 Jun 2008, 20:58
I agree completely BM i thought Macnamara was our best Midfielder last week. I rate him very highly and thought this would be his breakthrough year, so im hoping he can cement a spot in the side with a good consistent month of footy. No chance he will get dropped this week IMO

williaer
18 Jun 2008, 21:02
With this:

Worsfold flagged Chris Masten, Jamie McNamara and Brad Ebert as possible match-ups for Ablett if Selwood was deployed elsewhere, and said his eventual opponent would be expected to compete defensively and in attack.

on the Eagles website... I'm banking on Jamie playing.

mitchzz
18 Jun 2008, 22:53
I wouldn't mind seeing Masten trying a run with role for his development but J-Mac ran with Nick Stevens really well so I wouldn't be suprised if J-Mac got the job.

Really hope we keep playing the kids, that's all.

Masten2McKinley
19 Jun 2008, 00:35
i hope he doesnt but u gotta get braun kerr fletch in the side, houli will get a rest and maybe davis

beatlesmith
19 Jun 2008, 00:45
my man j-mac is doing big things. We really need him as his tenacity and defensive skills will be needed against their mammoth midfield. Give Houli a rest.

Biggie
19 Jun 2008, 00:47
Yeah.

Possible outs: HOULI, RHINO

Possible ins: Fletcher Kerr

Let Brauny rest for another week and gear up for the Hawks onball division next Fri night at the G.

greennick
19 Jun 2008, 01:55
Agreed, JMac should stay in! He needs to repay my DT faith in him at least...

EagleMan87
19 Jun 2008, 02:15
He came in for Kerr, he'll go out for Kerr.

He's shown some great signs, but he's still learning. I saw a few occasions against the Bombers where Macca's opponent got free and caused damage. I know that's a given in footy nowadays, but it happens more often when he plays; he needs to improve going the other way.

Other than his lacking in defence, he certainly looks the type:thumbsu:

djdarren
19 Jun 2008, 03:03
He came in for Kerr, he'll go out for Kerr.

He's shown some great signs, but he's still learning. I saw a few occasions against the Bombers where Macca's opponent got free and caused damage. I know that's a given in footy nowadays, but it happens more often when he plays; he needs to improve going the other way.

Other than his lacking in defence, he certainly looks the type:thumbsu:

not to mention he got caught a few times too, trying to do too much. Getting better but not best 22 yet.

Eagle Ant
19 Jun 2008, 03:39
Changes to rnd 12 team in Bold

West Coast Eagles
B: Beau Wilkes, Darren Glass, Beau Waters
HB: Adam Selwood, Adam Hunter, Brett Jones
C: Andrew Embley, Daniel Kerr, Michael Braun
HF: Brad Ebert, Quentin Lynch , Sam Butler,
F: David Wirrpanda, Ash Hansen , Mark LeCras
Foll: Dean Cox, Matt Priddis, Chris Masten
I/C: Ryan Davis, Jamie McNamara , Mark Nicoski , Tyson Stenglein
EMG: Steven Armstrong, Jaymie Graham,

In: Braun, Kerr, Hansen, Waters.
Out: Schofield, Houlihan, Staker, Seaby :thumbsu:

Jimmy_the_Gent
19 Jun 2008, 13:20
I heard Worsfold say on that Monday interview he does with 6PR that he wanted to play Armstrong instead of McNamara but he'd left Army in WA and had no choice (apparently Graham was the other travelling emergency & they didn't want a tall).

I get the feeling that Woosh really rates Armstrong a lot higher than the average Joe.

UltraMagnus
19 Jun 2008, 13:25

West Coast Eagles

out staker ?

williaer
19 Jun 2008, 13:28
I get the feeling that Woosh really rates Armstrong a lot higher than the average Joe.
And that he doesn't rate the J-Bomb highly at all! Thanks for that Jimmy... did Woosha say anything else about Jamie's performance last weekend?

West Coast 06
19 Jun 2008, 13:49

West Coast Eagles

Personally I would rather see Schofield in the team than Waters at this stage. Waters has played only one game since round 7, and wasn't playing that well before that. He may benefit from a week or two at WAFL level I think.

I dont see Davis being selected over Staker some how. Six talls (as you have the team) is one short IMO.

Jimmy_the_Gent
19 Jun 2008, 16:02
And that he doesn't rate the J-Bomb highly at all! Thanks for that Jimmy... did Woosha say anything else about Jamie's performance last weekend?

Not that I can recall. Sorry.

anti.
19 Jun 2008, 19:14
lots of pissed people here now then i reckon.

greennick
19 Jun 2008, 20:01
I think he was definitely stiffed. My DT is not happy! Luckily I don't need him.

Arecsa
19 Jun 2008, 21:10

Indeed! Should have retained his spot over Fletcher or Braun. Running around against the best midfield in the competition would have been a great learning experience for JMac.

Kitsch
19 Jun 2008, 21:42
Deserves to get another game on the back of last weeks game.
Played very well tbh.

beatlesmith
19 Jun 2008, 21:49
bloody hell. My man Jmac plays his nuts off and was our best mid last week, and now the joke of a selection comittee drops him. I am PISSED!!! And what about waters, where is he. He wasn't listed in the official teams and wasnt even and emergency. My DT demands that he plays.

glasscox
19 Jun 2008, 21:49
Herald Sun site also has masten out with a hip and mckinley back in. Is this right?

Nishmann
19 Jun 2008, 21:59
Herald Sun site also has masten out with a hip and mckinley back in. Is this right?

Yer mate...they say Masten has a hip injury but it would just be general soreness (i reckon he'd be right to play) so there just resting him!!!

To beat Geelong or at least be close we need midfielders who can apply as much pressure as possible and to really get in and under and work their arses off...which are 3 qualities i have seen in J.Mac in less than 10 games...but i have never really seen in a certain no.7 for our club...Im Filthy at this team selection.

I think it should have been

In: Kerr, Braun, Hansen, Waters, Mckinley

Out: Seaby, Staker, Davis, Masten, Houlihan

spuzza
19 Jun 2008, 22:01
I can't believe that. J-Mac was a shining light last week. Maybe woosha doesn't like him!

mitchzz
19 Jun 2008, 22:49
Good move resting Masten I think he needs it.

I am unsure why McNamara was dropped I mean, Houlihan has played 3 on the trot now and had an alright match last week and McNamara had just came back into the side and played a great game, couldn't be good for his confidence.

beatlesmith
20 Jun 2008, 00:22
McNamara must be injured. This must be like the mckinley injury where everyone thought he was dropped but he was injured. That would also explain why he is not an emergency. no other explanation really.

jdp1
20 Jun 2008, 01:11
Agree with him being injured.

Altho the teams selections have been all over the place this season. Mcnamara just doesn't seem to be able to get a real shot (as in a string of games).

archiemoses
20 Jun 2008, 01:19
McNamara must be injured. This must be like the mckinley injury where everyone thought he was dropped but he was injured. That would also explain why he is not an emergency. no other explanation really.

Agree
He must be injured otherwise he'd have to be an emergency!
Also meaning Kerr will definately play!!

flyinghi64
20 Jun 2008, 02:16
i mean seriously the kid had a great game last considering how many he has played and it was away from home, something i would doubt that some of the other "senior" players due to come back this week would have produced. If he gets dropped this week i question the intelligence of the selection people.

Now they feel pressure to put in the old boys due to the tanking talk i feel he almost certainly will loose his spot.

So just how pissed are you. Not even an emergency wow.
Seriously don't know what is going through the selectors minds at the moment, Jmac and Davis ( IMO ) busted their gut's and did what is expected of them and to be dropped for Clanger and Hamstring... well I am scratching my head:confused:

Arecsa
20 Jun 2008, 04:34
JMac being omitted makes no sense at all, we should be trying to get as many games into him as we can. He has to be injured.

Goldfish
20 Jun 2008, 09:36
They should say if he's injured... I don't know what more the kid has to do. :confused:

Jimmy_the_Gent
20 Jun 2008, 11:59
I wonder if he plays WAFL :p

greatwhiteshark
20 Jun 2008, 12:35
Jmac was very good last week adn has been dropped becausde he repeatedly kept the ball going forward to our forward line. Anyone that gets the ball near our forward line will be dropped by super coach. Its all about defence, defence, defence. Its probably why Mckinley was dropped, he scored to many goals.

We are becoming a laughing stock. JMac was outstanding and for him to be ommitted is incredible.

West Coast 06
20 Jun 2008, 13:07
Jmac was very good last week adn has been dropped becausde he repeatedly kept the ball going forward to our forward line. Anyone that gets the ball near our forward line will be dropped by super coach. Its all about defence, defence, defence. Its probably why Mckinley was dropped, he scored to many goals.

We are becoming a laughing stock. JMac was outstanding and for him to be ommitted is incredible.
Not quite. I'm willing to bet he didn't get any Brownlow votes last week.

He was very good for a young player. He faded in the second half as young players often do. He was not BOG, he was not even BOG for West Coast, in fact if Kerr played and had 17 dispossals last week like McNamara did, we probably would have said he had a poor game.

The truth is we judge the young kids less harshly than the experienced players (rightly so). It doesn't mean however that the good game for a kid is as valuable to the team as a good game from an experienced player like Fletcher, Braun or Kerr.

We are playing the best team in the comp this week, lets give it our best shot by playing our best team available.

greennick
20 Jun 2008, 13:48
I think the answer to this conundrum is simple. The key to beating Geelong is tackle, tackle and tackle again. McNamara, Davis and Waters are good defensive players which tackle with feoricity. Hansen and Fletcher do not. Therefore, out McNamara and Davis, in Hansen and Fletcher. Waters not included for the same reason.

Or officially, JMac is carrying a lingering injury, Davis needed to be rested, Waters is almost ready, but needs another week. Hansen comes in after fine form in the WAFL and Fletcher is over his injury.