View Full Version : West Coast v Geelong may yet be a day game
BigKevs
19 Jun 2008, 08:17
The West Coast v Geelong scheduled to be played on Saturday night could be changed to a day game due to Perth's power crisis
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23886796-19742,00.html
thats interesting isn't it. i wonder if that would cause major problems with the teams preperations for the game..
i thought when i read the headline of the thread Bomber starting whinging that it was going to be way past his bed time when they touch back down in melbourne:p
should hopefully be a good win regardless. it will affect the attendance i think which would likely favour Geelong if anything.
hotdog_hotdog
19 Jun 2008, 10:00
My main concern is how will this affect the telecast? I'll be shattered if I can't watch it!
The Pivotonian
19 Jun 2008, 10:01
Geelong is scheduled to arrive in Perth on Friday afternoon so the shift shouldn't worry the club too much.
However supporters who may be flying west to attend the game might want to keep their eyes peeled and ears open.
Similar article in The Age this morning.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/eagles-v-cats-clash-may-be-shifted/2008/06/18/1213770732404.html
My main concern is how will this affect the telecast? I'll be shattered if I can't watch it!
It'll still be on at 7.30pm on ch10 in Vic,but it wouldn't be live.
CatmanForever
19 Jun 2008, 12:00
at least Bomber will be happy that the boys are in bed on time like he whinged after the Freo game about it
cat in sydney
19 Jun 2008, 12:03
It'll still be on at 7.30pm on ch10 in Vic,but it wouldn't be live.
It's weird in Sydney.
ATM on the guide, it says the Geelong v WCE game is at 7:30pm - 8:30pm, but then TombRaider movie comes on, then a replay of the game at 10:45pm.
Why on earth would they show one hour of live footy, then go to a movie, only to come back to the replay?
I have a feeling the scheduling is going to be changed from that.
But the Freo game started at 8.45 here.
friday night as opposed to saturday night. they have to schedule perth friday games to start at 8:40 EST for the TV, but they have more freedom on saturday. Mind you, If they move it i will end up with the sun in my eyes for sure, so i hope they don't :-)
Flat Track Bully
19 Jun 2008, 12:54
thats interesting isn't it. i wonder if that would cause major problems with the teams preperations for the game..
i thought when i read the headline of the thread Bomber starting whinging that it was going to be way past his bed time when they touch back down in melbourne:p
should hopefully be a good win regardless. it will affect the attendance i think which would likely favour Geelong if anything.
It won't be way past Bomber's bed time this time around... the Cats don't fly out until Sunday arvo...
BlueNWhite
19 Jun 2008, 12:58
It won't be way past Bomber's bed time this time around... the Cats don't fly out until Sunday arvo...
And neither do I - looking forward to my first interstate Cats match - got seats with the cheer squad - can't wait!
Would much prefer the night match and can't see it honestly being shifted to an afternoon game - but stranger things have happened I guess.
Kent_Kingsley
19 Jun 2008, 14:34
they can't do that!
im working on Saturday and already have my bloody ticket!
chapmanmagic35
19 Jun 2008, 15:24
Will be interesting to see what occurs.
Any WA people here? Reckon it's a possibility?
Duskfire
19 Jun 2008, 16:16
Will be interesting to see what occurs.
Any WA people here? Reckon it's a possibility?
The power problem here is extremely serious. Seems a bit too close now though to re-schedule the game. I wouldn't mind though - maybe this way I could get a ticket to the game :P
The news last night stated that the game would proceed at normal time of 5.40pm - haven't heard anything different to this as yet.
Dawn2Dark
19 Jun 2008, 16:54
There's no way it will change. Won't make an ounce of difference really, the Premier has already declined the AFL's offer to change :thumbsu: