View Full Version : Favourite 1927 album
Danny Chook Fan Club
27 Aug 2002, 15:48
Now, I know most of you will prefer 1988's classic ...Ish, but I do feel the follow up, 1990's The Other Side, with the powerful 'Tell Me A Story', the haunting 'Don't Forget About Me' as well as the poignant title track, is a most underrated album.
There's also the little known third album, unselfconsciously self titled and released (or perhaps escaped) in 1992.
Of course, there's always the fourth option ...
!st album was great,2nd had some good songs,but the 3rd was a shocker.
The Hitman
27 Aug 2002, 18:07
Last option. Maybe if it was done on ELO, I'd pay it this poll some respect. :mad:
The Hitman
lioness
27 Aug 2002, 22:25
Have to go with 'The Other Side', because the title track is one of my fave songs. :) '......ish' is a very good album too though.
Mr Eagle
28 Aug 2002, 15:58
...Ish, hands down.
Some great songs on there, especially
* Compulsory Hero. Incredible Vietnam-tribute piano number.
* To Love Me. Although I recall the lyrics inside my tape case had one word incorrect :p
*Propaganda Machine. I have this in mp3!!!
TheMase
28 Aug 2002, 16:05
I have the best of album! :D
Black Majesty
28 Aug 2002, 21:41
I especially like their work on Reign in Blood...amazing what some facial hair and some wigs can do for a band!
A little known fact about this band is that they were actually the inspiration for the brutal current day American metal band SlipKnot.
For those that dont know, SlipKnot have 9 members who each sport a number from 1-9. Another little known fact about 1927 is that their name is simply derived from each member also having their own number.
Now i hear the 1927 purists protesting "but Carlos, there were 5 original members in 1927?!". Now this is a valid point i acknowledge, except one of those original members was keyboardist Cole Charlie, and everyone knows that no-one really takes any notice of keyboardists anyway, especially one who has his name back-to-front, hence Cole's existence in the band wasnt officially recognised with his own number. Now while they were going to originally simply call themselves 1234, they decided 1927 had rebellious, fresh vibe to it, much like their music, hence 1927 was born.
Now a final point worth considering in all this is that SlipKnot wear masks to hide their identity. There were a total of 9 members that played in 1927 over their 6 year career. What are the masks really hiding hmmm?
TheMase
29 Aug 2002, 10:00
Originally posted by Carlos
Now a final point worth considering in all this is that SlipKnot wear masks to hide their identity. There were a total of 9 members that played in 1927 over their 6 year career. What are the masks really hiding hmmm?
1927 is Slipknot :D
Danny Chook Fan Club
29 Aug 2002, 10:04
Thanks Mase, I was struggling with the complexities of Carlos' dialogue before your succinct summation.
The Hitman
29 Aug 2002, 10:33
Now a final point worth considering in all this is that SlipKnot wear masks to hide their identity. There were a total of 9 members that played in 1927
Take the last two numerals of 1927. Add them. Anyone with a kindergarten education can tell you it equals nine. There are nine members of Slipknot.
I think we've stumbled across something here guys.
The Hitman
Mcchawk
29 Aug 2002, 10:46
A little known fact about this band is that they were actually the inspiration for the brutal current day American metal band SlipKnot.
For those that dont know, SlipKnot have 9 members who each sport a number from 1-9. Another little known fact about 1927 is that their name is simply derived from each member also having their own number.
Now i hear the 1927 purists protesting "but Carlos, there were 5 original members in 1927?!". Now this is a valid point i acknowledge, except one of those original members was keyboardist Cole Charlie, and everyone knows that no-one really takes any notice of keyboardists anyway, especially one who has his ame back-to-front, hence Cole's existence in the band wasnt officially recognised with his own number. Now while they were going to originally simply call themselves 1234, they decided 1927 had rebellious, fresh vibe to it, much like their music, hence 1927 was born.
Ok John Safron
TheMase
29 Aug 2002, 11:00
Originally posted by The Hitman
Take the last two numerals of 1927. Add them. Anyone with a kindergarten education can tell you it equals nine. There are nine members of Slipknot.
I think we've stumbled across something here guys.
The Hitman
Then of course there is the 9 in 1927
Use the 1 to divide both 9s by 1, and you get 9.
As you said ... 9 members in slipknot ..... ;)
Mr Eagle
29 Aug 2002, 14:12
Originally posted by TheMase
1927 is Slipknot :D
Actually, I think Slipknot is more likely 1927 merged with Indecent Obsession ;)
All of them! They're ****ing great.
Originally posted by Mcchawk
Ok John Safron
I've been called arrogant, ignorant, flatulent and homosexual amongst many other things (and often fair enough too!), but geez Mcchawk, John bloody Safron?!?!
That just hurts mate! :( You have cut me to the bone champ! I am now reviewing all of my posting habits.
Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Aug 2002, 09:08
Well, I must say that the result of this poll was never in doubt, but it was staying open until somebody voted for The Other Side - thank you, anonymous good samaritan.
Mcchawk
30 Aug 2002, 10:00
I've been called arrogant, ignorant, flatulent and homosexual amongst many other things (and often fair enough too!), but geez Mcchawk, John bloody Safron?!?!
That just hurts mate! :( You have cut me to the bone champ! I am now reviewing all of my posting habits.
Sorry mate the post sounded something from John Safron's Musical Jambouree! Very funny
lioness
31 Aug 2002, 10:33
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Well, I must say that the result of this poll was never in doubt, but it was staying open until somebody voted for The Other Side - thank you, anonymous good samaritan.
Anytime. :D Spent a lot of time listening to that song last night, the words are amazingly close to my current relationship. :(
Mr Ripper
2 Sep 2002, 02:13
This poll is suspiciously reminiscent of THIS (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13859) poll!
Al Jolsen sings 'Bing Crosby' or Bing Crosby sings 'Al Jolsen'.
Cant split them.
Don't think I've got any albums from 1927. The oldest stuff I've got is some Robert Johnson from the 1930s.