CAN handle those two changes!

UpTheGuts
19 Jun 2008, 18:10
Fine.

C'mon Cleve!!!!

lvt06
19 Jun 2008, 18:11
I am very happy with that team.

Good to see Polo coming in for Jackson and Hughes been rewarded for some good games.

Also good not to see Petts or Tivers.

Would like to see Connors and Rance soon, they just keep getting on the Emer list. But at least they are pushing for selection.

nugget_12
19 Jun 2008, 18:12
Big chance for Cleve to show something special this w/e!

Hopefully he takes this opportunity and runs with it!

Coughlan
19 Jun 2008, 18:14
Love the Hughes and Riewoldt foward line and Pole coming in, but i am disapointed to see hyde still in.
And i seriously hope that Morton starts on the ground he adds more then plenty of the plyers named as starters

brown_2000au
19 Jun 2008, 18:19
Chris Hyde FFS. I would much rather Connors, Edwards, Collins or Casserly (when fit) each getting 2 or 3 games in the place of Hyde. 6 Possies is just not good enough from a senior player who played the majority of the game time, a tagger needs to learn how to have some offensive side to his game like Brett Kirk or Cameron Ling.

Ize Of The World
19 Jun 2008, 18:24
Schulz maybe a touch stiff, but someone had to make way for Hughes. Come on Cleve! Jackson, now that's a real shame IMO, really rate the man and was looking forward to Jackson v C. Cornes. Shameo.

Once again, our team is the first announced.

UpTheGuts
19 Jun 2008, 18:29
I'd like to see Cleve given a month in the side... rather than being obligated to kick 3 in the first half he plays to avoid Coburg.

Get well Willy T....

astro_toby
19 Jun 2008, 18:34
glas to see hughes and polo in - and JON remaining.

but - OMFG - Hyde - he got a game

good luck to the guy - but honestly, if he is getting a game, they must want him to do a tagging job.

cornes is going to destroy him:o

Realistic Tiger
19 Jun 2008, 18:37
Jacko getting injured has saved Hyde for the week and I think that Schulz getting dropped is harsh, McGuane should have gone first as Schulz at least can play either end, don't recall McGuane ever being tried up forward. .

Interesting to see the 2 HBF's think Wallace may have stumbled onto something last week by accident.

Will be interested to see who Kane Cornes tags this week, Foley or Lids. My guess is Lids cops it this week.

Also, didn't Wallace say that Bowden would never play in the backline again on his return to the senior side, yet there he is lining up in the back pocket.

Ize Of The World
19 Jun 2008, 18:38
PORT ADELAIDE v RICHMOND
Port Adelaide
B: Michael Pettigrew, Alipate Carlile, Michael Wilson
HB: Peter Burgoyne, Troy Chaplin, Steven Salopek
C: Domenic Cassisi, Chad Cornes, Kane Cornes
HF: David Rodan, Warren Tredrea, Travis Boak
F: Brett Ebert, Daniel Motlop, Robert Gray
Foll: Dean Brogan, Shaun Burgoyne, Danyle Pearce
I/C: Tom Logan, Brendon Lade, Nick Lower, Matt Thomas
EMG: Nathan Krakouer, Damon White, Nathan Lonie
In: Ebert, Thomas
Out: Jacob Surjan, Justin Westhoff

That's one of the shortest forward lines I've ever encountered. Plays to our advantage in that we're not stretched, but BAAAAD in that Ebert or Motlop or both could kick 7 goals, and we have no match up for them...

I think Clever and Jack will be able to go to town against Carlile and Chaplin though!

tigers_of_old_08
19 Jun 2008, 18:40
...been hanging out to see Polo back in the squad, and in hopefully back in form

Go Tigers

Tiger67
19 Jun 2008, 18:41
B: Chris Newman, Kelvin Moore, Joel Bowden
HB: Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, Graham Polak, Richard Tambling
C: Matthew Richardson, Shane Tuck, Jordan McMahon
HF: Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Matt White
F: Nathan Brown, Cleve Hughes, Adam Pattison
Foll: Troy Simmonds, Brett Deledio, Nathan Foley
I/C: Dean Polo, Mitch Morton, Chris Hyde, Luke McGuane
EMG: Daniel Connors, Jay Schulz, Alex Rance

In: Hughes, Polo
Out: Daniel Jackson (leg), Jay Schulz

That is not a bad setup
I would swap McGuane into the back pocket, Bowden to the forward flank Pattison to the bench and White to the pocket

mellowyellow
19 Jun 2008, 18:41
Cleve deserves the spot IMO. Saw him first hand for coburg against tassie and he was very good Interesting to see where he will lines up in the forward line...probably ff with him rotating with Rewieldt in and up to to HFF. Agree with UpTheGuts, give him a solid month to prove his credentials and not drop him after one bad or indifferent game.

TigerBabe
19 Jun 2008, 18:53
Good looking team.

I reckon Polak/Bowden will have Tredrea, Moore to Motlop and McGuane to Ebert and JON to Rodan. Newman and Tambling swapping between them all.

Kane Cornes to tag Foley i reckon. Hyde to Tag Chad.

I reckon we're a chance. There forward line is to small.

rfctigerarmy
19 Jun 2008, 18:56
Should be a ripping game. TURN UP TIGERS. PLEASE!

Richo88
19 Jun 2008, 19:14
tambling in defence again v motlop?

tucker777
19 Jun 2008, 19:14
......*tucker waits for the inevitable barrage of excitement from madtiger2006 at hughes being named at FF*.......

however tucker also feels anger at polo being named on the bench ahead of connors

RichosGuns
19 Jun 2008, 19:20
Hyde? FFS :thumbsd:

Edwards would have been a much better inclusion

At least Polo and Hughes come in.

NQTIGER
19 Jun 2008, 19:23
Good to see the Clique is still out.......we are heading in the right direction:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Did someone scratch the TEFLON?????????

Madtiger2006
19 Jun 2008, 19:39
......*tucker waits for the inevitable barrage of excitement from madtiger2006 at hughes being named at FF*.......

however tucker also feels anger at polo being named on the bench ahead of connors

It's all coming together now. Connors and Edwards will come in to replace Hyde and Bowden next week, Thursty will be back. We'll have our future team together finally :cool:

Wally07
19 Jun 2008, 20:03
Good to see cleve & Polo back but still far too many hacks in that team (McGuanne, Hyde, Bowden, Polak). Will get smashed this week unless Richo, Lids, Brown and Foley are able to carry the team.

THE_GUN
19 Jun 2008, 20:04
fffffffffuuuuuuuucccccccccc.......................hyde

RichosGuns
19 Jun 2008, 20:29
I'd imagine the only emergency the might get the nod would be Conners. Port have gone in with a Western Bulldogs like foward line with Tredrea they're only big foward. Even if Lade/Brogan goes foward with Cornes, it's still pretty small

patto_man
19 Jun 2008, 20:51
Good to see cleve & Polo back but still far too many hacks in that team (McGuanne, Hyde, Bowden, Polak). Will get smashed this week unless Richo, Lids, Brown and Foley are able to carry the team.

hyde would be good cruming to hughes and jack. polak is like our best mark after richo im not sure if u have seen some of his marks. bowden should be roaming around the 50 because he is proply the best kick around there or even let newman take that role and mcguanne well we need him there while will t isnt in the team
the only proplem i have with brown is he prefures to kick hard goals on angles than handball them off to a free and better percission player so he is a bit selfish

deliberate!!
19 Jun 2008, 21:10
Schulz dropped for the 12th, 13th time? Why am I not shocked. :eek:
Has TW realized Schulz is not up to it, AGAIN.
Get 10 kicks in the Burgers Schulz.....you'll be straight back in!

As the team gets stronger (hopefully) next year, we already know as of now (Round 13, 2008) that there is no place for Schulz.
So there should be now place for Schulz in 2009.
Never to return.

There's just no consistency at the selection table.
And considering Hyde stays in for this round. Wtf?
And it took a public outcry for TW to return to playing the kids again.

:rolleyes:
NFI, NFI.

emperor
19 Jun 2008, 21:25

again:o

Not unhappy with the side, happy to see teh Steamer back in and Polo as well:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Connors next week;)

Tiger08
19 Jun 2008, 23:04
Next week's team..I only made two quick changes.. we can only hope.

B: Chris Newman, Kelvin Moore, Joel Bowden
HB: Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, Graham Polak, Richard Tambling
C: Matthew Richardson, Shane Tuck, Jordan McMahon
HF: Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Matt White
F: Nathan Brown, Cleve Hughes, Adam Pattison
Foll: Troy Simmonds, Brett Deledio, Nathan Foley
I/C: Dean Polo, Mitch Morton, Daniel Connors, Alex Rance
EMG: Luke McGuane, Jay Schulz, Chris Hyde

bigrayohall20
19 Jun 2008, 23:08
fffffffffuuuuuuuucccccccccc.......................hyde

Its better than Tivendale but still... :mad::mad::mad:

Maybenextyear
19 Jun 2008, 23:42
Lets just hope Hughes misses the plane.

fanatigger
20 Jun 2008, 00:08
hope he stops being a pretty boy and plays hard and tough and attacks the bloody ball as if his life depends on it.

fanatigger
20 Jun 2008, 00:11
happy with team selection however need to get in conners, casserly and collins in the team somehow.

Strawbs
20 Jun 2008, 00:40
Jacko getting injured has saved Hyde for the week and I think that Schulz getting dropped is harsh, McGuane should have gone first as Schulz at least can play either end, don't recall McGuane ever being tried up forward. .

Interesting to see the 2 HBF's think Wallace may have stumbled onto something last week by accident.

Will be interested to see who Kane Cornes tags this week, Foley or Lids. My guess is Lids cops it this week.

Also, didn't Wallace say that Bowden would never play in the backline again on his return to the senior side, yet there he is lining up in the back pocket.

RT, good to see you giving credit where credit's due - an accident? Strewth.

Madtiger2006
20 Jun 2008, 00:51
Lets just hope Hughes misses the plane.

yeah and 1 of our 2 only kpp forwards prospects delays his and the teams progress. Moron :o

tucker777
20 Jun 2008, 00:52
yeah and 1 of our 2 only kpp forwards prospects delays his and the teams progress. Moron :o

its okay i know he wont miss the plane..cos youll be driving him there:D

Madtiger2006
20 Jun 2008, 00:57
its okay i know he wont miss the plane..cos youll be driving him there:D

yeah in the cobra ;)

sante
20 Jun 2008, 00:58

Don't think so.

Schulz is tough to miss out but Hughes deserves a chance. Surprised not to see Edwards this week (playing in Adelaide).

I am glad Polo is back though :thumbsu:

Kurtis G
20 Jun 2008, 03:59
...been hanging out to see Polo back in the squad, and in hopefully back in form

Go Tigers

I agree. He was tearin it up a few seasons back.

Matty Knights
20 Jun 2008, 08:36
Agree Jay is very unlucky in my books to.

Jurica Stockade
20 Jun 2008, 08:53
I just hope they at least give Polo a couple of games, even if he has a bit of an off day tomorrow they should give him at least 3 games before dropping him again. It cant be good for confidence if you are given 1 game and then dropped if you dont get 15- 20 posessions.

Good luck tomorrow Marco and Steamer, make it impossible for them to drop you again this year,

Roachy8
20 Jun 2008, 09:20
As a couple have said, I agree there is little doubt that Jacko's injury (leg!!! WTF???) has saved Hyde this week.
With Johnson still out & Jacko injured, Hyde will tag Kane Cornes I reckon.

Hughes & Polo in are both excellent. Would have also liked Rance in for Bowden though the need for "experience" may have kept JB in the 22.

Now all that remains is for "The Steamer" to take this chance. (And for Terry to give him the FF space)

No logical reason why but I am feeling optimistic this week...

UpTheGuts
20 Jun 2008, 09:37
happy with team selection however need to get in conners, casserly and collins in the team somehow.

Mate Casserly's a benchwarmer for Coburg. Give him a run if you want, but he sure hasn't earned it

Moreaux
20 Jun 2008, 09:46
As a couple have said, I agree there is little doubt that Jacko's injury (leg!!! WTF???) has saved Hyde this week.

Hughes & Polo in are both excellent. Would have also liked Rance in for Bowden though the need for "experience" may have kept JB in the 22.

Now all that remains is for "The Steamer" to take this chance. (And for Terry to give him the FF space)

I think Jacko's still got a bit of a corkie which he first got against Werribee two weeks ago and then got another hit on it last week.
Gutted Hyde and Bowden still there, Shulz unlucky was far from our worst last week.
Coburg Chris should not be pplaying seniors watch him get caught going on his left this week.

Richtigerz
20 Jun 2008, 10:10
I say let Polo tag Cornes, we all know he can do it.. I think behind Johnson he is our second best tagger.. And I believe he can shut down cornes..

Young Cotch will have a 20+ possesion game bookmark it..

Im a little sceptical of who is going to stop Motlop and Ebert.. Small fowards usually have a field day with our small defenders.. Hopefully bling can stop Motlop and Maybe Newman to Ebert..

CoggaRules
20 Jun 2008, 10:14

put the pole onto him, shut him down and cause damage the other way and we are good for take off. ;)

Wally07
20 Jun 2008, 18:58
Schulz dropped for the 12th, 13th time? Why am I not shocked. :eek:
Has TW realized Schulz is not up to it, AGAIN.
Get 10 kicks in the Burgers Schulz.....you'll be straight back in!

As the team gets stronger (hopefully) next year, we already know as of now (Round 13, 2008) that there is no place for Schulz.
So there should be now place for Schulz in 2009.
Never to return.

There's just no consistency at the selection table.
And considering Hyde stays in for this round. Wtf?

:rolleyes:
NFI, NFI.

Disagree, I feel he has been coached very poorly. Maybe if the coach let Schultz settle in a position then you would see some consistency instead we have guys like McGuanne and Polak in the back half. Port will be eagerly awaiting their turnovers this w.e.

Unfortunately if you are in the in crowd with the coach you will get treated very differently from the others. Just wait for Polo to be dropped this week after a loss but the same guys who aren't up to it selected.

GhostofJimJess
21 Jun 2008, 02:34
Take our minds back to last week just for a moment. Very deep into the second quarter. Hospital ball delivered inside the forward 50. Running back with little regard for his own self-preservation is Jay Schulz, completes the mark despite having the imminent collision with a rapidly approaching Brad Miller to look forward to.

In the end, Schulz takes one of the most courageous grabs seen in a Tiger guernsey since the weekly Kellway double-suicide act (no, I haven't forgotten Richo or Cleve's gems in Round 1). Unquestionably the Mark of the Round, even with Richo's diving lunge and Davey's speccy climb to contend with.

Maybe such a selfless act deserved another match? Just as an example to the rest of the lads as to what's expected whilst wearing a Tiger guernsey? It's not like it was the only thing Schulz did last week - he was better than serviceable. I love it that it's Cleve who's getting a gig in his stead, but I'm just not sure what sort of message is being conveyed by dropping Sarge this time around.

tucker777
21 Jun 2008, 14:06
In the end, Schulz takes one of the most courageous grabs seen in a Tiger guernsey since the weekly Kellway double-suicide act (no, I haven't forgotten Richo or Cleve's gems in Round 1). Unquestionably the Mark of the Round, even with Richo's diving lunge and Davey's speccy climb to contend with.

bloody hell i miss Dunc and Andy...we could do with some guys who played like they did

GhostofJimJess
22 Jun 2008, 02:36
bloody hell i miss Dunc and Andy...we could do with some guys who played like they did

Yeah, how did their mum ever bring herself to go to the footy to watch those two lads each week? Witnessing your own children endanger their lives several times a weekend right in front of your eyes must have been excruciatingly traumatic.

And if only we could've combined Duncan's 23 metres shin-hooks with Andy's 32 metre helicopter-shanks. We'd have had a nice, consistent, penetrating 55-metre straight shooter every time.

True Tigers.

tucker777
22 Jun 2008, 13:13
Yeah, how did their mum ever bring herself to go to the footy to watch those two lads each week? Witnessing your own children endanger their lives several times a weekend right in front of your eyes must have been excruciatingly traumatic.

And if only we could've combined Duncan's 23 metres shin-hooks with Andy's 32 metre helicopter-shanks. We'd have had a nice, consistent, penetrating 55-metre straight shooter every time.

True Tigers.

i loved some of the games where Andy found himself up forward...and having a few pings at the goals....i always imagined it in my head that that was his reward for trying to give himself certain paraplegia 10 times a quarter by the coach

god him and dunc were tough guys...in a fight between them and a brick wall id choose the kellaways