View Full Version : Cleve Hughes show us the talent
richmondkickass2
19 Jun 2008, 19:56
My friend keeps on telling about Cleve Hughes has talent. All I can say is. Cleve get out there show us what you got?
I don't believe he has any talent at all. There are other players at the club that have more talent than Cleve hughes.
patto_man
19 Jun 2008, 19:58
he aint the worst i guess not the best shot in the team though big bodied player though and a strong mark over head and on the chest
Parabola
19 Jun 2008, 19:59
agreed. It'll be a shame if he doesn't develop. He's got size and strength and a good boot, just doesn't work hard enough when he's in the side.
Needs to stand up and stop taking a free ride.
kainokaino
19 Jun 2008, 20:50
A couple of years ago hughes kicking was perfect hes set shots for goal were one of hes key strong points...
I guess its just a confidence thing which i highly believe he will get over.
rfctigerarmy
19 Jun 2008, 20:55
I hope he gives us something like he did against West Coast last year.
kizzaob
19 Jun 2008, 21:15
He's in this week, thoughts? happy? unhappy? couldn't give a flying ____?
Parabola
19 Jun 2008, 23:46
there's another thread on this already.
Maybenextyear
19 Jun 2008, 23:58
Yeah very happy.Nothing I like better than a forward who is a shithouse kick.
Drunken Wookie
20 Jun 2008, 01:20
Fail. :thumbsd:
Top_4_Tiger
20 Jun 2008, 02:07
He's got my support!
Was looking great this time last year and obviously has the talent to play well at AFL level.
Great mark, has good skills, footy smarts and courage - I like players who have few weaknesses and don't turn it over. Cleve has no "chronic deficiencies" and needs to work on his ability to get to more contests.
Kick a bag Cleve :thumbsu:
Benchwarmer77
20 Jun 2008, 11:10
Good pick i reckon.
He keeps kicking bags in the 2's its only a matter of time untill he does it for the 1's
Sausage roll
20 Jun 2008, 11:21
He's in this week, thoughts? happy? unhappy? couldn't give a flying ____?
Unfortunately, his major drawback is a significant one, PACE! At such a young age he certainly won't get nay quicker and the days of the pure marking player, are limited. He tries hard and can catch it but simply gets beaten too easily when it hits the gorund as he isn't quick enough.
He won't get any faster either!
bigpapagman
20 Jun 2008, 11:53
Fail. :thumbsd:
epic fail.
what a wiener.
Haggard H
20 Jun 2008, 12:05
Unfortunately, his major drawback is a significant one, PACE! At such a young age he certainly won't get nay quicker and the days of the pure marking player, are limited. He tries hard and can catch it but simply gets beaten too easily when it hits the gorund as he isn't quick enough.
"At such a young age he certainly won't get any quicker" - why not? Young guys tend to be able to improve their speed better than older players.
"the days of the pure marking player, are limited" - someone call Jon Brown and tell him his career is over!
I don't know, Sausage. Maybe you're thinking of Dave Hughes.
CoggaRules
20 Jun 2008, 12:11
looks goofy but still to early to say he cant offer us anything. Will develop into a big unit, so me will sit on the fence with this dude.;)
mitch richmond
20 Jun 2008, 12:17
This is his big chance. Schulz doesn't impose himself on the game enough but the thing I like about Schulz is that he has developed a very good worth ethic. He dives and chases. Are we living in the 80's thinking you can plonk a bloke in the square and he can kick 8? I like Wallace and reckon he deserves 5 years (Thompson won a flag in his 7th) but I sense that's what's gonna happen!
emperor
20 Jun 2008, 12:22
I hope he gives us something like he did against West Coast last year.
remember that game very well (tambo's 4 snags in 1 qtr)
I was on one of my rare (unfortunately) excursions to the G that day and ever since then I have wanted to see more of Cleve in the 1's. Not saying he is a definate long term prospect but for whatever reason I reckon he could be a goer. I am not great judge of talent so I could be barking up the wrong tree with this but let's give him a fair run. come on tezza make it happen, now's as good a time as any;)
Gee some supportrers frustrate the hell out of me. We are screaming out for a key position forward, the kid is dominating at coburg, yet some people are still wanting to write him off. Give him a chance, he is a 20yo still developing in mind, body and skills, he may still take another 2 years before he gets the best out of himself, most key position players take along time to peak except for a very small percentage.
Lets stop burning our kids and let them develop.
Drunken Wookie
20 Jun 2008, 12:38
He's a good size, good grab and when his head's right a laser-like kick at goals. Course he has a fair few elements of his game that need improving but he has all the tools to become the power forward that will fill the Richo gap. Give him a month Terry!
Coughlan
20 Jun 2008, 13:04
lucky for you that he isn't a shithouse kick then isn't it.
I don't know, Sausage. Maybe you're thinking of Dave Hughes.
Remember who you're talking to.
Sausage Troll makes Parrot's opinion of anything to do with Richmond look optimistic.
Maybenextyear
20 Jun 2008, 19:47
Are some of you people on drugs? It must be the Hughes "he's a great kick" drug. Hughes will be a dominant forward and Oakley-Nichols will win the brownlow.This is not the direction we want to go.
THE_GUN
20 Jun 2008, 20:42
If He Comes Out This Week & Kicks 4-5 Will Tht Be Enough
Tigertom
20 Jun 2008, 21:26
TRADE HIM. He hasn't earnt his stripes in VFL level so why is he playing at AFL level?
Madtiger2006
20 Jun 2008, 21:36
Are some of you people on drugs? It must be the Hughes "he's a great kick" drug. Hughes will be a dominant forward and Oakley-Nichols will win the brownlow.This is not the direction we want to go.
But he is a good kick. Where did you get the impression he wasn't any good? He and Reiwoldt should be left in the side. This is the direction we want to go unless you enjoy failure :cool:
Madtiger2006
20 Jun 2008, 21:38
TRADE HIM. He hasn't earnt his stripes in VFL level so why is he playing at AFL level?
dumb :thumbsd:
A couple of years ago hughes kicking was perfect hes set shots for goal were one of hes key strong points...
I guess its just a confidence thing which i highly believe he will get over.
I wonder if it's a bulking up thing. So many kids who are beautiful kicks for goal come into the game and their accuracy goes out the window. Putting on so much extra size could easily effect a kicking action.
Tigertom
20 Jun 2008, 22:05
I guess we will see saturday night.
a key forward who has kicked 12 goals from 12 games at AFL level.
sure he has kicked a handfull at VFL over the last two weeks, but Tivendale was killing em too before his return.
trade him while he is still young and get a worthwile pick for him.
You do realise that in their first 12 games
Franklin kicked 11 goals
Riewoldt kicked 3 goals
Pavlich kicked 12 goals
Jon Brown kicked 5 goals
Idiot
Madtiger2006
20 Jun 2008, 23:44
sure he has kicked a handfull at VFL over the last two weeks, but Tivendale was killing em too before his return.
u don't trade players you require you moron lol
maceman
21 Jun 2008, 10:46
agreed. It'll be a shame if he doesn't develop. He's got size and strength and a good boot, just doesn't work hard enough when he's in the side.
Needs to stand up and stop taking a free ride.
There are many in the side who don't work hard enough. The culture has to change and they need to run out complete games, not play 25 minutes and be disappointed when they lose.
We need some extra size in the forward line so lets start bleeding these young guys in.
Goldust
21 Jun 2008, 11:41
:)Let's just see how big Cleve perfroms this week - and next - and the week after - before stamping his papers or etching his name on the Brownlow!!!
I'm certain Wallace is going to give the kid a sustained run at cementing a spot in the line-up, just leave him be for now.
If the kid is going to make it, we'll see that unfold over the next four to five weeks.
All I will say is this, unlike some who have made their way into the line-up over the course of the season, he's certainly earned it with his good form over the last few weeks.
Give the kid a go!
Coughlan
22 Jun 2008, 10:43
Nice call ________s.
Anybody who couldn't see his talent doesn't follow this team close enough, his kicking is his greatest strength.
We have been calling out for a young KPF to replace Richo but in your infinite wisdom he is a dud who can't kick and should be traded:rolleyes:
Stuck it up your arse didn't he?
NQTIGER
22 Jun 2008, 13:57
Nice call ________s.
Anybody who couldn't see his talent doesn't follow this team close enough, his kicking is his greatest strength.
We have been calling out for a young KPF to replace Richo but in your infinite wisdom he is a dud who can't kick and should be traded:rolleyes:
Stuck it up your arse didn't he?
Without VASELINE