View Full Version : ROUND 13: CARLTON vs ESSENDON, MCG

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

stmookeyj
20 Jun 2008, 05:02
DA DA DA DA DA.....Well the swagger is certainly back at Carlton now that they are back in the 8. But despite Essendon having an ordinary time of it prior to cracking it for a win last week, this is arguably Carlton's biggest challenge for many years. These are the types of games they need to win and win well in order to be a serious contender to get into the September action.

Additions only at this stage of procedings in team selection. Wouldn't expect Carlton to make an alteration to the 22 that did the business last week either. Andrew Lovett is back for Essendon, so expect Atkinson to be the player to miss out from last week's winning combination.

All time Carlton have the edge on Essendon 117-106 with a quartet of drawn matches. Essendon however lead the Blues H2H at the G 26-20 with a pair of draws. Bombers have won the last 2 meetings, but Carlton like the G winning 3 from their last 4 at the ground. The 1 loss was in Round 3 to the Bombers in a 16 point decision (Essendon's last win before last week) with 4 to Lloyd and McVeigh cancelling out Fev's 8.

TIP: Carlton by 19, momentum's a funny thing and Carlton have plenty. Certainly more than Essendon.

Click for TV Times (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/calendar.php?do=getinfo&e=76&day=2008-6-22&c=3)

walkers a legend
20 Jun 2008, 10:11
I will be expecting a win although not a smashing just a steady win.

Hirdismyhero
20 Jun 2008, 11:26
Usually in this situation I would go for Carlton, seeing as they have the momentum, but I think the Bombers have some belief and some heart in them now... And that should overtake the momentum...

Dons by 23. :thumbsu:

parrot
20 Jun 2008, 13:34
While the Blues have a massive across the board talent advantage, especially in the midfield, the fact is the Dons beat the Blues easily in the last game, and have come off a good win V Weagles, and therefore go into this game red-hot favourites. The Blues lost the last game because of tactical errors, which Ratten has admitted to. Our defensive setup has improve markedly since then. Will be a lot closer game than many expect. Blues by 45 points. :)

soapie
20 Jun 2008, 15:35
While the Blues have a massive across the board talent advantage, especially in the midfield, the fact is the Dons beat the Blues easily in the last game, and have come off a good win V Weagles, and therefore go into this game red-hot favourites. The Blues lost the last game because of tactical errors, which Ratten has admitted to. Our defensive setup has improve markedly since then. Will be a lot closer game than many expect. Blues by 45 points. :)

You are a parrot if you think Essendon beat Carlton easy last time, the blues hit the lead in the 3rd quarter and somehow still lost. And last week was not a good win. Essendon didnt win just they played a side who are crapper than Essendon.

Essendon can never stop Fevola, he might kick 12.

Ricky
20 Jun 2008, 17:23
You are a parrot if you think Essendon beat Carlton easy last time, the blues hit the lead in the 3rd quarter and somehow still lost. And last week was not a good win. Essendon didnt win just they played a side who are crapper than Essendon.

this time last year he didnt kick any at all. or it might of been the year before.he has been held goaless 3/8 times against us
mind you the last 2/3 he has kicked 8 against us lol

ThePine
20 Jun 2008, 17:35
Should be another good crowd and the 'G.

I must be subconsciously over confident as i have invited almost every essendon supporter i know along to the game.

Blues in a canter lead by their superior midfield. 36 points! :thumbsu:

walshy93
20 Jun 2008, 17:40
I'm only going because I know we should win. After playing footy, on Sunday, I will be sore, but it will be worth seeing the blues by 40 points.

Alpha1
20 Jun 2008, 17:40
Bummers by 1 point, Bummers to be in front by 40 going into the second half. Big last half from the Blues again but falling short by a point to the heart break of all the fans.

parrot
20 Jun 2008, 18:11

Remember Fev only kicked 2 goals V Port, and we still beat them. Fev is important, but there are other options. Should be a good game. :)

BLue_Bloys
21 Jun 2008, 12:52
this is arguably Carlton's biggest challenge for many years. These are the types of games they need to win and win well in order to be a serious contender to get into the September action.

Yep, we really should win this game by over 5 goals. The games between us two are overdue for a blowout, can't see it happening just yet though.

cheezey2008
21 Jun 2008, 14:47
I originally tipped Carlton but I changed it after this Pratt thing came out because I think it will weigh on the players minds, but hopefully it doesn't. I hope like hell we win our next 3 because of the draw after the St Kilda game.

Go blues!!!

FieryNayta
21 Jun 2008, 15:29
Bummers by 1 point, Bummers to be in front by 40 going into the second half. Big last half from the Blues again but falling short by a point to the heart break of all the fans.

come on, chin up mate!

Thats a bit too depressing for me :)

Calrton won't play that shoot-out nonsense we did last time. We are much stronger down back than we were at the start of the season, and our midfield is a class above.

Essendon will play well against us however. Blues by 20.

crackers111taz
21 Jun 2008, 15:36
Been saying it all week and I don't intend changing my mind now....

Carlton by HEAPS, there is no way Essendon can stop our mids, they simply do not have the cattle in the guts, they had a close win over a heavily depleted West Coast team in Melbourne, and all of a sudden people are thinking they will be competitive against the good clubs, sorry people, it's just not going to happen, this will be a percentage booster for the Blues.....

Xtreme
21 Jun 2008, 15:37
I'm thinking they'll draw, but Carlton will probably get on top and win.

Macquarie Eagle
21 Jun 2008, 17:41
Please smash the Essendon scum...and keep North out of the 8.

jonoman89
21 Jun 2008, 18:07

we plan to.

Elvis
21 Jun 2008, 18:18
Been saying it all week and I don't intend changing my mind now....

Carlton by HEAPS, there is no way Essendon can stop our mids, they simply do not have the cattle in the guts, they had a close win over a heavily depleted West Coast team in Melbourne, and all of a sudden people are thinking they will be competitive against the good clubs, sorry people, it's just not going to happen, this will be a percentage booster for the Blues.....

hahahahaha when did you become one of the good clubs. take your hand off it. first time in the eight in god knows how long. its wankers like you that makes beating the scum all that sweeter

james_omahoney
21 Jun 2008, 19:22
Bombers by 5 points.

Neagle to kick 4 majors.

Island Bomber
22 Jun 2008, 08:26

Maybe you should worry about Nth this week, oh l forgot they kicked your arse.

Bomber57
22 Jun 2008, 09:51

LOL, very loud go the mighty Roos,:thumbsu:

Dons with a good chance today, but will have to play at their best

Big Blow Hard
22 Jun 2008, 11:37
A nice wet day for it folks. Should see the skill levels drop. Good ol fasion wet footy.

funkyfetlock
22 Jun 2008, 11:40
Carlton have finally found their mojo and I for one welcome them into the top half of the competition. They will have no problems accounting for the Dons who are pretty crap if the truth be told.

Carlton to win by at least ten goals.

GottaLoveCarlton
22 Jun 2008, 11:42
A nice wet day for it folks. Should see the skill levels drop. Good ol fasion wet footy.

If i was a bummers supporter i'd be hoping for a dry game, after what Carlton were capable of in the wet over at AAMI two weeks ago.

1 Million
22 Jun 2008, 11:53
Carlton = 25,15,165
Essendon = 0,13,13

GOALS

Wiggans = 10
Russel = 8
Thornton = 4
O'Halpin = 2
Josh Kennedy = 1
Fev = 0.15

will be a good game :p:p

walshy93
22 Jun 2008, 11:57
heheheheh

trossa
22 Jun 2008, 12:05
Real worried bout this game. We should get up by 2 goals.

jonoman89
22 Jun 2008, 12:18
bloody rain. now we will only win by 3 goals!

parrot
22 Jun 2008, 13:42
Blues are pretty terrible in the rain. Took ages for them to adapt to the conditions V Port. Will need to do a lot better today. :)

howiehowie
22 Jun 2008, 14:43
Carlton = 25,15,165
Essendon = 0,13,13

GOALS

Wiggans = 10
Russel = 8
Thornton = 4
O'Halpin = 2
Josh Kennedy = 1
Fev = 0.15

will be a good game :p:p

and Dean Solomon might make a cameo for us and kick six.

smiddaz123
22 Jun 2008, 15:04
Blues are pretty terrible in the rain. Took ages for them to adapt to the conditions V Port. Will need to do a lot better today. :)
Why don't you ever go to Carlton games?

Arecsa
22 Jun 2008, 15:19
Slattery KO'd by an accidental knee from Fev. Stretchered off now.

bombaman
what happened to slattery?

lazy
So whats happening guys? They are not showing the game in Sydney...

Jafa
Oh man. That has just got to hurt.

Hopefully the young man is right.

bombaman
22 Jun 2008, 15:21
JETTTTAAAAAA! Goal

Jafa
22 Jun 2008, 15:21

Essendon by two goals after a lovely 2nd roving type goal. Very fast paced so far.

bombaman
22 Jun 2008, 15:22

Lazy,
You probably get the same coverage as us canberra folk.
Swans on Fox and pay tv. Very annoying when your team has the sunday game with sydney.

Adelaide Hawk
22 Jun 2008, 15:22
They were saying on ABC radio (think it was Mark Maclure) that the MRC should look at the Fevola - Slattery incident. Switched over to 3AW and they said it was accidental. I haven't seen it, just relating what was said.

TassieSaint
22 Jun 2008, 15:23
Fev went for the specky, Slattery was running backwards to spoil, and Fev's knee hit him right in the face. He was out cold before he hit the ground and was stretchered off in a neck brace.

Arecsa
It's actually a good day to be in Perth for the footy.

Big clash with Lloyd and Judd, both down!

Adelaide Hawk
Judd and Lloyd in a headclash.

Jafa
22 Jun 2008, 15:24
____ me - Juddy just got smashed.

Slacker
22 Jun 2008, 15:25
Geez, they are going in hard so far!

UpTheGuts
Monfries goal. Dons 20 Blues 1. Judd off the ground with a big headache.

Come on Blues - we need a massive crowd next week!

lazy
Lazy,
Swans on Fox and pay tv. Very annoying when your team has the sunday game with sydney.

Its absolutely shit... trying to force us to watch channel 7

I want to watch both games.

Jafa
Bombers with the 3rd. Carlton should have at least one on the board though.

Arecsa
Both up now.

Carlton 0.1
Bombers 3.2

Good start from Essendon. Blues have blown a few chances, Fev completely missed one, and Stevens kicked one out on the full on the run from about 45.

bombaman
22 Jun 2008, 15:26
How did Judd and lloyd pull up after the head clash?

Spikey
Lazy,

It's more annoying when your team has the sunday game at 2 and we have to watch the Brisbane game at 1...:mad:

Hope Slatts is alright.:(

richmond fanatic
GO Bombers!!!!

Bay Pie
Bombers up and about.

carlton believing their own press?

Bay Pie
22 Jun 2008, 15:28
It's more annoying when your team has the sunday game at 2 and we have to watch the Brisbane game at 1...:mad:

That is schizenhausen.

richmond fanatic
OMGGGGG GO DONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D:D:D Suck sh!t bllloooooooz

bombaman
Llllllooooooyyyddd!

Jafa
Bombers up and about.

carlton believing their own press?

It`s only early days.

Lol - Lloyd just pots the fourth.

Bay Pie
22 Jun 2008, 15:29
carlton finding it a bit harder being the hunted.

LLoyd goals for number 2 for him for the day.

sens_bombers
Go the Bombers!! F U Lloyd haters

Jafa
Juddy back on.

bombaman

Hope Slatts is alright.:(

I feel your pain Spikey. Not much we can do about it short of moving to the holy city (melbourne). All driven by $

Magpie
22 Jun 2008, 15:30
Carlton=pretenders

FACT.

bombersno1
Gosh..lol at Carlton..where are the fans now

UpTheGuts
Slattery conscious in the rooms but about to be taken to hospital...

Goal to Blues.

26-7

Arecsa
22 Jun 2008, 15:31
Blues finally get one on the board.

Jafa
Betts with Carltons first.

Sean.
Completely forgot about this. Got the radio on now. Winning by 19, seems like a good start. :thumbsu:

Cousin Jed
C'arn the Mighty Bombers!

UpTheGuts
22 Jun 2008, 15:32
McVeigh goal. Too easy

32-7

Jafa
Just beautiful.

Corrosion
Are we even on the field. Looks like the Bombers have come out hard ,and we weren't prepared for it.

Hope Slattery is okay.

bombaman
Man I wish I was watching this....
Mcveigh goal.

Sean.
McVeigh kicks his 1st, we up our lead to 25.

But we have to stop Fev. They keep coming back against us, especially in the 3rd quarter. Can't let him get the ball later in the game, or he'll be deadly.

Bay Pie
22 Jun 2008, 15:33
carlton 2nd to the footy.

Gibbs to tag Monfries:confused:

HirdforPM
lets show these pretenders

bombaman
This is funny after putting up with a week of carlton fans talking like they are a top 4 team and have been for the last 10 years.

Spikey
...I don't like this. A good first quarter? Who do we think we are? Geelong?

bombersno1
22 Jun 2008, 15:34
No idea why Monfries is being tagged

UpTheGuts
Jetta with a shot from 25.... misses

33-7

bombersno1
This is funny after putting up with a week of carlton fans talking like they are a top 4 team and have been for the last 10 years.

So true

bombersno1
22 Jun 2008, 15:35
Where is the all conquering Caltank midfield?

cbreban
22 Jun 2008, 15:35
Carlton midfield getting smashed :o

HirdforPM
22 Jun 2008, 15:36
hmmm game should be over, this could end up like last year.....

Bay Pie
Poster by Scotty Lucas.

Where is Mrs parrot? Bit quiet.

Sean.
This is funny after putting up with a week of carlton fans talking like they are a top 4 team and have been for the last 10 years.Mate don't jinx us. We've played well for the first quarter, we have to do it for the whole four quarters. You're not going to win a game based on 1 quarter.

bombersno1
22 Jun 2008, 15:37
who is on judd?

Corrosion
22 Jun 2008, 15:37
Carlton midfield getting smashed :o

More like.....getting smashed all or the ground :o

Only the first qtr but. Change some things around at qtr time, and you know, actually try to get to the contest first. :o

Come on Carlton!

Sean.
22 Jun 2008, 15:38
Did Slattery get knocked out!?!? :eek:

Jafa
Wow - a few cocky posters on board. Carlton have had a few good comebacks lately.

I wouldn`t write them off yet.

bombaman
Jetta sounds like he has had a decent quarter.

bombaman
22 Jun 2008, 15:39
Wow - a few cocky posters on board. Carlton have had a few good comebacks lately.

I wouldn`t write them off yet.

Far from writing them off, especially with out history. Just enjoying jumping them in the first quarter.

Cousin Jed
41-8

Spikey
who is on judd?

I would guess it's Don35's favourite player...:p

Sean.
22 Jun 2008, 15:40

I wouldn`t write them off yet.Exactly! They've ha some good comebacks against us as well.

Bay Pie
Do carlton realise they have already won more then 5 games and can't get a PP?

Bombers just too good.

HirdforPM
oh how good is this!!!

HirdforPM
22 Jun 2008, 15:41
neagle!!!

Jafa
Nice.

8-47

Sean.
Jay Neagle goes bang! Carn the dons!

cbreban
Clearances: 11-3. The star studded midfield is getting belted.... hilarious.

Neagle slots another.

Cousin Jed
Wallsy sticking it to Carazzo who is apparently having a stinker

47-8 :eek: