View Full Version : Rucci = boring

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 11:55
I read his article with interest today, not sure if it's online yet. But I am sick and tired of him in most articles now referring to Port and Choke.

Yes we lost, highlight we lost if you want but stop referring to it as a choke in every article. It is getting quite repetiticous and boring. For a guy who is supposed to follow Port this attempt to get into the pyschy is quite over the top. I understand he is supposed to be neutral, but he is going beyond taht.

I agree with his player assessments however, but they are quite easy to indentify, interestly, he didn't assess the coaching panel, I thought tht was interesting.

He also made reference that Port should be trialling the younger players for 09, to which I agree, regardless of what people think and the club, I think our season is gone, if it isn't this week it will be when we lose to the Dog's in Darwin. I would much rather see, big Fabian, Thomo (I can't believe I am bringing him up here), Lower, Thomas, show us their stuff than Peter B, Ladey and Wilson. We should be planning for 09 and structuring our team for 09 also so we can get an idea where the boys are headed.

On a side not we appear to tracking similarly to the Dogs. 06 was a good year, 07 a drop off and then 08 a good season, 2009 will be quite an interesting year for us I believe.

Rick

ExpectToWin
20 Jun 2008, 11:59
On a side not we appear to tracking similarly to the Dogs. 06 was a good year, 07 a drop off and then 08 a good season, 2009 will be quite an interesting year for us I believe.

Rick

I think you will find that injuries were the main reason the Dogs dropped off last year

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 12:02
I think you will find that injuries were the main reason the Dogs dropped off last year

We have injuries, they are all mental that's all :)

TheFridge
20 Jun 2008, 12:15
The only thing Rucci has written that I have found particularly worthy of his exulted status in Adelaide media (which considering it seems to consist of messrs Cunningham, McDermott, Jarman, Cornes and Rucci, is no great circle tbh) was the Dynasty book.

Everything else seems to be a mix of pot-stirring and innuendo with very little insightful commentary.

As for the concept of "playing the kids", I understand where you are coming from Rick. However, they need to be made to earn a spot, but given every opportunity to do so. If DeLuca is not doing enough to push a guy like Ladey, who really seems to be lumbering at the moment, then we have cause for serious concern. (I also can't believe you mentioned Thomilf given the other loooong thread:)). I am not as down as some on Peter B, I think he could well be a part of our next premiership, but not necessarily as a half back sweeper... I would make comment about Wilbur, but I would feel dirty and anti-PAFC to say anything remotely negative about a guy who bleeds black, white and teal. If I were to say anything about Michael it is that a young player who were to take his spot really must earn it and appreciate the legacy they are inheriting.

Power Pete
20 Jun 2008, 12:18
HOW has it gone so wrong at Alberton where Port Adelaide - after the dramatic rise from 12th in 2006 to the AFL grand final last year - has crashed to 12th again?

It is a question everyone will ask and one the Power has to answer - and quickly. Port Adelaide's "revolution" is finished.
The bold mission statement - of completing the circle of AFL premiership in 2004, bottoming out in 2006 and rising to another flag in less than six years - is bust.

To read more click on link...http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23892201-5016212,00.html

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg176/PWIN/pwin2/IMG_0002-1.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg176/PWIN/pwin2/IMG_0001-1.jpg

Papa G
20 Jun 2008, 12:19
I read his article with interest today, not sure if it's online yet. But I am sick and tired of him in most articles now referring to Port and Choke.

Careful, you're starting to sound like a Clowns supporter. If the cap fit, we have to wear it. Posters on this forum have been far more scathing of the players and the coach than Rucci has, and in the main part I have agreed with almost everything he has said. Just because he supports the club, doesn't mean he can't be critical of it. I do not subscribe to the sychophantic, don't be critical, only praise never berate attitude that Crows fans seem to love and the dimwits at 5AA and the Adelaide media in general seem to pander to. We deserve the critisism and I for one won't shy away from it. If the Crows were in a similar position to us and he was writing this stuff, they would be tearing down the Advertiser's front door, because on the whole their supporter base is thin skinned and immature (despite their average age being 68) but Port supporters should be better and more knowlegable than that.

As I said before if the cap fits, we have to wear it.

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 12:20
The only thing Rucci has written that I have found particularly worthy of his exulted status in Adelaide media (which considering it seems to consist of messrs Cunningham, McDermott, Jarman, Cornes and Rucci, is no great circle tbh) was the Dynasty book.

Everything else seems to be a mix of pot-stirring and innuendo with very little insightful commentary.

As for the concept of "playing the kids", I understand where you are coming from Rick. However, they need to be made to earn a spot, but given every opportunity to do so. If DeLuca is not doing enough to push a guy like Ladey, who really seems to be lumbering at the moment, then we have cause for serious concern. (I also can't believe you mentioned Thomilf given the other loooong thread:)). I am not as down as some on Peter B, I think he could well be a part of our next premiership, but not necessarily as a half back sweeper... I would make comment about Wilbur, but I would feel dirty and anti-PAFC to say anything remotely negative about a guy who bleeds black, white and teal. If I were to say anything about Michael it is that a young player who were to take his spot really must earn it and appreciate the legacy they are inheriting.

Wilbur = Stewart and Thomas are earning it for their hardness, I love his passion to death and I don't throw it around his ommission lightly.

Same for Lade, he has been an exculted servant, the club stood by him through his injuries and he repaid them but Deluca should be told, it's now or never son. We are resting Lade, you have 9 games to show us you are worth Lade's spot.

Peter is 30/31, mistakes are glaring, he concerns me.

As for our media, KG is too old and past it, I struggle to listen to our only sports drive program, his child like enthusiasm at some things makes me think of an old try hard. The program needs a refresh.

Power Pete
20 Jun 2008, 12:23
PORT Adelaide coach Mark Williams stepped away from the Power's inglorious AFL grand final defeat in September promising a rebound - not a relapse.

Young players who had propelled the Power's "Revolution", he noted, would not be scarred but had the ability to quickly "move on" from the record 119-point disaster imposed on the club by Geelong.

And there was Williams' hope-building promise of plenty of "blue sky" for a club which through all of this season has cringed under a growing dark cloud of doom and despair.

To read more click on link...http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23892926-5016212,00.html

Black 18
20 Jun 2008, 12:26
Yep, nothing wrong with what Rucci is doing at the moment. I would like him to tell it all, but I doubt he will. All he is trying to do is bring a greater level of accountability to our club.

The major cracks that are appearing have been there for sometime now, and instead of taking Choco's option of just talking everything & everyone up, he is actually getting people to take a closer look.

Good on him, honest assessment is a good thing IMO.

Toots Hibbert
20 Jun 2008, 12:42
The only thing Rucci has written that I have found particularly worthy of his exulted status in Adelaide media (which considering it seems to consist of messrs Cunningham, McDermott, Jarman, Cornes and Rucci, is no great circle tbh) was the Dynasty book....
Sorry but that Dynasty book was a shocker. Well meaning? Yes. Well written? NO NO NO!! A thousand times no! :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Michelangelo was clearly found out by the demands of writing something longer than a newspaper article and he was badly let down by his editor who should have fixed the aimless meanderings backward and forward in time and many other faults besides.

The pity of it is that there was wonderful material there for a great book. That book will likely never be written now because Rucci's appallingly inept effort got in first. :mad:

I hope you're reading this Michelangelo because I've got an autographed copy of the book having lined up with thousands of others the day Fos and the rest of the Williams clan were signing them. It sits in my bookshelf and when I see it there I think bad thoughts of you. :cool:

Edit:- Having got that off my chest I hope this board isn't going to get frequent threads about Rucci's latest article. Apart from anything else he may be a loose cannon with some of his nonsense but there's truth there also. If he's causing some introspection at Alberton he's making a good contribution.

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 13:01
Careful, you're starting to sound like a Clowns supporter. If the cap fit, we have to wear it. Posters on this forum have been far more scathing of the players and the coach than Rucci has, and in the main part I have agreed with almost everything he has said. Just because he supports the club, doesn't mean he can't be critical of it. I do not subscribe to the sychophantic, don't be critical, only praise never berate attitude that Crows fans seem to love and the dimwits at 5AA and the Adelaide media in general seem to pander to. We deserve the critisism and I for one won't shy away from it. If the Crows were in a similar position to us and he was writing this stuff, they would be tearing down the Advertiser's front door, because on the whole their supporter base is thin skinned and immature (despite their average age being 68) but Port supporters should be better and more knowlegable than that.

I am not saying don't be critical, but the consistent reference to it being a choke it just comes across as blatent attempt to try and force a stignma against the club.

I guess it may come down to a fundamental difference in thinking I see it as losing not choking, to say it's a choke is an insult to the side that won the game also as really it's saying the club lost it more than Carlton one it, which isn't right.

TheFridge
20 Jun 2008, 13:09
Sorry but that Dynasty book was a shocker.

No problem with your critique, Toots!:) However, he picked up a lot of Brownie points with me for being the person who did the work to get the story written. Also agree that I hope we don't go the Cows board path and have posts each day about Rucci's pot-shot for the day. He clearly writes for a headline and a reaction. Therefore, reading the headline and reacting is merely ensuring he achieves his goal.

As for the article, it seemed to me to be typical cheap journalism.

No real case for why the revolution is dead, just a bunch of poorly connected quotes, thoughts and random summations.

As for his list of player assessments, I found many areas to disagree with. I mean, how can he rate Brett Ebert as going well and yet have Motlop as stagnating? Cassisi as going strong? Logan as stagnated was perplexing. Toby stagnated but "fair conversion to tall defender" seemed an odd choice of words.

All up, it seemed a lax effort, but did have a notworthy headline and will cause a reaction - so I suppose we should say "Well done!":D.

wharfie_1870
20 Jun 2008, 13:15
...... I guess it may come down to a fundamental difference in thinking I see it as losing not choking, to say it's a choke is an insult to the side that won the game also as really it's saying the club lost it more than Carlton one it, which isn't right.Without taking anything away from the way Carlton played for the last quarter and a bit it was a dead set choke.

We went into the game as favourites and were 38 points up and playing all over them late in the third quarter. To their credit the Carlton players didn't drop their heads and go into their shells, they kept at it. As soon as the play started running their way we rolled over. We had chances to seal the game late in the last quarter but choked and the Carlton players kept their heads and made us pay.

Did Carlton win or did we lose? Doesn't matter, the result is the same.

Black 18
20 Jun 2008, 13:22
Without taking anything away from the way Carlton played for the last quarter and a bit it was a dead set choke.

We went into the game as favourites and were 38 points up and playing all over them late in the third quarter. To their credit the Carlton players didn't drop their heads and go into their shells, they kept at it. As soon as the play started running their way we rolled over. We had chances to seal the game late in the last quarter but choked and the Carlton players kept their heads and made us pay.

LOL

Yep, "dead set", no question on that one.

Rick, just wear it. We are chokers. So until we can come back from being behind a few times, or tough it out once it starts getting real out on the ground, then the tag is ours. Chokers, dowhill skiers, flat track bullies, blah blah blah. We haven't done anything to prove those unwanted tags are not warranted at present.

If the shoe fits.........

Porthos
20 Jun 2008, 13:27
Rucci is boring. Everything he writes you can read here six months earlier.

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 13:35
LOL

Yep, "dead set", no question on that one.

Rick, just wear it. We are chokers. So until we can come back from being behind a few times, or tough it out once it starts getting real out on the ground, then the tag is ours. Chokers, dowhill skiers, flat track bullies, blah blah blah. We haven't done anything to prove those unwanted tags are not warranted at present.

If the shoe fits.........

You really think so?

Where was the chokers tag last year? It didn't exists, lose a a few games this year and all of a sudden it resurfaces.

I can't handle the critisisms, I can handle the club evaluations, but to me it's just a tacky stigma media dn oppostition supporters try and throw. Sometimes it's sticks.

I don't think we should accept the tag, I would accept we are soft at the moment or currently mentally fragile, choke is a joke of a term to me.

But I am happy to accept opinions of others and I'll just keep it too myself :) However, when all the oppisition supporters start throwing at us, after reading it consistently in the media, well we can't complain because we are accepting the tag.

wharfie_1870
20 Jun 2008, 13:58
Where was the chokers tag last year? ...We didn't choke last year. No expectations, no choke.

In fact we did the opposite, winning the close games and even coming from behind.

.... lose a a few games this year and all of a sudden it resurfaces.....Lose a few games we were in a position to win easily at three quarter time and of course the team is going to be labeled chockers.

The PAFC as a club are not chokers, as some would have you believe, but the team we are putting on the park in season 2008 certainly deserves that tag :mad:

.... mentally fragile ....Shakespeare anyone?

bringbackbucky
20 Jun 2008, 14:26
Rucci is boring. Everything he writes you can read here six months earlier.

Exactly!

Criticism I can take, but Rucci is just regurgitating the same mindless drivel, week in , week out. Win, lose or draw - his articles are mind numbingly boring and for someone of such dedication to the game - offer little or no insight.

I much prefer reading the crtitique of the intersate scribes - Connonly and Lane spring to mind as journos who have written some interesting Port articles of late.

If i was Rooch, I would be seeking a transfer to the Herald Sun and broadening the subject matter. It is clear that continually writing about 2 clubs is rotting his (and my) brain.

PowerKat
20 Jun 2008, 14:35
HOW has it gone so wrong at Alberton where Port Adelaide - after the dramatic rise from 12th in 2006 to the AFL grand final last year - has crashed to 12th again?

It is a question everyone will ask and one the Power has to answer - and quickly. Port Adelaide's "revolution" is finished.
The bold mission statement - of completing the circle of AFL premiership in 2004, bottoming out in 2006 and rising to another flag in less than six years - is bust.

is it? I'll concede this year but next year is 5yrs from the 04 flag and I don't see how you can say that our chances for next year are 'bust' :rolleyes:

The only stuff from Rucci I end up reading are the bits & pieces posted here. I agree with others indicating that we don't want regular threads with his articles here, and also - Porthos is right

johnnypanther
20 Jun 2008, 14:37
A week (or in Port's case 2 weeks) is a long time in footy and despite your poor form and inability to play a full 100 minutes, you're only 2 wins out of the final 8 and IMO still a fair chance to make it.

Forzaport
20 Jun 2008, 15:06
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg176/PWIN/pwin2/IMG_0002-1.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg176/PWIN/pwin2/IMG_0001-1.jpg

I think there are some unfair assessments here.

Dean Brogan has clearly improved this year. You'd be forgiven for thinking he was our captin atm! (nothing bad intended towards wazza)

He's been very unfair towards wazza, i think wazza was deservedly captain this year, and i wouldn't change it

Motlop isn't stagnant. He's our most reliable and consistant forward this year!

Lower, Logan, Krak and Gray are progressing well i would've thought. :confused:

Anyway, that's my 2 cents

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 15:28
[quote=wharfie_1870;11441976]We didn't choke last year. No expectations, no choke.

In fact we did the opposite, winning the close games and even coming from behind.

Lose a few games we were in a position to win easily at three quarter time and of course the team is going to be labeled chockers.

The PAFC as a club are not chokers, as some would have you believe, but the team we are putting on the park in season 2008 certainly deserves that tag :mad: [quote]

This is my point, lose a couple of games and it is now recycled everyweek even though since 04 it hasn't appeared.

It's use is feeble and cheap, not just by Rucci but by opposition supporters and the like.

I just don't think it should be accepted so easily by fans with ohh well we lost two we should have won we deserve it.
I reckon it's B.S, our club has been fantastic over the years, made many finals series, won almost the most H & A fixtures a couple of GF's in 10 years. It's insulting to have a crap tag associated.

Just my sentiments :)

dreamkillers
20 Jun 2008, 16:22
The only stuff from Rucci I end up reading are the bits & pieces posted here. I agree with others indicating that we don't want regular threads with his articles here, and also - Porthos is right

Agreed it's pretty much here is the main place I see his articles or hear about them on the weekly phone call home to mother in Adelaide.........

If his articles have anything worth discussing (and that can be a very big if at times) I don't have a problem with them being posted/discussed here but yes as Porthos said we have generally discussed the topic long before it ever hits his headlines.........

Natman
20 Jun 2008, 16:52
For what he is paid to do, as opposed to writing meaningful and insightful football articles, he presents a predictable piece that states the bleeding obvious ... again!

Let's see - just print the team list, dress it up with a few icons, and make a personal judgement on how you see their performance this year and then re-state that we won close games last year, but are losing close games this year because the game plan is suspect and the coach doesn't get on with anyone, particularly him (sound familiar).

How do you get such a job and does it pay well?

PJ Power
20 Jun 2008, 17:18
Some of those assessments of individual Port players are pretty well off the mark.

Cassisi is NOT going strong IMO.

Motlop IS going strong.

Ebert has struggled bar one game and one quarter for the year. Of course Rucci works with his dad so won't rubbish him.

Rodan has been inconsistent although brilliant in some matches.

Westhoff has played some pretty good footy in matches over the last six weeks. His errant goal-kicking has been a problem, but his tackling and marking up the ground has been quite reasonable.

Pretty unfair on DeLuca to suggest he is mentally not strong enough for AFL when he hasn't played at that level at all this year.

Agree on the fronts that the Burgoynes have done precious little and that Chaplin has not taken the next step.

Rucci has always taken to jibing/criticising like a dog to a bone. Once he latches on (eg to Westhoff) he doesn't let go.

Likewise, he has never shown any insight/interest into the progression of Thomson as a footballer, yet latches onto Francou's article +/- some disgruntled supporters calling 5AA and blogging and then doesn't leave it for the whole week. While I have appreciated the Thomson drive from the media (well overdue), Rucci's motive for it has almost certainly been to prove Choco is a liar.

The club have annoyed him (beyond by just losing) and he has decided he wants to stir trouble (ala 1998). The Power hierarchy would be best served swatting him away like the pesky fly he is. He is actually the one who can't cope with things not going the way he wants them.

Mitch Power
20 Jun 2008, 17:40
Steady Rick, you are beginning to write like a cows supporter. Rucci is spot on and we have to cop it on the chin.

portentous
20 Jun 2008, 18:07
Should the mods create a "rooch" sub-forum for all of this?

FWIW I'm happy for him to bag us when we're playing crap. Would hate to end up as precious as the cows whenever a journo is critical of us. We deserve what we cop at the moment-chokers, downhill skiers, soft ..........the whole lot.

dreamkillers
20 Jun 2008, 18:59

FWIW I'm happy for him to bag us when we're playing crap. Would hate to end up as precious as the cows whenever a journo is critical of us. We deserve what we cop at the moment-chokers, downhill skiers, soft ..........the whole lot.

just don't give him the recognition for the dribble that makes up most of the articles.......sure we deserve criticism but some actual valid ones would be good.......the interstate media do a much better job reporting on what 'actually' happens with Adelaide's two AFL sides.......

Fergus
20 Jun 2008, 18:59
Sorry but that Dynasty book was a shocker. Well meaning? Yes. Well written? NO NO NO!! A thousand times no! :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Michelangelo was clearly found out by the demands of writing something longer than a newspaper article and he was badly let down by his editor who should have fixed the aimless meanderings backward and forward in time and many other faults besides.

The pity of it is that there was wonderful material there for a great book. That book will likely never be written now because Rucci's appallingly inept effort got in first. :mad:

I hope you're reading this Michelangelo because I've got an autographed copy of the book having lined up with thousands of others the day Fos and the rest of the Williams clan were signing them. It sits in my bookshelf and when I see it there I think bad thoughts of you. :cool:

Edit:- Having got that off my chest I hope this board isn't going to get frequent threads about Rucci's latest article. Apart from anything else he may be a loose cannon with some of his nonsense but there's truth there also. If he's causing some introspection at Alberton he's making a good contribution.
I'm glad someone from Port has said this. I bought that book having played at the Port Magpies and was really looking forward to it. I just found myself wondering where it was going next and to be honest a let down. It didn't do the story and family justice.

*PAF
20 Jun 2008, 19:25

Yes we lost, highlight we lost if you want but stop referring to it as a choke in every article. It is getting quite repetiticous and boring. For a guy who is supposed to follow Port this attempt to get into the pyschy is quite over the top. I understand he is supposed to be neutral, but he is going beyond taht.

I agree with his player assessments however, but they are quite easy to indentify, interestly, he didn't assess the coaching panel, I thought tht was interesting.

He also made reference that Port should be trialling the younger players for 09, to which I agree, regardless of what people think and the club, I think our season is gone, if it isn't this week it will be when we lose to the Dog's in Darwin. I would much rather see, big Fabian, Thomo (I can't believe I am bringing him up here), Lower, Thomas, show us their stuff than Peter B, Ladey and Wilson. We should be planning for 09 and structuring our team for 09 also so we can get an idea where the boys are headed.

Rick
Crows board.

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 20:06
Steady Rick, you are beginning to write like a cows supporter. Rucci is spot on and we have to cop it on the chin.

Mitch, come on you to PAF. Don't insult me :)

I'll cop it but I disagree. (Slowly creeping into a corner in the dark) :)

PowerKat
20 Jun 2008, 20:28

Personally, I wouldn't like to see him given that level of prominence on this board

Ford Fairlane
20 Jun 2008, 20:32
Don't worry it's not going to come to that. Anyway, I have some sympathy for Rooch. He has two teams to write about, the crows are travelling ok we're not, so we cop some attention. It's getting a bit repetitive, but there's a simple solution if you're not happy with what he's writing. Don't read it. No one forces you to. Heck, one of the reasons I like these message boards is I learn a heap more here about football and Port in particular than I do reading the tiser. And at least MR gives our grievances a bit of public airing.

PowerForGood
20 Jun 2008, 22:18
This is my point, lose a couple of games and it is now recycled everyweek even though since 04 it hasn't appeared.

It's use is feeble and cheap, not just by Rucci but by opposition supporters and the like.

I just don't think it should be accepted so easily by fans with ohh well we lost two we should have won we deserve it.
I reckon it's B.S, our club has been fantastic over the years, made many finals series, won almost the most H & A fixtures a couple of GF's in 10 years. It's insulting to have a crap tag associated.

Just my sentiments :)

I don't like it and I don't think we deserve it tarnishing our club's great history, but we have done it a few times in our 12 years in the AFL, and everyone is looking for something to hang on us given our far better than expected first 11 years.

Every club has something:
Colli-wobbles.
Carl-tank.
St Kilda "potential"
"Ninth"-mond
"Chardonnay-set" Crows

FishingRick04
20 Jun 2008, 23:45
I don't like it and I don't think we deserve it tarnishing our club's great history, but we have done it a few times in our 12 years in the AFL, and everyone is looking for something to hang on us given our far better than expected first 11 years.

Colli-wobbles.
Carl-tank.
St Kilda "potential"
"Ninth"-mond
"Chardonnay-set" Crows

LOl some of those are funny :)

Do they get thrown around as much though? But good point.

dyertribe
20 Jun 2008, 23:54
I'm glad someone from Port has said this. I bought that book having played at the Port Magpies and was really looking forward to it. I just found myself wondering where it was going next and to be honest a let down. It didn't do the story and family justice.

Jon Harvey!

dyertribe
20 Jun 2008, 23:57
Colli-wobbles.
Carl-tank.
St Kilda "potential"
"Ninth"-mond
"Chardonnay-set" Crows

Melbourne 'Off to the snow'
West Coast 'West Coke'
Sydney 'protected species'
Fremantle 'Fremantle'

subaru
21 Jun 2008, 00:37
If the Crows were in a similar position to us and he was writing this stuff, they would be tearing down the Advertiser's front door, because on the whole their supporter base is thin skinned and immature (despite their average age being 68) but Port supporters should be better and more knowlegable than that.

With all due respect......we have had to read the cr#p he wrote about the Crows for years. no-one has torn down doors - we have tolerated his garbage because he is a weak journalist that takes his quotes from either the radio or other people's articles. There was a game against St Kilda in 2005 where in his article, the first 24 paragraphs were about how bad the Crows were and 4 about how good they were - they actually played one bad quarter and won the game by 5 golas.

Now that someone down at Alberton has upset him, he is on the warpath against you lot - and your getting all misty ?

Well , from our experience - suck it up - take it like a man - coz the only way it will stop is if you start winning and keeping your mouths firmly shut - eg - best team to be 0-4, spread the love, double page spreads on Chad, revolutions, at least we made the Grand Final blah blah etc etc.

PS - Most of my friends are Crows supporters - as are their kids - average age of our group of about 20 people - 26 years old. ;)

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 00:42
With all due respect......we have had to read the cr#p he wrote about the Crows for years. no-one has torn down doors - we have tolerated his garbage because he is a weak journalist that takes his quotes from either the radio or other people's articles. There was a game against St Kilda in 2005 where in his article, the first 24 paragraphs were about how bad the Crows were and 4 about how good they were - they actually played one bad quarter and won the game by 5 golas.

Now that someone down at Alberton has upset him, he is on the warpath against you lot - and your getting all misty ?

Well , from our experience - suck it up - take it like a man - coz the only way it will stop is if you start winning and keeping your mouths firmly shut - eg - best team to be 0-4, spread the love, double page spreads on Chad, revolutions, at least we made the Grand Final blah blah etc etc.

PS - Most of my friends are Crows supporters - as are their kids - average age of our group of about 20 people - 26 years old. ;)

You're right, no doors were torn down.

Settle down every one and let's behave in a civil manner like our cousins down the road.
Has the time come to boycott the Advertiser yet or do we have to wait for a few more articles first? :p

Ford Fairlane
21 Jun 2008, 08:49

With all due respect, the ignorance of this topic you've displayed in this post is astonishing. Here's a challenge for you. Go to the Adelaide Board, search for 'Rucci' and have a read through the returns you get. You don't have to read them all, after a few hours you'll get the picture. Then maybe you'll be qualified to comment on how well Adelaide supporters have 'taken it like a man' and come and tell us what to do. Until then, spare us the sanctimony.

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 09:17
With all due respect, the ignorance of this topic you've displayed in this post is astonishing. Here's a challenge for you. Go to the Adelaide Board, search for 'Rucci' and have a read through the returns you get. You don't have to read them all, after a few hours you'll get the picture. Then maybe you'll be qualified to comment on how well Adelaide supporters have 'taken it like a man' and come and tell us what to do. Until then, spare us the sanctimony.
Hehe. :D

A few hours will be needed just to read the thread titles, let alone contents. :p

Ford Fairlane
21 Jun 2008, 09:28
Hehe. :D

A few hours will be needed just to read the thread titles, let alone contents. :p

When Rucci has a crack at the camries, about the only man more than a few of them take it like is Bobby in Deliverance. ;)

Eddie Woloschek
21 Jun 2008, 10:05

Spot on. One of the most badly written and edited tomes of the 20th century.

subaru
21 Jun 2008, 10:12

That was not my point - I am simply saying that going on the way the Crows have been treated, cracking it isn't going to change a thing - all the fuss made by some supporters changed nothing. I never said Crows supporters didn't cut crook - what I am trying to say - is don't give him the ammunition and don't give him the attention - He will dig his own hole - as he has with Scotty's counter - he is running out of angles to justify that garbage even being printed .

I was not having a shot - but we live in a one paper town - neither Crows nor Port fans have any choice - tearing down doors won't help. We have had this experience for years and it is wasted breath and we have finally come to the conclusion ourselves that the only way to deal with it was to "suck it up" Just trying to save you some angst.:)

noddy
21 Jun 2008, 10:19
When Rucci has a crack at the camries, about the only man more than a few of them take it like is Bobby in Deliverance. ;)

Ouch !!! but was a very good movie.

Please remember that Mr Rucci luvs yuse all & is only writing such articles for the betterment of the PAFC.

Plus his ego.

Ford Fairlane
21 Jun 2008, 10:36
That was not my point - I am simply saying that going on the way the Crows have been treated, cracking it isn't going to change a thing - all the fuss made by some supporters changed nothing. I never said Crows supporters didn't cut crook - what I am trying to say - is don't give him the ammunition and don't give him the attention - He will dig his own hole - as he has with Scotty's counter - he is running out of angles to justify that garbage even being printed .

I was not having a shot - but we live in a one paper town - neither Crows nor Port fans have any choice - tearing down doors won't help. We have had this experience for years and it is wasted breath and we have finally come to the conclusion ourselves that the only way to deal with it was to "suck it up" Just trying to save you some angst.:)

no-one has torn down doors ... we have tolerated his garbage

These are your words. If you want to say we shouldn't listen to him, say that. But don't set up the crows fan base (yes I know, an element not all) as the paragons of Rucci-virtue to which we should aspire. We've all seen some spectacular cracking of the sads about Rucci on the Adelaide Board, and he has commented on radio about threats he and his parents have received after he has written critical articles about the crows.

If you read through the whole thread I think you'll find that the majority of posters have said Rucci is justified in making the comments he has about Port. And that we've made similar comments (and probably harsher) ourselves before he has. Even the poster you chose to quote said we have to wear the cap if it fits.

Ford Fairlane
21 Jun 2008, 10:38
Ouch !!! but was a very good movie.

Please remember that Mr Rucci luvs yuse all & is only writing such articles for the betterment of the PAFC.

Plus his ego.

That's right noddy. Just like when he praises the crows (and the crow fans notice) it's only to set them up so he can sink the slipper harder when they stumble. ;)

blackdiamond
21 Jun 2008, 13:01
For the amount of time subaru spends here one would think she is a closet Port supporter, I think I will name her Mrs Williams. :D

portentous
21 Jun 2008, 16:02
Jenny?? :)

subaru
21 Jun 2008, 23:25
For the amount of time subaru spends here one would think she is a closet Port supporter, I think I will name her Mrs Williams. :D

I love yous all too......:D

blackdiamond
23 Jun 2008, 13:33
Jenny?? :)

No I think I will just call her Suzie, it seems to fit with subaru.

subaru
23 Jun 2008, 22:03
No I think I will just call her Suzie, it seems to fit with subaru.

Aw shucks - you got me !:D

*PAF
23 Jun 2008, 22:11
Aw shucks - you got me !:D
What do you think of umpires?

subaru
23 Jun 2008, 22:32
What do you think of umpires?

Huh?:confused:

ThunderPower_14
23 Jun 2008, 23:52
I see Rucci as a Port fan with something to say about the team just like any of us. We'd all love to give Choco a critique and tell him what we think he should be doing differently.

The difference between Rooch and anyone on this board is, Rooch has a daily newspaper and professional writing skills to air his greivances.

subaru
24 Jun 2008, 12:10
I see Rucci as a Port fan with something to say about the team just like any of us. We'd all love to give Choco a critique and tell him what we think he should be doing differently.

The difference between Rooch and anyone on this board is, Rooch has a daily newspaper and professional writing skills to air his greivances.

Actually - and I can't believe I am saying this - you are right. This has been many Crows supporters gripes over the years. He is a journalist and should not allow any bias in his articles - criticism is fine but he gets off track and starts making it personal.

Whereas, with really good commentators and journalists, you would not know who they supported - I never knew Clinton Grybas barracked for Collingwood - it never came across in any of his commentary or even on White Line Fever etc.

FishingRick04
24 Jun 2008, 13:18
You people said this thread is ordinary and boring because the Rucci topic is done to death.

It's had 1,200 views. I thought i would write an nice and interesting article 150 views.

This is why scandalous headlines sell papers as does controversial topics, people see it and get passionately involved.

I am changing my article subject header :)

PowerKat
24 Jun 2008, 13:30
You people said this thread is ordinary and boring because the Rucci topic is done to death.

It's had 1,200 views. I thought i would write an nice and interesting article 150 views.

This is why scandalous headlines sell papers as does controversial topics, people see it and get passionately involved.

I am changing my article subject header :)

This one's been here longer, and on BF the name 'Rucci' attracts crows supporters like flies to shit

*PAF
24 Jun 2008, 22:47
Nah, not Suzie. :p

portentous
24 Jun 2008, 22:49
Nah, not Suzie. :p

If you knew Suzie, like I know Suzie........:D

BTW talking about Rucci all the time = boring

*PAF
24 Jun 2008, 23:07
Ouch, oouch, ooouwch ... :D

... BTW talking about Rucci all the time = boring
You're right. Time for a Scotch. :thumbsu:

blackdiamond
26 Jun 2008, 05:03

BTW talking about Rucci all the time = boring

Showing your age there Nat.

But wouldn't you hate to be subaru, a crows supporter with the last name Williams, ouch!

subaru
26 Jun 2008, 21:05
Showing your age there Nat.

But wouldn't you hate to be subaru, a crows supporter with the last name Williams, ouch!