View Full Version : Most DISGRACEFUL thing you have ever seen on a cricket field?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
20 Jun 2008, 20:14
Can be a club game or an international game, any cricket game.

What is the most disgraceful incident you have ever seen at a cricket game.

Did someone punch an umpire, brawl after the game?

Begin.

likka
20 Jun 2008, 21:33
Underarm.

Another that sticks in my mind is Dyer claiming that catch against NZ down the leg side at MCG test. Think it was Andrew Jones.

BLPC08
20 Jun 2008, 21:40
Hansie Cronje

anti.
20 Jun 2008, 21:44
scott muller...well shane warne thought so.

BLPC08
20 Jun 2008, 21:48
scott muller...well shane warne thought so.

Or wasn't it Joe the Camera-man, who happened to sound nothing like Warnie????

anti.
20 Jun 2008, 21:49
true, i wonder how much warnie paid joe to take the fall.

Gunnar Longshanks
20 Jun 2008, 23:07
Mick Lewis getting belted for 0/113.

bossman111
20 Jun 2008, 23:08
I played a game, not a club game just a social one, and some bloke threw a punch at the batsman, through his helmet

What a moron

Dipper
20 Jun 2008, 23:36
England losing a whole day's play when in a winning position in Pakistan because that cheat of an umpire Shakoor Rana wouldn't take the field until Gatting apologised.

Black Thunder
21 Jun 2008, 00:40
playing a grand final a couple of years bloke where one of the other teams' players threw a punch at our batsman after our batsman was dismissed.

their 12th man then ran on the ground to try and start an all in....

DaRick
21 Jun 2008, 00:44
Mick Lewis getting belted for 0/113.

That's one of the more laughable things that I've seen on a cricket field.

As for the most disgraceful, it's hard to say. The treatment of Muttiah Muralitharan by certain Australians hasn't really impressed me, nor did the triumphalist Indian celebrations at the end of the Perth test, which made ours look low-key by comparison (after they banged on about ours).

midorigreenwood
21 Jun 2008, 13:47
The screwups in the last world cup final

After the borefest that was the main tournament, Adam Gilchrist's brilliant innings nearly made up for it...... too bad the poor administration will forever overshadow the performance and it will only be remembered for the farce.

It was truly cursed when even the advertiser's background fell over during the press conference.

Not to mention that it was a financial disaster for the West Indian taxpayer.

probably the only single event I can think of that has seriously diminished my enjoyment of the game....... although the 20/20 indian premier league is not helping.

TigerBabe
21 Jun 2008, 14:01
getting smacked for 31 runs in you last over in a grand final.

DeadlyAkkuret
23 Jun 2008, 03:11
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/gallery/cricket/ashes05/teamguide/scashhodg.jpg

pup23
23 Jun 2008, 11:26
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/gallery/cricket/ashes05/teamguide/scashhodg.jpg
must be joking this guy is a hero not many blokes make test double centuries

linda
24 Jun 2008, 03:54
Ricky Ponting crying after Pratt ran him out at Trent Bridge .I was literally yards away and loving it

Freo Big Fella
24 Jun 2008, 11:19
Or wasn't it Joe the Camera-man, who happened to sound nothing like Warnie????

Sounded more like a certain younger Waugh twin.

For me it's probably a second grade game a few years back where a bloke got into a shoving match with the umpire. Either that or the English cricket team from 1989-2004 and 2006-present.

gostk86
24 Jun 2008, 11:27
symonds blowing up at waqar in 2003 WC

davey_magik
24 Jun 2008, 11:30
symonds blowing up at waqar in 2003 WC

Those intentional beamers were a disgrace :thumbsd: .

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jun 2008, 13:56
either That Or The English Cricket Team From 1989-2004 And 2006-present.

Gold :d :d :d

rodney86
24 Jun 2008, 14:38
Getting bowled out for 14. It was so bad you just had to laugh.

w00dy
24 Jun 2008, 15:59
i didn't see it but i've heard the story...

a bloke got a stinker of an LBW decision, smashed the stumps over with his bat and walked off... pretty bad...

he was half way off the ground, and the umpire called him over... told him he could either fix the stumps back up, or he'd be reported... he promptly went back and fixed the stumps up before walking from the crease a 2nd time... was pretty embarassed...

Bomber Bears
24 Jun 2008, 16:57
Under 14a's semi final. We came 4th and were versing the team who came first.
First day, we bowled them out for not much, just over 100 maybe. They were damp conditions.

Came back to play the next day, wetish conditions, we were well on top.

each opening bowler, on the last ball of their respective spells, slipped over (took a dive) and they went off the field. Each time the umpires would go out to look at the pitch the other sides coach would walk out with him, getting in his ear to not go back out. This continued for about 2 hours before it reached a point where there was not enough time to go back out (less than half an hour). So we lost by default cos they were too ____ing soft to play.
Despicable events. But we ____ing murdered them in the 16's grand final a couple of years later.

Power21
24 Jun 2008, 18:22
But we ____ing murdered them in the 16's grand final a couple of years later.

Would have been so sweet to beat them i bet.

C grade this year, where we were eventual premiers, in an earlier game one of our blokes was denied a hat-trick which would have won the game.

Hit on the full in front of middle, i was at first slip so had a reasonable view. The umpire who was the club's president and league secretary said it was missing leg.

They went on to win the game in the next over.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Jun 2008, 18:27
One time i was playing cricket on this oval near bushland in a surban environment.

Anyway these kids had been playing around this grass/bush type environment when all of a sudden this fire starts.

In minutes this fire is up and burning, anyway these kids come running out and screaming "There's a f*ucking fire", as these flames reached up into the trees, these kids had obviously been mucking around and started this fire by accident. THese kids wanted us to help put it out, ____s me how they expected us to do that, anyway the firetruck came and put it out, then when it was leaving its back feels feel into a storm drain thingy and the truck got stuck.

Gunnar Longshanks
24 Jun 2008, 23:41
One time i was playing cricket on this oval near bushland in a surban environment.

Anyway these kids had been playing around this grass/bush type environment when all of a sudden this fire starts.

In minutes this fire is up and burning, anyway these kids come running out and screaming "There's a f*ucking fire", as these flames reached up into the trees, these kids had obviously been mucking around and started this fire by accident. THese kids wanted us to help put it out, ____s me how they expected us to do that, anyway the firetruck came and put it out, then when it was leaving its back feels feel into a storm drain thingy and the truck got stuck.Any other disturbing tales from your childhood?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jun 2008, 00:26
IT was during school cricket, always sticks in the memory due to this fire starting up and these kids screaming out to us while we just kept playing.

peternorth
25 Jun 2008, 11:50
playing year 7 school cricket in england in 1990. coach tells us when the captain comes out to bat we have to clap him on.

that and telling me to apologise and check if the batsman was ok after i bowled a beamer (accidentally)

lifelike_
25 Jun 2008, 12:13
Played cricket in under 14s with a kid who could only be described as soft.

We dominated the season, only losing one game, which coincidentally was the only game in which he went out, and he ended up averaging something ridiculous like 350 in the regular season (despite this, we weren't a one man team).

So anyway, when we all turned up for training the night before the semi final we were told that we were playing the team that we'd lost to earlier in the year. Training went as expected and the next day we all turned up in our whites.

Except for said kid. He turned up in trackies claiming he was 'sick' and that he wouldn't be able to play. Unsurprisingly, nobody bought it.

How anyone could deliberately miss a final so they could protect their average is beyond me.

Adrian Shelton
25 Jun 2008, 12:23
Boycott board

saj_21
25 Jun 2008, 14:23
Ricky Ponting crying after Pratt ran him out at Trent Bridge .I was literally yards away and loving it

Englands performance in 2006-07 ashes series!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 Jun 2008, 18:14
Played cricket in under 14s with a kid who could only be described as soft.

We dominated the season, only losing one game, which coincidentally was the only game in which he went out, and he ended up averaging something ridiculous like 350 in the regular season (despite this, we weren't a one man team).

So anyway, when we all turned up for training the night before the semi final we were told that we were playing the team that we'd lost to earlier in the year. Training went as expected and the next day we all turned up in our whites.

Except for said kid. He turned up in trackies claiming he was 'sick' and that he wouldn't be able to play. Unsurprisingly, nobody bought it.

How anyone could deliberately miss a final so they could protect their average is beyond me.

Unfortunately, that seems to be the way of junior cricket, people play for themselves. When i played junior cricket i found that out of a team of 11 or 12, there would be 5 or 6 players that would do everything. Normally these top 5 players opened both the batting and bowling as well as occupying 2nd and 3rd drop in both batting and bowling.

So basically the other guys in the team got the odd hit and had to sit in the field. I used to get a bat and a bowl but i used to feel sorry for the other people who batted at 8 and didnt get a bowl, the fact these guys kept turning up to play and come to training was credit to them.

Once i got to higher levels of cricket, representative and First XI cricket for school i found that the general format of cricket teams was adhered to. In that the top 5 batsmen rarely bowled, maybe one or 2 would fill in here and there, but generally roles were clearly defined. For this reason i have always felt that cricket will struggle against sports like soccer at junior level.

Power21
25 Jun 2008, 18:46
playing year 7 school cricket in england in 1990. coach tells us when the captain comes out to bat we have to clap him on.

that and telling me to apologise and check if the batsman was ok after i bowled a beamer (accidentally)

Gotta say i agree with your coach on both accounts.

I always thought you had to, or atleast it is approriate, to clap the captain in, and ofcours you apologise after bowling a beamer, a bouncer is a different story.

peternorth
25 Jun 2008, 22:10
Gotta say i agree with your coach on both accounts.

I always thought you had to, or atleast it is approriate, to clap the captain in, and ofcours you apologise after bowling a beamer, a bouncer is a different story.

nah, bloody poms!!

year after came back here and played for the school. no clapping the captain but yes apologising for a beamer was fair enough.

anyway, the coach in UK was prob still bitter that we'd just won the ashes and an aussie was opening the bowling for his team

eth-dog
26 Jun 2008, 16:38
some random from the other team (didn't even know him, or do anything) just came up punched me.

RooBuoy
26 Jun 2008, 18:55
Collingwood's decision would have to rate up there.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
26 Jun 2008, 18:59
Another time one guy from our cricket team back in under 14's caught a full on catch in his wide brimmed hat in a proper game.

This ball got hit up from the batsmen, and this guy at mid-wicket took his hat off and caught this ball in his hat.

Disgraceful.

patsmith
26 Jun 2008, 19:17
Another time one guy from our cricket team back in under 14's caught a full on catch in his wide brimmed hat in a proper game.

This ball got hit up from the batsmen, and this guy at mid-wicket took his hat off and caught this ball in his hat.

Disgraceful.

Dead ball, five runs to the batting team.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
26 Jun 2008, 19:32
Dead ball, five runs to the batting team and a pissed off bowler.

Quotes for completeness and accuracy.

magoo
27 Jun 2008, 00:17
Hansie C

potatomasher
27 Jun 2008, 01:21
Had this guy I was playing with once who got out in the first couple of overs of the game to an edge to the keeper, which according to everyone except for him was an obvious edge, and he was furious and refused to walk for about 15 minutes. For the rest of the innings he was yelling at the fieldsmen saying stuff like "why wasn't that one out?" (with a colourful assortment of expletives) and just being a general embarrassment. Then when the keeper who caught him came in to bat (this kid was about 12, playing in an open age competition), he insisted on fielding about 3 metres away from him and sledging the crap through him. Our captain had had enough, so he told him to shut up and go to fine leg. Instead he just walked off to his car and drove home. Didn't turn up to another training/game all season. Shame really, because our numbers were that low that he got named in the next week's game, so we were a man down that game.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
27 Jun 2008, 14:16
That guy sounds like a disgrace.

Made4September
28 Jun 2008, 20:27
Had this guy I was playing with once who got out in the first couple of overs of the game to an edge to the keeper, which according to everyone except for him was an obvious edge, and he was furious and refused to walk for about 15 minutes. For the rest of the innings he was yelling at the fieldsmen saying stuff like "why wasn't that one out?" (with a colourful assortment of expletives) and just being a general embarrassment. Then when the keeper who caught him came in to bat (this kid was about 12, playing in an open age competition), he insisted on fielding about 3 metres away from him and sledging the crap through him. Our captain had had enough, so he told him to shut up and go to fine leg. Instead he just walked off to his car and drove home. Didn't turn up to another training/game all season. Shame really, because our numbers were that low that he got named in the next week's game, so we were a man down that game.

Id rather play a man down, infact, i've done just that many times. "if you don't want to be here, p*** off home"

More Enjoyable, these people aren't worth your effort or time of day :)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
28 Jun 2008, 21:14
I remember playing in games when coaches of some of the sides used to umpire, fair dinkum, some of these umpires were disgraceful, some were straight out of texas and just used to fire batsmen out.

I remember playing and basically you couldn't let the ball hit your pads if you were remotely in front of the stumps then you'd be given out with hesitation.

I remember playing a leg glange and the ball hitting by pad and going down to fine leg and somehow i was given out LBW. My uncle was down to watch from Brisbane who helps manage grade competitions up there, and he said the decision was a disgrace and he couldn't believe that coaches umpire games.

aaronm46
29 Jun 2008, 01:27
the day when we needed 1 run to win off the last ball and i got hit in the nuts and couldnt run through for the single

Team Mo'
29 Jun 2008, 01:55
I remember playing in games when coaches of some of the sides used to umpire, fair dinkum, some of these umpires were disgraceful, some were straight out of texas and just used to fire batsmen out.

I remember playing and basically you couldn't let the ball hit your pads if you were remotely in front of the stumps then you'd be given out with hesitation.

I remember playing a leg glange and the ball hitting by pad and going down to fine leg and somehow i was given out LBW. My uncle was down to watch from Brisbane who helps manage grade competitions up there, and he said the decision was a disgrace and he couldn't believe that coaches umpire games.you think that's bad...

We had OUR captain umpiring whilst we were batting. Some guy is in and the bowler is coming right-arm around the wicket with a massive sling action. So first ball he gets his on pads about knee high up and our captain gives it the slow rudi keurzton finger with out hesitation .The other team barely appealed is was so bad.

Safe to say he was not well liked from the on:thumbsd:

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
29 Jun 2008, 02:15
you think that's bad...

We had OUR captain umpiring whilst we were batting. Some guy is in and the bowler is coming right-arm around the wicket with a massive sling action. So first ball he gets his on pads about knee high up and our captain gives it the slow rudi keurzton finger with out hesitation .The other team barely appealed is was so bad.

Also, i remember one umpire told one of our team-mates that he always gives 2 LBW's an innings, i presume to make it look like his doing a fair job, i wouldnt have a clue anyway.

That guy your talking about just seems to be one of those guys that loves the fact an umpire can fire guys out.

Also, i remember one game we played was spread out over 2 weekends which is quite normal. However, we batted first and set a target, so the other team was batting at the end of day 1, and then they proceeded to roll the pitch apaprently for the next week.

potatomasher
29 Jun 2008, 02:45
you think that's bad...

I had a coach once who loved to be like that. Made sure the other team thought he was wonderfully fair by giving them all the decisions. It's awesome when you get one that cheats for you though, I had one the year after that would give the dodgy decisions our way and just didn't care. Was fantastic - regardless of what the other teams thought of us.

Ebert80
29 Jun 2008, 03:05
The Alderman incident when he suffered his shoulder injury.

Hoggy
29 Jun 2008, 13:13
Worst decision I've copped is I went up for an lbw appeal, got given not out so I asked why, and the umpire told me that it was too low.

This same umpire, a couple of years later, told our captain that we weren't allowed to walk in with the bowler (it was about 36 degrees as well so our patience was wearing thin too).

Another time Diamond Creek passed us at about 2.30 on the second day, and it had gotten to 37.8 degrees (38 is the cut off), they decided to bat on til tea coz one of their bats was close to a ton, so that's fair enough. Anyway they made us go back out there after tea for batting practice (this is the season before last, we were crap, our ground was being resurfaced so we had our last 7 games away, the whole season was a right off). At about 4pm one of our blokes clearly took a catch over the line, and celebrated, was obviously given not out, and this caused more of a ruckus, so our captain locked the rooms on them. Then as I'm standing at deep mid wicket in the scorching heat, I hear "____ ya's, stay out there til 6pm". Fair to say a lot of heads dropped.

Funniest disgraceful moment I've heard about is someone from our club that got suspended for threatening to kill an umpire, went to play a few games for some club around the Port Melbourne region where they all play under fake names coz they are all suspended, they were apparently the cesspool of humanity playing. Anyway one of the blokes got a dodgy LBW, so he went off the ground, got in his car, drove onto the ground and smashed the stumps up with his car.

Dujon11
29 Jun 2008, 13:56
England losing a whole day's play when in a winning position in Pakistan because that cheat of an umpire Shakoor Rana wouldn't take the field until Gatting apologised.

I believe this is the incident your referring to..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2V9xnMvgO0A

2nd dismissal is a disgrace, the ball is turning miles past off and the umpire triggers the batsman out before the bowler has appealed. Very, very low act.

carn tigez
29 Jun 2008, 14:02
I had a coach once who loved to be like that. Made sure the other team thought he was wonderfully fair by giving them all the decisions. It's awesome when you get one that cheats for you though, I had one the year after that would give the dodgy decisions our way and just didn't care. Was fantastic - regardless of what the other teams thought of us.

I disagree, i prefer having a fair umpire if they are from your team because if you win a game you want the respect that goes with it, and also that generally means the other teams' umpire will favour their side

King Elvis
29 Jun 2008, 23:56

I had one as well, when I was opening, he gave me out LBW when I both edged it, and it was going down leg - I stood their stunned for a few seconds; my mate batting down the other end could clearly be heard saying, "Are you ____ing kidding?"

I told him to get ____ed, walked off, and then gave him a spray when he came in at the change of innings.

Definitely wasn't proud of it, and felt terrible about it afterwards, but this guy just pissed me off; his kid played, and wasn't bad, but was about the 5th or 6th player, so his dad made a hobby of criticising those of us who were better.

On a funny note, following the awesome dude who drove his car through the stumps, we were playing away once, and one of our bats hit two balls over the fence - one into a guys yard, the next smashed a window. He came out filthy, we apologised and said the club would look after it.

Come back to finish the game the next week, and (we assumed it was him) the pitch had been literally dug up.

OzBomber
30 Jun 2008, 00:01
Xavier Marshall blocking a free hit. :thumbsu::D

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
30 Jun 2008, 00:07
Come back to finish the game the next week, and (we assumed it was him) the pitch had been literally dug up.

____ing hell, the ground must have been the size of a postage stamp?

Would be a classic though.

I used to play regularly on a ground that was located right near a street of houses. Far enough away to ensure that no balls would hit the houses, but close enough to hear people.

Anyway, just about every game when you'd be in teh field one house would have domestics. You'd hear people swearing at the neighbours or anyone. Car used to hoon up the street and people would beep teh horns and shit, and usually yell out stuff like "Bowling Warnie" or shit like that.

One day we rocked up to play and bits of this houses fence had been ripped up and planks were missing and lying on the road. Someone said that there had been a big intra-neighbour brawl in the street.

lifelike_
30 Jun 2008, 00:51
Unfortunately, that seems to be the way of junior cricket, people play for themselves. When i played junior cricket i found that out of a team of 11 or 12, there would be 5 or 6 players that would do everything. Normally these top 5 players opened both the batting and bowling as well as occupying 2nd and 3rd drop in both batting and bowling.

That's how things went when I was playing juniors as well. Fortunately later on when I was playing 14s/16s we had 8-9 people who were handy with either the bat or the ball, so the 2-3 that we were carrying were able to get a decent bat or bowl without it having a huge impact on the outcome of the match.

So basically the other guys in the team got the odd hit and had to sit in the field. I used to get a bat and a bowl but i used to feel sorry for the other people who batted at 8 and didnt get a bowl, the fact these guys kept turning up to play and come to training was credit to them.

Yeah I started off like that. Batted at eight or nine and normally only had 3-4 overs to make a quick 10-15 if I was lucky, or only bowled two or three overs at fifth or sixth change. Thankfully I managed to improve pretty quickly and found myself taking the new ball.

Had massive respect for the kids who kept turning up, even in the 16s. Takes a fair bit of dedication to turn up every week knowing they'll be lucky to bat above seven, or bowl more than three or four overs.

Hoggy
30 Jun 2008, 10:09
____ing hell, the ground must have been the size of a postage stamp?

Would be a classic though.

I used to play regularly on a ground that was located right near a street of houses. Far enough away to ensure that no balls would hit the houses, but close enough to hear people.

Anyway, just about every game when you'd be in teh field one house would have domestics. You'd hear people swearing at the neighbours or anyone. Car used to hoon up the street and people would beep teh horns and shit, and usually yell out stuff like "Bowling Warnie" or shit like that.

One day we rocked up to play and bits of this houses fence had been ripped up and planks were missing and lying on the road. Someone said that there had been a big intra-neighbour brawl in the street.

Sounds like our 3rds/4ths ground.

One time our 4ths turned up to play, and the police told everyone to ____ off basically, because bikies had decided they didn't like someone ____ing their wife, and decided to take to him with a chain saw on the ground, and then strapped him to their car and rammed him into a brick wall at the baseball end of the ground.

Apparently got 2.5 years for involuntary manslaughter.

SydneyDon
30 Jun 2008, 13:56
We had a cranky 60ish woman who would regularly walk across our ground (no fence) during play as some sort of silly protest that we were using up a public park blah blah blah. After gently explaining that we rent the ground for the day and for safety reasons could she walk around the outside she didn't accept this. So we had this running thing with her every second Saturday where we did nothing more than just yell at her to get off the ground. Obviously play would stall as she deliberately took her time.

Until the day one of our young bucks waiting to bat picked up an old ball and with an almighty swing let it fly in her general direction. Like slow motion it arched toward her, thankfully it hit her on the bounce (in the back). She screamed a torrent of abuse but never bothered us after that.
The best part was the reaction of all of us and the fielders, many who went to ground laughing. Not disgraceful, funny at the time, but if that ball had hit her in the head on the full...:o

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
30 Jun 2008, 15:44
There are some awesome stories on this thread.

thegreenmachine
30 Jun 2008, 17:12
The ball tampering incident and Pakistan walking off which resulted in the only ever forfeited test match and the treatment Darrell Hair received afterwards. Hello, there were TWO umpires there.

OzBomber
30 Jun 2008, 19:55
Mick Lewis against South Africa. :thumbsd:

Marklar_33
2 Jul 2008, 21:30
Was playing once and a guy batting didnt realise the keeper had come up to the stumps to the opening bowler. The guy was batting out of his crease, missed a half-volley and heard what he thought was the death rattle, so started walking. At this time, the keeper takes the bails off. The batsman, obvoiusly shitty that he was stumped while walking, procedes to throw, hit and kick his helmet all the way to the boundary

That silly young batsman was me...

Ive seen worse though, the first time I went to watch my current club to decide whether I would play with them, one of our bats took a flying kick at the guy fielding at midwicket which caused an all-in. Didnt deter me though and havent seen a punch (or foot) thrown since

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Jul 2008, 21:45
Another thing was what one of my team-mates did.

This bowler was known around as being very quick for our age group about 7 years back.

Anyway, this bowler was hyped up by everyone that it got to the stage when you thought you'd be lucky to survive facing him.

Anyway, this guy was quite quick, but this left handed late order batsmen was facing him, he proceeds to shoulder arms to this bowler and has his off stump removed from the ground.

On the walk off this guy is yelling out to us that the bowler "is not that quick", just looked funny for someone to say that after he shoulders arms and has his off stump knocked over.

TheMightyPies
2 Jul 2008, 21:52
Ireland!

goodie
3 Jul 2008, 21:52
bloke on 99, his last game of cricket ever ran a single in the last over of the day to bring up his ton, yet the umpire (a player from the other team, they had a gudge for years and years) called him one short ON A SINGLE then called stumps!!!! bloke never made the 100 in his last match. quite sad needless to say the umpire doesnt play anymore either as he copped it for years in the comp.

saj_21
4 Jul 2008, 08:53
As i played in a lower grade there is never enough umpires to go around, so we ahve a player from the batting team who does the job. I was iven out LBW by my "team mates" three times that year.