Kangaroos
StKilda
IN THAT ORDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Astro_
21 Jun 2008, 00:21
Who would I go for?

I would go for Andrew Demetriou and slap him one.

gothedogs1
21 Jun 2008, 00:24
Who would I go for?

I would go for Andrew Demetriou and slap him one.

True

NagoyaDog
21 Jun 2008, 00:30
Initially I would go through all the stages of loss, like Homer did when he was told he was going to die of Fugu (blow fish) poisoning:)

Actually not all the stages, I would remain angry and never get over it.

I reckon I would hate the AFL:mad: Stuff the other clubs.

Perhaps spend less time on bigfooty:p

BBBaz
21 Jun 2008, 00:34
Initially I would go through all the stages of loss, like Homer did when he was told he was going to die of Fugu (blow fish) poisoning:)

Actually not all the stages, I would remain angry and never get over it.

I reckon I would hate the AFL:mad: Stuff the other clubs.

Perhaps spend less time on bigfooty:p

Agree - there is no 'other' club. If the Bulldogs go then so do I. I guess it would free up the weekends though....

Jean Claude Vas Deferens
21 Jun 2008, 00:35
Would never spend a cent on the AFL again if the Doggies were wound up.

Park Orchards juniors where one of my sons plays and maybe Warrandyte or North Ringwood seniors in the Eastern Footy League.

hujsh
21 Jun 2008, 00:37
If not around=never existed then the cats (it's in my DNA)

If not around=AFL being a bitch then i'd root for teams to lose.

And would burn the AFL HEADQUARTERS DOWN

doggiesin08
21 Jun 2008, 00:55
I'd hope the Footscray Bulldogs formed a team in the WRFL and played at the Whitten Oval. I would then follow that team. Would increase my chance of playing for the Bulldogs if that happened.

dogs den mum
21 Jun 2008, 03:14
I'd be heartbroken but would follow the TASSIE team which would be up and running by then and buying former Doggies players.:rolleyes:

If that doesn't happen, then I would no longer be following AFL at all.

lindsay_bulldogs
21 Jun 2008, 09:24
I would image most people would follow no one. However like the Fitzroy people most ended up going to the footy again because there kids follow a team and through that they end up following that team. Probably follow whoever the kids liked.

the Dogs Bollocks
21 Jun 2008, 09:44
I would image most people would follow no one. However like the Fitzroy people most ended up going to the footy again because there kids follow a team and through that they end up following that team. Probably follow whoever the kids liked.

l am ex Fitzroy. Takes a bit to get over it.
l did not buy my first Dogs membership until 2001.

l would probably prefer the dogs to merg with North than close up shop for good.

Would probably end up following who my son followed. MAYBE!

OZZA
21 Jun 2008, 09:59
I would have to still pick an AFL team to follow I guess - at least someone to watch regularly - just nowhere near as passionately.

Probably Geelong becasue the missus is a Cat supporter - or possibly North cos a couple of mates play there.

But it wouldn't ever be the same, and I think you could only ever be passionate about the team you're 'born into'.

torq
21 Jun 2008, 10:08
Maybe, eventually, Geelong. But I'd spend most weekends updating a scrapbook of newspaper clippings following the sudden disappearance of the AFL CEO.

GetDimmaBack
21 Jun 2008, 10:11
Without the Doggies, I would probably follow the Coodabeen Champions. At least taking the p*** out of football would still be fun...

Couldn't support anyone with any passion, but my wife is from Geelong so we would probably watch them occasionally. Membership? Probably not.

A mate of mine was a passionate Fitzroy supporter who always loved the game. Hasn't seen a match live or on TV since they "merged". Totally understand his reaction.

Without the Dogs, footy would be as interesting as synchronised swimming. The powers-that-be need to understand that footy is tribal, and that the clubs are as important to followers as the game itself.

Will they ever grasp this simple and obvious fact? Oakley had no idea, hopefully Andy gets it...

Dogs_r_barking
21 Jun 2008, 13:46
I picked the bulldogs when I arrived from NZ 28 years ago in July, still don't know why I picked them - but I did. In the deepest darkest moments of 2003 and 2004 I toyed with the idea of supporting another team - but just couldn't bring myself too and I am being rewarded for my loyalty now:D

My son is an Essendon supporter, and when he was younger I was impressed with the great program they had for the kids back then (90's). They really had their sh*& together well before us at growing the membership base - great meet the team days with lunch and everything thrown in along with a great junior membership pack. In comparison to my doggies son who got a comic and a sticker:rolleyes:

SonOfScray
21 Jun 2008, 14:06
Without the Doggies, I would probably follow the Coodabeen Champions. At least taking the p*** out of football would still be fun...

Couldn't support anyone with any passion, but my wife is from Geelong so we would probably watch them occasionally. Membership? Probably not.

A mate of mine was a passionate Fitzroy supporter who always loved the game. Hasn't seen a match live or on TV since they "merged". Totally understand his reaction.

Without the Dogs, footy would be as interesting as synchronised swimming. The powers-that-be need to understand that footy is tribal, and that the clubs are as important to followers as the game itself.

Will they ever grasp this simple and obvious fact? Oakley had no idea, hopefully Andy gets it...
Thats it, I don't follow the game, or the League, I follow my Club. Thats where the emotion, tradition and history lies. Can't believe that this concept is becoming more and foreign to people.

FWIW, if there was no Dogs, there'd be no Aussie Rules for me. It'd free up a lot of time to participate and keep my soccer team up and running.

Snagboy
21 Jun 2008, 14:09
I would follow a local team; & watch my old tapes of the Doggies.
Could not follow anyone else.

( PS:- probably put out a contract on the AFL commissioners)

BC013
21 Jun 2008, 14:49
If they merged with a Melbourne based team I'd RELUCTANTLY follow them.

If they folded or moved interstate i'd follow the Melbourne Super 14 Rugby team (when they come on board).

Kids would also be forbidden from following an AFL team - would hammer other codes into them just for spite.:D

Poptart
21 Jun 2008, 14:50
Williamstown.

I'd still watch the AFL, but as a neutral supporter.

anthj
21 Jun 2008, 16:50
Williamstown, I would not support another AFL team.

Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
21 Jun 2008, 17:00
I would Protest.

HAB54
21 Jun 2008, 18:22
Melbourne Victory. I would also spend all of my free time attempting to destroy the AFL and become a member of the AFL(Anti Football League). I would never be be able to watch a gameof aussie rules again.

whythelongface
21 Jun 2008, 19:42
Queens Park Rangers

The Boy From Brasil
21 Jun 2008, 19:52
Neutral Supporter.

AngeloPetraglia
21 Jun 2008, 20:11
I don't even want to contemplate it.

Life without the Bulldogs ... now that would be a sad existance. :(

Fossie 32
21 Jun 2008, 21:20
Phillip Island and Melbourne Victory

Roy Fitzlion
21 Jun 2008, 21:59
A mate of mine was a passionate Fitzroy supporter who always loved the game. Hasn't seen a match live or on TV since they "merged". Totally understand his reaction.Just don't let those pricks at the AFL kill your club like they killed ours!!

Buy your memberships!!!! (1300 GO DOGS ;))

mcglee
21 Jun 2008, 22:04
If we were shafted interstate and stayed our own entity with the same players, I'd watched them in Melbourne.

Any other scenario ( merger, death of club) I would say goodbye to football and save $1000 a year in memberships, petrol and food.

Metal
22 Jun 2008, 11:12
Quite happy to follow a relocated Bulldogs a la Sydney Swans provided there was a proactive link to our history in Victoria.

Next...would follow a merged term but it wouldn't be the same.

If no Dogs at all, then no AFL for me. Probably find a team to follow in the VFL.

OldSchool
22 Jun 2008, 11:32
If no Dogs at all, then no AFL for me. Probably find a team to follow in the VFL.

Same for me. I have really enjoyed going to Werribee and now Williamstown over the last few years so I think I would just follow the Seagulls and leave the AFL alone.

Larry6
22 Jun 2008, 11:57
I can't imagine myself following any other team so I'd probably save my money and find another interest.

GetDimmaBack
22 Jun 2008, 13:41
Phillip Island and Melbourne Victory
Of course, Fossie...how big would the PI bandwagon be then?
Too big for the club to handle!

Fossie 32
22 Jun 2008, 21:01
Of course, Fossie...how big would the PI bandwagon be then?
Too big for the club to handle!

:)

Plus I could still wear my Doggies gear. :p

higgggo-19
22 Jun 2008, 21:04
i wouldnt go for any other team.
once a bulldogs member, always a bulldogs member!

GetDimmaBack
22 Jun 2008, 23:13
:)

Plus I could still wear my Doggies gear. :p

Touche...

#1 Dogs Fan
23 Jun 2008, 13:16
Probably Carlton or Kangaroos