View Full Version : These umpires suck

Shaucob_Burjan
21 Jun 2008, 16:47
S. Burgers constantly being held in the middle, unwhistled.

Simmonds elbows Gray in the chest in our forward 50 during a crumb. unwhistled.

Rodan caught holding the ball despite instantaneously being gang tackled and dumped and having no opportunities.

Some richmond player was given a free 50m in front because P. Burgoyne ran backwards?

wtf?

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 17:31
I don't think it is the umps that suck.

Boak, Logan, Shaun, Peter, Carlile are all having Barry Crockers.

At least Chad has an excuse for not being able to get in the play. Shaun has become the laziest footballer going around. Two of his efforts in the second quarter were plain pathetic.

When Brogan goes away from the centresquare, we get beaten. Simple as that.

PAFCsince1870
21 Jun 2008, 17:53
Over in Melbourne this weekend, and the umpires have nothing at all to do with this

We are ____en pathetic.

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 17:58
Have Wilson, Shaun, Chad deserved their places in this team on recent performances?

Wilbur is being slaughtered!

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:01
How many missed tackles have we had?

PAFCsince1870
21 Jun 2008, 18:06
Should be Peter Burgoyne's last year I think.

gbear
21 Jun 2008, 18:09
I think that Port sucks rather than the umpires. FFS they are playing Richmond at home. I remember when we use to thrash the pants off Richmond not so long ago:(

I say we tank the rest of the season for priority draft picks:eek:

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:41
Umps have helped us alot in this last quarter.

Robbie is doing his best to get us going.

Too little too late?
Hope not.

Ron
21 Jun 2008, 18:42
Bit rich complaining about the umpires especially after that Motlop push in the back.

How the umpires didn't pay that against Motlop i'll never know.

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:46
Dare to dream?

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:48
____ing hell.

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:49
Why didn't Focko man up ____ing Bowden?

PAFCsince1870
21 Jun 2008, 18:50
Umm . . our Board has members mate.

I just thought I'd help out with the numbers.

Hope you get carded mate, and banned from this board too :D

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 18:51
Boak provided some of the piss poorest efforts ever.

Shaun did precious little when it mattered.

Ebert refused to man up anyone.

Tackle after tackle went missed.

Best players:
Brogan, Cassisi (although Tuck played well), Pettigrew, Rodan, Motlop.

And relieve Tredrea from captaincy. DT he doesn't lift when he needs to.

Instate Broges into the captaincy from now on.

Santos L Helper
21 Jun 2008, 18:55

Best players:

Pettigrew? Which game were we watching? :confused:

Power King
21 Jun 2008, 18:56
we didnt lose the game to umpiring

i thought the level of umpiring was your average... a couple of piss poor decisions you usually see but nothing that meant we shouldn't have won the match

motlop smacking the ground near the end for not being paid a free, i can understand his frustration, but in the moment youve gotta get over it and worry about chasing/tackling... that smacking of the ground cost him 1-2 seconds, and afterwards when he chased the tiger he applied the physical contact just as the ball was being kicked... makes you wonder what could've been if he didn't waste those couple of seconds... can't blame him though he was a gun again today

PAFCsince1870
21 Jun 2008, 18:56

I love him, but one of the most overrated players on this board, easily.

Best players:

Agree with all that, Brogan was best for us, easily. Give him the 3 years, NOW.

Chad to have surgery this week.

PAFC66
21 Jun 2008, 19:00

Rodan caught holding the ball despite instantaneously being gang tackled and dumped and having no opportunities.

Some richmond player was given a free 50m in front because P. Burgoyne ran backwards?

wtf?

Wakeup idiot....

We suck.

Wouldn't complain if we were in front.

Go support crows.

Dimix1
21 Jun 2008, 19:06

wtf?

Sure they do.. Espically when your last 2 goals where from free kicks :rolleyes:

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 19:18

Best players:

Are you trying to make a joke?

TigerHunter
21 Jun 2008, 19:20
Umpiring was pretty bad, i thought the only reason you guys got back into the game was because of the umpiring... oh and that stupid tempo football bollocks.

PJ Power
21 Jun 2008, 19:25
Are you trying to make a joke?

Correct me if I'm wrong - I figured Pettigrew was on Nathan Brown for the last three quarters. Brown had very little impact after quarter time and the Grew made some great saves late in the game by getting a fist in.

In contrast Logan was thrashed in the first half by Morton, who did an even bigger job on Wilson after halftime.

Carlile played a shocker - Hughes led him a merry dance.

Chaplin was poor.

I thought Pettigrew held his man - I'm happy to be told I'm wrong, but tell me who played on Brown, because he deserves some credit.

tiggytrain
21 Jun 2008, 19:28
Stiff not to win boys with the treatment you mob got

TigerHunter
21 Jun 2008, 19:33
If you can't admit you have no idea, then go back to your own board :thumbsu:

What am i speaking to a 12 year old ? Whats next ? Your dad will beat up my dad ?

Casting aspersions as to what i know and dont know, when you clearly wouldnt know me from a bar of soap is even more ridiculous.

The threads about umpiring, which any decent person could have seen - went ports way. The stats even back that up :rolleyes:

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 19:34
Correct me if I'm wrong - I figured Pettigrew ...
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Pettigrew is a tall and we had to move Chad down there to help out and thus had no tall forwards at all since Tredrea was playing outside the 50.
Not good enough to be a tall back, not good enough to be a tall forward. Why is he in the side?

L_J_T
21 Jun 2008, 19:36
I dont think you should be complaining about the umpiring...they almost won you the game in the last quarter because thats the only chance you had.

P.A.F.C
21 Jun 2008, 19:38
What am i speaking to a 12 year old ? Whats next ? Your dad will beat up my dad ?

Casting aspersions as to what i know and dont know, when you clearly wouldnt know me from a bar of soap is even more ridiculous.

The threads about umpiring, which any decent person could have seen - went ports way. The stats even back that up :rolleyes:

I wasn't aware that champion data had a bullshit free kick statistic.

Santos L Helper
21 Jun 2008, 19:40

I don't care if you come here for a bit of a crack, ____ knows we deserve it losing to Richmond, but don't start using terms like "casting aspersions" and then use a rolleyes smilie to get your point across. It makes you look like a 12 year old who wants to make sure we understand you're being sarcastic.

Dimix1
21 Jun 2008, 19:40
I wasn't aware that champion data had a bullshit free kick statistic.

It lost count half way through the last quater...

relapse
21 Jun 2008, 19:49
I listened on 5AA and they said on there that Port got a very good run from the umpires today, I didnt watch much on the game, but there was a comment from Francou. He said it early in the last quarter when the Port supporters booed an umpire's decision and he said they cant complain too much as Port have gotten a good run from them today.

Bojangles17
21 Jun 2008, 20:01
I was going to say same thing, Motlop being awarded mark to start the game, with his hands all over back of opponent, Browny having head ripped off in front of goal, ignored, umps sucked alright:mad:

Rory
21 Jun 2008, 20:04
How Gary Fila got AFL listed is beyond me, he was just awful all round today. Wasn't the umpires fault we lost.

Macca19
21 Jun 2008, 20:15
Correct me if I'm wrong - I figured Pettigrew was on Nathan Brown for the last three quarters. Brown had very little impact after quarter time and the Grew made some great saves late in the game by getting a fist in.

In contrast Logan was thrashed in the first half by Morton, who did an even bigger job on Wilson after halftime.

Carlile played a shocker - Hughes led him a merry dance.

Chaplin was poor.

I thought Pettigrew held his man - I'm happy to be told I'm wrong, but tell me who played on Brown, because he deserves some credit.

Sorry mate but youre wrong.

Pettigrew spent a lot of the first term on Morton. He then got absolutely pantsed by Hughes after that.

By my count, he had at least 8 goals kicked on him.

gopower
21 Jun 2008, 21:36
Nothing wrong with the umpires tonight, I can only remember one glaringly bad decision, when Newman clearly pushed someone (I think Motlop) in the back in the 50 and there was no free. But on umpiring in general, reading the footy record at the game today I learned that we have the lowest amount of goals from frees in the AFL so far, and I don't know about this year but last year we conceded the 2nd most goals from frees in the comp, so that's obviously not good.

gopower
21 Jun 2008, 21:47
How Gary Fila got AFL listed is beyond me, he was just awful all round today. Wasn't the umpires fault we lost.

Gary Fila and all other AFL umpires >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Pimply teenagers umpiring U6 games >>> Matthew Nicholls.

P.S. My dad knows Gary Fila, and he's actually a Port supporter. I might be biased but I don't think he did much wrong today.

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 23:50
I listened on 5AA and they said on there that Port got a very good run from the umpires today, I didnt watch much on the game, but there was a comment from Francou. He said it early in the last quarter when the Port supporters booed an umpire's decision and he said they cant complain too much as Port have gotten a good run from them today.
Fair comment IMO.

*PAF
21 Jun 2008, 23:58

Pettigrew spent a lot of the first term on Morton. He then got absolutely pantsed by Hughes after that.

It wasn't so much the goals that got kicked on him, it was more the attitude or habit of standing on the side of a contest waiting for the ball to come out.
Very similar to the training photo of Lonie posted by Pete. If somebody could take snaps of today’s game off the replay there will be heaps of very similar ones but with Pettigrew instead of Lonie.

This one

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg176/PWIN/pwin2/11th_june_200813.jpg

Ron The Bear
22 Jun 2008, 01:49
Gary Fila and all other AFL umpires >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Pimply teenagers umpiring U6 games >>> Matthew Nicholls.

We had that bloke last week. Buffoon.

PJ Power
22 Jun 2008, 02:17

Thanks Macca.

I had to watch the game from the box as I had work committments this evening.

Hadn't appreciated they were the matchups.

Looked like Carlile had Hughes and Logan and Wilson got Morton.
I saw the Grew make some good spoils on Brown late in the game and assumed that was the matchup that kept Brown quiet.

Who did the job on Brown then? Tightened right up after quarter time.

Burninglevi
22 Jun 2008, 02:25
no, the umpiring seemed quite bad with the non calls. Tredders got his head ripped off with no free. mottors used the hands in the back and it wasn't paid. gray looked like he got pushed (i could see it from the other end of the ground) the ball then came into the tigers fifty and their forward used his hands yet no free against him. Pretty much the hands in the back rule wasn't being paid at all. I thought they tried to square it up at the end.

Umps are too afraid to pay frees in the 50 a lot of the time.

Sandola
22 Jun 2008, 14:10
Just going on how it looked on foxtel, we got an amazingly good run from the umpires, especially in the last quarter. Looked like they were doing everything they could to get us over the line.

I can't remember having seen anything like it. (Another interpretation is possible -- they decided to go very light on both sides as the game tightened up.)

morell
22 Jun 2008, 14:18
We were absolutely blessed in the last qtr.

I saw three head highs on Richmond players go un-whistled, down our end, Logan ducks into one and we have a shot on goal.

L_J_T
25 Jun 2008, 23:10
smartest thing i have heard on this thread, thanks for agreeing.