View Full Version : Awful, just awful

Pages : [1] 2

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 21:42
No other way to describe the effort tonight

Subi should get a big boost next week as Fletcher and Braun line up for them

Pridinator
21 Jun 2008, 21:44
Well at least your not saying your surprised.

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 21:47
Well at least your not saying your surprised.

I expected to get beaten, but this badly? For ____ sake we can't hit a target to save our life

Yes Geelong are crucifying us, but theres no ____ing excuse to not be able to hit a target when our blokes have the ball out in the open.

I'm embarrased by some of the performances tonight

Add Nicoski to the list of players to play for Subi nest week

MaxHunt
21 Jun 2008, 21:50
Can't be accused of tanking now!!! We are just crap. But ive got to give credit to Geelong. It doesnt help playing against a team thats playing as beautifully as the cats are.

Looking forward to seeing what changes Woosha makes in the 2nd half. I want to see him prove that he can make changes on game day that have impact.

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 21:50
Are we still tanking for not picking some of these guys?

Kerrby
21 Jun 2008, 21:52
I feel embarrased.

George_A_Romero
21 Jun 2008, 21:52
I wasn't expecting us to be even remotely competitive tonight and unfortunately I've been proved right...

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 21:54

Damn straight, big lot of ____ing good Braun, Fletcher and Hansen are offering.

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 21:55
Fans are leaving the game in droves at HALF TIME

I don't blame them for not wanting to see this complete load of offal being offered up by the club

MaxHunt
21 Jun 2008, 21:57
Fans are leaving the game in droves at HALF TIME

I don't blame them for not wanting to see this complete load of offal being offered up by the club

I disagree - poor form. We have had it good for a long time. This is the time when we should be supporting the lads.

Isandula
21 Jun 2008, 21:57
It surely hasn't been pleasant viewing, my eyes are sore from those dreadful skills displayed esp from certain experience players.

At least the 2nd qrtr we made an effort even though it didn't show on the score board (& Geelong kicked more goals). The kicks at goals haven't helped, missed a few easy ones but hey Geelong have really demolshed us on the turnovers. :rolleyes:

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 22:00
Serious questions need to be asked about our so called "Senior players"

Braun - Is he up to AFL level anymore?
Fletcher - See above
Nicoski - Struggles to hit a target these days and turns the ball over far too often with poor decision making
Hansen - Doesn't even offer a contest anymore. Sadly lacking match fitness and form
Priddis - Tries hard but his disposal by foot is poor, theres no two ways about it
Stenglein - Never was a big possesion winner but at least he used to shut down his opponent, doesn't even do that anymore. Also in serious danger of being dropped

thecoastingcoaster
21 Jun 2008, 22:03
I'm normally a glass half full supporter.

However, after this disgraceful effort for the club to go forward Fletcher, Braun and Hansen have to go at years end.

Nicoski should never be allowed to kick out from a point as long as his ass is pointing to the ground.

Also it's a necessity for this team to learn to hit targets and tackle properly, respective coaching staff have got to earn their pay checks.:thumbsd:

jaxxon
21 Jun 2008, 22:05
Too many players not having a go, and too many -very- basic skill errors. Pressure is mounting for some of these players to stand up, if not for their careers, for some pride in their performance.

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 22:06
I'm normally a glass half full supporter.

However, after this disgraceful effort for the club to go forward Fletcher, Braun and Hansen have to go at years end.

Nicoski should never be allowed to kick out from a point as long as his ass is pointing to the ground.

Also it's a necessity for this team to learn to hit targets and tackle properly, respective coaching staff have got to earn their pay checks.:thumbsd:

Nicoski shouldn't be allowed to kick the ball, period.

thecoastingcoaster
21 Jun 2008, 22:07
If Worsfold knows anything about coaching Hansen must be removed from FF, for never to return. :mad:

Also somebody has to remove those invisible cement boots it looks like Stenglein is running in.:thumbsd:

MAG87
21 Jun 2008, 22:07
i think we'e gonna be on the bottom of the ladder for more than just this year. we look attrocious.

kane249
21 Jun 2008, 22:10
Geelong Vs 22 painted yellow and blue ____ing traffic cones :mad:

It's a bleeding training drill for them

Lach72
21 Jun 2008, 22:17

No...now you're tanking for playing them ;)

Isandula
21 Jun 2008, 22:19
Ok this is getting awful to watch, just plain dreadful! (but I'll pain it out as usually even though my eyes will dispute)

Really dont know what can be said about this match expect Geelong are 100X better that us. They're killing us terribly!

Just aweful :thumbsd:

Can only hope to break even in the last qrtr, that though looks unlikely :thumbsd:

thecoastingcoaster
21 Jun 2008, 22:22
I hope Rich has strong shoulders!:(

MaxHunt
21 Jun 2008, 22:23
What is really pissing me off is woosha will not flood!!!!! We are getting smashed so why not put more players behind the ball ala sydney but no.... he can be so friggin subborn. These smashings are crap for the young guys confidence.:mad:

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 22:24
What is really pissing me off is woosha will not flood!!!!! We are getting smashed so why not put more players behind the ball ala sydney but no.... he can be so friggin subborn. These smashings are crap for the young guys confidence.:mad:

What's the point? Save some percentage? We needed to do that last year against Port, not this year.

Teach this team a lesson.

Mop
21 Jun 2008, 22:26
Hunter brings it back to a measley 100 pts.

MaxHunt
21 Jun 2008, 22:27
What's the point? Save some percentage? We needed to do that last year against Port, not this year.

Teach this team a lesson.

What lessons will this actually teach them besides losing all faith in their team mate and their own skills?

Crimson King
21 Jun 2008, 22:32
I am seriously confused as to if this is the team that was playing finals football only last year.:confused: ____ me its like half of the team is injured, they are just standing there admiring the show.

A young lad about 183cm and weight 83 kgs looks good.;)

Isandula
21 Jun 2008, 22:33
I dont know whether to laugh or scream??? :confused: :p :mad:

This could get really, really X10 ugly :(

wce_all_da_way
21 Jun 2008, 22:33
I always wanted to be a part of a record.

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 22:35
What lessons will this actually teach them besides losing all faith in their team mate and their own skills?

I don't want the spoon. I also don't think they have any faith left, so nothing to lose there.

If we want the kids to get better at playing at this level, we need to let them try and play the way we want them to learn and use.

weagles_fan
21 Jun 2008, 22:35
Why does Worsfold never get blamed? The skill level surely has something to do with him. What do they do at training? They are skilled players that previously were able to hit targets but not anymore.

thecoastingcoaster
21 Jun 2008, 22:38
Glass and Cox must be rested.

If that results in more hidings, so be it.

E Shed
21 Jun 2008, 22:41
I wonder if this is worse than going down by 8 in a shocker like we did. At least this result has never really been in doubt so you wouldn't have got your hopes up.

jaxxon
21 Jun 2008, 22:41
Not much more to say now. Actions speak louder than words and we have shown nothing. Cox and Glass are struggling, may as well give them both a break/

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 22:42
Not much more to say now. Actions speak louder than words and we have shown nothing. Cox and Glass are struggling, may as well give them both a break/

Rest injured players?! You have to be joking.

Then we are tankers. :rolleyes:

jaxxon
21 Jun 2008, 22:44
People will say we are tanking regardless, whether they play or not. May as not risk permanent damage to get a couple of goals closer a week.

Kram81
21 Jun 2008, 22:45
WOW. Disgraceful effort.

Makka
21 Jun 2008, 22:46

Yeah, they have to be rested. Glass can hardly walk and god knows how Cox is managing to keep going. Are we on our way to our first spoon? We could very well be but there's light at the end of the tunnel of course so we should all be positive for next season.

Crimson King
21 Jun 2008, 22:47
Atleast make the margin less than 95 points.:rolleyes:

jaxxon
21 Jun 2008, 22:52
Hansen :/ That was just bad.

Isandula
21 Jun 2008, 22:58
At least LeCras is going alright, 3 goals not bad when losing way over 100points.

jorel6669
21 Jun 2008, 23:01
Geez, there's some guys who just should never play for the club again. Fletcher, Hansen, Nicoski, Stenglein... Stenglein in particular has been non-existent this year and still gets a game. At least a guy like Stevie Armstrong has a crack compared to some of them.

cruiser
21 Jun 2008, 23:01
4.16!!? Blatant tanking. I'm not even enjoying watching you lose anymore.

williaer
21 Jun 2008, 23:02
I almost want Woosha to just leave and not bother going into the rooms after the game. It's what I'd do in this woeful situation...

Suma
21 Jun 2008, 23:04
Why does Worsfold never get blamed? The skill level surely has something to do with him. What do they do at training? They are skilled players that previously were able to hit targets but not anymore.

Because before this season the team were consistent and could compete with any team. I assure you if this bull____ continues into next season, no one will be safe and no one will be bigger then the club.

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 23:04
At least LeCras is going alright, 3 goals not bad when losing way over 100points.

3 of the 4 goals we kicked is even better.

Kempie
21 Jun 2008, 23:21
And some people think we'll be back in the top four next year :rolleyes:

With which players ? I only saw about 6 Eagles who could honestly be consider AFL level.

Totally gutted by this tonight.

Lion El'Johnson
21 Jun 2008, 23:34
I'll tell you what, McKinley has lightning fast handpasses. Loving them.

apap
21 Jun 2008, 23:38
I know we played bad tonight but Robert wall deadset hates west coast and Fremantle .

EaglesSupporter08
21 Jun 2008, 23:39
I am usually the kind of bloke who likes to savour every moment, but at half time i wanted the game to end. What a disgraceful effort by us, and the thing that Pisses me off is it isn't our rookies leting us down, it's our freakin premiership players, who should be nailing the basics (But aren't) that are letting us down. Pull your ____ing socks up, and start playing footy!

[End rage]

InCase
21 Jun 2008, 23:40
I know we played bad tonight but Robert wall deadset hates west coast and Fremantle .

I think it's just any non-victorian club*

*Obviously not including Sydney, better known in his mind still as South Melbourne, same can probably be said for Fitzroy.

Eagles 4 Mine
21 Jun 2008, 23:41
What a bloody Disgrace I'm a very proud supporter but this is just totally embarrassing.......:mad::mad::mad:

Woosha dude you have to start to face the music if you are saying that we are not tanking mate seriously...........:confused::eek:

MaxHunt
21 Jun 2008, 23:42
why is there always 30 players in our fwd 50....? i know why but what baffles me is why woosha doesnt change his tactics... man on man doesnt seem to be the best style for these kids. i hope im proved wrong.

Makka
22 Jun 2008, 00:03
What a bloody Disgrace I'm a very proud supporter but this is just totally embarrassing.......:mad::mad::mad:

Woosha dude you have to start to face the music if you are saying that we are not tanking mate seriously...........:confused::eek:

So what...you think his instructions are to go out there and make sure 90% or your kicks miss a target? FFS grow up!

dmc82
22 Jun 2008, 00:06
Okay, for what it's worth I don't believe you're tanking, obviously you guys were seriously down tonight and Geelong were seriously up.

You're a proud club and I can't imagine things will be this bad for long.

Kudos to the crowd too, quite good natured all things considered, maybe because they know that things turn around quickly for your club. :thumbsu:

MAG87
22 Jun 2008, 00:08
hansen and lynch really are great arent they. think both need to be dropped. seriously. theyve had time and time again to do their jobs properly and they havent performed. sure lynch last week was ok but for the majority of this season hes been extremely inconsistent. keep him on a wing dont put him forward doesnt provide us anything. if that still doesnt work pack his bags and throw him into the wafl.

hansen as a chf i reckon is finished. kennedy has got it in the bag. sure people will say it was his first performance in the afl after a while and hes a bit tired and unfit. then why in the ____en world do you bring him in then????

nicoski's fall has absolutely disappointed me. not to mention the likes of stenglein, braun and fletcher. its amazing how people would say no judd, no cousins no eagles. its got legitmacy. chick and even rojo did far better things that others havent done this season.

ebert, schofield and brett jones are our shining lights.

injuries have ____en pissed me off. honestly its without a doubt bullshit. im seriously doubting wc will get out of this slump before next year. one or 2 young kids arent going to change our players attitudes that easily.

wce0632
22 Jun 2008, 00:12
Disgusting effort.

There wasn't even a positive, except maybe Schoey?

Totally Embarrassing, but I stayed to the end.

Let's not be too harsh on guys like Fletcher, Braun and maybe even Stinger - their careers end in a couple months. :o

I think almost all the rookies will be upgraded, a lot of guys have been found out this year and it's time to say goodbye. (Why did wce sign Hansen so early!?)

Mister Pig
22 Jun 2008, 00:20
Shocking performance! Painful! Daniel Rich would want to be a really good player to endure a season like this! Fletcher, Braun, Hansen and Nicoski should never ever get another game! :o

Quinz
22 Jun 2008, 00:22
Awful is about the best you could call it.

____ing disgraceful and pathetic is more apt. I'm really struggling to think of a positive from tonights game.

We didn't play well in any area of the game tonight.

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 00:27
despicable effort..how Nicoski gets a chance to put boot on ball is beyond me, same with that indolent pretty boy Chad Fletcher...Glass is about as fit as I am, Kerr couldn't hit a target if he tried tonight, yes he ran but he was racking up cheap possessions which inevitably lead to more lateral play which is just appalling to watch and leads nowhere fast or to more turnovers.

Braun is past it...needs to retire already, Stenglein is another so-so prospect too...I stayed until the bitter end just to watch the class of Gary Ablett.

Arcadion
22 Jun 2008, 00:33
Just got back from the game. What the hell was that.
Going to the Hawks game next Friday. Anyone else attending?

Should be good :rolleyes:

Lion El'Johnson
22 Jun 2008, 00:37
This criticism of Nicoski is unwarranted. He had one poor kick which resulted in a goal, but who didn't. He shut down his opponent tonight, which is more than anyone else can say, and he won some clearances too. All of you back the hell off him.

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 00:43
This criticism of Nicoski is unwarranted. He had one poor kick which resulted in a goal, but who didn't. He shut down his opponent tonight, which is more than anyone else can say, and he won some clearances too. All of you back the hell off him.

oh ____ off with this protection of players who are at best good enough for WAFL and that's about it, his foot skills are ____ing appalling and his decision making is worse than that of a bloody teenager thinking about having sex for the first time.

wce0632
22 Jun 2008, 00:44

Yeah, I'm suprised Nicoski is getting so much criticsm, he wasn't that bad tonight, considering the rest of the teams dismal effort and the class of the opposition. I have to agree that his career at the eagles might be on thin ice, but shouldn't be one of the individuals to get picked on tonight I wouldn't have thought.

Also, these guys cop so much crap but at the end of the day the match committee know their capabilities, it's not the players fault that they keep getting picked. We shouldn't be suprised by their performances (unless they are outstanding!)

We just didn't put any pressure on them - the one thing you have to do when you play geelong and we just didn't do it yet they continued to pile the pressure on when they were 190308748560942 points up!

Makka
22 Jun 2008, 00:45
Has anyone heard anymore about Selwood and what he was taken to hospital for?

PREM06
22 Jun 2008, 00:45

Yeah sorry! :thumbsd: I think you might find that 3 or maybe even 4 of his kicks or should I say turnovers resulted in goals to Geelong,,,hell he may have even rated as one of their best!!!!!!

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 00:48

throat injury...

Quinz
22 Jun 2008, 00:49
Got punched in the throat. By Johnson I think.

Biggie
22 Jun 2008, 00:55
I have a story for ya lads and ladies.

I was all geared up ready to go at 4.00pm when I got a phine call saying my oldest daughter had broken into a 39.6 degree temp, rashe all over her chest and coughing like a 34 yr smoker.

I changed my direction immediately and spent the game time in Joondalup emergency.

Suffice to say my night turned out better. :eek:

PS She is well now, temp back to 38 (still high) and is sleeping atm.

5 votes for the nurses at Joondalup Health Campus.

BRING ON THE DRAFT.

Total_Juddshanks
22 Jun 2008, 01:00
5 votes for the nurses at Joondalup Health Campus.

Any of them look like they could play midfield?

Braun, Fletcher, and Stenglein are definite delistables,

Hansen I just remain stunned that the club apparently loved him enough to offer him a 3 year contract.

Yes okay, he might be a great guy, he might have a wonderful attitude and be very well spoken and look great on the corporate packages, but he is a deadset gold plated genuine total crab- a 199cm lug who cannot take a contested mark to save himself.

WCE57
22 Jun 2008, 01:00
Good to hear some good news, Big Man. Thank-You :thumbsu:

sharpie
22 Jun 2008, 01:08
No other way to describe the effort tonight

Subi should get a big boost next week as Fletcher and Braun line up for them

sh1t happens

it;s amazing how little a loss hurts when you are not challenging for a flag

the last 4 years evey time we lost i was devastated

this year from about rd 5 - it doesn't phase me anywhere near as much

so the rebuild starts

with respect to braun - i thought he beat corey tonight

MaxHunt
22 Jun 2008, 01:11
it;s amazing how little a loss hurts when you are not challenging for a flag

the last 4 years evey time we lost i was devastated

this year from about rd 5 - it doesn't phase me anywhere near as much

so the rebuild starts

I feel the same way about 10 mins after the game has ended.

Frodo
22 Jun 2008, 01:18
Fact: We were awful, Geelong were brilliant.

I don't enjoy losing, but I did enjoy seeing maybe the best game Geelong, who are the premiers, play. Rarely can you see a team have a game without one poor performing player. Ablett reminded me of Cuz at his best.

I'd like to discuss supporter expectancy and reality.

We have no chance of finals footy, so how motivated can the players be? I'd guess some are expecting retirement, some delisting, some to be traded, and others have not a lot to play for this season (long contracts).

On the other hand the younger players are wanting to show their ability and make their careers.

So what can we expect? Well I believe it is 110% effort, and if it's not there then the players should be dropped.

There are players such as Glass, Bones and Cox that are obviously carrying injuries, so we can excuse them if they under perform. Selwood too, now.

I see criticism of Nicoski and Fletch ( this years boo boy, now Rojo has gone), but remember you have to run hard and make position to get the ball before you can make a clanger. Nico, 21 disposals, 9 marks. Fletch, 28 disposals and given Ablett to play on after Selwood was rubbed out.
IMHO these guys are down on confidence (and the crowd has to take some blame) and are giving there best. They have time on their side to be important again for WCE, as they have been in the past.

I really wish the boo boys hadn't ridded us of Rojo, and Chicky/Woosh fallen out. These guys put their bodies on the line for the team. That would be a great example to the rookies.

But we have who we have, and IMHO all we can expect is respect. Respect that we are supporters that pay their wages and deserve a decent effort in response. Tonight several players did not respect the supporters.

Kerrby04
22 Jun 2008, 01:25
Any of them look like they could play midfield?

Hansen I just remain stunned that the club apparently loved him enough to offer him a 3 year contract.

Yes okay, he might be a great guy, he might have a wonderful attitude and be very well spoken and look great on the corporate packages, but he is a deadset gold plated genuine total crab- a 199cm lug who cannot take a contested mark to save himself.

i rekn he looks like a 100Lt giant milk bottle

but yes a total crab

lazy
22 Jun 2008, 01:28
Wow...:o

Cuzz09
22 Jun 2008, 02:10
You know what?!

I had to go out for tea tonight and didnt know any scores or anything and when I got home and flicked on the computer and saw the score I didnt give a shit.

Thats what this season has become.

I thought to myself "hmmm... not really surprising.... next"

Anyway, lets just sit back and see what happens :p It could get even uglier next week :eek:

sdb4884
22 Jun 2008, 02:20
Nicoski is now surely finished for us, as is Braun and Fletcher.

Stenglein is on life support but has at least another year to prove he is still worthy.

Braun and Fletcher should be given one more match later in the year in front of the faithful for their service. Its safe to say Fletcher's AFL career is over after this as no one else would want him.

Gone East
22 Jun 2008, 04:33
Between the Eagles and Freo I gotta ask, what the HELL is going on in WA footy? Is it really true that Hansen is doing OK at WAFL level? I've seen more animation from a fence post. Looked like a rabbit in a spot light to me. I knew we would hurt bad losing Benny, Rojo, Drew Banfield, Chicky (and that other one that went to play in a Blues band) in such a short period, but little did I realise it would reduce us to the status of D grade lame duck sparring partners for a real deal team. Sheesh........

Zvim
22 Jun 2008, 04:35
I think it's just any non-victorian club*

*Obviously not including Sydney, better known in his mind still as South Melbourne, same can probably be said for Fitzroy.

He doesn't like us, maybe he thinks we are a Gold Coast side...

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 09:40
You know what?!

I had to go out for tea tonight and didnt know any scores or anything and when I got home and flicked on the computer and saw the score I didnt give a shit.

Thats what this season has become.

I thought to myself "hmmm... not really surprising.... next"

Anyway, lets just sit back and see what happens :p It could get even uglier next week :eek:

its not going to be any better for the next few seasons...we are a long way from making finals footy be it 2009 or 2010...earliest might well be 2011.

Seadog
22 Jun 2008, 11:07
I've lost my rose coloured glasses somewhere, I was sure I had them only last week.
It astonishes me that blokes who are paid to kick a football around all week can't hit a target from 30 metres.
Hunter is a failure up forward, just what we need another forward with at best a 50% strike rate from set shots.
Is there any danger of us actually recruiting players who can kick the ball?
While I'm on the subject, please tell me Rich is a great kick. Please.

Cuzz09
22 Jun 2008, 11:08
its not going to be any better for the next few seasons...we are a long way from making finals footy be it 2009 or 2010...earliest might well be 2011.

Thats ok .

But what you want to see if development and guys having a bit of a crack.

Now we all know that Geelong are an awesome team but even I didnt expect that garbage scoreline!

We will get back up there, just gotta have patience.

Embers
22 Jun 2008, 11:09
Probably the most important loss we have had in a while. Now we can drop the old timers, play the youngsters and not look like we are tanking.

Fletcher and Braun both need to head back to the WAFL. Im not calling for their delistings yet. I think it just shows that if these two arnt 100% fit then they are of no use to anyone. Stenglein needs to be dropped simply because he isnt trying hard enough. Its a shame but its true

Nicoski was fine yesterday. Priddis was trying to get the ball on a wing and not follow the ball today and it didnt help his game. Hansen played up forward in a 130 point loss. How the hell can we blame him. All in all it isnt as bad as you all think.

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 11:25
in a 130 point loss. All in all it isnt as bad as you all think.

130 point loss and its not as bad as we think....am I missing something here?

Embers
22 Jun 2008, 11:29
130 point loss and its not as bad as we think....am I missing something here?

You gotta hit rock bottom before you hit the top. It could of been worse (It could of been a Fremantle). The changes we all want to see are closer to happening.

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 11:37
You gotta hit rock bottom before you hit the top. It could of been worse (It could of been a Fremantle). The changes we all want to see are closer to happening.

ohh I agree with the fact that rock bottom is the wake-up call but there is no way we're going to hit the top in the near future, I personally think that some of the current premiership players are more than happy that they have their medallion and can't be assed with the hard yards anymore.

they need to be put out too pasture asap...its an embarrassment watching them masquerading as AFL players.

at the very least Fremantle had Geelong by the nuts for most of their match this year, we didn't even come within spitting distance let alone show anything that resembled competitive footy.

I guess the bonus for me last night was watching Ablett...

Cuzz09
22 Jun 2008, 11:52
Just got back from the game. What the hell was that.
Going to the Hawks game next Friday. Anyone else attending? Should be good :rolleyes:

Yes indeeed I will be there :thumbsu:

Heading over to Melbourne onThrusday night, got a good old $10 tiger flight when they went on special.

stay with my cuzz over there so all tme more money to spend on ze alcohol - and I will neeeeeed it baby :thumbsu:

At least this game there is no pressure, last week Vs Essendon pissed me off coz I thought in the back of my mind we were a chance, this week no so much.

Cuzz09
22 Jun 2008, 11:55
I personally think that some of the current premiership players are more than happy that they have their medallion and can't be assed with the hard yards anymore.

Totally agree and it absolutely looks that way doesnt it.

Second efforts arent there....

Next week I will be at the G Vs the Hawks.

We will no doubt lose but I wanna make the orks fans annoyed by hopefully triple teaming and keeping Buddy goal-less hehehe

Mastablingbling
22 Jun 2008, 12:28
I vomited last night out the back for the first time in 12 months...was more enjoyable than the footy by far.

Chugga chugga chugga.

September_Glory
22 Jun 2008, 12:36
I wonder if this is worse than going down by 8 in a shocker like we did. At least this result has never really been in doubt so you wouldn't have got your hopes up.
IMO winning a close game is a 10x better feeling than blowing a team out (I've also heard several professional coaches say similar things). Conversely, losing a close game can hurt 10x more than getting pumped. Either way, losing is never good.

All I will say regarding the thread topic.

Onto next week.

sydney eagle
22 Jun 2008, 12:55
One question on what was a disasterous night for the Eagles. What has happened to the players skills ? The Eagles were their own worst enemies last night; slipping over I can understand (although it implies a poor choice of footwear) but not being able to complete simple, short range passes by hand or foot is inexcusable ! And then of course there is the team's kicking for goal ! Uggh !:mad:

XFactor1979
22 Jun 2008, 13:00
the thing is, watching geelong play last night was a true indication of the level we need to get to in order to be competitive again

the downside is: by the time we get to geelong's level we still need to be better than what the display they put on last night to be right up there in the future to win a premiership

Obeanie1
22 Jun 2008, 13:10
One question on what was a disasterous night for the Eagles. What has happened to the players skills ? The Eagles were their own worst enemies last night; slipping over I can understand (although it implies a poor choice of footwear) but not being able to complete simple, short range passes by hand or foot is inexcusable ! And then of course there is the team's kicking for goal ! Uggh !:mad:

That was the biggest things to stand out, especially early. Nicoski, Fletcher, everyone basically couldn't hit a target by foot. How many goals can from crap kicks kicking out from after a point or from the full back line?

I hoped we'd be pushing for the 8 next year, based on last night we are a long long way off.:(

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 13:14
the thing is, watching geelong play last night was a true indication of the level we need to get to in order to be competitive again

the downside is: by the time we get to geelong's level we still need to be better than what the display they put on last night to be right up there in the future to win a premiership

even bigger problem is the fact that Geelong have the ability to take their game to an even higher level which leaves us further behind the 8 ball...where Geelong is now is where we could be in 3 years, but where will Geelong, Hawthorn and a few others be by then?

XFactor1979
22 Jun 2008, 13:15
even bigger problem is the fact that Geelong have the ability to take their game to an even higher level which leaves us further behind the 8 ball...where Geelong is now is where we could be in 3 years, but where will Geelong, Hawthorn and a few others be by then?

thats exactly the point i was making!

although there isnt anything that is rocket science about geelong's game style. mark/ play on. its pretty much like hitting one time shots in the american sport icehockey, incorporated. just executing the skills much faster, and needing the physicality to pull off such a game plan

Jafa
22 Jun 2008, 13:18
That was the biggest things to stand out, especially early. Nicoski, Fletcher, everyone basically couldn't hit a target by foot. How many goals can from crap kicks kicking out from after a point or from the full back line?

I hoped we'd be pushing for the 8 next year, based on last night we are a long long way off.:(

Based on what we saw during the Sydney game I would say the 8 next year is well within our grasp. These guys can play football - it`s just a matter of whether they want to play football.

Jafa
22 Jun 2008, 13:24

In 3 years time Geelong will be tapering off. The best team we have seen in recent times managed 4 years. In 2001 we could have looked at Brisbane and a number of other teams and thought exactly the same. 4 years later we where playing in our 1st Grand Final.

XFactor1979
22 Jun 2008, 13:30
theres nothing rocket science or brain surgery about geelong's game style

its the same principles as ice hockey - ie get rid of it before you even have it to get the goal

currently they have the cattle capable of pulling it off.

fullstop

Juddism
22 Jun 2008, 13:40
In 3 years time Geelong will be tapering off. The best team we have seen in recent times managed 4 years. In 2001 we could have looked at Brisbane and a number of other teams and thought exactly the same. 4 years later we where playing in our 1st Grand Final.

I don't think they will be slackening off that soon...

and if they are the next mountain we'll be climbing is the Hawthorn & Buddy Franklin, Sam Mitchell & Luke Hodge one...and that's just as daunting despite their loss yesterday.

message is getting lost and I just wonder if Worsfold really has the ear of his players anymore?!

Jafa
22 Jun 2008, 13:54
I don't think they will be slackening off that soon...

and if they are the next mountain we'll be climbing is the Hawthorn & Buddy Franklin, Sam Mitchell & Luke Hodge one...and that's just as daunting despite their loss yesterday.

message is getting lost and I just wonder if Worsfold really has the ear of his players anymore?!

There where always going to be mountains to climb. Nothings changed.