View Full Version : Voss on turnovers

McCrabb for PM
21 Jun 2008, 21:48
If i have to hear Voss update his "turnover count" one more time im gonna throw a beer at the tele!

Every goal is scored from a turnover unless it is directly scored from a stoppage without the opposition possessing the ball. Happens heaps in every game, so what!

Its not so much that he mentions it, its that he repeats it ad f***** nauseum.

HulkHawkins
21 Jun 2008, 22:42
If i have to hear Voss update his "turnover count" one more time im gonna throw a beer at the tele!

Every goal is scored from a turnover unless it is directly scored from a stoppage without the opposition possessing the ball. Happens heaps in every game, so what!

Don't waste your beer, Voss isn't worth it ;)

McCrabb for PM
21 Jun 2008, 22:44
Don't waste your beer, Voss isn't worth it ;)

Thats for sure.... anyone would think he used to play for WC, he's been defending them all night.

KardiniaPark
21 Jun 2008, 23:47
Hes the most boring 'special comments man' going around . I hope he coaches, he wouldnt be able to get a team up in the playboy mansion for ____s sake.

Even though he was under matthews for so long i still think his thinking is far more defensive orientated. Hes just a boring man, if i were gold coast id rather have a half crazy blight coaching me.

someday-somehow
22 Jun 2008, 00:09

The rest of them are just as bad though, while watching that last terrific goal from Gazza the other commentators were once again bringing up Brisbane's premiership years....geez I wish they'd just commentate the play...channel 10 p1ss me off:thumbsd:

KardiniaPark
22 Jun 2008, 00:14
The rest of them are just as bad though, while watching that last terrific goal from Gazza the other commentators were once again bringing up Brisbane's premiership years....geez I wish they'd just commentate the play...channel 10 p1ss me off:thumbsd:

HAHA so true!.

When Vossy is there its a toss up between who talks more about glory days, vossy or bruce springsteen!.

As for Robert "ruckman" Walls if that wanker mentions how important the ruck is one more time ill strangle the silly bastard. Even when he gets shown stats that this guy got 49 hit outs and the other guy got 19 and the guy with 49 lost the game.....oh well its the small blokes that have to be accountable , AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SHUTTUP WALLS YOU BALLBAG!!!!!!!!!

forrrestGump
22 Jun 2008, 00:16
Hes the most boring 'special comments man' going around . I hope he coaches, he wouldnt be able to get a team up in the playboy mansion for ____s sake.

Even though he was under matthews for so long i still think his thinking is far more defensive orientated. Hes just a boring man, if i were gold coast id rather have a half crazy blight coaching me.

he shows his lck of media ability every time the trap opens

bingle
22 Jun 2008, 00:18
i wouldve said the turnovers were a direct result of the pressure from the opposition and the accountability of the geelong players when they dont have possession. wouldve been nice to have had that mentioned too. but really!! who cares what they think. all that matters is the boys believe in what they are doing and themselves..
p.s. nice to see what 1st gear in 2008 looks like as well

Generalissimo
22 Jun 2008, 00:23
Gee, you reckon all the turnovers might be because Geelong are good at putting pressure on the opposition's disposals and being better in contests? Nah, couldn't be that.

DanA
22 Jun 2008, 00:59
Loved the reference to the Geelong vs Brisbane thrashing. Walls didn't appreciate it when asked who was the coach. :D

crosby123
22 Jun 2008, 02:30

I think you're a little too generous with Blighty here. The man is clearly insane. However, despite (or because of) this, he's the best special comments man on Channel 10, so long may he continue in his wacky ways. My favourite from him was when he was commentating on that Saints game where Gram broke (or nearly broke) the record for bounces. Spent the whole last quarter going "kick it to Gram" because all he cared about was the bounces record, not the match. Amusing.

BlueOyster
22 Jun 2008, 09:42
as a long lost robert walls disliker i really think the last few years he has come around to the cats and talks us up. really thought he was anti geelong for years but now much better. voss also seems to love the way we play, although he isnt the best on the tv still appreciates the way we play and for blighty, his off the wall remarks always give me a laugh, you always think "where the hell did he pull that from?".

as for time lane, he shits me to tears, his comments seem so rehersed and is that carlton biased its not funny.

Barabbas
22 Jun 2008, 11:15
Voss is going to make Tim Watson look like a tactical genius.

I'd be going after Bucks if I was Gold Coast.

XFactor1979
22 Jun 2008, 13:27
speaking of michael voss:
i personally think brisbane's 2001-2003 team can match it with the geelong team of today. simply because brisbane's team had far more physicality to it. and geelong's game style isnt rocket science, its reminiscent of how goals are scored in the sport of ice hockey, ie one timers: ie spending it before you have it, but having the skills to do it well, because in the past that gameplan never came off

but we'll never know

Shmoses
22 Jun 2008, 13:46
Might not have been rocket science, but it was enough to smash the Eagles by 22 goals :thumbsu:

TheTimeCometh
22 Jun 2008, 14:31
how on f___ voss has a job in the media is anybodies guess.

as a player he'd send me batty, always "aksing" for this or that.

Brasil2007
22 Jun 2008, 23:04
as a long lost robert walls disliker i really think the last few years he has come around to the cats and talks us up. really thought he was anti geelong for years but now much better. voss also seems to love the way we play, although he isnt the best on the tv still appreciates the way we play and for blighty, his off the wall remarks always give me a laugh, you always think "where the hell did he pull that from?".

as for time lane, he shits me to tears, his comments seem so rehersed and is that carlton biased its not funny.

Despise Tim Lane. That crap he was going on with in the Carlton game was really poor.

Robert Walls used to be very anti-Geelong but he really admires them now.

And yes Malcolm Blight is clearly nuts, but all those who've played under him seem to love him. I like his oddball comments too.

forrrestGump
22 Jun 2008, 23:12
if he is the coach i would not be ceo, even for 5million

catattack
23 Jun 2008, 12:15
He's taken over from David Schwartz as the worst special comments person on free to air television, IMO.

When he's finished talking about himself, how he would feel, his reign as premiership captain and Brisbane's three flags, he speaks the bleeding obvious in a tone of voice that makes him think he's adding something insightful.

If we could invent the selective mute button, it would be affixed to Michael Voss' microphone.