View Full Version : On behalf of those who remember the 90s
iameviljez
21 Jun 2008, 23:19
Cop that you bastards! The only thing greater than your losing margin was my pleasure in watching you having your face pushed in it. Yes I'm bitter over '92, the '93 GF replay at Kardinia and the '94 GF, no I don't care. I don't think I've ever wanted to cuddle my radio quite so much. If you were StKilda, I'd feel sorry for you. If you were Freo, another day at the office. But as you're West Coast... that margin was so big you wouldn't have to stick it in sideways for it to hurt.
But I'd still do it to you.
nbarnes81
21 Jun 2008, 23:25
Don't forget the 1991 Preliminary Final!! That game was almost as pleasurable as last years grand final!!! You little beauty :D:thumbsu::thumbsu:
iameviljez
21 Jun 2008, 23:26
Don't forget the 1991 Preliminary Final!! That game was almost as pleasurable as last years grand final!!! You little beauty :D:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Not to mention KP in 2006
Wow. Still a little bitter aren't we? I attended the 92 GF and watching Matera tear us apart was heartbreaking(89 GF was good though. So exciting towards the end). Still if I was a Weagles supporter I would still prefer the 92 and 94 premiership over the drubbing the Cats gave them tonight. It's rather incomparable.
CatmanForever
21 Jun 2008, 23:29
Q: What's Green and round and kills eagles?
A: Subiaco Oval
Exhale You
21 Jun 2008, 23:36
Damn straight.
And it wasn't just the 90's, it was all their dodgy behaviour over the last couple of years as well.
I really enjoyed that one.
catempire
21 Jun 2008, 23:37
Hear you Jez!
pocketROCKET
21 Jun 2008, 23:50
Hahaha! Was about to post a similar thread...
Nothing sweeter than revenge.
Give it a rest. They deserved their premierships just as we deserved ours. They did nothing wrong by us. It's nice to get a big win, but no use in kicking them while they're down. :thumbsd:
THEWAITISOVER
21 Jun 2008, 23:57
We're back as if we were ever away...John Worsfold go back to chemistry!!
KardiniaPark
21 Jun 2008, 23:57
Give it a rest. They deserved their premierships just as we deserved ours. They did nothing wrong by us. It's nice to get a big win, but no use in kicking them while they're down. :thumbsd:
Yeah, its only halfway through the season and beating them by 100+ now that they are a bottom 3 team hardly makes up for the nineties so calm down a bit i reckon.
iameviljez
22 Jun 2008, 00:00
They did nothing wrong by us. It's nice to get a big win, but no use in kicking them while they're down. :thumbsd:
Oh look, I'd never post that on an open board, but in the Cattery... well let's just say that the fact that it WAS West Coast made it extra special.
Catsace
22 Jun 2008, 00:04
I agree with the O.P. Much misery was inflicted by the Eagles over us Cat fans in times gone by, so it was with great pleasure i watched tonight's whipping. It of course doesn't go within a bulls roar of erasing the pain of those finals defeats, but at least the boot is well and truly on the other foot now.
KardiniaPark
22 Jun 2008, 00:07
STUFF the eagles im still way more pissed at what the hawks have done to us. I cant take a piss or shit without getting upset. Maybe its just me but i dont hold anything against the eagles teams of the 90's they were an awesome unit.
KardiniaPark
22 Jun 2008, 00:09
....and for gods sake what does op mean.?
Im guessing its the guy that makes the thread but i have no idea what it stands for.
chapmanmagic35
22 Jun 2008, 00:09
Haha yes, we all have long memories. That was very enjoyable!
Im guessing its the guy that makes the thread but i have no idea what it stands for.
OP = Original Post
KardiniaPark
22 Jun 2008, 00:18
AHHHHHHHH thankyou sir.
iameviljez
22 Jun 2008, 00:21
STUFF the eagles im still way more pissed at what the hawks have done to us. I cant take a piss or shit without getting upset.
That is hilarious.
I used to enjoy going to the toilet.
Oh well.
Duskfire
22 Jun 2008, 06:57
My entire family are diehard WCE supporters and they were just completely and utterly shocked by tonights game. They thoiught the same about me; cats would win by about 30/40 after a spirited fight by the Eagles. A small part of loved the fact that for the first time in years, I was able to shut them up :P (I will never admit that though.)
However, I do feel sorry for some of their players. Cox, Kerr and Glass mostly. they tried their heart out but it wasn't enough.
Jim Boy
22 Jun 2008, 09:56
However, I do feel sorry for some of their players. Cox, Kerr and Glass mostly. they tried their heart out but it wasn't enough.
I wouldn't - even as Worsfold pointed out in his press conference, having those sort of nights makes premierships that much more sweeter.
Motormouse
22 Jun 2008, 10:40
While I echo the sentiments of the OP as I remember those games well, I would have stopped short of broadcasting those sentiments so vocally.
I know its every posters right to post whatever they want (within reason) but reactions like this are seen by many as being a Sore Winner, infinitely worse than a Sore Loser.
I'm sure the Weagles fans still brave enough to read these forums this morning are feeling the loss as much as their payers, they don't need us to drive it home for them.
Having said that, I'm sure I slept all last night with a smile on my face:)
candiehappy
22 Jun 2008, 10:50
Cop that you bastards! The only thing greater than your losing margin was my pleasure in watching you having your face pushed in it. Yes I'm bitter over '92, the '93 GF replay at Kardinia and the '94 GF, no I don't care. I don't think I've ever wanted to cuddle my radio quite so much. If you were StKilda, I'd feel sorry for you. If you were Freo, another day at the office. But as you're West Coast... that margin was so big you wouldn't have to stick it in sideways for it to hurt.
As the father of iameviljez I can remind him that we were at tulla airport the day after the 92GF. The place was awash with blue and gold. I said to him "don't say out loud anything I said yesterday, we may never get out alive"!
Standing shoulder to shoulder with him at last year's GF the best father son moment ever!
canny30
22 Jun 2008, 13:04
took the words right out of my mouth....could not happen to a better team...I hate those pricks with a passion.....I lived in Perth 2002-2004, longest couple of years of my life
You can never understand the true pain that the eagles are until you have lived in Perth.
hahahahah cop that indeed you scum!!
Shmoses
22 Jun 2008, 13:30
I don't care about being a sore winner or whatever, beating the Eagles will always be a sweet victory, and after beating them by 22 goals you will struggle to get the smile off my face. I ____ing hate them.
diablo14
22 Jun 2008, 13:35
You can never understand the true pain that the eagles are until you have lived in Perth.
hahahahah cop that indeed you scum!!
Amen. Victorian football supporters have no idea how moronic Eagles fans are over there. Even their stupid ramblings on these boards don't reflect exactly how unbearably idiotic they are in person. There is not a word in the English language that can accurately describe my complete and utter hatred of the Eagles and anything remotely associated with them.
That win last night was easily one of the sweetest i've had the pleasure to watch in 30 years of following the mighty Cats :D
TheTimeCometh
22 Jun 2008, 14:08
similar sentiments have been echoed by non-cats people about living in geelong on these boards.
i am indifferent to the eagles.
diablo14
22 Jun 2008, 14:16
similar sentiments have been echoed by non-cats people about living in geelong on these boards.
i am indifferent to the eagles.
I have never lived in Geelong, nor will I in the future, but I've still come across some 'interesting' types down there that would certainly rub people the wrong way.
But seriously, the carry on you get in Geelong is NOTHING compared to the mindlessness of Eagles fans in Perth. Seriously, you could combine their collective football IQ's together and still wouldn't get into double digits. I lived there for 12 months during 1993, and I tell you, it is UNBEARABLE.
At least in places like Geelong and Adelaide the parochial and feral supporters know something about footy. I'm not joking when I say Eagles supporters barely know one end of a Sherrin from the other.
94_Eagles
22 Jun 2008, 15:04
Eagles Winning 2 Grand Finals against your team>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 1 Geelong regular season win.
This thread brings the lolz, the scars are most definitely still there, plain to see. :D
vealesy
22 Jun 2008, 15:11
Living today >>>>>>>>>>>>>> living in the past mate.
state side.
get used to the cellar champ.
diablo14
22 Jun 2008, 15:40
Eagles Winning 2 Grand Finals against your team>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 1 Geelong regular season win.
This thread brings the lolz, the scars are most definitely still there, plain to see. :D
At least they are only scars. You best go and get some treatment on the gaping wound that was opened for you last night, or it could get infected.
iameviljez
22 Jun 2008, 21:14
As the father of iameviljez I can remind him that we were at tulla airport the day after the 92GF. The place was awash with blue and gold. I said to him "don't say out loud anything I said yesterday, we may never get out alive"!
Standing shoulder to shoulder with him at last year's GF the best father son moment ever!
Is that the trip where I vomited chocolate milkshake all over your shoulder? Would have been about that time
Scotland
23 Jun 2008, 02:17
Now that we have the 90's covered, could you please seek revenge on the 80's and make sure Hawthorn don't win the flag? Cheers.
P.S. Well played. It's a surreal feeling to think that we actually just lost at home by 135 points. The mood at the ground was bizarre, after enduring 2 hours or so of utter shit small acts like Schofield's smother on Mooney received massive cheers.
P.P.S. RE: Dumb Eagles fans in Perth. There are tens of thousands who fit into this category, however there are also a large number of footy fans who don't follow the Eagles (and really don't like them) who act as though because they live in Perth and support someone else they are somehow superior, which is strange because in 99% of cases they are just as stupid as the 'dumb Eagles fans' they mock.
LifeSpan-Void
23 Jun 2008, 02:33
I love seeing Geelong smash everyone to be honest, Eagles were just meat for the grinder. Forget close games, I love the one-sided demolition blowouts. Since '119', all I've genuinely had for a fix was the rd.2 murder of Essendon, so "The Rape of the West" was a genuinely satisfying experience.
I also like long walks on the beach, candlelight dinners and pulling the legs off insects.
stevothedevo
23 Jun 2008, 14:34
It all sounds geek to me.
linelefty
23 Jun 2008, 14:55
woah woah, easy up on the Perth bashing...The eagles aint perth and Perth aint all eagles.
Yes most eagles supporters are chardonnay drinking, Today Tonight watching, New Idea reading middle class simpletons who 'consume' the football product with little understanding of it, but at least they're loyal.
After what I saw from some cats fans in 06...............
Kent_Kingsley
23 Jun 2008, 16:21
I love seeing Geelong smash everyone to be honest, Eagles were just meat for the grinder. Forget close games, I love the one-sided demolition blowouts. Since '119', all I've genuinely had for a fix was the rd.2 murder of Essendon, so "The Rape of the West" was a genuinely satisfying experience.
I also like long walks on the beach, candlelight dinners and pulling the legs off insects.
:D:thumbsu:
Renegade
23 Jun 2008, 18:00
To think saturday night was the last two premiership winning teams going at it :D
Could you imagine us being such a rabble 18 months after our flag?
LMAO:D:D:D
bloody ripper
Cheshire Cat
23 Jun 2008, 19:53
Yeah, have to say I dont hate the Weagles, so I take little out of beating them by that much. This doesnt make up for 91,92,94. I hated that Weagles team - guys like Woosha and Chris Lewis - who denied some of our greatest champions a flag.
The current team I have no beef with.
LongBomb
23 Jun 2008, 20:56
Of course it will never make up for the nineties.
But it still was a bloody satisfying win all the same. :thumbsu:
Hinkley29
23 Jun 2008, 21:39
As someone who has spent a lot of time over the years living in Perth (including the vast majority of the 90's) I can understand where the OP is coming from. But, you need to let it go. Footy is far more enjoyable when you can just enjoy the wins for what they are, namely a clinical display against a team for that week.
What we did on the weekend will never make me feel better about the losses we copped at the hands of the Eagles, or the crap I took defending my team (being drunk at the time helped though!). However, I am loving the fact that as it stands right now, not only are my team the reigning premiers and best team in the land, but they are the best Geelong team I have seen in my lifetime (and are potentially approaching being the best team, of any club, I have ever seen).
Live for the moment and bask in the success we are having. There is too much enjoyment to be had in the present than to worry about what happened 10+ years ago.
Having said all that, I am about to copmpletely contradict everything I just said. The one tool I would love to rub his nose in this victory is that complete loser Jeff Newman who does (or used to do?) the weather for Channel 7. When I lived there, he would invariably use his 15 seconds of weatherman glory every night to make some ridiculously ill-informed biased comment pumping up the Eagles and it used to drive me crazy. I would loved to have seen his reaction over the last couple of days. Surely Jeff, the Eagles were robbed by the umpires, cruelled by injuries and Gary Ablett (snr or jnr take your pick) is a thug. If the Eagles just had a fair break and a bit of luck they would have won, never mind that the margin was 135 points. Man, I really do miss that f-wit.
So you weren't one of the Geelong supporters that sang Waltzing Matera behind me on that beautiful day? Yes, whoever said floggings like Sat night make those premierships that much sweeter was absolutely spot on.
Copernicus
24 Jun 2008, 02:21
STUFF the eagles im still way more pissed at what the hawks have done to us. I cant take a piss or shit without getting upset. Maybe its just me but i dont hold anything against the eagles teams of the 90's they were an awesome unit.
I laughed! :thumbsu:
I haven't been able to watch the game yet, but I was very pleased to check the score Saturday morning. Bloody stoked more like it! Had to sit there for a minute and take it in, as it was a bit surreal.
Now if we can just do the same to Hawthorn...
Audacious
24 Jun 2008, 04:24
enjoy it while it last fellas. Eagles had a good 3 year run between 05 and 07. Lions had a good run from 01 through to 03. These peak periods of success generally dont last much longer than 3 years. So its fair to say that youre smack bang in the middle of your glory.
Savour every win because its not long before other teams catch up.
CatmanForever
24 Jun 2008, 12:10
enjoy it while it last fellas. Eagles had a good 3 year run between 05 and 07. Lions had a good run from 01 through to 03. These peak periods of success generally dont last much longer than 3 years. So its fair to say that youre smack bang in the middle of your glory.
Savour every win because its not long before other teams catch up.
Yep there will come a point where we come back to the pack, it has even started this year I think the other teams are closer to us. That is why many geelong fans are being a bit arrogant at the moment as we want to enjoy it while it lasts.
Geelong_Sicko
24 Jun 2008, 12:52
Now if we can just do the same to Hawthorn...
Mate, could you imagine Bigfooty if we thrashed the Hawks like that? Or even by half that? Red cards all round to happy Geelong supporters by the Hawk mods, I bet...
diablo14
24 Jun 2008, 18:30
Yep there will come a point where we come back to the pack, it has even started this year I think the other teams are closer to us. That is why many geelong fans are being a bit arrogant at the moment as we want to enjoy it while it lasts.
I don't think we are being overly arrogant. Simple facts are we're good. Very good. It's hard not to sound a bit full of yourself when stating these sorts of things but the facts are the facts.
I think some of us have gone a bit over the top in the face of hostility from other clubs, but I think the rank and file Geelong fan on these boards have been pretty humble considering how we have played over the last 18 months.
iameviljez
26 Jul 2008, 03:13
I think this post deserves a little bump. Here is a quick list of all those close, losing Hawk games off the top of my head -
'89 Home and Away (56 points up, still lost)
'89 GF
'91 Semi Final (2 point loss)
'99 Home and Away (Crawf killed us, lost by 4 points after leading all day)
'00 Elimination Final
'06 Round Three
'07 at York Park
Feel free to add more. I think we possibly still owe this team a little more.
Now, I'm off to find McHawk... which way to Bay 13 again?
Copernicus
26 Jul 2008, 03:26
I think this post deserves a little bump. Here is a quick list of all those close, losing Hawk games off the top of my head -
'89 Home and Away (56 points up, still lost)
'89 GF
'91 Semi Final (2 point loss)
'99 Home and Away (Crawf killed us, lost by 4 points after leading all day)
'00 Elimination Final
'06 Round Three
'07 at York Park
Feel free to add more. I think we possibly still owe this team a little more.
Now, I'm off to find McHawk... which way to Bay 13 again?
I can't be stuffed looking but it seems as though there were at least three or four, maybe even more, games in the '90s aside from those you've mentioned where they pipped us by two points or six points or whatever. Hated the bastards ever since that era!