View Full Version : The Gabbatoir!

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 01:00
Big crowd, great atmosphere tonight.

I think we made our voices heard.

Good signs that the Crowd may be waking up.

Cousin Jed
22 Jun 2008, 01:04
"It's not that much of a cauldron at the Gabba, Brisbane fans are pretty friendly normally," he said.

"The crowd are pretty nice to you generally so they are one of the more friendly crowds going around."

I was surprised that there was less than 30,000. It was nice and loud.

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 01:08
That "shout the player's last name when we introduce them" thing before the match was a little embarrassing, but it may have warmed the vocal cords of the crowd.

luthor
22 Jun 2008, 01:13

:thumbsu:

I always judge how I've "got into" a game by how hoarse I'm at the end of it....and tonight I'm mute..... it could take 3 days to restore normal service.

Between yelling at those stupid blind umpires,screaming at our fellas to hit everything that moved and yellling "YEAH!!!!" 29 times in that last quarter, I fear I may have done serious damage to my vocal chords.

But hell, it was worth it:D

Chasing the Dream
22 Jun 2008, 01:14
I actually thought that the crowd was flat for large periods of the game. The MMM commentary team kept mentioning that as well.

Obviously some magic in the final term saw the crowd rev up a fair bit. We just need more of it:thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 01:14
:thumbsu:

I always judge how I've "got into" a game by how hoarse I'm at the end of it....and tonight I'm mute..... it could take 3 days to restore normal service.

Between yelling at those stupid blind umpires,screaming at our fellas to hit everything that moved and yellling "YEAH!!!!" 29 times in that last quarter, I fear I may have done serious damage to my vocal chords.

But hell, it was worth it:D

Yup, I was tasting blood in that last quarter. Had to get an ice-cream on the way home to put out the flames. :D

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 01:15
I actually thought that the crowd was flat for large periods of the game. The MMM commentary team kept mentioning that as well.

Obviously some magic in the final term saw the crowd rev up a fair bit. We just need more of it:thumbsu:

Yeah, there were definately alot of flat periods. The crowd needs to fire up when we are behind... but yeah... things are improving.

madvass
22 Jun 2008, 01:19
Sounded pretty loud on TV, especially with the BOOS when the crows lined up for goals.

luthor
22 Jun 2008, 01:31
Sounded pretty loud on TV, especially with the BOOS when the crows lined up for goals.

The Crows got a lot of dubious "50-50's" throughout the course of the game and in the area where I reside, the crowd certainly let the Umps know what they thought of them.

They're usually a fairly polite, quiet and reserved bunch around Section 67 on the Southern side,so it was good to hear them let fly for once.

The Notting bomb that put us 19 in front in the last really got them going and after that, the inhibitions went out the window:thumbsu:

kizzel
22 Jun 2008, 01:54
Well thats 5 wins on the trot at the Gabba, the supporters are regaining their confidence!

nigelicious
22 Jun 2008, 10:47
They're usually a fairly polite, quiet and reserved bunch around Section 67 on the Southern side,so it was good to hear them let fly for once.

I was thinking exactly the same thing, I'm in HH in 67 and the people around me were getting into the umps a lot more than usual .. I think the poor umpiring was left on the field after the Suncoast game for the seniors to pick up and continue with.

GabbaGirl
22 Jun 2008, 11:04
There was a mini "Lions" chant at one stage - early in the 4th quarter I think? Not quite goosebump stuff but we're getting there. Lots of fence banging and yelling from section 12. :thumbsu:

notting18
22 Jun 2008, 12:27
From watching a game on TV I generally judge the crowd on how well they abuse the umpires. Yesterday's crows seemed to have some true passion!

Gabbatoir
22 Jun 2008, 13:32
The umpires gave us more than enough ammunition. The holding the ball decisions were shocking.

FattyLumpkin
22 Jun 2008, 14:36

Big atmosphere!!! You're kidding. I was ruing not taking a book at one stage.

First Gabba game for a while. Atmosphere was almost non-existant until the burst in the final 1/4. The opening bounce should be very loud - it seemed like no-one knew the game was actually starting. It was even worse at the start after 1/2 time - absolutely zilch noise. No grief given to the umps (well ok - about 3 seconds worth) for poor decisions. (Note - the out on the full missed by both goal ump & boundary ump - that goal ump should have copped it BIG time).

Sorry - much prefer to watch footy live in Melb or Adelaide with a good atmosphere & plenty of noise/banter

catters05
22 Jun 2008, 14:40
I think some big crowds for Western Bulldogs and Carlton games at Gabba. Looking forward to them, good if one of them sells out. :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 14:41
Big atmosphere!!! You're kidding. I was ruing not taking a book at one stage.

First Gabba game for a while. Atmosphere was almost non-existant until the burst in the final 1/4. The opening bounce should be very loud - it seemed like no-one knew the game was actually starting. It was even worse at the start after 1/2 time - absolutely zilch noise. No grief given to the umps (well ok - about 3 seconds worth) for poor decisions. (Note - the out on the full missed by both goal ump & boundary ump - that goal ump should have copped it BIG time).

Sorry - much prefer to watch footy live in Melb or Adelaide with a good atmosphere & plenty of noise/banter

I think my post made it clear I was talking in relative terms. This is a non-football state we're talking about.

By the way, I think the umps copped plenty, and others seem to agree.

As you said, you hadn't been to a Gabba game in a while, and if you'd been to ones earlier this year, you would have understood what a significant improvement the atmosphere was last night.

FattyLumpkin
22 Jun 2008, 14:49
Again - relative terms re the umps.

We give the umps 3 boo's or 2 "bullshits" and think thats heaps. You need to experience a good Footy Park half-time send off to the umps to really appreciate how manic some home crowds can get.

You got to wonder how the umps cope with the really out there "feedback" from the fans when walking off at halftime. Do they fear for their safety (at one Adelaide game years back - I was actually fearing for the umps safety!!). Does it affect their umpiring?? Say if they are hearing boos all night long, do they subconciously "balance" the account??

Often wish the Gabba crowd could amp it up a bit - particularly at the start of each quarter.

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 14:50
We give the umps 3 boo's or 2 "bullshits" and think thats heaps.

It was a LOT more than that. A lot.

Often wish the Gabba crowd could amp it up a bit - particularly at the start of each quarter.

Who doesn't.

catters05
22 Jun 2008, 14:53

Yeah they need to stir up a bit.

Chasing the Dream
22 Jun 2008, 16:59
The holding the ball decisions were shocking.

What about the non 50 metre penalty on the wing in front of the interchange. Happened about 20 metres from me.

Pretty sure it was Corrie who was tackled after taking a mark relatively uncontested only for the umpire to give Corrie a talking to. I would remember more about that one if I had not have blown a woofer valve in the process.:o

konstas_87
22 Jun 2008, 17:02
That "shout the player's last name when we introduce them" thing before the match was a little embarrassing, but it may have warmed the vocal cords of the crowd.

and who was the knob MC tonight? the normal voice guy must have been sick or something.
that "shout out last name thing" felt like a kindergarden exercise, why do they have to complicate things cant the team just run out and play footy?

Chasing the Dream
22 Jun 2008, 17:31
and who was the knob MC tonight? the normal voice guy must have been sick or something.
that "shout out last name thing" felt like a kindergarden exercise, why do they have to complicate things cant the team just run out and play footy?
Agree 110%. Also, get rid of the Vodaphone rubbish after the game. You get all pumped up after a huge win and then have to wait for ages for them to set it all up.

We just want to have a kick:D

lookagoose
22 Jun 2008, 18:52
What about the non 50 metre penalty on the wing in front of the interchange. Happened about 20 metres from me.

Pretty sure it was Corrie who was tackled after taking a mark relatively uncontested only for the umpire to give Corrie a talking to. I would remember more about that one if I had not have blown a woofer valve in the process.:o

I too busted an "O" ring in the event of the non 50 metre penalty!! Unfortunately in watching the replay today Corrie did have a handful of his opponents jumper pulling him with him, which led to the decision. Anyway, my first game back after a month overseas. Fantastic comeback game!!:thumbsu:

brisbanelioness
22 Jun 2008, 22:45
that "shout out last name thing" felt like a kindergarden exercise, Yeah, but isn't that the point. The kiddies around us loved calling out the players' names and let's be honest, we need to encourage more kids to get along and enjoy the game. I really noticed last night that the median age of the crowd is kinda old and that doesn't bode well for the future. Yes, it was thoroughly embarrassing to call out the players' surnames (it seemed to go on forever) but I laughed a lot doing it!:D Getting the crowd involved is a great idea but maybe they could try something else. How about quizzes on the Lions like they have in cinemas before the movie starts? You know multi-choice questions about who has played the most games, or when a certain player debuted, or who they played for in their juniors, who followed Fitzroy growing up, and statistical questions too, of course. I don't know, just a thought.

TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 22:47
How about quizzes on the Lions like they have in cinemas before the movie starts?

They already do this.

brisbanelioness
22 Jun 2008, 22:58
They already do this. Yeah, I wasn't sure as we get to the game pretty late sometimes due to having to organise the kids.

luthor
23 Jun 2008, 00:13
Yeah, but isn't that the point. The kiddies around us loved calling out the players' names and let's be honest, we need to encourage more kids to get along and enjoy the game..

As a rule , I dislike crowd "motivation", especially if involves some richard-head ground announcer screaming his tits off( like at half time in the RL State of Origin, where even watching on TV, you couldn't hear yourself think for that idiot yelling full blast over the PA all through the half-time break)

But this one with the "shout the players' names out" was fairly harmless and low key and as you rightly pointed out, seemed to be aimed mainly at the kids, who lapped it up.

From where I was sitting, it was the kiddies who got right into it, whilst the adults seemed to treat it as a bit of a chuckle......so no harm done.

As long as they never, ever trot out that truly dated and cringe-worthy Queen anthem "WEEEE WIIILL,WEEE WIIILL....RUCK YOU!!!":thumbsd:

If they ever stoop that low, I'll personally assassinate whoever is responsible.

lions_den
23 Jun 2008, 00:48
As a rule , I dislike crowd "motivation", especially if involves some richard-head ground announcer screaming his tits off( like at half time in the RL State of Origin, where even watching on TV, you couldn't hear yourself think for that idiot yelling full blast over the PA all through the half-time break)

But this one with the "shout the players' names out" was fairly harmless and low key and as you rightly pointed out, seemed to be aimed mainly at the kids, who lapped it up.

From where I was sitting, it was the kiddies who got right into it, whilst the adults seemed to treat it as a bit of a chuckle......so no harm done.

As long as they never, ever trot out that truly dated and cringe-worthy Queen anthem "WEEEE WIIILL,WEEE WIIILL....RUCK YOU!!!":thumbsd:

If they ever stoop that low, I'll personally assassinate whoever is responsible.
Bookmarked:D

Lady Lawrence
23 Jun 2008, 10:59

That was bloody hysterical, I would imagine kids loved it though. I was reminded of being at a pantomime and was expecting the next bit from the announcer to have us practising for shouting out during the game - "he's behind you!"

The Flying Belgian
23 Jun 2008, 11:07
That was bloody hysterical, I would imagine kids loved it though. I was reminded of being at a pantomime and was expecting the next bit from the announcer to have us practising for shouting out during the game - "he's behind you!"

Yeah, I envisioned trouble when the kiddies got to Polkinghorne. I thought the intent was there, even if the application was off. One of the pluses was with the young fellows in that in probably got a few more people to learn their names. It felt like it could have used some backing music to get it pumping or something. Hats off to the club for at least trying something different and to the chap who suggested it. It may not have quite come off, but at least they're willing to have a crack.

And FWIW. I thought the noise was significantly better then previous games this years - some of them were like bloody funerals. Would like to see some more stuff in the papers and maybe some pre-game reminder that the players really love a loud atmosphere. Seemed to help.

Tim the Toolman
23 Jun 2008, 11:20
There'll be more atmosphere this week at the G when we come against the Mighty Dees! 10,000 Victorians in the massive G will feel better than 30,000 complacent Queenslanders in the Gabba Cauldron. :p

campbell
25 Jun 2008, 11:15
There'll be more atmosphere this week at the G when we come against the Mighty Dees! 10,000 Victorians in the massive G will feel better than 30,000 complacent Queenslanders in the Gabba Cauldron. :p

The whole attendance will be lucky to make 20,000. lol.

The problem with the MCG this weekend though is the lack of noise by the Melbourne supporters, quiet as chips that mob. lol.

lionbear
25 Jun 2008, 14:08
Listening to the MMM commentary on my computer Saturday night. The commentary box was surprised how quiet the crowd was early on. But in the last quarter they said how it has come to life now and you could really here it on the effects mic. Sounded like a really exciting crowd to be in on Saturday night.

Cousin Jed
25 Jun 2008, 14:13
Amazing how late people get there. I reckon I missed about the first 5 minutes of the game because of all the clowns walking in front of me to get to their seats.

FFS turn up on time next time!

TheBrownDog
25 Jun 2008, 14:15
Amazing how late people get there. I reckon I missed about the first 5 minutes of the game because of all the clowns walking in front of me to get to their seats.

FFS turn up on time next time!

Did you get to the warm-up rooms before the game Cousin Jed?

Cousin Jed
25 Jun 2008, 15:02
Yes I did thanks BD. Was amazed how many people were down there too.

Tim the Toolman
25 Jun 2008, 15:40
The whole attendance will be lucky to make 20,000. lol.

The problem with the MCG this weekend though is the lack of noise by the Melbourne supporters, quiet as chips that mob. lol.

That's my whole point. Even a crowd of 10k, half full with the Gentleman and Lady Melbourne supporters will make more noise then the Brissie theatre goers.

luthor
25 Jun 2008, 16:32
That's my whole point. Even a crowd of 10k, half full with the Gentleman and Lady Melbourne supporters will make more noise then the Brissie theatre goers.

Depends on where you sit (at the Gabba)

Up till last season, I was in Section 71 (Southern stand) where the caliber of barracking progressively deteriorated over the years, to the point where you could just about fall asleep.

Even had this toffee- nosed woman sitting right in front of me who would turn around and give me a death stare if I dared let fly with a few words of advice to the Umps.:rolleyes:

This season, we switched to Section 67 (just about on center wing) where the natives definitely are more passionate and vocal throughout (and probably more knowledgeable)

They were going ape-shit in that last quarter last Sat night, which siuts me just fine:thumbsu::)

Tim the Toolman
26 Jun 2008, 12:05
Yes, you're spot on.

I've written here about the last time I sat at the G, Blynd Freddie and myself ended up in "The Pavilion" which is seated right in front of the famous Long Room in the MCC. I started yelling out and it was like yelling in a library!

We duly left at Qtr time for the more raucous bar area in the Members but alas there weren't too many people in the area but we could be well heard by the Lions' players and staff in the interchange area.

I've been to the Gabba on several occassions but just find the locals don't have too much of an idea and it's not the usual banter you get down in Melbourne were virtually anything goes. Unfortunately their trying to sanitise it like that at the Telstra Dome and it will be a sad day for footy if all of the stadiums lose their atmosphere.

Having said that, right at the other end of the scale is the feral Adelaide ground where it's an absolute shocker as the locals think they know the game but are just bloody biaised supporters with really no idea.

campbell
26 Jun 2008, 12:37
The melbourne guy with the mohawk in Section 53 I think it is, is great value at the G.

I know what you mean about the difference sin crowd. We are like a polite theatre crowd in comparision to the G.

The whole crowd noise is never at crescendo level like from the 1st bounce at the G.
A lot of people where we sit, still have no clue on rules or names of our players, let alone who or what the other team are. We as a crowd are not progressing with time and crowd experience of games.
They are settled into this way of barracking.No idea how you make it a cauldron, a place to be feared by opposition players.A rowdy spectacle.

Chasing the Dream
26 Jun 2008, 22:30
I can assure you all that I do my very best to let rip at the footy at every occasion.

The GABBA crowds have gotten very quiet over the past few years, and I have just about had enough of it:p I make no apologies to those who seem dissapointed that I wont quieten down, or move around just a little to save their ears from the bellowing of my voice. To all those ushers who give me that look that says I am pushing the envelope, lighten up:eek: To those opposition supporters who wander by, then decide to stop to vocally challenge me.... bring it on:thumbsu:

I am at the stage where I will have to change seats next year as the church goers around me just don't get it:( Standing room is where the action is in 2008:D

Cousin Jed
26 Jun 2008, 22:46
Yes I got to agree the looks I was getting last week, from men too, was really unnecessary.

Don't look at me like you have never heard the word Richard Cranium before mate. :D

Jubair
27 Jun 2008, 00:55
Bring back the Mexican Wave!!!