View Full Version : Dust - Up at Eagles training

Thrawn666
28 Aug 2002, 17:22
Apparently Phil Matera and Richard Taylor got fully stuck into each other at training today, one (dont know which) had to go off and get stitches for a head wound. Worst thing is it happened right in front of the media in the forward pocket at Subi Oval, and was all caught on camera. Apparently Fido looks the goods in this fly-weight bout, so im guessing it was Taylor who came off second best. Check the news tonight for footage.

Think it might be the final straw for Taylor in terms of his time at the club, regardless of whether or not he was the instigator. Least it shows theres still a bit of fire in the belly at this time of the season eh? ;)

carlyp
28 Aug 2002, 17:27
What was Taylor thinking.....taking on Fido! What an idiot! Fido would have cained him!

Thrawn666
28 Aug 2002, 17:29
Originally posted by carlyp
What was Taylor thinking.....taking on Fido! What an idiot! Fido would have cained him!

If I were to take on anyone at the club it would be Fido, he'd be the only bloke I am bigger than :)

carlyp
28 Aug 2002, 17:32
Yes but he's an agressive SOAB. He's a toughnut.
Remember: Its not the size of the dog in the fight, its the size of the fight in the dog!

Voice of Reason
28 Aug 2002, 17:32
If true, I hope Phil is not injured....

See you Richard

Thrawn666
28 Aug 2002, 17:34
Originally posted by carlyp
Yes but he's an agressive SOAB. He's a toughnut.
Remember: Its not the size of the dog in the fight, its the size of the fight in the dog!

Thats like saying someone is a great pound for pound fighter

Know what happens to guys who they say is the best pound for pound?

They get beat up ;)

carlyp
28 Aug 2002, 17:34
Yeah! He just lost his spot in the team for 2003. He'll be delisted and I dont know who will pick him up now!

carlyp
28 Aug 2002, 17:36
Originally posted by Thrawn666

Thats like saying someone is a great pound for pound fighter

Know what happens to guys who they say is the best pound for pound?

They get beat up ;)

Point taken! I just reckon Phill would have cleaned Richard Taylor up easily. He's agressive and he would have cained Richard Taylor easily!

carneagles
28 Aug 2002, 17:43
Bit premature to be writing off Taylor when we don't know the full story. Still, his possie is a bit weaker than Matera's, I guess.Know what happens to guys who they say is the best pound for pound? They get pounded. (boom-tish!)

Thrawn666
28 Aug 2002, 17:45
Originally posted by carneagles
Bit premature to be writing off Taylor when we don't know the full story

Doesnt matter I dont think. Like I said, whether or not he instigated it is a moot point, the guy had pretty much played his last game for the club and I think something like this will just seal the deal. Especially considering how popular Fido is at the club, former best club man winner and so forth.

carlyp
28 Aug 2002, 17:49
Originally posted by Thrawn666

Doesnt matter I dont think. Like I said, whether or not he instigated it is a moot point, the guy had pretty much played his last game for the club and I think something like this will just seal the deal. Especially considering how popular Fido is at the club, former best club man winner and so forth.

I agree

ozzult
28 Aug 2002, 18:10
Just listened to the hourly 6PR news, and Barich said he saw the whole thing - it's 100% true.

I can't believe it.

ozzult
28 Aug 2002, 18:15
I think this deserves a spot on the main board.

GoEagles
28 Aug 2002, 18:39
Great exclusive Thrawn! I'll have to watch the sport tonight and see the footage of what happened. I really can't see Taylor playing for us again (this incident confirms my thoughts)

noodle
28 Aug 2002, 19:21
Originally posted by ozzult
Just listened to the hourly 6PR news, and Barich said he saw the whole thing - it's 100% true.

i believed it until you said that.

iceman
28 Aug 2002, 19:21
wonder if Woosha drops Fido for this weeks game; no doubt he wants discipline from his players and this is something thats gonna tarnish the teams reputation

theBlueCardinal
28 Aug 2002, 21:16
Originally posted by noodle

i believed it until you said that.

I can't believe how many people are getting stuck into Taylor. Regardless of how good he is or isn't, it is absolutely disgraceful that a team of professionals are going around belting each other up...no matter whether you are the best player or the worst player at the club, you are a team and it is only when you play as a team will you be successful.

The golden rule is that no individual is bigger than the club. I hope Woosha does something about it...having read what he has said on the WCE website, I don't think he will do anything. It will be a poor coach who uses the excuse of going hard at training as justification for his players belting each other. You can knock each other around but to hit someone because you suffer from SM syndrome...better off without the hitter in the team.

ozzult
28 Aug 2002, 21:39
I posted this on the main thread on the main board, but incase people don't read that, I'll post it here too.

I just saw this on the news, it was nothing, we were all over reacting before we saw the actual footage.

They were playing on each other, and Taylor was keeping in close touch with him and Matera got a bit frustrated, and they were wrestling on the ground then got up and while Taylor had his jumper Matera swung one around into his mouth

Worsfold said incidents like that at training had happened about 4 or 5 times while he played for the Eagles in the early 90s.

Woosha was laughing at the incident it was that pathetic.

I had just heard Barich on 6PR, and the way he said it made it sound like there was a proper punch up. All that happened was Matera threw one swing while they were wrestling and had each other in arms.

For people who didn't see it, it was EXACTLY like the incident between Byron Pickett from rd 21 which saw him get rubbed out for one week.

The only difference was Matera connected a bit more, and consequently cut open Taylors lip.

The way Barich was talking about it on 6PR it sounded like they were standing there trading blows like a boxing match.

daddy_4_eyes
28 Aug 2002, 21:47
Why are so many of you guys dissing Taylor? It doesn't matter that he's a lower profile player, in terms of discipline all 42(??) players on our list are equal.

IMO both should be disciplined. If not for team harmony, then for the public image of the WCE.

ozzult
28 Aug 2002, 22:09
It was nothing, if I was Woosha I wouldn't even be thinking about it tomorrow, just tell Fido to make sure he doesn't do it in a game.

iceman
28 Aug 2002, 22:45
I agree, it was talked up a fair bit during the day and while watching the news, nothing really happened

Two players on each other and Fido elbows Taylor one; its not like the punch up/brawl it was made up to be

Thrawn666
28 Aug 2002, 23:17
I agree with Woosha, "Sensational"

Bit of fire in the belly, and like the title of the thread says, just a dust up.

If you look closely in some of the TV footage you can actually see Sumich in the background laughing as Fido runs around without an opponent. :p

jod23
29 Aug 2002, 04:46
Hahah.....after reading all the early posts in this thread you would think that it was a full on all out brawl, Rocky style! But it was nothing and it was good to see. Whoosha said that it was good for the team to still be fired up etc this far down the track. Bodes well for the game against North.

noodle
29 Aug 2002, 12:09
richard taylor deserves a better send off from the game than a punch in the mouth.

very average by fido :mad:

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 12:14
In summary:

i) Matera is **** weak
ii) Taylor is **** weak for not being able to hit Steggles nose
iii) All you fans applauding this have absolutely no idea
iv) Woosha is **** weak for condoning this in an immature fashion
v) The next time someone tries to suggest that the Eagles are a professional outfit you will hear my laughter in Tasmania.

All you people hopping into Taylor basically because he isn't in your best 22 have even less idea. If it is Cousins and Steggles tomorrow what will you do?

TheRealBuzz
29 Aug 2002, 12:26
Blocker, were you this shocked/disgusted when Brad Wirra and Clive Waterhouse did exactly the same thing a couple of years ago?

Doubt it.

carneagles
29 Aug 2002, 12:35
Originally posted by blockerhall
In summary:i) Matera sucks!
ii) Taylor sucks!
iv) Woosha sucks!
xii) You all suck!
xix) The Eagles suck!
xxiv) There are too many swear words on TV today!
xxx) The nurses are stealing my money!
mm) They should bring back National Service! And birching!

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 13:42
And what about crime?

And traffic on the roads?

And young hooligans?

And the pension?

In all honesty Buzz that is the first I have heard of it. I was probably out of the country then. Unless it was because Brad beat Clive at Galaga in timezone, I reckon that is **** weak too.

Look, if Steggles can lose his temper that easily in training, where is his mind at during the footy? He'll need to be in front of Jeff Farmer in the queue at anger management classes.

Woosha's spin shows immaturity (my wife's words, and you don't want to mess with her). He has disappointed her (an Eagles supporter) in his professionalism this year, and I know where she is coming from. An incident like that does show a lack of discipline and professionalism in your team, and if you don't get it, just swan on ignorantly.

After all, Freo went really well after the Clive/Wira incident you alluded too, didn't they?

D4E gets it.

carlyp
29 Aug 2002, 15:04
I really think the whole things been blown out of porportion. 2 players have a bit of a push and shove at training...so what!

carlyp
29 Aug 2002, 15:07
In summary:
v) The next time someone tries to suggest that the Eagles are a professional outfit you will hear my laughter in Tasmania.

Oh and the Dockers really are a professional side! I think Damian Drum would argue that there not! Any club that allows their coach to be told the news of his sacking through the media is not exactly what most would call professional either!

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 15:23
*wearily types*

Carly, where exactly did you see that I have said the Dockers were professional, particularly in respect of the way Drum was treated?

We're not back in primary school, you know, at least I'm not.

carlyp
29 Aug 2002, 15:29
Fair enough....I read too much into your comments. I appologize profusely!
Gives Blockerhall a pat on the back

TheRealBuzz
29 Aug 2002, 16:07
I'm not trying brush over the incident, Blocker.

What Fido did was pretty bloody ordinary, and unless I've totally misjudged Phil's character, I'm sure he's regretting the incident.

But let's not completely over-react here. Richard Taylor wasn't seriously hurt, he continued training with Phil afterwards, and if the punch hadn't drawn blood then we would probably never have heard about it at all. Neither players deserved suspension, imho.

As for Woosha's reaction, well, I think the light-hearted way he fronted the media stopped the incident from gathering some real momentum which could have resulted in today's paper sporting headlines like 'Club In Turmoil'.

But you would hope that Woosh would've had a few quiet words with Fido away from the cameras.

ozzult
29 Aug 2002, 16:47
blockerhall is just jealous because our club is such a professional outfit unlike the Fremantle Dockers.

Immature? Go tell your wife to get back in her box.

Both Suma and Woosha were having a laugh about this incident, it's absolutely nothing, as long as Matera doesn't do it in the game, we all need to carry on. It's similar to when two young brothers have a punch up out the back, they still love each other, but they just wanna kill each other, that's all :D

Non-event, carry on please, nothing to see here.

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 17:24
Mate, it was as weak as ****, full stop, no matter how you look at it, and I reckon you all know it. Any of you ever jobbed your team mates when you were playing footy? Oh, that's right...

I'm not over-reacting, just calling it as it is. And for the record, does the phrase "frustrations boiling over" strike a chord?

Now I have to go and tell my Mum and Dad (both Eagles supporters) to get back in their box as well, because they agree with my wife's perspective. Perhaps they have it all wrong too, because this little community must be right, hey?

Of course they thought it was an insult of the highest order that Jakovich was overlooked for the captaincy, as well, so their judgement must be questioned.

Jealous, ha! Someone get a doctor and a needle and thread for my aching sides.

Frodo
29 Aug 2002, 17:28
You have to remember that we play the Kangas on Sunday and they are reputed to be the 'hardest' side in the AFL. No doubt training would include measures to counter that and I bet Taylor was told to go hard on Fido for the session.
The result showed that the training session worked, that's why Woosha was happy.
We can now expect a physical clash on Sunday with the Eagles giving no quarter.

Voice of Reason
29 Aug 2002, 17:57
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
If true, I hope Phil is not injured....

See you Richard

I realise having read subsequent posts that my previous comment could be misinterpreted as taking the side of the player in the team and "dissing" (whatever that means) Richard Taylor.

I had seen no footage at the time and read that there had been a "punch-up". Someone told me there was a punch-up right in front of the media and it was "terrible".

All of that turned out to be as complete rubbish as the average Fremantle supporter's perspective on the WCE or as Slim Jim's singing.

Fido is a key player in a game where the Finals might be on the line - I don't want to see him miss the game. He must control his temper in that game.

Richard Taylor is renowned as a hard-working footballer who has come back from 2 knee recos to play AFL. However, he was a Ken Judge favourite and recruited on that basis, is not in our best 28 and will almost certainly be delisted when his contract expires at the end of this season. I wish him all the best wherever he goes.

The incident shouldn't have happened. But these things happen and we all move on with the incident being dealt with in-house. I did hear Woosha say that he had told Fido that he was lucky that there wasn't a trial by video on training or he'd be suspended for striking.

Move along, now.

TheRealBuzz
29 Aug 2002, 18:19
Any of you ever jobbed your team mates when you were playing footy? Oh, that's right... Geeze, you don't mind playing that card, do you?

I have no problem admitting that my days of playing footy (for a team) ended after I finished high school. But during that time, yes, I did see a few "heated" moments between team-mates, especially during physical training drills.

Got to say, I didn't think much of it, and everyone (especially the coach) seemed to get over it pretty quickly.

Not sure what you're on about in the rest of your post.

carlyp
29 Aug 2002, 18:30
Of course they thought it was an insult of the highest order that Jakovich was overlooked for the captaincy, as well, so their judgement must be questioned.

That comment just goes to show just what an idiot you are! Jakovich was so unlucky to miss out on the captaincy it's not funny! I cant think of too many footballers that have given as much to their club as Jako has and not been named captain in their career! He's been an absolute champion for the eagles and for WA football as a whole! I find your comment insulting! Name one Dockers player that has done as much for WA football as Glen Jakovich has!

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 18:44
Oh my God, Carly, get with the programme, girl!!!

Can someone else explain it to her?

Or must I use winky faces?

carlyp
29 Aug 2002, 18:49
Oh my God, Carly, get with the programme, girl!!!

Can someone else explain it to her?

Or must I use winky faces?

Well I thought you were having a go at Jakovich. Hardly my fault....after the way you Docker fans go on and on about Jakovich!

ozzult
29 Aug 2002, 18:53
Mate, it was as weak as ****, full stop, no matter how you look at it, and I reckon you all know it. Any of you ever jobbed your team mates when you were playing footy? Oh, that's right...

Yes it was weak as ****, that is why it is a non-event and doesn't even deserve to be discussed about. And yes I have been there when my team mates have had fights, and not just on the training track either.

And what the **** does Jakovich have to do with all of this?

Stay on the topic.

theBlueCardinal
29 Aug 2002, 19:05
In summary:

i) Matera is **** weak
ii) Taylor is **** weak for not being able to hit Steggles nose
iii) All you fans applauding this have absolutely no idea
iv) Woosha is **** weak for condoning this in an immature fashion

All you people hopping into Taylor basically because he isn't in your best 22 have even less idea. If it is Cousins and Steggles tomorrow what will you do?

Blockerhall you took the words right out of my mouth except you'll be hearing my laughter all the way from London.

carneagles
29 Aug 2002, 19:37
You love a bit of tub-thumping, don't you Blocker.

Matera clouts Taylor, in front of a media scrum. Not the smartest or the most impressive move. Worsfold plays it down - bugger me, what a shock that is.

So, is it a sign of disharmony or just a bit of healthy aggression? If people want to see it as the latter, well, good luck to them. It's either a sign that the team is having internal problems - or it isn't. We don't know either way. So all of this panty-wringing is a bit of a waste of effort, isn't it?

Haven't been over to Dockerland yet, but no doubt this is getting the same sort of hysterical reaction over there. World in crisis etc. And no doubt some idiot will be talking about waving little bags of blood at Phil at the next derby.

nearlyblonde
29 Aug 2002, 19:58
I dunno Blocker, is there some drug around that raises the level for the ability to pontificate to the max., and do you use it??

Seems to me that whilst your posts did once have at least a touch of humour about them, lately they have become not much short of "I shall speak, and you will listen!!!"

Lighten up Flower.

theBlueCardinal
29 Aug 2002, 20:03
Originally posted by nearlyblonde
I dunno Blocker, is there some drug around that raises the level for the ability to pontificate to the max., and do you use it??

Seems to me that whilst your posts did once have at least a touch of humour about them, lately they have become not much short of "I shall speak, and you will listen!!!"

Lighten up Flower.

Blocker is ok...he has some very valid points that should be respected although I do agree that the sensational media of Barra and co appear to have overstated the whole situation.

ozzult
29 Aug 2002, 20:06
Originally posted by theBlueCardinal

Blocker is ok...he has some very valid points that should be respected although I do agree that the sensational media of Barra and co appear to have overstated the whole situation.

Exactly true.

If I had have seen the footage before I posted, I can tell you it would have been a very different post, I mightn't have even bothered posting.

All I was going on was what Barra said on the radio, and I got the impression they were having a full on punch up.

carneagles
29 Aug 2002, 20:09
Originally posted by ozzult

All I was going on was what Barra said on the radio, and I got the impression they were having a full on punch up. Geez Buzz, try to play it down a bit next time, OK?

blockerhall
29 Aug 2002, 20:54
Point taken, Nola, but it isn't exactly schadenfreude.

Just think of me as a roving cyber-conscience for Eagles supporters. And Docker supporters, too, sometimes. Misguided though I may be.

Sorry you can't see the humour in some of my posts, perhaps it is because they are uncomfortably close to the mark as observations. Perhaps not. I try.

Bye for now,
your friendly neighbourhood average Docker supporter.

*gets up on high horse*

Hi-ho, Clive, AwAYYY!!!!

P.S. Thanks Blue.

Thrawn666
29 Aug 2002, 21:15
I think your "mounting" of Clive was a little too enthusiastic.

And anyways if Waterhouse was a horse he woulda been shot by now.

jod23
29 Aug 2002, 23:01
I like the way Blocker takes something small and insignificant and tries to turn it into something it isnt. Jealousy.

Oh and Carneagles....love the new avatar!! :D

carneagles
30 Aug 2002, 12:43
Just think of me as a roving cyber-conscience for Eagles supporters. ... i.e. another Freo sniper up in the cyber clock tower. And with Kuepper about, why do we need another one?

PS: Thanks Jod. Great new avatar Ozzult, too.

kuepper
30 Aug 2002, 13:12
And with Kuepper about, why do we need another one?

Well as big a man as I am, this is a massive job.

More power to you blocker, keep fighting the good fight my good man.

TheRealBuzz
30 Aug 2002, 14:04
Originally posted by kuepper
Well as big a man as I am Ah, now I know you must be Scotty Watters. Shame on you for going around telling lies about your physical build, smurf.

But, yes, I also enjoy hearing the opinions of the Footballing Journeyman with the geeky signature. Don't think he's ever posted something that wasn't worth reading.

kuepper
30 Aug 2002, 14:07
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Ah, now I know you must be Scotty Watters. Shame on you for going around telling lies about your physical build, smurf.
I was more referring to intellectually Barra, but a man of your limited mental capacity, ill let you off for not picking up that nuance.

Now go play with Basil this isntant.

Voice of Reason
30 Aug 2002, 14:55
I reckon the banter and trolling on the board is going well at the moment.

That should kill it.

kuepper
30 Aug 2002, 15:15
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I reckon the banter and trolling on the board is going well at the moment.
From a wise old man like yourself (congrats on the 40th btw ... so emphasis must be placed on the old) I'll take that as a compliment.
That should kill it.
Ha! you'll have to better than that!

jod23
31 Aug 2002, 03:47
PS: Thanks Jod. Great new avatar Ozzult, too.

Is it just me or does anyone else think Carneagles avatar has a Warner Bros thing happening? :D