View Full Version : Do you want the media to jump on board?
The Boy From Brasil
22 Jun 2008, 22:01
I have noticed the last two weeks that media commentators are starting to jump onboard the bandwagon. With us now second, the bus will be well and truly full this week with all and sundry talking us up as their pick for the premiership. Commentators that tipped us to bottom four at the start of the year will be raving on how they think we can win the premiership.
Is this a good thing or a bad thing?
Personally, I have always thought that historically as a club we play our best football as the underdog and without much media hype. In Big Brother vernacular, I prefer us to fly under the radar. But maybe this team is different to past teams and will relish the media attention and starting favourite at most games.
Thoughts?
lindsay_bulldogs
22 Jun 2008, 22:13
We make our own history not the media for mine. If we are that mentally week we need to be under dogs to win then we are no chance to win flag.
Happy to be the hunted. Come and get us if you dare.
australian idle
22 Jun 2008, 22:19
After listening to SEN today, I think its pretty safe to assume that Grant Thomas and Dermot Brereton wont be jumping aboard anytime soon, unless you are asking about the credible media.
The Boy From Brasil
22 Jun 2008, 22:21
After listening to SEN today, I think its pretty safe to assume that Grant Thomas and Dermot Brereton wont be jumping aboard anytime soon, unless you are asking about the credible media.
That is a contradiction in terms :p
X_box_X
22 Jun 2008, 22:22
I don't care either way. It's good to hear the media giving us a little bit of good vibe, but I don't want the vibe to get too out of hand. As long as they give respect to our performances, it doesn't worry me - they don't have to rate as as a legit contender, but it's good that we are getting recognition for our start to the season.
bulldogrob
22 Jun 2008, 22:23
Why what did they say?
lindsay_bulldogs
22 Jun 2008, 22:36
Why what did they say?
Thomas was bucketed by supporters after the game giving him heaps. Finally admitted he hates the Bulldogs.
bulldogrob
22 Jun 2008, 22:58
Thomas was bucketed by supporters after the game giving him heaps. Finally admitted he hates the Bulldogs.
:D:D:D really??? As if we didn't know
lancaster
22 Jun 2008, 23:21
what gave them reason not to rate us today?
Dogs Rule
22 Jun 2008, 23:56
what gave them reason not to rate us today?
According to Thomas we don't have a good enough "B" plan and we will be found out in finals.
I was listening to the bucketing Bulldogs supporters were giving Thomas post-match and it made me proud.
It's as obvious as the nose on your face that Thomas is bitter and twisted the Dogs have a fair dinkum shot at a flag while his Saints wallow in mediocrity.
gothedogs1
23 Jun 2008, 00:01
I would love to stay under the radar
According to Thomas we don't have a good enough "B" plan and we will be found out in finals.
I was listening to the bucketing Bulldogs supporters were giving Thomas post-match and it made me proud.
It's as obvious as the nose on your face that Thomas is bitter and twisted the Dogs have a fair dinkum shot at a flag while his Saints wallow in mediocrity.
Perhaps he'll be right, however, tonight his "I hate the Bulldogs" call illustrates that he is not cut out for his current position. Isn't he supposed to provide special comments relating to the game/season at hand - unbiased by any personal grudges he might hold against a particular club?
If SEN wish to be thought of as anything other than 'StKilda Entertainment Network' then they need to get less biased, more professional folks into their commentary box.
Best thing to do re: Thomas is to not listen if he's calling a dogs game. He's not worth the time. Unfortunately there isn't often any other choice on the Sunday twilight games.
Dogs_r_barking
23 Jun 2008, 00:14
I can't stand Thomas, yet he did admit that he hates anyone that is not red and black - not just the bulldogs. Still agree with other comments that if he is that biased he should not be calling games. Get him off:mad:
paul scholes
23 Jun 2008, 03:06
Brereton has a view that we're forever the battling bulldogs who never will never be threatning
Thomas did coach stkilda to a couple of flags didn't he?Hang on that's what he said not 1 but 2 flags!!:eek::eek:
Spectre
23 Jun 2008, 04:19
I have noticed the last two weeks that media commentators are starting to jump onboard the bandwagon.
Mate, they can jump on the bandwagon, or off the bandwagon, or off a short pier into Port Phillip Bay for all I care. As long as our boys stay sharp, focussed, and keep the lid on while kicking backside of all comers, I'll be happy.
As for Thomas, I'm surprised anyone is still paying attention to this guy. As a coach, he's not even a has-been.
Perhaps he'll be right, however, tonight his "I hate the Bulldogs" call illustrates that he is not cut out for his current position. Isn't he supposed to provide special comments relating to the game/season at hand - unbiased by any personal grudges he might hold against a particular club?
If SEN wish to be thought of as anything other than 'StKilda Entertainment Network' then they need to get less biased, more professional folks into their commentary box.
Best thing to do re: Thomas is to not listen if he's calling a dogs game. He's not worth the time. Unfortunately there isn't often any other choice on the Sunday twilight games.
Listen to the ABC.
Bulldog Joe
23 Jun 2008, 09:21
Brereton has a view that we're forever the battling bulldogs who never will never be threatning
Thomas did coach stkilda to a couple of flags didn't he?Hang on that's what he said not 1 but 2 flags!!:eek::eek:
I believe Dermot has issues with Rocket having made a comment when Eade was appointed that it was unbelievable that he could choose the Dogs over Hawthorn. Dermot was probably the main reason Rocket preferred not to take the Hawthorn job.
WATCHDOG
23 Jun 2008, 09:48
Funny isn't it
SEN and their 2 cardboard cut-out blokes, Grant Dumbas and Duhmott Brereton can only find fault with us, hardly a positive word to say about us even though we are 2nd and are 11 1/2 from 13.
Foxsports and Gerard Healy and Danny Frawley (both muppets yesterday, Frawley is every day though) talked us up as genuine contenders and couldn't pick out a weakness about us.
It seems networks/radio stations seem to go with a train of thought and their workmates all agree with each other. Coincidence?
To me, there is a more glaring and disturbing coincidence and that is if you played AFL football and you are a muppet you are more likely to get a job in the media. The amount of good commentators is vastly outnumbered by the muppet masses of media mediocrity.
I couldn't give a flying rats clacker what these muppets say, there are very very few who I rate.
Here's a random list of commentators/media-types for you all to peruse
Bruce McAvaney - has taken football commentary back to the 80's
Dennis Cometti - I rate him as a caller, very descriptive and funny
David Parkin - give it away
Robert Walls - Captain Obvious
Duhwayne Russell - gets it wrong so many times
Danny Frawley - always seems to be correcting himself, get it right the first time you novice!!!
Gerard Healy - Brad Boyd?? WTF?
Grant Thomas - eats pressure for breakfast and as a result just makes random farting noises.
Mike Sheahan - What do you think Gerard?
Caro Wilson - token female, gossiping and slandering to create a profile. Step aside and let a woman with football knowledge have your job you imposter.
Malcolm Blight - thinks commentating is a secondary thing to chatting with your mates in the commentary box
Michael Voss - Don't think he likes us too much but he probably over-compensated when calling the game last week vs Lions.
Steven Quarterbrain - Quite possibly my most despised commentator, just makes completely inane statements and always seems to favour our opposition.
Red,White and Blue
23 Jun 2008, 09:58
stuff sen i just listen to MMM. The problem with triple m though is the fact that danny frawley and aaron hamill currently do special comments. Two terrible commentators