View Full Version : Poor Form
pongo_3931
22 Jun 2008, 22:10
First up, well done on a well fought win this evening.
Unlike a lot of my fellow pies supporters I stayed to watch the presenting of the game cup and medal.
When Brad stepped up to get the cup I clapped, the respectful thing to do.
What shocked me was that there was a significant boo when Ben Johnson was awarded the medal (Bob Rose Medal I believe).
I get the idea of booing a player when they're kicking a goal but not when they're recieving an award. To those doggies who booed this player I say "poor form."
Sgt Slaughter
22 Jun 2008, 22:13
Agree 100%. I wondered what the booing was for. He probably wasn't the standout player on the ground (Heath Shaw played a cracker), but still, why sook? We got the 4 points. That's all that matters really.
X_box_X
22 Jun 2008, 22:16
Johnson was their second best player behind Shaw, IMO. Played very well on Aker.
inflames1919
22 Jun 2008, 22:18
To be honest, I was at the game, and I dont think the "booo" was directed at Ben Johnson(well maybe some) but, I thought it was more a boo because alot expected it to be a doggies player and maybe there were other players out there who might have deserved it more than Ben. But that being said he still played a great game.
bradism
22 Jun 2008, 22:18
Probably just some Freo fans who were making a weekend of it.
lindsay_bulldogs
22 Jun 2008, 22:20
Well come on! Collingwood boo a beetle scratching it's bum if it's not wearing black and white. People booing was directed at the decision for whom was best not the player.
Personally hate your team and I didn't boo but if I knew some off your supporters would be upset by it then I am spewing I didn't.
By the way herd spitting on people is poor form also!
Aquamarinejewel
22 Jun 2008, 22:28
What shocked me was that there was a significant boo when Ben Johnson was awarded the medal (Bob Rose Medal I believe).
I heard that also and thought it was quite lame, a Collingwood supporter sitting infront of us surprised me in saying that he was upset that Heath Shaw didn't receive the medal and said it should have been awarded to him and not Ben Johnson.
Well done to your team you guys had so many out and also with injuries to Rocca and Reid you really brought it up to us. Good luck for the remainder of your season.
I reckon if the roles were reversed the boo would be louder
I booed as it was the only way I could vent my frustration at Lindsay Gilbee not getting the medal. I tried to send an email but couldnt log on, also tried to convene a meeting with the judges to express my concern they didnt return my call ..... get over it it was not a popular decision by alot of us and we boooed just like you lot boooed Aker contantly throughout the night.
Johnson#26
22 Jun 2008, 22:44
Probably just some Freo fans who were making a weekend of it.
LOL! :D Good call.:thumbsu:
Bulldog4life
22 Jun 2008, 22:56
Unlike a lot of my fellow pies supporters I stayed to watch the presenting of the game cup and medal.
I get the idea of booing a player when they're kicking a goal but not when they're recieving an award. To those doggies who booed this player I say "poor form."
I was surrounded by a huge number of feral Collingwood scum who continually yelled out such things like that they wanted to see Bulldog players injured badly in tackles etc. etc. etc. My wife was verbally attacked and I responded...it nearly turned very ugly.
Your team deserves all it gets because of these type of rubbish supporters......and there are a huge number of them unfotunately.
Get your own supporters to get their act together before you come bleating on our board.
Yeah booing at the football. What is the world coming to? Please note dogs' fans - polite clapping only next week.
ReservoirDog
23 Jun 2008, 00:50
I booed and i would boo again. FFS it was Collingwood. :thumbsu:
Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 00:56
I booed and i would boo again. FFS it was Collingwood. :thumbsu:
Yes its collingwood pay some respect they almost got the 4 points.
ReservoirDog
23 Jun 2008, 01:05
Yes its collingwood pay some respect they almost got the 4 points.
Pfft respect. We played crap and the umps favoured them and we still got the points. Collingwood are ordinary. I loved watching the ferals sulk on the train on the way home.
paul scholes
23 Jun 2008, 03:00
Poor form to boo an ornament in the game like say Aker, yet cheer players who hang out with gangster murderer types. Yeah funny world we live in
D Mitchell
23 Jun 2008, 09:03
Personally hate your team and I didn't boo but if I knew some off your supporters would be upset by it then I am spewing I didn't.
By the way herd spitting on people is poor form also!
Back in the dark days of 1989, when Essendon and Carlton both publicly indicated that if Footscray merged with Fitzroy, they'd be happy, Collingwood stepped up to the plate and co operated with the club in the past players match which raised tens of thousands, McAllister was publicly supportive and put in money himself and I know Collingwood supporters who put in money and took out 1990 memberships. My traditional hatred of Collingwood has permanently softened after that and I was pleased to see Collingwood beat Essendon in the following years Grand Final. Karma ?
The spitter was an Essendon supporter.
boydsno1
23 Jun 2008, 09:42
staight after the game i had a collingwood fan push me and my gf and go why could you bulldog fans have asains( he said a more racist word) supporting your gay club and so forth until the 2 kind officers got him to leave. and yes i did boo. had collingwood won and a dogie player recieved the medel i have no doubt the pie fans would have done the same.
Benno From Berwick
23 Jun 2008, 10:26
Poor form to boo an ornament in the game like say Aker, yet cheer players who hang out with gangster murderer types. Yeah funny world we live in
Couldn't agree more!!
Dog's fans probably evened it out with all the cheers they were giving Dale Thomas.
Every time the Pies players kicked the ball to Dale Thomas, Dale Morris would mark it.
I think in the later stages of the game Dale was our 23rd player.
comrade
23 Jun 2008, 11:15
Maybe people were just shouting 'whoooooo?'. Pretty strange decision to give him best on ground.
dales.girl38
23 Jun 2008, 11:18
I didn't boo him, I was a bit surprised that Johnson got it, I knew a Pies player would as they were much harder at the ball, but admittedly I wasn't paying much attention to each particular Pies player...that's why I didn't boo, for all I knew he could have had 30 touches and 12 tackles, I just wasn't watching them as individuals...well, except for Didak and Thomas when Morris was on them, that was just great to see.
I like the way Pies fans sook about us booing a decision but when we go on the ground for our warm up the majority of you were booing us, and whenever Aker, who I have no idea what he's done to upset you recently, got near the ball all you could hear was boo's. Oh yeah, your reactions to a couple of obvious Bulldogs free kicks were also laughable at best.
I too remember the support given to the Bulldogs at various times by Collingwood. That said, after spending four quarters surrounded by a mob of pig ignorant, racist, football illiterates, I was only too happy to boo anything in Black and White. I still respect the Collingwood players, who, it must be said, outplayed us for a great deal of the match, but many of their supporters have no idea of the difference between supporting and violent abuse. I am pissed off that I, and my family, were made to sit amongst this swill who ruined what was a very exciting game.:thumbsd:
pongo_3931
23 Jun 2008, 19:02
Interestingly the Collingwood website says Ben got best on ground, however the announcers on the night said the medal was given to the player who best extolled the virtues of Bob Rose, strength, courage etc... Not best on ground per se.
Split hairs if you so feel the need.
I sat next to a two great doggies supporters, minded my language and actually chatted with one of them about the outcome of the game come the end of the 4th.
I have had similar experiences with Collingwood supporters, Carlton supporters and so on.
For every bunch of w***ers there is another bunch of decent folk...
Food for thought.
Congratulations once again.
Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 19:05
Interestingly the Collingwood website says Ben got best on ground, however the announcers on the night said the medal was given to the player who best extolled the virtues of Bob Rose, strength, courage etc... Not best on ground per se.
Split hairs if you so feel the need.
I sat next to a two great doggies supporters, minded my language and actually chatted with one of them about the outcome of the game come the end of the 4th.
I have had similar experiences with Collingwood supporters, Carlton supporters and so on.
For every bunch of w***ers there is another bunch of decent folk...
Food for thought.
Congratulations once again.
Wats the Charlie Sutton side then :S?
Mr. Walker
23 Jun 2008, 21:05
Back in the dark days of 1989, when Essendon and Carlton both publicly indicated that if Footscray merged with Fitzroy, they'd be happy, Collingwood stepped up to the plate and co operated with the club in the past players match which raised tens of thousands, McAllister was publicly supportive and put in money himself and I know Collingwood supporters who put in money and took out 1990 memberships. My traditional hatred of Collingwood has permanently softened after that and I was pleased to see Collingwood beat Essendon in the following years Grand Final. Karma ?
The spitter was an Essendon supporter.
Excellent point. Some of us have short memories. While other clubs were lining up to pick the bones off our list Collingwood actually did something to help. It was poor form to boo and whether or not others may do it to us does not make it less so.
Collingwod suffered injuries before and during the game and almost pulled it off. It is unfortunate we do not play them again this year. The type of game they play and the pressure they apply would be another perfect rehersal for the type of game we can expect in the finals.
lindsay_bulldogs
23 Jun 2008, 21:35
Half the people booing were Collingwood supporters. Assume they didn't agree with the decision either. LOL.
Griffs_Revenge
24 Jun 2008, 14:02
Interesting that B.Johnson was not even in top 5 in the coaches votes. For me H.Shaw was a clear best on ground anyway.
kookadog
24 Jun 2008, 15:05
H. Shaw and d Morris would of been worthy winners, To be honest I would rarely rate an opposiiton players game but Heath Shaw was a standout. I would of booed too.
libbasgiantshorts
24 Jun 2008, 16:46
I too remember the support given to the Bulldogs at various times by Collingwood. That said, after spending four quarters surrounded by a mob of pig ignorant, racist, football illiterates, I was only too happy to boo anything in Black and White. I still respect the Collingwood players, who, it must be said, outplayed us for a great deal of the match, but many of their supporters have no idea of the difference between supporting and violent abuse. I am pissed off that I, and my family, were made to sit amongst this swill who ruined what was a very exciting game.:thumbsd:
yep , i have never seen a more out of control bunch of racist
violent ferals in my life .. you cant walk down the street and
give the bird to an old lady in her 60's / 70's but somehow
because your at the footy and barrack for collingwood you
think you have the right to abuse some pretty old folks
and get right up in their face and give them s**t..
the collingwood supporters i was sitting next to were out
of control ..and you wonder why people hate your club.
and no not all clubs have their bad seeds or whatever
your excuse is,
there is something rotten in the culture of a club to
breed that kind of behavior.
paul scholes
24 Jun 2008, 17:03
Geez if some of you had been at Vic Park in the day. Scary scary scary
Dogs_r_barking
24 Jun 2008, 17:03
Give me the filth any day rather than the scum:)
Dogs 13
24 Jun 2008, 18:56
Geez if some of you had been at Vic Park in the day. Scary scary scary
Been there many times and survived.
They are a strange mob (warning rash generalisations ahead), they booed the most blatant free kicks to our guys, they call "ball" with zero prior opportunity (and I think because of the sheer number of them calling probably get decisions that aren't there), they have no idea of who the players from the other teams are (except Aker, cos he stands out so much), they asked where's Leon !!!!, they took unbridled pleasure from our turnovers, they barrack "Go Collingwood", not players names, etc.
But, as I always say, you don't play the Collingwood players named, you play Collingwood the club or team and that's what we faced on Sunday night and they had me worried. So maybe their supporters are the same, it's not about the players, it's all about the club.
memberforever
24 Jun 2008, 19:07
Agree 100%. I wondered what the booing was for. He probably wasn't the standout player on the ground (Heath Shaw played a cracker), but still, why sook? We got the 4 points. That's all that matters really.
Medal is not for best on ground but for the player that shows the same courage and spirit of Sutton and Rose.
Mr. Walker
24 Jun 2008, 20:54
I think every one would feel differently if you knew of the debt of gratitude we owe to Ben Johnson. It was Charlie Sutton who told me the story of how Ben Johnson saved his life and it should be shared with all Bulldog supporters. I think it will have more meaning if I relay the story to you in Charlie’s own words:-
“I was leading a reconnaissance patrol to a small village about thirty clicks north of Da Nang. There were five of us in the patrol including myself. By a strange twist of fate we would all end up playing for the same footy club back home at one time or another. Gary Dempsey and Al Hopkins had forward ops, Chris Grant was on point and Kelvin Templeton was radio operator. Kelvin always used to complain that lugging the radio around hurt his knees something shocking but I just told him not to worry as what long term harm could there be in it. Anyway when we got to the village we found the North Vietnamese Army was already there and we had one hell of a fire fight on our hands. We held our own for a while but the numbers soon told and I gave the order to pull back. Unfortunately a couple of Viet Cong units had set up to block our retreat so there was nothing else for it but to dig in and hope like hell the fly boys could get us out of there before the ammo ran out and we were over run. The worst thing was that this was at 5 pm on a Friday afternoon and those nancy boys in the air corps all had a weekend rec pass for Bangkok. For two days we had to take the best Charlie could throw at us until at 9.05 am on the Monday morning a chopper came over the horizon, napalmed the whole joint and we able to get back to base. I’ll never forget the guy flying that chopper. His name was Ben Johnson. Ben would later play for Collingwood, and I was never so glad to see someone in all my life.
The rest as they say is history. Later that week I was able to catch a Hercules transport back to Australia, help us win the 54 GF and I owe it all to that chopper pilot Ben Johnson”.
And you all had the poor form to boo
lindsay_bulldogs
24 Jun 2008, 21:49
I think every one would feel differently if you knew of the debt of gratitude we owe to Ben Johnson. It was Charlie Sutton who told me the story of how Ben Johnson saved his life and it should be shared with all Bulldog supporters. I think it will have more meaning if I relay the story to you in Charlie’s own words:-
“I was leading a reconnaissance patrol to a small village about thirty clicks north of Da Nang. There were five of us in the patrol including myself. By a strange twist of fate we would all end up playing for the same footy club back home at one time or another. Gary Dempsey and Al Hopkins had forward ops, Chris Grant was on point and Kelvin Templeton was radio operator. Kelvin always used to complain that lugging the radio around hurt his knees something shocking but I just told him not to worry as what long term harm could there be in it. Anyway when we got to the village we found the North Vietnamese Army was already there and we had one hell of a fire fight on our hands. We held our own for a while but the numbers soon told and I gave the order to pull back. Unfortunately a couple of Viet Cong units had set up to block our retreat so there was nothing else for it but to dig in and hope like hell the fly boys could get us out of there before the ammo ran out and we were over run. The worst thing was that this was at 5 pm on a Friday afternoon and those nancy boys in the air corps all had a weekend rec pass for Bangkok. For two days we had to take the best Charlie could throw at us until at 9.05 am on the Monday morning a chopper came over the horizon, napalmed the whole joint and we able to get back to base. I’ll never forget the guy flying that chopper. His name was Ben Johnson. Ben would later play for Collingwood, and I was never so glad to see someone in all my life.
The rest as they say is history. Later that week I was able to catch a Hercules transport back to Australia, help us win the 54 GF and I owe it all to that chopper pilot Ben Johnson”.
And you all had the poor form to boo
You Lost! Get over it!
kleptomjc
25 Jun 2008, 00:16
Not one for booing myself, however, I agree that alot of fans where I was were collingwood supporters, and doing most of the booing.
Interesting to see (My mate, who is a collingwood supporter pointed this out to me) that Ben Johnson took the medal straight off shaking his head. Makes you wonder what he thought of the decsion.
I agree with most, I though Heath Shaw deserved the medal. Not just because he may have played well, but because without him, the defense would have been a rabble, and the scores mighty different (imo).
Ah well, in the history books now. 4 points was gained, we got the cup, lets just hope the same people who decided the medal don't have any influence on the brownlow. *grin*