View Full Version : Now for Port
I think based on what we know so far Williams is doubtful.
I reckon Hill might come in for Ward ..?? Hill has put a couple of good games together at Willi. Ward got a far bit of attention tonight might need to catch his breath.
As for replacing Tom .... Yes Wight was in the best for Willi !
Unnamed1
22 Jun 2008, 23:50
I reckon Hill might come in for Ward ..?? Hill has put a couple of good games together at Willi. Ward got a far bit of attention tonight might need to catch his breath.
As for replacing Tom .... Yes Wight was in the best for Willi !
When's Callan back?
The Boy From Brasil
22 Jun 2008, 23:52
Hopefully now that Mark Williams said they can't make the finals, he will play the kids and drop some experienced players, and look towards development rather than trying to win.
I would think that Chad Cornes would be rested because of injury. He can hardly walk with his knee problem.
.M a t t.
22 Jun 2008, 23:53
S?? Burgoyne out with a hamstring injury or was it P Burgoyne...
When's Callan back?
He is probabaly close Hamy 21 days dependent on serverity so could be in.
gothedogs1
23 Jun 2008, 00:06
i think that we will get over the line now that port are playing the kids
AngeloPetraglia
23 Jun 2008, 00:08
We will need to be switched on to beat Port.
Remember in 2006, we were flying and they had already put the cue in the rack after a season to forget and they stiched us up in Darwin. Their small running players killed us that night.
Agree that we are getting them at a good time. They will most probably rest a number of their players who are carrying something.
A good win into the break is very important.
Got to win this one - if only for the player's confidence going into the break.
Eade seems much less complacent about these type of games this year. Better time of year to be playing them. In 06' we played Port up north in the later rounds. Will be better conditions at this time of year - an 05' style smashing of carlton would be good (think we played them at about this time)
Touched
23 Jun 2008, 00:46
Are you guys serious :confused:
We're 2nd on the ladder with a record breaking start to the season and we need to win "for our confidence" and should be "relieved" that Port are going to play youngsters :confused::confused:
Crickey some supporters have the loser mentality well and truly entrenched in their scones :rolleyes:
The Boy From Brasil
23 Jun 2008, 00:56
Are you guys serious :confused:
We're 2nd on the ladder with a record breaking start to the season and we need to win "for our confidence" and should be "relieved" that Port are going to play youngsters :confused::confused:
Crickey some supporters have the loser mentality well and truly entrenched in their scones :rolleyes:
I wouldn't call it losers mentality, I would call it guarding against complacency.
Apart from Melbourne and maybe one or two others, there are no gimme games in the AFL.
Port Adelaide fully fit are a huge threat to us. Any side with the burgoyne brothers, the cornes brothers, Lade, Brogan and Motlop kicking bags every week, have the capacity to win against most sides. The difference between this year and last year is that they are losing the games decided by less than two kicks rather than winning them.
Personally, I am pleased that Chocco will rest some players and start his rebuilding against us. If you want him to field a fired up best 22, that is your perogative :)
Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 00:58
Ill be watching and lets hope its not ANOTHER close game like collingwood coz the collingwood game i almost fell off level three coz i was off my seat that far :P.
lifelike_
23 Jun 2008, 01:08
Watching the Port game and seeing a few key members of their side go down yesterday got me thinking.
I don't think we've ever had so much luck in running into teams with key players missing.
Sure, it's nice for the time being but it's going to be very interesting when we come up against a near full strength Geelong team in a month or so.
Touched
23 Jun 2008, 01:10
Its an "inferiority complex" if you think we need opposition teams to field less than their best players just so we can get a "cheap" victory ;)
The title of the thread is "Now for Port" and people are posting how we can get easy wins ... like we need them!
What we need now are challenges like todays game that will tell us which players are going to be there come finals time.
The reality is it doesnt matter what the opposition serves up if we continue our style we will win more than we lose - its how we play that determines where we go - NOT other teams resting players etc
The Boy From Brasil
23 Jun 2008, 01:18
The reality is though that Port Adelaide will put the cue in the rack, send their injured players for early operations and play the kids. Mark Williams practically said as much in the after match press conference. I don't see that as a bad thing, thinking with my bulldogs cap on. We played a tough twilight sunday game and now do our leylands brother tour to Darwin,which will probably be reasonably humid. If Port Adelaide want to make it easier for us by resting players, I for one will not be complaining.
If you want challenges though, here are many still coming up through the year.
Round 16 vs Geelong at Skilled
Round 18 vs Syndey at Manuka
Round 19 vs Kangaroos at TD
Round 20 vs Brisbane at Gabba
Round 22 vs Adealide at Aami
Still heaps of challenges for us to hone our preparations for finals :)
S?? Burgoyne out with a hamstring injury or was it P Burgoyne...
P Burgoyne did his hammy, Salopek is in doubt, and talk about Chad Cornes chopping off his finger.
The Boy From Brasil
23 Jun 2008, 01:42
and talk about Chad Cornes chopping off his finger.
Seems a tad drastic given his knee injury is his major problem.
mighty seagulls
23 Jun 2008, 01:47
Seems a tad drastic given his knee injury is his major problem.
Nah its to take his mind off the pain. Major Pain style.;)
Spectre
23 Jun 2008, 03:45
i think that we will get over the line now that port are playing the kids
:rolleyes:
Seriously, dude? Come on. A full strength Port should be worried to face us. Their kids should fear us like the bogey man, the grinch and the xbox repo guys all rolled into one. We shouldn't 'get over the line', we should DISEMBOWEL them! :D
Bulldog Joe
23 Jun 2008, 09:34
We have to be on our game because there is a danger of complacency. It has been a tough period playing contenders in the last 5 and it is hard to sustain winning form. We were off the boil against Collingwood.
The fact the Port have conceded that they won't make finals actually makes it more difficult as it removes the pressure to win which has contributed to their capacity to choke.
What they will have is the freedom to enjoy the game and players trying to consolidate their career prospects.
They are also 2 from 2 in Darwin against us.
Our players may well be looking for the break but need to focus on the game.
Need to bring in Hill probably for Ward, although Aker was either crook or sore against the Pies. Would have been a good game to promote Stack but he has apparently gone down in the Williamstown game and will miss weeks.
Its an important and a danger game for many reasons.
Port has played well in Darwin and have beaten us previously.
AND its important considering Cats vs Crows and Swans vs Pies in the same round. It will enable us to put another game between us and the crows, pies/swans or even go top of the ladder should crows beat the cats.
TedDougChris
23 Jun 2008, 16:39
:rolleyes:
Seriously, dude? Come on. A full strength Port should be worried to face us. Their kids should fear us like the bogey man, the grinch and the xbox repo guys all rolled into one. We shouldn't 'get over the line', we should DISEMBOWEL them! :D
It's talk like this that has me worried.....
Any more over-the-top pride will lead to a hell of a hangover and plenty of egg-on-faces....
I'm happy with being worried about our opposition every week....
stefoid
23 Jun 2008, 18:13
I reckon eade would love to have hill on the bench as a storm trooper come finals time, he has that turn a game ability - if he could be coached into some sort of semi-consistant form. so he might get a callup?
X_box_X
23 Jun 2008, 19:22
The reality is though that Port Adelaide will put the cue in the rack, send their injured players for early operations and play the kids. Mark Williams practically said as much in the after match press conference. I don't see that as a bad thing, thinking with my bulldogs cap on. We played a tough twilight sunday game and now do our leylands brother tour to Darwin,which will probably be reasonably humid. If Port Adelaide want to make it easier for us by resting players, I for one will not be complaining.
Are you penciling in the next two games as wins, then? I have never, ever seen the Bulldogs win six consecutive games. I wasn't alive when we last achieved this in 1985, so if we can break this hoodoo, then I genuinely believe we are half way there to breaking a more important hoodoo.
we should win 2 keep top spot
Red,White and Blue
24 Jun 2008, 11:34
I am a bit worried about this one. Port are actuallly a half decent side and are like freo. If they play really well and were off our game they can knock us off (see a few weeks ago at Subi where we just beat freo). If we do play our best footy though we should get a win.
Asgardian
24 Jun 2008, 14:28
No, I'm positive Mark 'Choco' Williams will be coaching us against the Doggies
Peter Burgoyne will be out with a hammy
Steven Salopek will be out with an achilles
Chad Cornes will be out with various problems
Toby Thurstans will be out with a knee
Matthew Thomas is out on suspension
Brendon Lade may be out, he has a back 'issue'
Michael Wilson may be out
Leaves us fielding a pretty young team, but we'll go out there and do our best
Good luck guys
Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
24 Jun 2008, 14:30
If we beat geelong ill buy every1 a cyber drink :P
Hill is a certainty for Darwin, Ward will be rested, Hill will be kept in Eades sights as he has that something special that can help turn games.
paul scholes
24 Jun 2008, 17:27
No, I'm positive Mark 'Choco' Williams will be coaching us against the Doggies
Peter Burgoyne will be out with a hammy
Steven Salopek will be out with an achilles
Chad Cornes will be out with various problems
Toby Thurstans will be out with a knee
Matthew Thomas is out on suspencion
Brendon Lade may be out, he has a back 'issue'
Michael Wilson may be out
Leaves us fielding a pretty young team, but we'll go out there and do our best
Good luck guysThurstans not playing is a blow for us. Tend to recall Port putting players out to pasture in 2006 and beating us with Damon White[remember him] starring. Come on Dogs bring the A Game.
Lightning_Rod
24 Jun 2008, 20:28
i will congratulate you on your year to date because your team has been amazing and is performing out of site, i will also give praise to your preemptive win on saturday night, you are a class above most teams and are now in the trio bracket with geelong and hawthorn for the flag. hopefully we put up a fight and play to the end and take something away from it. cheers LR
Hill is a certainty for Darwin, Ward will be rested, Hill will be kept in Eades sights as he has that something special that can help turn games.
Hill a certainty because ?
Capital Power
24 Jun 2008, 22:11
G'day Doggie fans .. IIRC last year you had a very detailed thread where you invited oppo supporters to discuss the game in depth - do you still do those? It was brilliant and some of the best pre-match analysis I saw all year.
Anyway, as has already been stated we have some genuine injuries, and it has been reported Lade is likely to be rested. C. Cornes is a likely starter at this stage, but he must be carrying something worse than his broken finger. White and Lonie have been suggested as ins by Choco, but not Thomson (who many Power fans are screaming to have in).
I hope we go a little taller up forward, but Motlop is a potential game breaker you may not have an obvious match up for. Shaun is due a blinder and some pressure is definitely off this week. I'm hoping we make it a contest, but we will need to be an order of magnitude better than our last 3 games.
The Boy From Brasil
24 Jun 2008, 22:21
G'day Doggie fans .. IIRC last year you had a very detailed thread where you invited oppo supporters to discuss the game in depth - do you still do those? It was brilliant and some of the best pre-match analysis I saw all year.
Anyway, as has already been stated we have some genuine injuries, and it has been reported Lade is likely to be rested. C. Cornes is a likely starter at this stage, but he must be carrying something worse than his broken finger. White and Lonie have been suggested as ins by Choco, but not Thomson (who many Power fans are screaming to have in).
I hope we go a little taller up forward, but Motlop is a potential game breaker you may not have an obvious match up for. Shaun is due a blinder and some pressure is definitely off this week. I'm hoping we make it a contest, but we will need to be an order of magnitude better than our last 3 games.
Power, I had a look at your game preview thread on your board. You have gone extremely high tech with the magnet board :eek: Very impressive :thumbsu:
Capital Power
24 Jun 2008, 22:26
Yeah, the poster who puts that up spends hours on it every week, hoping that his selections are correct (but usually having his hopes dashed by the coach). I'd also recommend the now-weekly "transcript from the selection table" post which is hilarious.
adam1302
24 Jun 2008, 23:18
do you think Ward will be out for sure or does he still have a chance of making the trip?
ZachPower
25 Jun 2008, 00:40
Hey dogs fans!,
I wanted to wish you a good luck (probably will not need it though) for the game this coming weekend.
Your team is great and in fact if we don't make the finals, I hope you guys win it.
We'd actually be a chance if we hadn't written finals off already. We are a good team. Except for Sydney and Geelong losses we have only lost most of our games by a couple of kicks so hopefully it will be a good game in Darwin.
Once again good luck guys and cheerio! :thumbsu:
ps: I hope how youngins do try so we can get revenge for you guys beating last year in Heritage Round. Some of you may know how much that Prison Bar Guernsey means to us and how it was feared through out S.A. for around 130 or so years.
The Boy From Brasil
25 Jun 2008, 01:00
Your team is great and in fact if we don't make the finals, I hope you guys win it.
We'd actually be a chance if we hadn't written finals off already. We are a good team. Except for Sydney and Geelong losses we have only lost most of our games by a couple of kicks so hopefully it will be a good game in Darwin.
ps: I hope how youngins do try so we can get revenge for you guys beating last year in Heritage Round. Some of you may know how much that Prison Bar Guernsey means to us and how it was feared through out S.A. for around 130 or so years.
Thanks for the kind words :)
Your club has a fantastic history in the SANFL and I was happy to see you come into the AFL rather than some new generic team. It adds a new dimension to the competition.
Good luck with your new guys and your injured players coming back fit and firing(but hopefully not against us)
Hill a certainty because ?
Ward is probably due a rest, he is very young and will come along nicely as his body gets bigger etc
Hill is closer to the real deal regarding being ready to play finals and I am sure Rocket has kept him in mind for the remainder of the year.
We are also playing in Darwin, Hill is Indigenous, you do the math dude.
DexterTan
25 Jun 2008, 13:29
I reckon the Glove Dale Morris might have first crack. :thumbsu:
Motlop isn't the kind of player that will play 4 quarters of football. He plays in patches, and when he clicks into it, I honestly don't think there is any AFL player out there than can stop him.. He's the sort of player you can keep out for three and a half quarters, but he will get away from you for half a quarter, and that half a quarter might be all he needs to turn the game on its head
DexterTan
25 Jun 2008, 18:59
That's fine because The Glove plays 4 QUARTERS of football and depantsing an All Australian in Alan Didak would have been a nice confidence builder to take on the man whose name nobody knows :)
I'm sure The Glove would be looking forward to the match up!
Ward is probably due a rest, he is very young and will come along nicely as his body gets bigger etc
Hill is closer to the real deal regarding being ready to play finals and I am sure Rocket has kept him in mind for the remainder of the year.
We are also playing in Darwin, Hill is Indigenous, you do the math dude.
Fair call on Ward.
But surely you are'nt suggesting that we would make a selection based on race. I did the Math dude.
Fair call on Ward.
But surely you are'nt suggesting that we would make a selection based on race. I did the Math dude.
Of course not, but Hill has been close to being picked for the last couple of weeks and Ward will probably be better for the rest.
We are playing in Darwin, there will be many neutral Indigenous supporters at the game and they would, one can safely assume enjoy seeing an Indigenous player running around for the Doggies.
Neutral supporters can sometimes become paid financial members and it would be a tad naive to think that we are playing in Darwin for any other reason than to build on our supporter base.
Having an Indigenous player in the Red, White and Blue would not be a negative in this regard, especially if he is fit and raring to go after being out of the top team for weeks now.
Of course not, but Hill has been close to being picked for the last couple of weeks and Ward will probably be better for the rest.
We are playing in Darwin, there will be many neutral Indigenous supporters at the game and they would, one can safely assume enjoy seeing an Indigenous player running around for the Doggies.
Neutral supporters can sometimes become paid financial members and it would be a tad naive to think that we are playing in Darwin for any other reason than to build on our supporter base.
Having an Indigenous player in the Red, White and Blue would not be a negative in this regard, especially if he is fit and raring to go after being out of the top team for weeks now.
Understood not sugesting its a negative so long as the spot is on merits.
We sell games out of economic neccessity not on the unlikely chance that if we play an Aboriginal we might get neutral Darwinites join up. Its a tad naive to suggest anything else. If we got a decent Stadium deal at TD we would be out of Darwin, Sydney ( previous) & ACT as quick as a wink.
It is nice to have talent in RWB regadless of their racial back ground.
That said Hill is a certainty. To develop your rationale what type of selection strategy ( form taken as a give) should we adopt to lure Sydney siders and ACTites.
Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
26 Jun 2008, 01:03
Hey dogs fans!,
I wanted to wish you a good luck (probably will not need it though) for the game this coming weekend.
I Love Port Fans the most ( Besides Dogs Fans )