View Full Version : Matt Thomas 1 week - not goodes at all
dyertribe
23 Jun 2008, 17:55
Just on 5AA now. Offered a week for hitting that shameless seagull J-Bo.
Power King
23 Jun 2008, 18:02
I don't even remember him doing anything that could've warranted a suspension...
Pinepower
23 Jun 2008, 18:04
We complain about players not going for the ball but if you do and accidentally hit a player then off you go to the corner.
Just on 5AA now. Offered a week for hitting that shameless seagull J-Bo.
I would be surprised if he had more than 1/10th of a second to avoid contact.
Another pissweak and biased decision - imagine if he was indigenous as well - that's a quinella.
portentous
23 Jun 2008, 18:07
I reckon the MRP have been hit around the head a few too many times.
What a friggin' bunch of clowns. I'm sure Ashtons' circus have a place for them but they should be kicked out of AFL house.
dyertribe
23 Jun 2008, 18:07
Another pissweak and biased decision - imagine if he was indigenous as well - that's a quinella.
The way he's going he'll be Choppy II, if he isn't already.
Vilified as a 'sniper' with a long rap-sheet of priors and dealt with as such, despite having only been suspended 0-2 times prior in his entire career.
crazyman27
23 Jun 2008, 18:09
The MRP are a joke.
Shane_Mag
23 Jun 2008, 19:17
Still continuing their great form....NOT!
Ford Fairlane
23 Jun 2008, 19:25
Only saw it on one angle, but it didn't even look high on the replay. Looks late by a nanosecond in slow-mo. Not much point appealing, they'll just give him 2.
Luckily we have Lonie waiting in the wings. ;)
PAFC_316
23 Jun 2008, 19:35
At least Lonie has the "ability" to avoid any sort of physical contact and is very unlikely to never get reported.:)
Killer Power
23 Jun 2008, 20:07
Absolute disgrace, MRP are turning the game into netball
manureid
23 Jun 2008, 20:18
Without looking, i assume Goodes latest 'hip to the head' got nothing.
Killer Power
23 Jun 2008, 20:21
Without looking, i assume Goodes latest 'hip to the head' got nothing.
He got a match, as did Bassett
Goodes actually got two, but down to one with an early plea
RussellEbertHandball
23 Jun 2008, 20:49
Here's the explanation.
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsid=62037
Did he actually make contact with Bowden's head? I thought the contact was to his chest, high up, but not the head. If not, then I hope the club challenges.
Unfortunately for Matty I think he might be gone.Just that little bit late and it looked a little high.Nothing in in 2 years ago but we are playing a very sanitised game these days.:(
Argh! Doesn't that just give you the sh!ts. I think this point was mentioned on 5AA this arvo (I know), but I fear he may be forced to change his game at the rate he's going. It'd be an absolute shame as his physical presence is his thing, he's a Pickett Mach II and could be an absolute silver bullet in terms of helping us lose the "soft" tag. Would hate to see him curb his style as Pickett was forced to do.
And those that call him a sniper should be ashamed of themselves, without wanting to sound childish they really are just jealous they don't have a player like him.
Would love to see one of you more net-savvy posters come up with an avatar showing Thomas' hits too!
Power King
23 Jun 2008, 23:40
I loved how one of the commentators said during the match something like, "the way this guy plays reminds me so much of michael wilson... and he just loves hitting blokes!"
manureid
23 Jun 2008, 23:46
Ah, I remember the incident now, as soon as it happened the commentators all agreed that it was fine, nothing in it, good hard footy. So straight away i knew he was screwed.....same as S Burger.
shanrew5
24 Jun 2008, 03:01
What a disgrace. It was a fair hip and shoulder. Love the way the kid plays and hope this decision doesnt chage it
Power King
24 Jun 2008, 04:03
Ah, I remember the incident now, as soon as it happened the commentators all agreed that it was fine, nothing in it, good hard footy. So straight away i knew he was screwed.....same as S Burger.
^Yeah now that you mention it I remember the commentators saying that too.
Only difference was that on the replay I thought he'd be fine.
Hard, solid, but fair.
Did he even make high contact? seemed to get the other guy around the top of his sternum
Just to chip in from the otherside of the fence.
He jumped. I think that was the main problem. He couldve stayed low and cleaned him up on the body going no where near the head, but he jumped before making the contact, which made it look high.
There was nothing in it except the free imo for a low impact high contact hit, but by doing that little thing he gave the MRP an angle to report him and being a tough nut you know he'll be looked at every week in a different light unfortunately.
S.Patrol.G
24 Jun 2008, 12:42
certainly wasn't high. fair hard hit. But if MRP has decided it's worth one what about the Lloyd vs Judd clash where both were left dazed?
Now as a football purist I see no problem with either clash but if Thomas goes it's more who he is (or isn't) and who he plays for (or doesn't)
The big names in the big games always seem to avoid the MRP and get off for "tough" football yet the lesser names in the lesser games get done.
Forzaport
24 Jun 2008, 13:06
Even if it was assessed at body contact, he'd still get a week! :thumbsd:
How dumb is that? How the frig can a contact sport have negligant contact, low impact and to the body as a category??? :confused:
Forza, I'd say that category would be for things like Fev's little roundhouse whack the other week that obviously are a little more force then his tap, never intended for fair hip and shoulders.
The MRP changed the rules with the Burgoyne case and in doing so, set themselves a new precedent and confused everyone and are now suffering having to stay consistent with one bad decision. They are killing the game full stop.
P.A.F.C
24 Jun 2008, 17:08
Just to chip in from the otherside of the fence.
He jumped. I think that was the main problem. He couldve stayed low and cleaned him up on the body going no where near the head, but he jumped before making the contact, which made it look high.
There was nothing in it except the free imo for a low impact high contact hit, but by doing that little thing he gave the MRP an angle to report him and being a tough nut you know he'll be looked at every week in a different light unfortunately.
I'd have to agree with this.
Mitch Power
24 Jun 2008, 17:43
What a joke. I love the way Matt plays and I hope he doesn't change his game. He makes a real difference to the team and sets the right example for other players.
Demetriou and Anderson are ruining the game. Look at the number of top players that have been suspended this year.
*PAFC*13
25 Jun 2008, 16:00
what a ____ing disgrace
gopower
25 Jun 2008, 17:33
The tribunal is crap now. The way it's going you'll soon be able to shoot someone on the field as long as it doesn't hit their head. But if you breathe on their head, 5 weeks time.