View Full Version : Sunday Twilight games

lindsay_bulldogs
23 Jun 2008, 19:17
Anyone like these games?

The crowd was OK but for Collingwood home game I thought it would have been sold out.

If we played North I think the crowd would have only been around 20,000.

Personally don't like the time and would probably dislike Monday games even more.

Thoughts?

Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 19:21
Yeah i dont like Twighlight games because my dinner was ready by start of 3Q and it was cold by the end of the game. :mad::mad:

Axe Man
23 Jun 2008, 19:30
We played North in a twilight game a month ago and the crowd was 35,471, so I don't think 20k is at all accurate.

Personally I don't like the Sunday twilight games either. It means I don't get home until 9:00pm, which is later than I would like on a Sunday. Definitely prefer them to Monday games though, the AFL can jam those.

X_box_X
23 Jun 2008, 19:30
If we played North I think the crowd would have only been around 20,000.

Not quite. We played them in a twilight game only four weeks ago if you recall. 34971 attended.

As for me liking them or not, I don't. Clearly we don't play well in them, and I've felt that way since Adelaide murdered us on Easter Sunday last year at the MCG.

bulldogdan
23 Jun 2008, 19:31
i don't like the twilight games. i'm stuffed by the end of the weekend. the only positive is that you get more of the day to do whatever you do on weekends.

lindsay_bulldogs
23 Jun 2008, 19:33
Yeah i dont like Twighlight games because my dinner was ready by start of 3Q and it was cold by the end of the game. :mad::mad:

Thats funny had to have left overs. Chicken soup from the fridge. Just got home in time to kiss the kids good night.

Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 19:35
Thats funny had to have left overs. Chicken soup from the fridge. Just got home in time to kiss the kids good night.
Well i know for a fact me and my wife and kids are going to the darwin and i had better eat at the game bahhahaha ;P are u goin to the darwin game?

lindsay_bulldogs
23 Jun 2008, 20:03
Well i know for a fact me and my wife and kids are going to the darwin and i had better eat at the game bahhahaha ;P are u goin to the darwin game?

Can't. Just started a new job so can't get the time off. I have been to Darwin before and if this is your first time you should enjoy it. Especially the warmth at this time off year.

AngeloPetraglia
23 Jun 2008, 21:43
If the Dogs are not playing, twighlight games are great. Sit at home on the couch and watch a game of footy over Sunday dinner.If we are playing, don't like twighlight games. Have to wait the whole weekend to watch the team play and miss Sunday night dinner at home!

Coooooooneyyyyyyyy
23 Jun 2008, 22:02
Can't. Just started a new job so can't get the time off. I have been to Darwin before and if this is your first time you should enjoy it. Especially the warmth at this time off year.
Well im going and if we win ill shout u a drink! :D a cyber drink!

soupaman
24 Jun 2008, 11:30
I reckon they're horrible.

Takes ages to get to them, and you can't really do too much beforehand because to get there at 4:20ish we have to leave at 3:30, whihc means get organised around 3, which means half our day has gone.

Feels like a night match when you're there, and then when it finishes your body clock just gets completely thrown, and 8 feels like 10:30.

I hate them.

Cyberdoggie
24 Jun 2008, 11:41

Takes ages to get to them, and you can't really do too much beforehand because to get there at 4:20ish we have to leave at 3:30, whihc means get organised around 3, which means half our day has gone.

Feels like a night match when you're there, and then when it finishes your body clock just gets completely thrown, and 8 feels like 10:30.

I hate them.

well that doesn't make sense at all.

i find it gives me a chance to get everything done, then we can head off to the footy.

If you can't get everything done by a 4:40 start then how do you get ready for a 2:15pm start on sunday???

P-MONEY
24 Jun 2008, 12:06
Did anyone else notice when they posted the crowd total on the score board that 9000+ reserved ticket holders didn't show up?

If they showed up it would of been full capacity.

Dogs_r_barking
24 Jun 2008, 12:06
I hate Sunday games full stop:mad: The kids play junior football on Sunday afternoons, and considering we are rural we could be anywhere between Alexander, Eilden to Heathcote - no way we can get to the game after that:thumbsd: PS Just upgraded to a Silver premiership and we will be lucky to see our seats twice.:(

JorgePosada
24 Jun 2008, 12:08

I hate them.

50 minutes isn't really ages!

acker
24 Jun 2008, 12:15
Big winner for getting TV advertising dollars.

BenF
24 Jun 2008, 13:42
So where do people think the Twilght game should be? At 2pm or even 7pm. I doubt it. As a previous poster said its all about the dollars$$ and Foxtel get the 1pm and twilight game back-to-back. It will be very interesting as tho where the ninth game in the fixture ends up. Personally another Friday night game would go down well IMO.

Chicago1
24 Jun 2008, 14:10
I much prefer the twilight games to evening matches because of the time difference. A twilight start for me is 1.40am; evening start is 4.40am. Of course I love the regular old afternoon start at 11.10pm my time. Just enough time to listen to the match, have a late night snack and still get enough sleep afterwards.

TedDougChris
24 Jun 2008, 14:11
With a young family it makes it difficult to get to the twilight/night games in winter. Have no issues early in the season when the weather/light is a bit better....

DogODestruction
24 Jun 2008, 15:32
Sunday twilight is the best time for games i think, i love em .
You have a big one Sat night sleep allday sunday, get up mid afternoon shower and go to the game.
If your not a rager u can sit down with the family and your sunday roast lunch and enjoy the day before going to the game.
When the dogs dont play just put your feet up and watch the game on tv LIVE of foxtel, best time of the week.

always right
24 Jun 2008, 15:43
You have a big one Sat night sleep allday sunday, get up mid afternoon shower and go to the game.
If your not a rager u can sit down with the family and your sunday roast lunch and enjoy the day before going to the game.
When the dogs dont play just put your feet up and watch the game on tv LIVE of foxtel, best time of the week.

Hate them...Sunday just drags and drags. Imagine how the players feel.

lindsay_bulldogs
24 Jun 2008, 18:35

Normally I would have a roast dinner. Exactly as you say I had a roast lunch instead. Had to put it on at 9:00am so no time to sleep in past 8:00am unfrotunately. Was a good feed of pork though.

#1 Dogs Fan
24 Jun 2008, 18:48
I actually like it because I get to work a full day and then go to the footy.

Helps me out heaps.

acker
25 Jun 2008, 10:15
So where do people think the Twilght game should be? At 2pm or even 7pm. I doubt it. As a previous poster said its all about the dollars$$ and Foxtel get the 1pm and twilight game back-to-back. It will be very interesting as tho where the ninth game in the fixture ends up. Personally another Friday night game would go down well IMO.

I reckon Monday night is still on the cards.

gilbeegurl
25 Jun 2008, 10:18
I actually like it because I get to work a full day and then go to the footy.

Helps me out heaps.

i second this :thumbsu:. I get paid penalty rates on a Sunday so if the dogs play during the day I miss out on good cash.

Capital_Dog
25 Jun 2008, 21:12
I much prefer the twilight games to evening matches because of the time difference. A twilight start for me is 1.40am; evening start is 4.40am. Of course I love the regular old afternoon start at 11.10pm my time. Just enough time to listen to the match, have a late night snack and still get enough sleep afterwards.

Us out-of-towners that can get to Melbourne unlike Chigaco1, find it very difficult to get home for work on Monday morning after a twilight game. No flights back home after 8:20, meaning an overnight and a very early start on Monday.

Though I must admit the afternoon break between running the half marathon in the morning and the game at 4:40pm was welcome. Had a nice chat for three kms in the run with a guy in a Bulldogs cap. That took my mind off the wet and the cold.:D Love talking about winning Bulldogs, what a change from so many seasons...

acker
25 Jun 2008, 21:56

I say that about your Monday night football NFL West Coast games "Chic1"

They start here around 11am and finish around 3.30pm in the afternoon.

If your home from work they are fantastic :)

Just finish in time before the kids get home from school.

Which is fortunate becuase my brat always wants to watch American Chopper on Nat Geo when he gets home from school.

Chicago1
26 Jun 2008, 04:37
I'm actually thinking about emailing Andrew Demetriou to see if some of our matches next year could start at, say, 9am Saturday morning. That would be a nice relaxing Friday evening at my computer listening. Am I being selfish? :p

cragglerock
26 Jun 2008, 09:44
Twilight games are great to watch on TV, but I don't enjoy having to go to them when the WB are playing - you've got to wait the entire weekend for them to play, and then it starts so late, and by the time the game is over, its pretty much time to go home, get some rest, before the working week starts!!

Saturday arvo is the best time to see a game live, but going to one or two twilight games a year is no big deal. Just don't make it a regular thing Doggies.