View Full Version : Winner and margin Fremantle vs Essendon

SirJimi05
23 Jun 2008, 19:41
Dons have looked good in the last few weeks.

If it was a home game i would lean towards the Bombers.

It is at subiaco so i will say Fremantle to win by 10 points.

Smyth94
23 Jun 2008, 19:48
Dons have looked good in the last few weeks.

If it was a home game i would lean towards the Bombers.

It is at subiaco so i will say Fremantle to win by 10 points.

Who knows what Freo will rock up?

If our midfield performs like it did yesterday then we're a huge chance.

SirJimi05
23 Jun 2008, 19:52
Who knows what Freo will rock up?
If our midfield performs like it did yesterday then we're a huge chance.

It is a bit like that isn't it...

Spikey
23 Jun 2008, 19:54
McPharlin on Lloyd will also be very important.

Will McPharlin even be fit?

This topic isn't as fun without the Carlton fans...:p

bomberbill22
23 Jun 2008, 19:56
Bombers FTW win i reckon. Can feel a late season revival

SirJimi05
23 Jun 2008, 19:57
Will McPharlin even be fit?

This topic isn't as fun without the Carlton fans...:p

Yeah i actually changed my post at the same time as you posting this one because of that reason.

True about the Carlton supporters. The other thread got over 6000 views and 300 posts, this will be lucky to get 30-40 posts...lol :thumbsu:

loopy_cam
23 Jun 2008, 20:12
Essendon 14.12.96
Fremantle 11.5.71

Goals
Essendon - Lucas, Lloyd (3), McPhee, Jetta (2) Hille, Laycock, Riemers, Stanton
Fremantle - Pavlich (4), Farmer (3), Tarrant, Palmer, Bell, Murphy

Bests
Essendon - Stanton, McVeigh, Ryder, Lloyd, Lucas
Fremantle - Bell, Solomon, Pavlich, Grover, Ma. Johnson

Spikey
23 Jun 2008, 20:18
One of Farmer & Palmer to get Reimered

Bombers42
23 Jun 2008, 20:23
Bombers by 121 points:D

Spikey
23 Jun 2008, 20:25
Oh and please change the title to Essendon B vs Essendon

Add Solly on the list of players who could get 'Reimered'

Bachar Houli
23 Jun 2008, 20:46
Essendon by 4

Pavlich to kick 6
Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle combination to kick 10

Pawtucket Patriot
23 Jun 2008, 20:47
Bombers by 25 points. Bell to get reimered. :thumbsu:

Schmick
23 Jun 2008, 20:48
Essendon by 10 points. Neagle to kick 5, and Palmer to get Riemered.

warney7
23 Jun 2008, 21:47
Ok.

I backed us in against West Coast and had no doubts that we would beat Carlton, but I'm going to have to tip against us this week.

I just that over in the west, Freo will have our measure.

That said, the same players who have done the job over the past 2 weeks are required to stand up again (Hille, Lloyd, Welsh, Neagle, Lonergan, Reimers)

Not unwinnable by any stretch but I think Fremantle by about 25

Bomber32
23 Jun 2008, 22:16
Essendon by 10 points.

B-Bomber
23 Jun 2008, 22:42
Essendon by 5 with freo leading by 15 going into the final quarter.

Mark Johnson to get Reimered (not that I want it to happen)

Thomas Hird 2020
23 Jun 2008, 22:45
If MacPharlin plays - Fremantle
If he doesn't - Essendon

Hopefully Jeff Farmer gets Reimered...

james_omahoney
23 Jun 2008, 22:58
I'm gonna take a punt on this one and go with bombers by 50. Just an inkling...

S.C[BANKS]
23 Jun 2008, 22:59
Guys, it's also Mark Johnson's 200th game (if he doesn't get dropped). Kepler Bradley might also get a game.

Should be an interesting game, I'm leaning on the Dockers to cause an upset.

It's in Subi after all.

Darealrath
23 Jun 2008, 23:09
Dockers by 3 goals over there. And will prolly carry on like they won the flag.

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:13
McPharlin will play.
Has no broken ribs.

Freo by 30 :cool:

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:14
Dockers by 3 goals over there. And will prolly carry on like they won the flag.

The way this season's has gone, it will feel like it :D

S.C[BANKS]
24 Jun 2008, 00:32
The way this season's has gone, it will feel like it :D

Hey mate, I have a question:

Does Fremantle usually play like that? I'm referring to the St kilda game.

If so then watch out. ;)

danzan22
24 Jun 2008, 00:38
If McPharlin is out then how could they contain Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle? imagine if bradley got the job on one of them ;)

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:42
;11487274']Hey mate, I have a question:

Does Fremantle usually play like that? I'm referring to the St kilda game.

If so then watch out. ;)

Do you guys play defence these days...I mean flood? ;)

Freo is like a box of boiled lollies...except the box is laced with a couple of truffles...as we have been taking all of the boiled lollies out of the box, I'd say a choccy with a creamy center is about due and oops, you're it :D

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:44
If McPharlin is out then how could they contain Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle? imagine if bradley got the job on one of them ;)

As Harvey has already said Michael Johnson won't play, I'd say we'd be in some trouble...but Luke only has bruised ribs apparently...

S.C[BANKS]
24 Jun 2008, 00:46
Do you guys play defence these days...I mean flood? ;)

Freo is like a box of boiled lollies...except the box is laced with a couple of truffles...as we have been taking all of the boiled lollies out of the box, I'd say a choccy with a creamy center is about due and oops, you're it :D

I wasn't joking in my previous post mate. Its straight forward.

Does Fremantle usually play like that or what?

S.C[BANKS]
24 Jun 2008, 00:48

Add Adam McPhee to that list.

Merv
24 Jun 2008, 00:49
As Harvey has already said Michael Johnson won't play, I'd say we'd be in some trouble...but Luke only has bruised ribs apparently...

I think you should play it safe and bring in Kep to play as defender and give Luke the rest he so rightly needs :D

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:51
Nope...especially not at Subi where there's more room...We play more direct.

We have been playing some quite decent footy in parts, without getting the points...
Pav is in some rare form at the moment...despite what the media will tell you Tarrant is playing well, Palmer, Ibbotson and Mayne are playing good footy and McPharlin and Grover are good stoppers...and your old boy Solly has been excellent...after that it gets a little thin though, but you don't get to within a kick of both Geebung and WB without doing something right.

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 00:52
I think you should play it safe and bring in Kep to play as defender and give Luke the rest he so rightly needs :D

Merv?

Merv
24 Jun 2008, 01:02
Merv?

I want to win.

Kep will help with that if played as a defender :D

Lach72
24 Jun 2008, 01:03
Don't make me stop this car...

PK Le Grand
24 Jun 2008, 07:15
Freo By 40 Points. We're never good over there. So frustrating. I would love it to go our way though.

StealthBomber
24 Jun 2008, 08:50
Our confidence is up, we have stability, Essendon by 2 goals coming back from 4 goals down :)

Phat Toni
24 Jun 2008, 09:49
As much as I hate to say it IMO Freo by a couple but Myers to win the Rising Star next week after a bumper game in front of his family and friends.

The good news is that we then have a couple of weeks off so there will be no reason for the post Subi blues against the Lions in a fortnights time.

bomberz08
24 Jun 2008, 10:30
i rekon if knighter teaches our mids how to read which ways sandi's going to tap[ lets face it, sandi is way too big] then we can win this.

im tipping bombers to win by 12 points and palmer to get reimered:)

daffo
24 Jun 2008, 11:40
I think we will be down by 3 goals at three quarter time, and come over them to win by 4 goals.

Not a Wellman
24 Jun 2008, 13:21
Freo By 40 Points. We're never good over there. So frustrating. I would love it to go our way though.

I thought you were a Melbourne supporter PK?

I want to see Myers and Palmer go head to head, give us an indication of who might end up the better player.

And Hille and sandilands imo are the 2 most in form ruckmen in the comp at the moment so can't wait for this, may just be the deciding factor of who gets to start in the ruck in the all australian team, unless cox does something special in the 2nd half of the season.

How can you tip a winner playing Freo, they flogged the kangas two weeks ago but Essendon will want this more and should win by 4-5 goals due to our forward line.

SirJimi05
24 Jun 2008, 19:27
I would just like to say that if McPharlin misses i reckon we will get up by a couple of goals. If he plays we will lose a tight one. Lucas is due for a massive game just quietly. :thumbsu:

The_Young_Gun
24 Jun 2008, 19:48
Is there a matchup for Mal this Week?

Bombers by 22 :thumbsu:

bipolarbeaR
24 Jun 2008, 20:33
They don't have enough good defenders to face Lloyd, Neagle, Monfries and Lucas.
I'm trying not to be over-confident as it is quite often the demise and downfall of up and coming young clubs (Carlton lol!!1!) but I think if the midfield works like it did last weekend we will beat them by around 15. High scoring game I think.

whomb
26 Jun 2008, 23:53
essendon by 42 points.
neagle to kick 5 goals, lovett 3, lloyd 2, lucas 2 etc

bombre-boy
27 Jun 2008, 00:03
Bombre's to win..
Subiaco will suit our running game, and Shemantle dont play a tight checking game, which is also to our liking..

Bomber57
27 Jun 2008, 00:10
Dons all the way, 30 points+

WindyHillWatcher
27 Jun 2008, 02:47
I have a very good feeling about this game and I think it will be a total walk over. Bomber by 40, Neagle to kick 7 and Crowley to get Reimered

Call Me Cake
27 Jun 2008, 03:28
I have a very good feeling as well...

I get the sense that this game will feature one of our best comebacks in a long time. Its as if we will trail by a significant amount.. and we'll manage to crawl right back in... amazing everyone at the Subi.

I dreamnt it. But who knows? lol. Just have that feeling.

Otherwise, if we play like last week... we'll do very well against the Dockers. I watched Fremantle play last week, and they have the exact gameplay that we love to play against. It's as if it'll be a peice of cake.

If I remember correctly, we played Fremantle last year at Subi & we belted them easily. They just seem even shitter this year.

But, I guess we should never get toooo confident. But with this feeling, I guess I can't help it.

ESS by 20+

Merv
27 Jun 2008, 11:48
I've just backed us 1-39 @ $3.30 with a saver 40+ @ $10.00

Think we are a reasonable chance in this one.

jimmy5
27 Jun 2008, 12:36

For the way we have been playing of late they are good odds Merv.

I read an article before the Crows game where Paddy Ryder said the boys have really enjoyed the road trips this season, great bonding experiences for a young side etc....

I'm really looking forward to it should be a cracker. With some interesting match-ups over the park, Hille v Sandy two in-form ruckman & with Michael Johnson out for them there back line looks alittle short (especially if Mcpharlin doesn't pull up). It would be great to get another win especially on the road.

Will be interesting to see if Welsh gets another hard-tag this week also.

The things that worry me however are Freo where good at home last time round and Pav has an ability to carry them if he gets in the mood... I also think they feed of Solly's intensity at times and against us he is sure to lift.. If he does go back it wouldn't be a bad thing to drag him deep..

But i'm getting on the Dons at those odds ...

bomber39
27 Jun 2008, 13:40
Got a unsure feeling bout this one guys. It will be close.

Love it how pople name goalkickers, best players etc before the games been played.

Just one thing though, i think we shouldn't expect much from Jay. Was at the G last week and he did look fantastic, but he will have some games where he will struggle. (fitness, age of the kid etc)

To say he will kick 5 or 7 is very hopeful. (not saying that he wont).

MadBomberfan
27 Jun 2008, 14:25
There is nothing more certain than another win this week. Us by 5 goals. :thumbsu:

Blowfly
27 Jun 2008, 14:52
Love it how pople name goalkickers, best players etc before the games been played.

You'd prefer people to make predictions after the game?

Given Freo's apparent shortage of tall defenders I'm tipping someone will get a bag. And Reimers to earn a NAB nomination.

bomber39
27 Jun 2008, 15:05
You'd prefer people to make predictions after the game?

Given Freo's apparent shortage of tall defenders I'm tipping someone will get a bag. And Reimers to earn a NAB nomination.

Always a proverbial smart ass isnt there lol

Good call

Ricky
27 Jun 2008, 15:09
As much as i would love us to win and hope we do with everything i have.
but wouldn't be surprised if Fremantle beat us by 40+ points.

but hopefully my beloved bombers will prove me wrong

Go Bombers!!:thumbsu:

stander
27 Jun 2008, 15:15

I'm in with under 39 too Swervyn.

essendon2008
27 Jun 2008, 15:21
If I remember correctly, we played Fremantle last year at Subi & we belted them easily. They just seem even shitter this year.

Sorry Cake but it was Essendon on the wrong side of the 63 point belting in Round 19. I remember listening to it on the radio and i think we would have been close to finals had we won that game.

You may have been thinking of the Round 2 win? It was only 10 points though. I remember watching Jetta and Davey carve it up that day...well maybe not carve it up but they were exciting!

essendon2008
27 Jun 2008, 15:23

I reckon thats a good bet. Considering losing my betting virginity with that one :p

The Dustbin
27 Jun 2008, 15:41
This is a bit different then last week.... Freo supporters are very quiet.

I'm feeling resonably confident about this one. Dons by 20 pts. :thumbsu:

DockerNJL
27 Jun 2008, 15:47
Should be a great game with some drooling contests,

Sandi + Hille :thumbsu: The 2 inform ruckman.
Palmer + Myers ...please :thumbsu: The 2 young guns head to head, cant wait.
Mcpharlin + Lloyd :thumbsu: Pivitol that contest.
Pav + Mcphee :thumbsu: Think Mcphee will play back this week?
Ibbo + Lovett :thumbsu: The 2 speedsters with silky skills on the wing.

Interesting game indead,

but i think freo will be too strong in the 4th to pull away by 4 goals.

The Dustbin
27 Jun 2008, 15:50
Should be a great game with some drooling contests,

Sandi + Hille :thumbsu: The 2 inform ruckman.
Palmer + Myers ...please :thumbsu: The 2 young guns head to head, cant wait.
Mcpharlin + Lloyd :thumbsu: Pivitol that contest.
Pav + Mcphee :thumbsu: Think Mcphee will play back this week?
Ibbo + Lovett :thumbsu: The 2 speedsters with silky skills on the wing.

Interesting game indead,

but i think freo will be too strong in the 4th to pull away by 4 goals.

You haven't seen Freo's last qrts this year. :o

What about Kepler on Lucas. :p

masai
27 Jun 2008, 16:01
This is a bit different then last week.... Freo supporters are very quiet.

:

Just keeping our heads low and hoping for Freo to produce for 4 quarters.

I think the majority of Freo fans at the moment could be classified as being the opposite of cocky. Praying and drinking is occupying most of their time !!!.

Have my doubts if McPharlin will line up.

The Dustbin
27 Jun 2008, 16:09
Crap, just noticed Kep is playing in the WAFL this weekend. Looks like Thornton will take Lucas. :thumbsu: :D

DockerNJL
27 Jun 2008, 16:27
Just keeping our heads low and hoping for Freo to produce for 4 quarters.

I think the majority of Freo fans at the moment could be classified as being the opposite of cocky. Praying and drinking is occupying most of their time !!!.

Have my doubts if McPharlin will line up.

Thats been my season for sure :thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
27 Jun 2008, 19:39
McPhee won't play back.

I'm interested in the match-ups you'll have on our four talls.

Essendon by 40 points:
Goals: Lloyd 8, Lucas 3, Neagle 3, Hille 3, Monfries 3, Reimers 2, McPhee 2, Laycock 2, Stanton, Myers, Lonergan

Best: Lloyd, Hille, Monfries, Reimers, Stanton, Welsh

essendon2008
27 Jun 2008, 22:25
McPhee won't play back.

I'm interested in the match-ups you'll have on our four talls.

Essendon by 40 points:
Goals: Lloyd 8, Lucas 3, Neagle 3, Hille 3, Monfries 3, Reimers 2, McPhee 2, Laycock 2, Stanton, Myers, Lonergan

Best: Lloyd, Hille, Monfries, Reimers, Stanton, Welsh

I hope McPhee doesn't play back!

Haha so that equals 29 goals, which, not including any behinds will give us a score of 174. I would love to see that!!:D

Ben the Gooner
27 Jun 2008, 23:13
I hope McPhee doesn't play back!

Haha so that equals 29 goals, which, not including any behinds will give us a score of 174. I would love to see that!!:D

It'll be a high scoring game:cool:

bipolarbeaR
27 Jun 2008, 23:14
Thats been my season for sure :thumbsu:

Mine too mate :)

bipolarbeaR
27 Jun 2008, 23:19
Essendon by 21
Goals: Lucas 5, Neagle 4, Lloyd 2, Hille 2, Lovett 2, Monfries 2, Reimers, McPhee
Best: Hille, Lonergan, Neagle, Lucas, Welsh

Pav to kick 7.

Edited to my opinion.

essendon2008
27 Jun 2008, 23:48
It'll be a high scoring game:cool:

Can't wait for this game! The closer it gets the more confident I am that we will win. I would like us to score heavily but start being more defensive (not playing negative footy but shutting their forwards down). Bombers by 72! :p

retroparty
28 Jun 2008, 01:05
Dons by 11 points. Freo will be too inconsistent and Essendon will come away with the goodies. I expect this game to high scoring with Pav and Taz firing at one end while Lloyd and Lucas do it at the other.

I'm looking forward to seeing our midfield in action. Hille is good enough to take it to Sandilands who gives the Freo midfield plenty of service. Welsh is improving each week and a tagger and Stanton keeps finding more of the ball with quality disposal.

Lloyd will be influential.

dons_08
28 Jun 2008, 23:54
essendon to win by 45, kick 11 goals in the third

PAVnTAZ
29 Jun 2008, 11:25
I hope your team shares your unwarranted confidence.

Essendon to play free flowing unaccountable basketball and Freo to put in a shocker and win by 37 points.:eek:
Harveys not happy but will take the 4 points.

Oh yeh, Reimers to get Crowleyed.;)

West Coast 06
29 Jun 2008, 12:12
I hope your team shares your unwarranted confidence.

Essendon to play free flowing unaccountable basketball and Freo to put in a shocker and win by 37 points.:eek:
Harveys not happy but will take the 4 points.

Oh yeh, Reimers to get Crowleyed.;)
Why is their confidence unwarranted? They have won as many games in the last two weeks as Freo has all season!

Crowley to get something, Reimered is good, but I will take anything painful. :thumbsu::p

Ben the Gooner
29 Jun 2008, 12:15
Why is their confidence unwarranted? They have won as many games in the last two weeks as Freo has all season!

Crowley to get something, Reimered is good, but I will take anything painful. :thumbsu::p

Reimering is a level beyond pain.

Children check in their cupboard for the boogie man.
The boogie man checks his cupboard for Chuck Norris.
Chuck Norris checks his cupboard for Kyle Reimers.

PAVnTAZ
29 Jun 2008, 12:37

Granted last week was a good win but to say they've won 2 in a row is glossing over the fact that West Coast would get beaten by the Oodnadatta Panthers.
Freo may be poor it's true but you lot with your "young up and coming list" are not up to AFL standard and unless those kids develop in a hurry you'll be getting belted for a few years yet.

This is why I don't read into last week too much.