View Full Version : Port vs. Bulldogs @ Marrara Oval Game Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

Shaucob_Burjan
24 Jun 2008, 20:07
Round 14, Saturday June 28, 7:10 PM

Possible Teams (22 to be announced on Thursday):
http://img37.picoodle.com/img/img37/4/6/23/f_r14m_32d0f63.png

Key Matchups:
http://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/8/jason_akermanis.jpghttp://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/14/michael_wilson.jpg
mmm, so who gets the job on Akermanis who is their leading goal kicker and in All-Australian form. Stewart? Lower? Wilson? Pettigrew? Surjan? I have no idea.

http://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/8/adam_cooney.jpghttp://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/14/kane_cornes.jpg
Kane to tag Cooney. He's been there, done that, so we know he'll do what he can.

http://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/8/lindsay_gilbee.jpghttp://img.footywire.com/afl/img/player/14/daniel_motlop.jpg
Motlop has been looking forward to play in Darwin in his hometown. Our leading goal kicker (7th in the AFL, 1st in small forwards) and should be considered for All-Australian selection. Keep your head together Motlop and apply pressure on ur man and don't give any free kicks away. I have no idea who will go on him though.

Last Meeting - Round 14, 2007:
133-113, Bulldogs victory.
Bulldogs had the lead for a majority of the match, but at one stage Port bought it within a goal in the last quarter... but unfortunately couldn't get the job done.
The game was grossly umpired, which got Port calling the umpiring committee to come to the club to explain what they could do to reduce free kicks.
Brad Johnson kicked 5 goals.
Tredrea kicked 4 goals.
Everyone who Michael Wilson played on kicked goals.
Travis Boak had his breakout game playing against Aka and got the NAB Rising Star nomination.
Among the Power's best were: Cassisi, C. Cornes, P. Burgoyne, S. Burgoyne, and K. Cornes.
Among the Bulldog's best were: Boyd, Cooney, Darcy, Harris, and Johnson.

Port Adelaide Power, 4-9:
Currently sit 12th on the ladder.
Choked against Richmond.
Choco called the season over after the loss, and will be playing the kids... but also assured supporters that they will not tank.
Paul Stewart signed a contract extension with Port.
Adam Thomson according to the club is rested because of 'OP'.. but we all know the truth.
Toby Thurstans has a knee injury and will be out.
Chad Cornes will likely not play because of recurring injuries.
Brendon Lade will be rested according to channel 10 news.
Peter Burgoyne is out with a hamstring injury.
Steven Salopek is out for a month with 'acchilles tendonitis.'

Keys to Winning:
uhhh...

Last 5 Games:
L - Richmond
L - Geelong
W - Fremantle
L - Sydney
L - Hawthorn

Western Bulldogs, 11-1 (1 draw):
Currently sit 2nd on the ladder.
Won a close game against Collingwood.
Have surprised many this season.
Can be at the top of the ladder since 1998 if they beat us.
Scott West will likely be out with a knee injury.
Shaun Higgins will likely be out with a ankle sprain.

Keys To Winning:
Just turn up.

Last 5 Games:
W Collingwood
W Brisbane
W St. Kilda
W Hawthorn
L North Melbourne

ODDS (TAB):
Western Bulldogs $1.14
Port $5.25

Capital Power
24 Jun 2008, 20:45
Those odds look attractive....

Rory
24 Jun 2008, 20:48
Those odds look attractive....

What, the Bulldogs :o

*PAF
24 Jun 2008, 23:19
Carlile 192 Minson 199 ... -7

Chaplin 196 Hahn 188 ... +8
White 193 Welsh 187 ... +6
Pettigrew 193 Johnson 182 ... +11
Stewart 191 Akermanis 177 ... +14

Lower 189 Murphy 186 ........ only +3 :eek:

Lower is a bit short don't you think? :D

dyertribe
24 Jun 2008, 23:57
Lower is a bit short don't you think? :D

If only we could take Peter Street on loan. :anguish:

*PAF
25 Jun 2008, 00:04
With a bit of help from our coaching staff, he could turn out to be a great small back. :thumbsu: :D :thumbsu:

Shane_Mag
25 Jun 2008, 00:36
Would seriously go crazy if we won. Probably wouldnt see me here for awhile haha.

The Boy From Brasil
25 Jun 2008, 00:56
Just wanted to say that the magnetic board is a great idea and very high tech.Very impressive. I also appreciate the work gone into the preview and it was an interesting read. Kudos to the poster concerned :thumbsu:

Despite the differences in ladder positions between the two times and the discrepancy in betting odds, I am actually expecting a close game. You have lost five or so close games this year so it is not as though your form is that bad, and even with the injuries you still have some stars playing.

Anyway good luck for the weekend and hope it is a great game :)

bringbackbucky
25 Jun 2008, 12:17
The way our season has gone I fully expect us to go up there and get a win this week.... as long as we dont try and play 'fast exciting footy' but actually get a contested ball, lay a tackle, block and/or shepard and have someone play full forward....

MotlopRules
25 Jun 2008, 14:28
Motlop to kick a dozen in front of his family....:p

Slash_LP
25 Jun 2008, 17:32
Please take him, we'll do it for candy.

Williams also looks to be out for one or two.

powaflag08
25 Jun 2008, 17:37
Nice write-up shaucob.

we will probably lose but i am liking those 5.25/1 odds.

Yummy!!

Shane_Mag
25 Jun 2008, 17:54
Motlop to kick a dozen in front of his family....:p

Wouldn't that be something. Im sure hes gonna play great.

Bodicifer
25 Jun 2008, 18:08
Tom Williams is out so we need to find someone else for Tredrea...not an easy task at all. Your forward line looks potent (Motlop, Tredrea, Rodan, Ebert)...we need to make sure your midfield is not getting first use and our forward line is not letting your backline bolt out with the ball.

I expect us to come out firing given our lacklustre game against the Pies and Rocket certainly gave them a rocket!

We should win although those odds are so far off the mark...I would have thought maybe $1.45 to $2.90 or something but over $5 for Port is way overs in my book.

Ford Fairlane
25 Jun 2008, 19:26
I wouldn't mind being lacklustre and winning. :o;)

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 19:16
Am as eager to see us play tonight as ive been for a minor round game for years i reckon.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 20:07
looking forward to how Deluca goes!

he and Thommo to be the new dynamic duo.

Sandola
28 Jun 2008, 20:17
Haha the ABC commentators are talking about how many Motlops are attending the game. About 30 from the immediate family, they reckon!:)

(And someone did say that Stephen Motlop will become the best of the lot.)

Butane
28 Jun 2008, 20:22
Haha the ABC commentators are talking about how many Motlops are attending the game. About 30 from the immediate family, they reckon!:)

(And someone did say that Stephen Motlop will become the best of the lot.)

:D

I think a young Motlop played in the under 17's curtain raiser as well(Stephen?). Choco had a chat to him apparently.

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 20:27
Is it an hour until gametime?

Can you do the scores and updates please Macca.

Cheers.

:)

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:35
Come on Power!

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:36
Yeah I can do scores

Shane_Mag
28 Jun 2008, 20:38
Motlop to kick 7!

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 20:40
Does it start now or in an hour?

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:41
Morris minding Motlop. White at FB on Minson. Lake on Tredders. Kane on Cooney. Lower and Stewart both starting on the ground. Grew on Johnson.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:44
Chaplin on Murphy. Carlile on Welsh.

Griffen a quick shot from a throw in, goes wide.

P 0.0
W 0.1

Clever handball by Motlop to Shaun, who finds Rodan on his own on the 50...runs 10 and GOALS

P 1.0
W 0.1

PowerKop
28 Jun 2008, 20:47
Am as eager to see us play tonight as ive been for a minor round game for years i reckon.

same here, can't remember being as excited as I am tonight to watch us play.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:48
Lonie...a contested possession. Good start.

I reckon we are playing the tallest defence weve ever played. Chaplin, Carlile, White, Pettigrew, Stewart all on the ground.

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 20:49
same.

Rodan 4 touches, 1 mark, 1 goal
lonie 3 touches.
Kane 5 touches.
Lower 3 touches, 1 mark, 1 tackle.

all decent early on.

LOL LONIE.

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 20:50
Very good sign.

I am hoping White, Lonie, Thomson, Logan, Lower etc. do good.

:thumbsu:

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:51
Kane had plenty of it early.

Hahn a behind after Bulldogs had plenty of it...we bloked them up well there

P 1.0
W 0.2

S Burgoyne a behind after a great trap, after a slick pass by Pearce.

P 1.1
W 0.2

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 20:53
Cross, Hargrave and Eagleton all over 6 possies and hurting us with them.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 20:55
White and Bentley looking decent.

speak of the devil, Bentley loose on the wing, hits Gray on the chest about 45 out on a 40 degree angle. Slot it Grazer. Doesnt make the distance, no score.

Kane after an OOF, hits Ebert on the 50 on the boundary. Just touched on the line and rolls thru the behind.

P 1.2
W 0.2

Deluca on now.

Johnson slides through a goal after taking Stewart out of the marking contest.

P 1.2
W 1.2

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:00
gray drops like the easiest chest mark i've ever seen.

Macca19
Gray drops a sitter 20 out in front...dissapointing.

Well, we're playing attacking footy, our usage is a bit off though.

Welsh turns Carlile inside out, snaps from 35...misses

P 1.2
W 1.3

Gia, finds Aker. Goal.

P 1.2
W 2.3

powaflag08
Thomson been decent as well 4 touches, 2 marks. Lower playing brilliant.

Bloody great player Lower.

:thumbsu:

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:03
Tredrea goes inside to Lonie, hands to Whitey....kicks it into the 50 and Hoff takes a mark in front of a contest. Kicks from 40 out in front. GOOD GOAL HOFF!

P 2.2
W 2.3

Should give him plenty of confidence.

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 21:05
Good work there. Lonie to White to Hoff and goal.

Nice 3 players who haven't people seem to underrate.

LOL LONIE

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:06
Free to Welsh. Kicks to Johnson whilst lining up. Too easy. Goal.

P 2.2
W 3.3

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:06
ugh...

typical kane cornes, silly silly handball to white.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:08
we're playing ok.

we would be in front, if it weren't for the brainless decisions and skill errors.

damo white isn't doing too bad.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:10
Murphy misses on the siren after a free for impeding the contest.

P 2.2
W 3.4

Up and down start. Our movement and attack looks good. Our delivery is very poor. Some decent signs though.

Whitey has looked good down back. Carlile been good early. Lower and Pearce busy. Kane had 13 touches that quarter. Bentley some nice things.

Nothing up forward at the moment though. Both Hoff and Tredrea seem to be playing out of the 50. Ebert and Motlop have had minimal influence so far and Gray has been sloppy.

A decent base to work on this quarter with some tweaking.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:12
Cross, Murphy and Johnson look dangerous. Hargrave has had a ton in defence. Cooney some damaging runs but not the output yet.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:14
Observations

1. The two things hurting us most are:
(a) terrible skill with disposal - numerous kicks and handballs missing targets
(b) complete non-existence of forward pressure - hang your heads Westhoff, Gray, Ebert and Shaun Burgoyne - you let the ball come out of the forward line so easily. Compare that to the tackling pressure of the Bulldogs forwards.

Individual comments:
1. Shaun Burgoyne - should have been the 8th change. His laziness grows from week to week. Dr Sook is taking sulking to a new level. Poor - come on, I dare you to prove me wrong JB.
2. Gray - good hunting the ball, but that dropped mark is inexcusable.
3. Lower :thumbsu:
4. Bentley and White doing well.
5. DeLuca not getting a chance in the centre-square due to errant ball ups.
6. Carlile and Pettigrew ok. Chaplin miles behind his man. Completely lacking confidence.
7. Cassisi and Rodan have been our best midfielders.
8. Pearce's disposal is dreadful

Santos L Helper
28 Jun 2008, 21:15
Why does Lonie take such dainty little steps when he's avoiding all contact? Surely Choco has picked him to prove a point to Lonie himself.

At least the other inclusions look like they want the hard ball.

PowerKop
28 Jun 2008, 21:16
anyone noticed Bentley looks a lot bigger. Couple of good contested possessions from him

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:16
How poorly is Chaplin attacking the ball?

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:17
Rushed behind to the Bulldogs

P 14
W 23

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:18
Aker, hits Welsh on the lead in front of Lonie. Goals.

P 13
W 29

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:18
Not good. Starting to unravel. Not clearing the footy from defence due to their pressure.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:19
Great DeLuca x2. Terrible from Lower.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:20
Robbie misses for the second time.

Macca19
Gray wins a free for holding in a ruck contest. Never looked like going in. Really has to get his goalkicking in order.

P 15
W 29

PowerKop
pathetic by Robbie:thumbsd:

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:22
Chaplin another non-attack on the ball on the wing. Ebert had to go against three because Chaplin sea-gulled out the back.

What is Kane doing with the handballs?

This has the Geelong game written all over it.

eathb
phew.

Macca19
What is the difference between that mark by Aker and Brogans mark? Ridiculous.

Hits the post. Retribution.

P 15
W 30

Griffen a huge goal from 50+ there.

P 15
W 36

eathb
just as i say that, someone kicks a goal.

game over soon?

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:23
Did Lucy stab Kane in the feet during labour or something? Whats with the 30 metre handballs to opponents?

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:24
Hoff, kicks his second from 40 out after a huge push in the back by Everitt. Good work Hoff.

P 21
W 36

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:24
Good boy Thommo.

Great conversion Westhoff.

That was a terrific centre clearance Thommo.:thumbsu:

Lack of forward pressure is killing us. Ebert is just so poor in that regard.
Murphy bathing Chaplin with palmolive.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:26
Thommo, Thommo, Thommo - let him never be dropped again!

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:27
THOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

Great goal Milf!

P 27
W 36

Whitey could be done with a shoulder, or maybe not.

eathb
murphy and chaplin is a terrible mismatch.

Toots Hibbert
Thommoooo!!! w00t. R u watching Choco?:thumbsu:

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:28
Another piss poor effort by Chaplin, another handball shocker by Kornes.

What is up with Shaun and his turnovers?

I can't believe some of this crap.

powaflag08
28 Jun 2008, 21:28
Thommo is an absouloute gun.

This is why we love him. :) :thumbsu:

3 centre clearances, 10 touches, 4 marks, 1 tackle, 1 goal.

:)

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:29
Ebert :mad:

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:29
Has anyone noticed that both goal umps look like Stewart Dew? Esp the one at the end we're kicking to now?

Our disposal is pretty horrible into our forwards. Should be few goals up. PEARCY ____ out on the full.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:31
stop kicking to 1 on 3s.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:31
D Rod avoids 4 tackles but just pulls it. We're getting back in it though.

P 28
W 36

Good rushed behind by Carlile after a shot from Gia.

P 28
W 37.

Come on Port, gotta be cleaner going forward.

Johnson marks, 35 out, tight angle. Just misses.

P 28
W 38

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:32
do we lead the league in turnovers?

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:33
Shaun - another turnover. He and Kornes are killing us with their mistakes. And Pearce's kicking!

Great mark Fab. Misses. 44-29

Chaplin bothces a handball.

Acker pants Burgoyne.

50-29.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:34
Thommoooo!!! w00t. R u watching Choco?:thumbsu:

Marks reply: 'Didnt slot it post high so theres a chance hes got OP. Might need to rest him for a couple of weeks'.

Welsh slots another after a poor handball.

P 28
W 44

Deluca a big mark up forward. Misses the snap.

P 29
W 44

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:35
chaplin.

get him out of oval.

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:35
Gee that's just dead good by Acker!!

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:36
Aker pulls one from his colon.

W 50
P 29

PowerKop
I really hope S burger is dropped next week. He is a joke

PJ Power
Oh this is bad - the lack of defensive pressure is just dreadful. Again Tredders' man marks from our centre clearance and Griffen is on his own.

This is really, really bad.

And then Lonie butchers the kick!

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:37
Griffen slots a carbon copy of his first quarter goal.

P 29
W 56

Game Over.

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:37
Another goal to the dogs. If we're not careful the floodgates will open up. :thumbsd:

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:38
game over.

Macca19
Lonie a pot shot from 45. Behind

P 30
W 56

Ray goals from the pocket now. Getting ugly. Serves us right for ____ing up about 6 chances to goal.

P 30
W 62

PJ Power
There is no defensive pressure in our forward line. This is a joke.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:40
Ebert, Chaplin, Kornes and JB are playing as badly as I have seen them. Tredrea's lack of forward pressure in the air is downright poor.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:41
pfft pettigrew.

good job on that attempt. that was hard at it.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:41
Weve been winning the ball out the centre, but we have no forward line presence at all.

Johnson marks in front of Pettigrew. Goals.

P 30
W 68

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:42
Six goals the diff, again we butcher a forward thrust and the dogs score. Now they're running through the centre which they couldn't before.

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:43
When we have won centre clearances, Tredrea has let us down badly.

Six handball turnovers by Kornes.

50m against Tredrea.

Senior players hurting us badly.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:43
oh ____ing hell kane.

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:44
Tredrea is looking like 06 Tredrea tonight. Very poor.

____ing Kane. Shouldnt have played. His mind is obviously back home.

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:44
Kane a handball to the feet of Deluca. What r u thinking kane???

Macca19
28 Jun 2008, 21:45
Pettigrew. How hard is it to STAND NEXT TO YOUR OPPONENT.

Johnson hits the post.

P 30
W 69

wallumi
28 Jun 2008, 21:46
Weve been winning the ball out the centre, but we have no forward line presence at all.

But we're so good in our forward conversion.
Stats say that inside 50's are the problem... :cool:

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:47
Appalling checking. :thumbsd::thumbsd:

PJ Power
How can you not man up when Johnson had the ball for that long - third or fourth time this has happened.

Complete lack of concentration.

This is piss-poor. Piss-poor.

Macca19
Eagleton goals.

P 30
W 75

Toots Hibbert
28 Jun 2008, 21:49
Do you reckon every side in the league now knows to watch out for Motlop receiving a handball after a mark outside 50?? What a stuff up!!

PJ Power
28 Jun 2008, 21:50
Motlop just summed us up then.

That was about as bad a fifteen minute period as I have seen.

On a positive note, White and Carlile have been pretty good.
Brogan and DeLuca have been ok with the hitouts.

Thomson enjoyed a purple patch for a five minute period then fell out of it.

Kane has won a bucket of turnover possessions.

Chaplin, Ebert and Shaun Burgoyne need to join Lade and Wilbur.

Warren is having a shocker. Complete absence of aerial pressure. Has been outmarked by a backline of dwarves.

eathb
28 Jun 2008, 21:52
good:
westhoff
thomson
white
lower
rodan
carlile

ok:
lonie
bentley