View Full Version : Great Lyrics
What is your favorite piece of lyric from a song?
Heres a few of mine:
Andy Prieboy
Tomorrow Wendy
I told the priest - don't count on
any second coming.
God got his ass kicked the first time he
came down here slumming
He had the balls to come, the gall to die
and then forgive us -
No, I don't wonder why
I wonder what he thought
it would get us - hey hey, good try -
Tomorrow Wendy's going to die
Beatles
A Day In The Life
Woke up, fell out of bed,
Dragged a comb across my head
Found my way downstairs and drank a cup,
And looking up I noticed I was late.
Found my coat and grabbed my hat
Made the bus in seconds flat
Found my way upstairs and had a smoke,
Somebody spoke and I went into a dream
Billy Bragg
Mother Of The Bride
She married him and destroyed all my hopes
Of a two up-two down
Two point five
And a dish on the roof for the soaps
I saw them at the hardware store
He looked boring
And she looked bored
It's nice to know that someone was on my side
Best wishes to the mother of the bride
Hotpie, you're a genius. I've been wanting to do a topic like this myself for a long time . . . although, I just didn't want to be the nut who started it . . . ;)
There are tonnes of songs with great lyrics out there. Some, you can pick one or two great lines. Maybe a great chorus or verse. Others, you can't dissect, as the lyrics hold themselves together seamlessly, in a story-like manner.
"oh, such a perfect day . . . you just keep me hanging on . . . you just keep me hanging on . . ."
I could go on forever, mate . . .
Docker_Brat
29 Aug 2002, 20:42
Shoop shoop diddy wop cumma cumma wang dang
They don't write profound lyrics like that anymore :(
Shinboners
29 Aug 2002, 20:58
"Oh mother, I can feel the soil falling over my head" from "I Know It's Over" by the Smiths. Probably the most depressing opening line of a song that I've ever heard.
"I'm always hoping you'll be faithful,
But you're not I suppose,
We're both given up smoking,
'Cos it's fatal,
So whose matches are those?"
from "So Hard" by the Pet Shop Boys. Always brings a smile to my face.
"So why don't you p*ss off?". The closing line to "Your Silent Face" by New Order. Bernard Sumner was writing the lyric and thought it was getting too serious, and so, ended the song with that line.
PrincessPark
29 Aug 2002, 21:08
My friend and I were discussing this today!
Here's some of my faves (bear with me):
Some time in the next 10,000 years
A comet's gonna wipe out all trace of man
I'm banking on it coming
before my end-of-year exams
The rich kid becomes a junkie
The poor kid an advertiser
What a tragic waste of potential
(and being a junkie isn't too good either!
Both from "Greg! The Stop Sign" by TISM
Life is white
And I am black
Jesus and his lawyer
Are coming back
"Novacaine For The Soul" - The Eels
Johnny said, "Devil just come on back
If you ever wanna try again
I done told you once, you son-of-a-b*tch
I'm the best that's ever been"
"The Devil Went Down To Georgia" - Charlie Daniels Band
"Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test and don't ask why
It's not a question but a lesson learned in time
It's something unpredictable, but in the end is right
I hope you had the time of your life
"Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)" - Green Day
"Don't ever stand aside, don't ever be denied
You wanna be who you be, if you're comin' with me"
"Roll With It" - Oasis
"So take me home, don't leave me alone
I'm not that good but I'm not that bad
No psycho killer, hooligan guerilla
I dream to riot, oh you should try it"
"On Your Own" - Blur
Docker_Brat
29 Aug 2002, 21:14
Originally posted by PrincessPark
My friend and I were discussing this today!
Here's some of my faves (bear with me):
Some time in the next 10,000 years
A comet's gonna wipe out all trace of man
I'm banking on it coming
before my end-of-year exams
The rich kid becomes a junkie
The poor kid an advertiser
What a tragic waste of potential
(and being a junkie isn't too good either!
Both from "Greg! The Stop Sign" by TISM
[/B]
Another great part of that song:
So hey kids you can do it
You can be the best
Girls can do anything
You can pass the test
I'm OK, you're OK
We're OK, we're fine
I thought I heard a semi-trailer!
Greg! You missed the stop sign!
Docker_Brat
29 Aug 2002, 21:17
Coming up beyond belief
On this coronary thief
More than just a leitmotif
More chaotic, no relief
I'll describe the way I feel
Weeping wounds that never heal
Can the savior be for real
Or are you just my seventh seal?
No hesitation, no delay
You come on just like special K
Just like I swallowed half my stash
I never ever want to crash
No hesitation, no delay
You come on just like special K
Now you're back with dope demand
I'm on sinking sand
PrincessPark
29 Aug 2002, 21:24
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Another great part of that song:
So hey kids you can do it
You can be the best
Girls can do anything
You can pass the test
I'm OK, you're OK
We're OK, we're fine
I thought I heard a semi-trailer!
Greg! You missed the stop sign!
D_B . . . yet again, admiring the cut of your jib
windyhill
29 Aug 2002, 21:39
"How was I to know she was only fourteen ? " ....good old Cosmics, you could pick any of their songs for a classic line.
There are a lot of great songs with great lyrics, but the best lyrics are always the ones that hit you because they mean something to you.
Electricity, eye to eye
I can't speak
Stripped my senses
On the spot
I've never been defenseless
I can't even make sense of this
You speak and I don't hear a word
What would happen if we kissed
Would your tongue slip past my lips
Would you run away, would you stay
Or would I melt into you
Mouth to mouth, lust to lust
Spontaneously combust
Forbidden fruit
Ring on your finger
You're such a moral, moral man
You throw it away, no question
Will I pretend I'm innocent
SonOfScray
29 Aug 2002, 23:25
Rascal King - might mighty bosstones
Well he was fueled by a lack, drew inspiration from a need.
So many problem to crack and mouths to feed.
Crooked was the path, and brazen was the walk.
A ****y swagger, up the ladder, and could he ever talk.
That song is the best story telling ever!
"Oh, the bed ain't made, but it's filled full of hope . . . I've had a skinful of dope"
"So take me home, don't leave me alone
I'm not that good but I'm not that bad
No psycho killer, hooligan guerilla
I dream to riot, oh you should try it"
"On Your Own" - Blur
ahh... fantastic :P
heres some of my favs..
weezer - 'el scorcho'
Goddamn you half-Japanese girls
Do it to me every time
Oh, the redhead said you shred the cello
And I'm jello, baby
placebo - 'pure morning'
A friend in needs a friend indeed,
A friend with weed is better.
A friend with breasts and all the rest,
A friend who's dressed in leather.
pulp - 'the fear'
This is our music from a bachelor's den
the sound of loneliness turned up to ten.
A horror soundtrack from a stagnant water-bed
And it sounds just like this.
This is the sound of someone losing the plot -
making out that they're okay when they're not...
oh baby, here comes the fear again.
The end is near again.
A monkey's built a house on your back.
You can't get anyone to come in the sack
and here comes another panic attack
Oh here we go again.
elvis
bright light city gonna set my soul
gonna set my soul on fire
got a whole lot of money that's ready to burn,
so get those stakes up higher
there's a thousand pretty women waitin' out there
and they're all livin' devil may care
and I'm just the devil with love to spare
viva las vegas, viva las vegas
Docker_Brat
30 Aug 2002, 06:20
Johnny said, "Devil just come on back
If you ever wanna try again
I done told you once, you son-of-a-b*tch
I'm the best that's ever been"
"The Devil Went Down To Georgia" - Charlie Daniels Band
I had that song running through my head at work last night, now I know why. :D
Well the Devil went down to Georgia
He was lookin' for a soul to steal
He was in a bind
Cos he was way behind
And willin' to make a deal..
Otis Redding - Dreams to Remember
Honey i saw you there last night
Another man's arms holding you tight
Nobody knows what i feel inside
All i know i walked away and cried
Ive got Dreams
Ive got Dreams to remember
I know you said he was just a friend
But i saw him kiss you again and again
These eyes of mine, they dont fool me
Why did he hold you so tenderly
Ive got Dreams
Ive got Dreams to remember
A classic ballad!
Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Aug 2002, 09:20
Just a few of my faves:
You will never understand how it feels to live your life with no meaning or control, and with nowhere else to go. You are amazed that they exist, and they burn so bright while you can only wonder why.
I promised to myself someday I'll take the time to try and make sense out of all the opportunities I've missed from trying to sit on the fence. Right now, I've got no time for yesterdays - yesterday's a thousand miles away.
And those words crush you flat like your skulls under a brick and the fear's so damn strong that it makes you sick, and you can see right through those eyes that make you fear, that make you lie. And you're taught to hold high, yet you wonder why; dumb values forced upon you by the living lie. Whether it's God or the bomb, it's just the same - it's only fear under another name.
Forty thousand years can make a difference to the state of things.
Hank Jones
30 Aug 2002, 09:30
"You got to know when to hold em
Know when to fold em
Know when to walk away and
Know when to run
You never count your money
While you're sitting at the table
There'll be time enough for counting
When the dealing's done"
:D
time for some profound and haunting lyrics....
this one really tugs at my heartstrings...
and for kevin smith fans... :p
jay - 'jay's rap'
F*ck, f*ck, f*ck
Mother motherf*ck,
Mother mother f*ck-f*ck
Motherf*ck, motherf*ck,
nointch, nointch, nointch
One, two, one two three four
Nointch, nointch, nointch
Schmokin' weeds, schmokin' weed,
Doin' coke, drinkin' beers
Drinkin' beers, beers, beers.
Rollin' fatties, smokin' blunts;
Who smokes th' blunts? We smoke th' blunts.
Rollin' blunts, and smokin...
(kid : "Ah, lemme get a nickelbag.")
Fifteen bucks, little man
Put that sh1t in my hand.
If that money doesn't show,
Then ya owe me, owe me, owe.
PrincessPark
30 Aug 2002, 11:35
I couldn't resist some more:
Those lucky bastards
They don't have to work
Make 3-D billboards and big
30 foot Smurfs
And everybody wants to be naked and famous
Everybody wanna be just like me, I'm naked
And famous
"Naked & Famous" - Presidents of the USA
There are heaps of good Presidents ones
She lives in Mojave in a Winnebago
His name is Bobby, he looks like a potato"
"San Ber'dino" - Frank Zappa
The Muffin Man is seated at a table
in the Muffin Utility Research Kitchen.
Picking up an oversized chrome spoon
He gathers up an intimate quantity of dried muffin remnants
And, brushing his scapula aside,
Proceeds to dump these inside of his shirt
He turns to us and speaks:
"Some people prefer cupcakes
I for one, care less for them
"The Muffin Man" - Frank Zappa
Who also has some excellent lyrics
And finally, I just can't go past:
U-G-L-Y
You ain't got no alibi
You ugly! (hey hey) you ugly!
"U-G-L-Y" - Daphne & Cherise
Street Spirit - Radiohead
Rows of houses all bearing down on me
I can feel their blue hands touching me
All these things into position
All these things we'll one day swallow whole
And fade out again and fade out
This machine will not communicate
These thoughts and the strain I am under
Be a world child, form a circle
Before we all go under
And fade out again and fade out again
Cracked eggs, dead birds
Scream as they fight for life
I can feel death, can see it's beady eyes
All these things into position
All these things we'll one day swallow whole
And fade out again and fade out again
Immerse your soul in love
Immerse your soul in love.
--------------------------------
The last lines are overwhelming in the context of the song.
Perfect.
Dogwatcher
30 Aug 2002, 16:03
I can't remember who the band was, but they were very weird.
I used to hear this song a lot in the early 90s when Triple J played musci that was actually a little more edgy.
Anyway, here goes, I'll let you decide.
Now you suck, go down baby, you suck, suck it hard and move your tongue around.
Now I know you don't like it when I've got a yeast infection,
but now you know how I feel when I gag on your erection.
Now you suck, go down baby, you suck, suck it hard and move your tongue around.
Bizarre. The lead singer of the band was a guy, but this was sung by a woman. They were a sort of heavy funk band relying on a large amount of electronica, kind of like Moby's early stuff.
Also very politcally correct, they supported many movements. Just can't seem to remember their name.
Dogwatcher
30 Aug 2002, 16:07
Originally posted by hotpie
What is your favorite piece of lyric from a song?
Heres a few of mine:
Andy Prieboy
Tomorrow Wendy
I told the priest - don't count on
any second coming.
God got his ass kicked the first time he
came down here slumming
He had the balls to come, the gall to die
and then forgive us -
No, I don't wonder why
I wonder what he thought
it would get us - hey hey, good try -
Tomorrow Wendy's going to die
Beatles
A Day In The Life
Woke up, fell out of bed,
Dragged a comb across my head
Found my way downstairs and drank a cup,
And looking up I noticed I was late.
Found my coat and grabbed my hat
Made the bus in seconds flat
Found my way upstairs and had a smoke,
Somebody spoke and I went into a dream
Billy Bragg
Mother Of The Bride
She married him and destroyed all my hopes
Of a two up-two down
Two point five
And a dish on the roof for the soaps
I saw them at the hardware store
He looked boring
And she looked bored
It's nice to know that someone was on my side
Best wishes to the mother of the bride
Hot Pie, you are the man!!! To quote another contributor: I like the cut of your jib.
I love all three of those songs. Tomorrow Wendy always makes me cry if I listen to carefully to it. Mother of the Bride is from my favourite album of all time, while A Day in the Life - who needs to say anything.
windyhill
30 Aug 2002, 17:28
Haaaa, more Cosmic`s... I rolled up the carpet, I pulled out the phone, i pretended I wasn`t home.............You drove me up the wall, I aint no spider.
I wanna be like...David Lee Roth... 40 girls to (use your imagination)
Oasis - She's Electric
She's got a brother
We don't get on with one another
But I quite fancy her mother
And I think that she likes me
She's got a cousin
In fact she's got 'bout a dozen
She's got one in the oven
But it's nothing to do with me
Neil Young - Hey Hey, My My
It's better to burn out,
Than to fade away
Pet Shop Boys - Can you Forgive Her? (Ugh!)
She's made you some kind of laughing stock
Because you dance to disco, and you don't like rock
She'd make fun of you, and even in bed
Said she was gonna go and get herself a real man instead
Skid Row - Big Guns
She was a ballerina on a subway train
Stiletto heels and a candy cane
Looked like a number on a station wall
Hot on the tail of a social call
I wet my lips I thought I had it made
Like Valentino with a hand grenade
I made my move with my libido on
She circled once and then she dropped the bomb
She got the big guns
Pointed at my heart
Bang bang shooting like a firing squad
Big guns
Blew me away
And I went down in flames
1927 - That's when I think of you
That's when I think of you
It's all that I can do
I'd go mad if it wasn't for you
David Allen Coe - Finger ****ing Sally
I was in to whips and things,
she was into pain.
I would beat her black and blue,
when she called me names.
Chained her to the basement wall,
where she went insane.
I was into whips and things,
she was into pain.
Oh, finger ****in' Sally
worked at Kelly's bar.
She showed me her titties,
riding in her car.
She was the first lady,
who let me get that far.
Finger ****in' Sally,
down at Kelly's bar.
----The good bits are pretty full on. Search for them on Google.
Supergrass - Faraway
I've made up my mind, the fire is lit,
I had to find my bed, I'd better lie on it
But what does it matter I'm lost in space
I'm just another loser in the human race
You're forcing my hand to make it plain
I'm not very happy and I cannot explain
Well I can feel better, well looking the part
I have to find a way to stay true to my heart
I love my girl and she loves me
I won't find another who can sail my sea
She's in my head and on my mind
I'm off my rocker with a girl so divine
Well here's the hour, and where will it end
I can't buy a T-shirt to impress all my friends
I'm trying my hardest, I'm tryna fit in
I'll make a new start, I don't know where to begin, yes yes
I'll make a new start, I don't know where to begin (I don't believe)
windyhill
30 Aug 2002, 17:55
Originally posted by windyhill
Haaaa, more Cosmic`s... I rolled up the carpet, I pulled out the phone, i pretended I wasn`t home.............You drove me up the wall, I aint no spider.
Take me, take the pie I`m eating...........Youv`e got the lot.
SonOfScray
30 Aug 2002, 18:19
Klinger - hello cruel world
From St Kilda to Watsonia North
is thirteen hours with my thoughts
Of hands and plans and you
There’s sensations that I’ll never know
Like Split Enz records on my stereo
And the time I spend with you
Originally posted by M29
Oasis - She's Electric
She's got a cousin
In fact she's got 'bout a dozen
OMG! Oasis wrote a song about Suzi Olsen!:eek: :D
Originally posted by Bee
OMG! Oasis wrote a song about Suzi Olsen!:eek: :D
LOL :D
The Rolling Stones - Wild Horses.
Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted I bought them for you
Graceless lady you know who I am
You know I can't let you slide through my hands
Wild horses couldn't drag me away
Wild, wild horses, couldn't drag me away
Bob Dylan - Just like a woman.
She takes just like a woman, yes, she does
She makes love just like a woman, yes, she does
And she aches just like a woman
But she breaks just like a little girl.
When we meet again
Introduced as friends
Please don't let on that you knew me when
I was hungry and it was your world.
Ah, you fake just like a woman, yes, you do
You make love just like a woman, yes, you do
Then you ache just like a woman
But you break just like a little girl.
SydneyBomber
30 Aug 2002, 22:32
Originally posted by windyhill
haha! Haven't heard that one for a looong time.
"I AINT NO F*CKIN SPIDER!"
Top call Windy.
SydneyBomber
30 Aug 2002, 22:45
How about:
"Ia iak sakkakh ia sakkakh
Ia Shaxul
Ia Kingu ia cthulu ia azbul
Ia azabua"
'Lord of All Fevers & Plague" - Morbid Angel
Anyone here speak enough ancient Summerian/Lovecraftian so they can finally explain to me what the hell that means?
Or slightly more to the point...
"Dead - your God is dead
Fools - your God is dead
Useless prayers of lies
Behold Satan's rise!"
"Chapel of Ghouls" - Morbid Angel
:p
Pretty friggin' metal if you ask me!
:D \m/
Some classic Dylan:
I ain't sayin' you treated me unkind
You could have done better but I don't mind
You just kinda wasted my precious time
But don't think twice, it's all right
Johnny's in the basement
Mixing up the medicine
I'm on the pavement
Thinking about the government
The man in the trench coat
Badge out, laid off
Says he's got a bad cough
Wants to get it paid off
And I hope that you die
And your death'll come soon
I will follow your casket
In the pale afternoon
And I'll watch while you're lowered
Down to your deathbed
And I'll stand o'er your grave
'Til I'm sure that you're dead
Hey, hey Woody Guthrie, I wrote you a song
'Bout a funny ol' world that's a-comin' along.
Seems sick an' it's hungry, it's tired an' it's torn,
It looks like it's a-dyin' an' it's hardly been born.
Can I write a requiem for you when you're dead?
"She had the moves, she had the speed, it went to her head"
She never needed anyone to get her round the track
But when she's on her back
She had the knowledge
To get her into college
GhostofJimJess
31 Aug 2002, 00:10
From Billy Bragg
"How can you lie there and think of England
When you don't even know who's in the team"
Jim Boy
31 Aug 2002, 03:05
I thought the words of Baccara were inspirational,
Yes Sir, I can boogie
But I need a certain song
I can boogie,
Boogie woogie
All night long
But then I though I'd settle for The Whitlams line of
My friends are completely f*cked but they're such fun to have around.
Hawkforce
31 Aug 2002, 06:41
How I wish... how I wish you were here. We're just two lost souls swimming in a fishbowl.... year after year.
Originally posted by Stocka
Can I write a requiem for you when you're dead?
"She had the moves, she had the speed, it went to her head"
She never needed anyone to get her round the track
But when she's on her back
She had the knowledge
To get her into college
Nice one Stocka.....
You are a star of track and field
windyhill
31 Aug 2002, 11:25
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
haha! Haven't heard that one for a looong time.
"I AINT NO F*CKIN SPIDER!"
Top call Windy.
Mate, they have a million of them !!! Classic , don`t give a stuff band.
Dogwatcher
31 Aug 2002, 12:12
Originally posted by Hawkforce
How I wish... how I wish you were here. We're just two lost souls swimming in a fishbowl.... year after year.
Your only a wish away. - Wonderstuff?
Docker_Brat
31 Aug 2002, 17:56
Shove your Melbourne
And you can shove your Vic
Cos I got a lager
That'll make you sick!
It's ugly and cloudy
And it looks like ****
It's my homebrew
Oh joyful bliss
Homebrew! Homebrew!
Don't give a stuff what you do
I'm gonna drink my homebrew
Nice one Stocka.....
You are a star of track and field
That's right, mate. ;)
"Belle & Sebastian" (that's the name of the band, for those who don't know), have some absolutely brilliant lyrics. Often humourous and introspective (with a touch of noir), and occasionally depressing and even sinister (in which case you should "be off to see a minister", or so the band would tell you!).
Some great stories are to be found, amongst B&S songs.
How about:
She was into S&M and Bible studies
Not everyone's cup of tea
She would admit to me
Ah mate, we could go on forever, hey! ;)
PrincessPark
31 Aug 2002, 18:54
Chickity China, the Chinese chicken
You have a drumstick and your brain stops ticking
Watching X-Files with no lights on
We're de la maison
I hope the Smoking Man's in this one
Like Harrison Ford, I'm getting frantic
Like Sting, I'm tantric
Like Snickers, guaranteed to satisfy
Like Kerosawa, I make mad films
'kay I don't make films
But if I did they'd have a samurai
"One Week" - Bare Naked Ladies
I love pop culture references
You never thought you'd get addicted
Just be cooler in an obvious way
I could say
Shouldn't you have got a couple piercings
And decided maybe that you were gay?"
"Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth (Heroin Is So Passe)" - The Dandy Warhols
(even the song title is good)
Hawkforce
1 Sep 2002, 00:04
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
"Wish you were here" - Pink Floyd.
Originally posted by Stocka
Some great stories are to be found, amongst B&S songs.
How about:
She was into S&M and Bible studies
Not everyone's cup of tea
She would admit to me
Ah mate, we could go on forever, hey! ;)
heres another great b&s one...
I got married in a rush to save a kid from being deported
Now she's in love
I was so touched, I was moved to kick the crutches
From my crippled friend
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
From Billy Bragg
"How can you lie there and think of England
When you don't even know who's in the team"
Oh yes, Billy Bragg where do you start with his lyrics? You could name a lot. He writes great lyrics.
Two of my favourites are :
Idealogy -
When one voice rules the nation
Just because he's top of the pile
It doesn't mean his vision is the clearest
The voices of the people are falling on deaf ears
Our politicians all become careerists.
They must declare their interests, but not their company cars
Is there more to a seat in Parliament
Than sitting on your arse?
Outside, the patient millions who put them into power
Expect a little more back for their taxes
Like schoolbooks, beds in hospitals
And peace in our bloody time
All we get is old men grinding axes
Wish you were her -
There's a girl sleeping in my bed
And I'm singing unwritten songs in my head
She provided bittersweet company
I confided how much you mean to me
And this time
It's gonna take a train to pull me through
Some brief distraction from your memory
Is all that I hoped that she might be
And as I let her warm her feet on me
Wish you were her
That I wanted you to be my wife
Is the worst kept secret of my life
Everyone knows, even my friend here
I've just whispered your name in her ear
It's Pink Floyd.
Reel Big Fish - Big Star
I'm such an asshole,
how could you resist.
I never meant to let it go to my head,
I never thought it would come to this.
It's me, the asshole of you're dreams.
And i don't even have to try,
don't even wanna try,
why should i waste my precious time
if i can't make you love me,
but i know you do...
And I'm so cool, no-one wants to look at me
And I'm so cool, no-one wants to talk to me
And I'm so ****ing cool, nobody cares at all.
Barenaked Ladies - Alcohol
I thought that Alcohol was just for those with nothing else to do.
I thought that drinking just to get drunk was a waste of precious booze.
But now I know that there's a time and there's a place where I can choose
To walk the fine line between self-control and self-abuse.
311 - Come Original
Everything we do we gotta come original
Put your hands up in the air and prepare for battle
Sit upon the rhythm like a tire upon a rim
We do it non-stop and then we do it again
Some a them whine and some a them bitch
They can not do it never switch
Comin' up from the heart and
Delivered with a wild pitch
Sit up on top the rhythm like a wild stallion
This is the ruling system.
Originally posted by Grimace
It's Pink Floyd.
No it's not.
But this is:
Thought I ought to bare my naked feelings
Thought I ought to tear the curtain down
I held the blade in trembling hands
Prepared to make it, but...
Just then the phone rang
I never had the nerve to make the final cut
PrincessPark
2 Sep 2002, 21:22
She came from Greece, she had a thirst for knowledge
She studied sculpture at St Martin's College
That's where I, caught her eye
She told me that her Dad was loaded
I said 'in that case, I'll have rum and Coca-Cola'
She said 'fine'
And in thirty seconds time, she said
'I want to live like common people
I want to do whatever common people do
Want to sleep with common people
Want to sleep with, common people like you'
Well, what else could I do?
So I said 'Oh. I'll see what I can do.'
"Common People" - Pulp
Well we were born within one hour of each other.
Our mothers said we could be sister and brother.
Your name is Deborah, Deborah.
It never suited ya.
Oh they thought that when we grew up,
we'd get married, and never split up.
We never did it, although often I thought of it.
Oh Deborah, do you recall?
Your house was very small,
with wood chip on the wall.
When I came around to call,
you didn't notice me at all.
Disco 2000 Pulp.
argh, u missed my fave verse...
You were the first girl at school to get breasts.
Martyn said that yours were the best.
The boys all loved you but I was a mess.
I had to watch them trying to get you undressed.
:P
more pulp ~
Pulp - 'do you remember the first time?'
Still you bought a toy that can reach
the places he never goes
and now it's getting late.
He's so straight.
Do you remember the first time?
I can't remember a worse time
but you know that we've changed so much since then
Oh yeah, we've grown
Now I don't care what you're doing
No I don't care if you screw him
just as long as you save a piece for me
Fairytale of New York. Pogues.
I could have been someone
Well so could anyone
You took my dreams from me
When I first found you
I kept them with me babe
I put them with my own
Can't make it all alone
I've built my dreams around you
Transmission. Joy Division.
We would go on as though nothing was wrong
And hide from these days - we remained all alone
Staying in the same place, staying out the time
Touching from a distance, further all the time
and just to lighten the mood a little,
Napoleon the 14th.
They're coming to take me away ha haaa
They're coming to take me away ha haaa ho ho hee hee
To the funny farm where life is beautiful all the time
And I'll be happy to see those nice young men
In their clean white coats
And they're coming to take me away
To the happy home with trees and flowers and chirping birds
And basket weavers who sit and smile and twiddle their thumbs and toes
And they're coming to take me away ha haaa!
Dead Milkmen.
We got into her car away we started rollin
I said how much you pay for this
Said nothin man it's stolen
Docker_Brat
3 Sep 2002, 07:02
She came from Greece, she had a thirst for knowledge
She studied sculpture at St Martin's College
That's where I, caught her eye
She told me that her Dad was loaded
I said 'in that case, I'll have rum and Coca-Cola'
She said 'fine'
And in thirty seconds time, she said
'I want to live like common people
I want to do whatever common people do
Want to sleep with common people
Want to sleep with, common people like you'
Well, what else could I do?
So I said 'Oh. I'll see what I can do.'
"Common People" - Pulp
I must say I find the cut of the jib admiring aimed back in your direction.
Rent a flat above a shop
Cut your hair and get a job
Smoke some fags and play some pool
Pretend you never went to school
Still you'll never get it right
Cos when youre layin in bed at night
Watchin' roaches climb the wall
You can call you dad
And he'll stop it all
dandylion
3 Sep 2002, 08:45
gimme gimme by abba
boomarang was pretty insightful too
bang a boom a boom a rang!
Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
You fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way.
Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
Waiting for soemone or something to show you the way.
Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain.
You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today.
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you.
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun.
So you run and you run to catch up with the sun but it's sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again.
The sun is the same in a relative way but you're older,
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death.
Every year is getting shorter never seem to find the time.
Plans that either come to nought or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on in quiet desparation is the English way
The time is gone, the song is over,
Thought I'd something more to say.
Time, Pink Floyd
SKC
Dogwatcher
3 Sep 2002, 17:56
Originally posted by coxon
You were the first girl at school to get breasts.
Martyn said that yours were the best.
The boys all loved you but I was a mess.
I had to watch them trying to get you undressed.
We were friends and that's as far as it went
I used to walk you home some times but it meant
oh nothing to ya, cos you were so popular.
Oh Deborah, do you recall, your house was very small
with wood chip on the wall
when i came around to call,
you didn't notice me at all.
Let's all meet up in the year 2000 won't it be strange when we're all fully grown.
What a great bloody song. One of the best pop tunes of all time. I was just dancing around to it the other week. Drunk with my fiancee and we had a ball.
Thanks for writing this one in guys.
Oh yeah - Grendel, great song
Punk rock girl please look at me, what do you see.
I travel round the world just you and me punk rock girl.
Thats was on Rage recently, hadn't seen it in years. Champs!!!
Originally posted by scmods
No it's not.
But this is:
Thought I ought to bare my naked feelings
Thought I ought to tear the curtain down
I held the blade in trembling hands
Prepared to make it, but...
Just then the phone rang
I never had the nerve to make the final cut
I was refering to these lyrics:
Originally posted by Hawkforce
I'm pretty sure these are the lyrics of Pink Floyd.
Incubus - Azwethinkweiz
So when donut boy comes sniffing around
trying to figure out something new,
you just laugh and say, "Pardon you,
I'm sifting through some particles and
farcing through some folds.
I've stumbled upon a brain fart
which melts away your molds."
So I think upon that ponder
while I'm pondering the thought,
just thinking about the thinkweiz
is leaving me distraught.
Originally posted by Grimace
I was refering to these lyrics:
I'm pretty sure these are the lyrics of Pink Floyd.
They are. But what you quoted in your original post was
:confused:
Paul McCartney
3 Sep 2002, 19:34
"Scrambled eggs
My baby has such lovely legs..."
Originally posted by scmods
They are. But what you quoted in your original post was
:confused:
:p
yeah, i can see why you'd think I was wrong. confusing.
I was just correcting Dogwatcher cos he thought the lyrics were by Wonderstuff.
Tipsters, unite
Come along for the big fight to rock (for you)
Beware, all those angels with their wings, glued on
'Cos deep down, they are frightened and they're scared
If you don't stare
Docker_Brat
3 Sep 2002, 20:58
Originally posted by dandylion
gimme gimme by abba
boomarang was pretty insightful too
bang a boom a boom a rang!
'Hey Hey Helen' was very profound.
BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
STUDIO 54 IS THE ONLY PLACE TO DANCE
BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
YOU KNOW THE GARDEN'S FULL OF FURNITURE, THE HOUSE IS FULL OF PLANTS
I'm not the world's most masculine man
But I know what I am, and I'm glad I'm a man
And so is Lola
If you leave me, can I come too?
We can always stay
But if you leave me, can I come too?
And if you go, can I come too?
I'm sure that everybody knows how much my body hates me
It lets me down most every time and makes me rash and hasty
I feel a total jerk before your naked body of work
I'm getting weighed down with all this information
Safe sex doesn't mean no sex it just means use your imagination
Stop playing with yourselves in hard currency hotels
I look like Robert De Niro, I drive a Mitsubishi Zero
Sexuality
Guns n Roses - Sweet Child O Mine
She's got a smile that it seems to me
Reminds me of childhood memories
Where everything
Was as fresh as the bright blue sky
Now and then when I see her face
She takes me away to that special place
And if I stared too long
I'd probably break down and cry
Sweet child o' mine
Sweet love of mine
She's got eyes of the bluest skies
As if they thought of rain
I hate to look into those eyes
And see an ounce of pain
Her hair reminds me of a warm safe place
Where as a child I'd hide
And pray for the thunder
And the rain
To quietly pass me by
Sweet child o' mine
Sweet love of mine
John Lennon - Imagine
Imagine there's no heaven
It's easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today...
Imagine there's no countries
It isn't hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace...
You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will be as one
Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world...
You may say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one
I hope someday you'll join us
And the world will live as one
clucas91
3 Sep 2002, 21:18
Californication
Psychic spies from China try to steal your minds elation.
And little girls from Sweden dream of silver screen quotation.
And if you want these kind of dreams it's Californication.
It's the, edge of the world in all of western civilization.
The sun may rise in the east at least it's settled in a final location.
It's understood that Hollywood sells Californication.
Pay a surgeon very well to break the spell of ageing.
To level this skin is this your gender is that war your waging?
First born unicorn, hard core soft porn...
Dream of Californication, Dream of Californication.
Marry me girl, be my fairy to the world be my very own constellation.
The teenage bride with the baby inside getting high on information.
And buy me a star on the boulevard it's Californication.
Space may be the final fronteir but it's made in a Hollywood basement.
And Cobain can you hear the spheres singing songs of desperation.
And Alderon's not far away it's Californication.
Born and bred for all who preach control of population.
And everybodys been there I don't need no vacation.
Destruction leads to _____ but it also breeds creation.
An earthquake is to a girls guitar as just another good vibration.
And tidal waves couldn't save the world from Californication.
Pay a surgeon very well to break the spell of ageing.
To level this skin is this your gender is that war your waging?
Singin to the rest there is no test but this is what your craving.
Originally posted by clucas91
Californication
Destruction leads to _____ but it also breeds creation.
Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
Dogwatcher
3 Sep 2002, 21:38
I'm sure that everybody knows how much my body hates me
It lets me down most every time and makes me rash and hasty
I feel a total jerk before your naked body of work
I'm getting weighed down with all this information
Safe sex doesn't mean no sex it just means use your imagination
Stop playing with yourselves in hard currency hotels
I look like Robert De Niro, I drive a Mitsubishi Zero
Sexuality
Hotpie, you've done it Again.
DEfinately top of the pops material for me here.
I'm just trying to remember the Australian celebrity he subsituted Robert De Niro with when he sang it on the Don't Try this at Home tour in 1992 or 93.
It was humourous at the time.
Here we are in our summer years
Living on icecream and chocolate kisses
Would the leaves fall from the trees
If I was your old man and you were my missus
Shirley,
give my greetings to the new brunette
Hank Jones
3 Sep 2002, 22:35
Personally I think some of you are trying to read too much into the lyrics for Californication. Just my opinion but I think they are pretty bland rhyming rantings.
Definitely not 'great lyrics'. Anthony Keidis and Flea seem to be losing themselves in their own importance and eccentricities.
It began when they come took me from my home
And put me in Dead Row,
Of which I am nearly wholly innocent, you know.
And I'll say it again
I..am..not..afraid..to..die.
I began to warm and chill
To objects and their fields,
A ragged cup, a twisted mop
The face of Jesus in my soup
Those sinister dinner meals
The meal trolley's wicked wheels
A hooked bone rising from my food
All things either good or ungood.
And the mercy seat is waiting
And I think my head is burning
And in a way I'm yearning
To be done with all this measuring of truth.
An eye for an eye
A tooth for a tooth
And anyway I told the truth
And I'm not afraid to die.
Interpret signs and catalogue
A blackened tooth, a scarlet fog.
The walls are bad. Black. Bottom kind.
They are sick breath at my hind
They are sick breath gathering at my hind
I hear stories from the chamber
How Christ was born into a manger
And like some ragged stranger
Died upon the cross
And might I say it seems so fitting in its way
He was a carpenter by trade
Or at least that's what I'm told
Like my good hand I
tatooed E.V.I.L. across it's brother's fist
That filthy five! They did nothing to challenge or resist.
In Heaven His throne is made of gold
The ark of his Testament is stowed
A throne from which I'm told
All history does unfold.
Down here it's made of wood and wire
And my body is on fire
And God is never far away.
Into the mercy seat I climb
My head is shaved, my head is wired
And like a moth that tries
To enter the bright eye
I go shuffling out of life
Just to hide in death awhile
And anyway I never lied.
My kill-hand is called E.V.I.L.
Wears a wedding band that's G.O.O.D.
`Tis a long-suffering shackle
Collaring all that rebel blood.
An eye for an eye
And a tooth for a tooth
And the mercy seat is burning
And I think my head is glowing
And in a way I'm hoping
To be done with all this weighing up of truth.
An eye for an eye
And a tooth for a tooth
And I've got nothing left to lose
And the mercy seat is glowing
And I think my head is smoking
And in a way I'm hoping
To be done with all this looks of disbelief.
An eye for an eye
And a tooth for a tooth
And anyway there was no proof
Nor a motive why.
And the mercy seat is smoking
And I think my head is melting
And in a way I'm helping
To be done with all this twisted of the truth.
A lie for a lie
And a truth for a truth
And I've got nothing left to lose
And the mercy seat is melting
And I think my blood is boiling
And in a way I'm spoiling
All the fun with all this truth and consequence.
An eye for an eye
And a truth for a truth
To be done with all this measuring of proof.
A life for a life
And a truth for a truth
And anyway there was no proof
But I'm not afraid to tell a lie.
An eye for an eye
And a truth for a truth
But I'm afraid I told a lie.
-The Mercy Seat, Nick Cave
My favourite lyrics of all time I think.
I've been contemplating suicide,
but it really doesn't suit my style,
so I think I'll just act bored instead
who can take (alt: And Contain) the blood I would've shed?
She makes me feel so ugly (alt: so weary) (alt: so ill at ease)
my heart is really on it's knees
but I keep a poker face so well
that even mother couldn't tell
But my baby's so vain
she is almost a mirror
and the sound of her name
sends a permanent shiver down my
SPINE
I keep her photograph against my heart
for in my life she plays a starring part
all alcohol and cigarettes
there is no room for cheap regrets
But my baby's so vain
she is almost a mirror
sends a permanent shiver down my
SPINE
She makes me feel so ugly
my heart is really on it's knees
but I keep a poker face so well
that even mother couldn't tell
But my baby's so vain
she is almost a mirror
sends a perennial shiver down my
SPIII-YI-YIIII-YI-YIIII-YI-YIYIYI-INE
Shivers, written by Rowland S Howard.
Didn't want to lose you once again
Didn't want to be, your friend
Fulfilled a promise made of tears
To crawl back to you
I'm all by myself
As I've always felt
And I'll betray myself
To everyone, but anyone but you
So let the silence come again
On that you can depend-on me, yeah
Until the bitter, bitter end of the world, yeah
When God sleeps in bliss
I'm all by myself
As I've always felt
And I'll betray myself
To everyone
catattack
4 Sep 2002, 18:01
"DVDA - NOW YOU'RE A MAN"
......What makes a man... is it the woman in his arms, just coz she has big titties... or is it the way he fights every day... no it's probably the titties!!
It appears some have taken the high road on this thread and some have taken the low road.........
Docker_Brat
4 Sep 2002, 19:58
Planet Claire has pink air
All the trees are red
No one ever dies there
No one has a head
clucas91
4 Sep 2002, 21:05
Originally posted by hourn
Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
Cheers. ;)
Originally posted by catattack
"DVDA - NOW YOU'RE A MAN"
......What makes a man... is it the woman in his arms, just coz she has big titties... or is it the way he fights every day... no it's probably the titties!!
that name,DVDA doesnt mean the DVDA i'm thinking of does it? :p :p ;)
Stealth bomber
4 Sep 2002, 21:21
So you wanted
to take a break
Slow it down some and
have some space
(Well f--k you too!)
Give me my money back
you b-tch
I want my money back
(And don't forget to give
me back my black T-Shirt)
Wish I hadn't bought you dinner
Right before you dumped me
on your front porch
Give me my money back
You b-tch
I want my money back
and don't forget
And don't forget.
-"Song For the Dumped", Ben Folds Five
Your Uncle Walter's going on and on
'Bout everything he's seen and done
The voice of 50 years experience
Drunk, watching the television
You know he's been around the world
Last night he flew to Baghdad
In his magical armchair
Cigarettes and a six pack, he just got back
Now the spit's flying everywhere
(Chorus skipped)
Your Uncle Walter told me
Everything he'd do if he was president
Oh what a perfect world
This world would be
If he were President now
BUT HE'S NOT!
And he sees the children
Smoking pot
He knows that in a moment
They'll be shooting up heroin
Teardrops in his armchair
A 50 minute lecture
Tobacco juice rolling down his chin
-"Uncle Walter", Ben Folds Five
Y'all don't know what it's like
Being male, middle-class and white
- "Rockin' the Suburbs", Ben Folds
Computerized clinic, for superior cynics
who dance to a synthetic band
In their own image, their world is fashioned
no wonder they don't understand
Wheel within wheels in a spiral array
A pattern so grand and complex
Time after time we lose sight of the way
Our causes can't see their effects....
...Art as expression, not as market campaigns
Will still capture our imaginations
Given the same state of integrity
It will surely help us along
The most endangered species -the honest man
Will still survive annihilation
- "Natural Science", Rush
Well Im completly chuffed ..so many Billy Bragg fans !!!! hail the great man ...I wont take up a whole page because as its been said you could quote so many Bragg songs .. but I will just note down a few
" The temptation to take the precious things we have apart
to see how they work
must be resisted for they never fit together again ..."
from " must I paint you a picture "
"Some photagraphs of a summers day
a little boys lifetime away
is all Ive left of everything weve done .."
from " Tank Park Salute"
" He was trapped in a haircut he no longer beleived in .."
from " King James version"
"hes lack of humility defies imagination
and he hangs around like a fart in a russian space station
he doesnt even notice as he sells you down the river
Cos hes one of lifes takers and hes looking for a giver ..."
From " Goalhanger"
" At 21 your on top of the scrapheap
at 16 you were top of your class
all they taught you at school was how to be a good worker
system has failed you dont fail yourself "
from " to have and to have not "
" Iwas 21 years when i wrote this song
Im 22 now but I wont be for long
people ask when will you grow up to be a man
but all the girls I loved at school are already pushing prams"
from " A New England"
" I never understood my failings then
and I hide my humble hopes now
thinking back she made us want her
a girl not old enough to shave her legs "
from " the saturday boy "
" Call up the craftsman
bring me the draftsmen
build me a path
from cradle to grave
and Ill give my consent to any government
that does not deny a man a living wage "
from " Between the wars "
" I wish Id done Biology
for an urge within me wanted to do it then .."
from " the warmest room"
Id better stop there before I get even more carried away and quote the whole of his " Workers Playtime" album
special mention Paul Weller " thats Entertainment"
" Two lovers missing the tranquility of solitude"
TISM " Morrison Hostel"
" Jimbo old son your a crock of ****"
Clip Clop Club 'Kylies Arse "
" Jason Donovan Michael Hutchence
Theyve both had it in there clutches .."
Victims of Noah " John Howard your a F#*$ing C#*t
.." Parrelell tax on import sales ...yeah
I wont come in your mouth
and the cheques in the mail .."
PrincessPark
5 Sep 2002, 00:13
Here's one appropriate for Big Footy
You're a yob or you're a w*nker
Make your f*cking choice
So who is your favourite genius
James Hird or James Joyce?
"Whatareya?" - TISM
Originally posted by bragg
Well Im completly chuffed ..so many Billy Bragg fans !!!! hail the great man ...I wont take up a whole page because as its been said you could quote so many Bragg songs .. but I will just note down a few
" The temptation to take the precious things we have apart
to see how they work
must be resisted for they never fit together again ..."
from " must I paint you a picture "
"Some photagraphs of a summers day
a little boys lifetime away
is all Ive left of everything weve done .."
from " Tank Park Salute"
" He was trapped in a haircut he no longer beleived in .."
from " King James version"
"hes lack of humility defies imagination
and he hangs around like a fart in a russian space station
he doesnt even notice as he sells you down the river
Cos hes one of lifes takers and hes looking for a giver ..."
From " Goalhanger"
" At 21 your on top of the scrapheap
at 16 you were top of your class
all they taught you at school was how to be a good worker
system has failed you dont fail yourself "
from " to have and to have not "
" Iwas 21 years when i wrote this song
Im 22 now but I wont be for long
people ask when will you grow up to be a man
but all the girls I loved at school are already pushing prams"
from " A New England"
" I never understood my failings then
and I hide my humble hopes now
thinking back she made us want her
a girl not old enough to shave her legs "
from " the saturday boy "
" Call up the craftsman
bring me the draftsmen
build me a path
from cradle to grave
and Ill give my consent to any government
that does not deny a man a living wage "
from " Between the wars "
" I wish Id done Biology
for an urge within me wanted to do it then .."
from " the warmest room"
Id better stop there before I get even more carried away and quote the whole of his " Workers Playtime" album
special mention Paul Weller " thats Entertainment"
" Two lovers missing the tranquility of solitude"
TISM " Morrison Hostel"
" Jimbo old son your a crock of ****"
Clip Clop Club 'Kylies Arse "
" Jason Donovan Michael Hutchence
Theyve both had it in there clutches .."
Victims of Noah " John Howard your a F#*$ing C#*t
.." Parrelell tax on import sales ...yeah
I wont come in your mouth
and the cheques in the mail .."
Like I said before, Billy Bragg where do you start? I could fill a whole forum with his lyrics. Must have something to do with his politics! ;)
This one was actually written by Eric Bogle, but performed by Billy.
My youngest son was a fine young man
With a wife, a daughter and two sons
And a man he would have lived and died
Till by a bullet sanctified
Now he's a saint or so they say
They brought their young saint home today
An Irish sky looks down and weeps
Upon the narrow Belfast streets
At children's blood in gutters spilled
In dreams of glory unfulfilled
As part of freedom's price to pay
My youngest son came home today
His friends marched with him all the way
The pipe and drum beat out the time
While in his box of polished pine
Like dead meat on a butcher's tray
And this time he's here to stay
I celebrate my love for you
With a pint of beer
And a new tattoo.
kimberleykid
5 Sep 2002, 18:00
Ambition makes you look pretty ugly
Kicking squealing gucci little piggy
I love that second line, "gucci little piggy."
A Billy Joel ditty for the Port Power (it will probably come back in my face, but who cares)
And you cannot handle pressure
Pressure, pressure
One, two, three, four
Pressure
Sydneyfan
6 Sep 2002, 00:38
Prince is an underrrated lyricist, the lyrics from these 2 songs are brilliant! :cool:
Peach
Uh-oh here she come
She got them gold hot pants on again
Yeah man
I wanna talk, but I dunno
She's a Peach
She was dark, she was tan
She made me glad to be a man
She was young, she was smart
Just one glance and she stole my heart
The kinda girl you wanna teach
She's a Peach
Summertime, feelin' fine, getting wild
All that's on my mind
Here she come, dressed in red
Get her done, is all that's in my head
Her hot pants can't hide her cheeks
She's a Peach
She was pure, every ounce
I was sure, when her titties bounced
Every way, she's a winner
Turn a gay preacher to a sinner
No one you want your mama meet
She's a Peach
This is a girl plays hard 2 get
I would die if I kissed her
I would try, but I'm last on her list
She's so cool and I'm so ugly
I'd be a fool, to think she could love me
This kinda girl's always out of reach
She's a Peach
Peach
Raspberry Beret
was working part time in a five-and-dime
My boss was Mr. McGee
He told me several times that he didn't like my kind
'Cause I was a bit 2 leisurely
Seems that I was busy doing something close 2 nothing
But different than the day before
That's when I saw her, Ooh, I saw her
She walked in through the out door, out door
She wore a
Raspberry beret
The kind U find in a second hand store
Raspberry beret
And if it was warm she wouldn't wear much more
Raspberry beret
I think I love her
Built like she was
She had the nerve 2 ask me
If I planned 2 do her any harm
So, look here
I put her on the back of my bike
And-a we went riding
Down by old man Johnson's farm
I said now, overcast days never turned me on
But something about the clouds and her mixed
She wasn't 2 bright
But I could tell when she kissed me
She knew how 2 get her kicks
She wore a
Raspberry beret
The kind U find in a second hand store
Raspberry beret
And if it was warm she wouldn't wear much more
Raspberry beret
I think I love her
The rain sounds so cool when it hits the barn roof
And the horses wonder who U are
Thunder drowns out what the lightning sees
U feel like a movie star
Listen
They say the first time ain't the greatest
But I tell ya
If I had the chance 2 do it all again
I wouldn't change a stroke
'Cause baby I'm the most
With a girl as fine as she was then
(Raspberry beret)
The kind U find (The kind U find)
The kind U find (In a second hand store)
Oh no no
(Raspberry beret)
(And if it was warm)
Where have all the raspberry women gone? (She wouldn't wear much more)
Yeah (Raspberry beret)
I think I... I think I... I think I love her
(Raspberry beret)
No No No
No No No (The kind U find)
(In a second hand store)
(Raspberry beret)
Tell me
Where have all the raspberry women gone? (And if it was warm she)
(Wouldn't wear much more)
(Raspberry beret)
I think I love...
Dogwatcher
6 Sep 2002, 23:16
Good old Collingwood forever,
We know how to play the game......
Sorry, but is that going too far?
PrincessPark
7 Sep 2002, 12:26
Well I'm rather upper-class high society
God's gift to ballroom noteriety
And I always fill my ballrooms
The event is never small
The social pages say I've got the biggest balls of all!
(chorus skippered)
Well my balls are always bouncing
My ballroom's always full
And everybody comes and comes again
If your name is on the guestlist
No-one can take you higher
Everybody says I've got great balls of fire!
(chorus skippered again)
Some balls are held for charity
And some for fancy dress
But when they're held for pleasure
They're the balls that I like best
My balls are always bouncing
From the left and to the right
It's my belief that my big balls
Should be held every night!
"Big Balls" - AC/DC
[Intro]
Everybody...
Get on your feet.. right now...
For Roy Jones Jr....
The best pound for pound fighter in the world...
Whoever don't agree... ya know what?
I guess - y'all musta forgot! ...
[Roy Jones Jr.]
When they stole my gold medal in Seoul, Korea
Let's look back at my whole career
Cuz y'all musta forgot! ....
The "best pound for pound" is mine
Hit Percy Harris with four hooks at one time
Y'all musta forgot! ....
When I beat Bernard Hopkins, and won the IBF
The right was hurt, beat him with the left
Y'all musta forgot! ....
You remember the left hook that James Toney got
Sucka move that I stole from a game****
Y'all musta forgot! ....
Will there be another Roy Jones? Probably not
Stopped Virgil Hill with a body shot
See y'all musta forgot! ....
I got disqualified in March of '97
After givin a whippin to Montell Griffin
Late hit - my title; they had to take it
Why? I guess that's the only way I could lose
Five months later; rematch, I needs my crown
First round, one punch and he sat down
Don't get me mad cuz I'm amped already
Took titles from fighters who was champs already
The heart and soul of boxing on HBO
What these other fighters take me fo? A joke?
Ah y'all musta forgot! ....
And they got the nerve to say I ain't fight nobody
I just make 'em look like nobody
Y'all musta forgot! ....
And David Telasco, he really asked for it
So I beat him with a fractured wrist
See y'all musta forgot! .... (remember that...)
In the ring I BOX, there is none higher
When I use these, they call me sire
To earn my kindom, I must use fire
and I won't stop boxing till I retire, I'm Roy...
Y'all musta forgot! .... Y'all musta forgot!
When I beat Reggie Johnson,
and took his light heavyweight title from him
See y'all musta forgot! That I'm nice with these
Y'all musta forgot! This is what I do
Y'all musta forgot!
We could go on and on, Mike McCallum, Vinnie Pazienza
See y'all musta forgot! .... Y'all musta forgot!
Y'all musta forgot! ......
Roy Jones - Y'All Musta Forgot!...They sure do RJ!
Rusty Brookes
9 Sep 2002, 09:14
WEEKEND-The Dictators
Oh Weekend
Benny took downs in class
The principal found his stash
His mother's gonna get his ass
Oh Weekend
In his room he'll stay
Dreamin when he's king he'll say
Everyday is Saturday
Set me free
I might know better when I'm older
But until then
Just give me a sopor for the weekend
Oh Weekend
Bobby is a local punk
Cuttin school and getting drunk
Eating at Mcdonald's for lunch
Oh Weekend
Soon he threw up in the store
But if he does it anymore
I'll make him eat it off the floor
Set me free
But until then
Oh Weekend
Time to go a bit insane
Beatin up the kids from Spain
I'm tired of this social change
Oh Weekend
Flashing rock and roll guitars
Cruising in my daddy's car
I'll do my homework in the bar
Set me free
But until then
you move like I want to
to see like your eyes do
we are downstairs where
no one can see
new life break away
tonight I feel like more
tonight I
you make the water warm
you taste foreign
and I know you can see
the cord break away
cause tonight I feel like more
tonight I feel like more
tonight I feel
feel like more
you breathed
then you stopped
I breathed then dried you off
and tonight
I feel like more
tonight
mellowyellow
9 Sep 2002, 19:34
Bruce Co ckburn
Silver Wheels
high speed drift on a praire road
hot tires sing like a string being bowed
sudden town rears up then explodes
fragments resolve into white line code
whirl on silver wheels
black earth energy receptor fields
undulate under a grey cloud shield
we outrun a river colour brick red mud
that cleaves apart hills soil rich as blood
highway squeeze in constuction steam
stop caution hard hat yellow insect machines
silver steel towers stalk rolling land
towards distant stacks that shout "feed on demand"
100 miles later the sky has changed
urban anticipation-we get 4 lanes
redorange furnace sphere nothces down
throws up silhouette skyline in brown
sundogs flare on windshield glass
sudden swoop skywood ironhorse overpass
pass a man walking like the man in the moon
walking like his heads full of irish fiddle tunes
the skin around evey city looks the same
miles of flash neon spelling well known names
used trucks dirty donuts you you're the one
fat squeeled car squeel into the sun
radio speakers gargle top 40 trash
muzak soundtrack slow collapase
planet engines pulsate in sidereal time
if you listen close you can the whine.
The Jive Express
Fit to bust
I'm living in the middle of an age of madness
Living in a world where 'fairytales' are gone
They say it's a crutch, they say it's a sham, they say there is no great I AM
That I should really kick it, this time
Then they turn around and tell me I'm descended from an ape
From the dirt I came and to the dirt I'll go
There is no rhyme or reason in the book that I'm believing they say
Gotta bust a move
Dancing to the groove of a different tune
Clear some room now people, people
Like an adrenaline rush can't get enough
Gonna keep up the pressure til I'm fit to bust
Now people, people
They can say my heads gone wrong
And they can play around and have their fun, one by one
But their advice, nothing short of lies, doesn't cut it and fails to satisfy
Well the foolishness I'm hearing makes me want to scream and shout
As I see the world I'm living in turn black from inside out
But this God that I'm believin' is more real than you and me, we'll see
Gotta bust a move, etc
(Tag)Where you gonna run for shelter when you've been blinded by the light
When you find the thing you turned your nose up that's the only way that's right
And then what will your final words be when you're face down on the ground
Watching all you placed your faith in, your whole world, just falling down
Life's not forever, life's but a chance to run the race
If I'm wrong in my surmise hah! I might lose a little face
But what do you stand to lose if and when this day should come?
Better take the chance and turn around there's nowhere left to run
Gotta bust a move, etc
manutd/dogs
14 Sep 2002, 13:56
If you could only see how blue her eyes can be when she says...
Psycho Chicken by "The Fools"
(thanks to psychochicken.com)
I can't seem to face up to the facts
I'm tense and nervous and I can't relax
This Colonel Sanders job is gettin' me down
A crazy chicken chasing me all over town
CHORUS:
Psycho Chicken--what the *?
Bwak bwak bwak bwaaak bwak bwak bwak bwak bwaaak bwak
Better run run run run run run run away
I don't know just what to do
He's got a grudge against Frank Perdue
He's clucking a lot, but he's not saying anything
I plucked him once--why pluck him again?--CHORUS
Colonel Sanders wants to cook his goose
but Psycho Chicken's still on the loose
("Hmm, a little chickie--" BWAAK!! "OHH!!")
They caught him down in Ohio
They cut off his head and they put him in the oven
They put him in a box right next to a roll
Put some coleslaw around his legs and someone took him home
Ate him for lunch and he tasted real fine ("BURP!")
but the guy who ate him, he just lost his mind!
HALF-CHORUS (with "Qu'est-ce que?")
CHORUS (with "What the *?")
("Ooh, it's all covered in feathers!")
From "Rent"
sung by Christine Anu in the Australian production
Without you
The ground thaws
The rain falls
The grass grows
Without you
The seeds root
The flowers bloom
The children play
The stars gleam
The poets dream
The eagles fly
Without you
The earth turns
The sun burns
But I die
Without you
Without you
The breeze warms
The girl smiles
The cloud moves
Without you
The tides change
The boys run
The oceans crash
The crowds roar
The days soar
The babies cry
Without you
The moon glows
The river flows
But I die
Without you
carneagles
17 Sep 2002, 15:24
I saw two shooting stars last night
I wished on them - but they were only satellites
It's wrong to wish on space hardware
I wish, I wish, I wish you'd care
--
You see me on the street
you always act surprised
say how are you, good luck - but you don't mean it
when you know as well as me, you'd rather see me paralysed
why don't you just come out once and scream it?
carneagles
17 Sep 2002, 15:30
I'm just trying to remember the Australian celebrity he subsituted Robert De Niro with when he sang it on the Don't Try this at Home tour in 1992 or 93.
It was humourous at the time. On the "Live at the Wireless" recording I have - Adelaide 1992 - he substitutes:
I look like Gary Glitter
I drink a hundred pints of bitter (every night)