View Full Version : How good is it to play Friday Night Football?

philhawk
27 Jun 2008, 09:29
Seriously cannot wait for the game tonight.

But how good is it to have us finakky play on a Friday?

lethalselbow
27 Jun 2008, 09:43
Seriously cannot wait for the game tonight.

But how good is it to have us finakky play on a Friday?

Damn Good!!! :thumbsu:

How many games do we have of FNF for the year?

Seriously, we should have heaps! We've got a side that oozes watchability... and we've got Buddy!

HFC082
27 Jun 2008, 10:00
Gets it out of the way early...big weekend to follow a big win on FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL :)

TBoyleSuperstar
27 Jun 2008, 10:01
Yeah Phil it is good. I do prefer Saturday games as that way when we win I can read the Sunday papers about us and how good we are, whereas with Friday, you don't get the write-ups as much.

JESTERHAWK
27 Jun 2008, 10:10
I cannot stop jumping. On the big build up to the bounce. Saying that i am always more cautious about game we SHOULD win easily. Does anybody else notice this year we seem to play teams who's " backs against the wall" hype surrounds them. Kangas, Tiges Port etc. C'mon Hawkers!!!!!

kirbatron
27 Jun 2008, 11:06
Is nice.

I reckon i've been a bit flat the last few weeks (bar the Adelaide game) just expecting wins. I expect to win tonight, but i'm still nervous.

Its the big time, and i hope we can get plenty of people there to improve the atmosphere!

Go Hawks!

hawker11
27 Jun 2008, 11:54
Damn good - all we need to do is show in numbers and we will get it more often :thumbsu:

ricta
27 Jun 2008, 11:56
cant wait to finish work to head up to the G to touch up the weagles and Buddy kick 10+ ;)

riss_b
27 Jun 2008, 11:57
So excited, would like to leave work now.

sgbn77
27 Jun 2008, 12:07
So excited, would like to leave work now.

Let's just go. Come on, I dare you. On the count of three, we'll both log off.

:D

Stard Picket
27 Jun 2008, 12:11
For me the greatest part about playing this Friday is the break it will give our players after tonight they don’t play until Sunday the 13th of July, 15 days off to get over the niggle injuries. I am hoping for a lift in form after the break.:thumbsu:

Simon_Nesbit
27 Jun 2008, 12:15

Are you still here? Go allready.

Scotland
27 Jun 2008, 12:25
Reckon a sizable crowd will turn up?

I can't imagine there'd be too much neutral interest in watching us play, but even if it's very one-sided the game would have to be more appealing than the tripe that was served up last Friday, surely.

riss_b
27 Jun 2008, 13:36

I'm sure no one would notice if I didn't return from lunch :D

tommyk72
27 Jun 2008, 13:50
Can't bloody wait! It's the first match that i've seen in 3 months on TV. Then i'm getting to my first match in the 3 and half months for the Cats games. Friday night footy rocks!

macdaddio
27 Jun 2008, 13:52
Im looking at getting there about 6pm would that give me enought time to find a good seat and car park?

boozeDragon
27 Jun 2008, 13:56
Friday Night Footy is awesome.

Here in Singapore it comes live from Australia at 6.00 PM local time... so get outta work, stroll down to the river, push the poms out of the way and make it to the front of the bar with the best view fro the tellie.

Just a pity they don't have Carlton (the beer I mean!!!)...

borgo
27 Jun 2008, 14:03
I hate Friday night football

Wake up at 4:30AM friday morning and then head to work..

grrrrr.....

boozeDragon
27 Jun 2008, 14:19
I hate Friday night football

Wake up at 4:30AM friday morning and then head to work..

grrrrr.....

You're in Northern Hemisphere? Or you mean you just have to get up for work early on Fridays?

Hawkk
27 Jun 2008, 14:29
Reckon a sizable crowd will turn up?

I can't imagine there'd be too much neutral interest in watching us play, but even if it's very one-sided the game would have to be more appealing than the tripe that was served up last Friday, surely.

MCC reckons 33k

Hopefully we get a few thousand more then that, 35-40,000 would be great

Damn Good!!! :thumbsu:

How many games do we have of FNF for the year?

Seriously, we should have heaps! We've got a side that oozes watchability... and we've got Buddy!

This is 2nd Friday Night game in almost 2 years!

Though we do have 3 FNF games over the next 5 rounds, including back to back games vs. Collingwood and Geelong at the MCG.

borgo
27 Jun 2008, 14:30
Game starts at 4:30AM Friday morning - then head to work at 8AM.. Worst possible combo because it screws up my friday night....

Give me a saturday 2PM game anytime (11PM Friday night - local time)

Mojo
27 Jun 2008, 14:34
MCC reckons 33k

Hopefully we get a few thousand more then that, 35-40,000 would be great

This is 2nd Friday Night game in almost 2 years!

Though we do have 3 FNF games over the next 5 rounds, including back to back games vs. Collingwood and Geelong at the MCG.

Omg, that sucks!

If the Hawks are representative of our membership size we should be getting 50,000 to a Friday night game.

Grr..

AC for PM
27 Jun 2008, 14:39
The only draw-back of friday night football.... it's a LOOOONNNGGG weekend if we lose....

Hawkk
27 Jun 2008, 14:44
Omg, that sucks!

If the Hawks are representative of our membership size we should be getting 50,000 to a Friday night game.

Grr..

If we were playing a top 4 opponent I'd agree with you, but we're playing a side that sits 15th on the ladder in a game we're expected to win.

Hardly a game that's going to get the neutral fans and fringe members juices going.

The only draw-back of friday night football.... it's a LOOOONNNGGG weekend if we lose....

Its a very long weekend when it backs onto the bye and we don't play again until Sunday fortnight

Scotland
27 Jun 2008, 14:50
Omg, that sucks!

Grr..

50,000 is a massive ask.

Neutral interest in the game itself will be minimal, and our supporter base probably won't contribute a great deal to the crowd figure. Pretty sure the last time we played a Friday night match at the 'G was in 1999.

My tip: 30-35,000. The Geelong and Pies games will be big (60+ each) crowd pullers IMO.

AC for PM
27 Jun 2008, 15:03
50,000 is a massive ask.

Neutral interest in the game itself will be minimal, and our supporter base probably won't contribute a great deal to the crowd figure. Pretty sure the last time we played a Friday night match at the 'G was in 1999.

My tip: 30-35,000. The Geelong and Pies games will be big (60+ each) crowd pullers IMO.

We played Melbourne @ the MCG on a friday night in May 2006 and got smashed by 75pts.

boozeDragon
27 Jun 2008, 15:04
50,000 is a massive ask.

I think we might get more than 33,000 but agree 50,000 is a huge ask.
What's good is the Corporate factor works in our favour... Friday night is the choice of all corporate entertainment. At ANZ it's always impossible to book the corp box for a Friday, easy on a Sunday however. I'm thinking it will be around the 37k-38k mark, which I think is a great result. Only problem with the MCG is that it feels empty when you get less than 40k.

Hawkk
27 Jun 2008, 19:23
I think we might get more than 33,000 but agree 50,000 is a huge ask.
What's good is the Corporate factor works in our favour... Friday night is the choice of all corporate entertainment. At ANZ it's always impossible to book the corp box for a Friday, easy on a Sunday however. I'm thinking it will be around the 37k-38k mark, which I think is a great result. Only problem with the MCG is that it feels empty when you get less than 40k.

I think you're spot on, though 40k sure is an attractive numer (even if we have to 'doctor' a few thousand to get there ;))