View Full Version : TAC Cup Round 10

footyman
27 Jun 2008, 18:43
Pretty early to start the thread I know but full credit to Oakleigh too for resting their Vic Metro players this week. Im sure its tempting to play the likes of Hannebery, Strauss, Shuey and Lisle when having access to them from school footy but they've put the welfare of their players ahead of the results.

North Ballarat have done the same with Suban.

Aside from that, its amazing how much better the round of TAC Cup footy looks when all those schools are on holidays.

big jim 3
27 Jun 2008, 18:56
who are the players to watch in tommorws match of the round.
Oakleigh vs Geelong down at skilled???
thought's on who will win and key players??

sammy_18
27 Jun 2008, 19:17
Sandringham Dragons

B
Muller
Sengstock
Gleadhill

HB
Hunt
Robertson
Martin

C
Gilchrist
Tobin
Suckling

HF
Thomas
Brown
J. Allan

F
Lowden
Watts
Ambrose

R
Vickery
McGarry
Smith-Cameron

Int
Bull
Hale
Rowlands

T. Allan
Sperring
Meehan

Hayes
Johnston

22skidoo
27 Jun 2008, 23:51
F
Lowden

Is this Luke's first hit out for the year? Can't remember seeing him so far this year.

Richo is God
28 Jun 2008, 00:23
F
Lowden

Is this Luke's first hit out for the year? Can't remember seeing him so far this year.
it is for sandy, he was at murray last year. played caulfield grammar 1's a couple weeks ago, i think that was his first match not sure though

22skidoo
28 Jun 2008, 16:52
2008 TAC Cup
Geelong Falcons 3.5 8.10 11.12 15.15 (105)
Oakleigh Chargers 0.0 4.1 8.2 11.3 (69)

GOALS:
Geelong Falcons: Gavin 5 Leersen 2 Christensen 2 Denton Ledin Lynch Rounds Bartlett Thompson
Oakleigh Chargers: Weekes 3 McMahon 2 Sibosado 2 Castricum 2 Wall Clarke

BEST:
Geelong Falcons: Simpkin Boyd MacKenzie Gavin Lynch Denton
Oakleigh Chargers: Henderson Purcell White O'Sullivan Burstin Woods

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Geelong Falcons: Nil
Oakleigh Chargers: nil

Eastern Ranges 5.6 7.11 16.14 23.18 (156)
Northern Territory 2.0 5.3 5.5 7.6 (48)

GOALS:
Eastern Ranges: O'Keefe 6 Lofthouse 3 Renton 2 Cass 2 Kitchin 2 Brown O'Shea Harding Harvey Young Scott Gysberts Moore
Northern Territory: Tungatalum 3 Lindner Bee-Hugo Cunningham Wray

BEST:
Eastern Ranges: Sloane Blease Cass Brown Renton O'Keefe
Northern Territory: Heenan Long Cunningham Hale Wooding Ah Chee

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Eastern Ranges: nil
Northern Territory: nil

sammy_18
28 Jun 2008, 23:50
any1 no the tac cup scores from today???

footyman
28 Jun 2008, 23:55
any1 no the tac cup scores from today???

Sandringham Dragons 2.4 6.10 7.14 12.18 (90)
Gippsland Power 5.2 7.4 8.7 12.14 (86)

GOALS:
Sandringham Dragons: Watts 2 GILCHRIST 2 HUNT Vickery Brown Tobin McGarry Bull AMBROSE Thomas
Gippsland Power: Hoghton 3 Carr Weston Brown Donchi Ryan Francis Stevens Heyne Butcher

BEST:
Sandringham Dragons: Tobin Martin Sengstock Suckling Gleadhill Bull
Gippsland Power: Brown Hoghton Blair Nickless Stockdale McLinden

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Gippsland Power: N Heyne (Gippsland) for striking M Brown (Sandringham)

Bendigo Pioneers 4.1 6.7 10.11 12.12 (84)
Northern Knights 4.5 7.7 12.9 17.12 (114)

GOALS:
Bendigo Pioneers: Mason 2 Richardson 2 Healey 2 McKee 2 Bruns Clymo Coghlan Williams
Northern Knights: Zaharakis 5 Walsh 4 Smith-Whiting 3 Lambert Still Grimes Woods Power

BEST:
Bendigo Pioneers: Page Petrie Watt Coghlan Healey Richardson
Northern Knights: Witkowski Brunelli Still Walsh Smith-Whiting Zaharakis

REPORTED PLAYERS: Bendigo Pioneers: Jordan Florance (Bendigo) for striking Lucas Hobbs (Northern).

Calder Cannons 2.4 5.5 8.6 9.7 (61)
Murray Bushrangers 4.4 10.8 14.11 19.16 (130)

GOALS:
Calder Cannons: Tydell 3 Lucin Fahey Hayes Prestia Duhau Ezard
Murray Bushrangers: Sheahan 5 McNeil 3 Wright 2 Browne 2 Daniels 2 Tiller Priest A'vard Rockliff Hicks

BEST:
Calder Cannons: White Ezard Duhau McCallum Buckley Woodburn
Murray Bushrangers: Sidebottom Rockliff Ziebell Sheahan Klemke McNeil

jocko99
29 Jun 2008, 15:37
calder vs murray was a very competitive game until the last quarter and murray ran over the top of them, few one on ones i noticed white ran with ziebell all day and from my recolection i don't remember ziebell doing anything and i think white must of had nearly 30 possies, kicking let him down though, duhau on rockliff was a wierd match up but effcive i thought and i gave duhau the honours. but thats as much as i could say for the poor old cannons, steel sidebottom put on a show in the second half with a massive third quarter and if he can be drafted will definetly go.

In the end Murray's class ran away with it just a beautiful hard, running and well skilled side

north city!!!
29 Jun 2008, 16:01
Watched the Rebels play the Queensland boys today. Rebels by 50 points.

Kevin Morris and a couple of other scouts watching must have been impressed with a few of the Rebels prospects. Will Young imparticular was very impressive and dominated with clean hands and disposal throughout a cold, wet and windy game. His high marking, attack on the ball, skill on both sides and creative use of the ball for a bloke 6' 4" make him a potential come draft day.

Hooper. What can you say other than i wish he was two inches taller. Creative, dominant, fearless attack at the ball all day; class.

Roughead was ok and did his bit around the ground on a day not made for talls. Suban did not play. The Queenslanders appeared to be uncomfortable with the weather and consistently turned the ball over which hurt them. A couple took the eye though. Beames in the middle and Thompson on the flank or wing both impressed from time to time.

Does anyone know who Kevin Morris is currently working for? He seemed to take a lot of notes re Young.

big jim 3
29 Jun 2008, 18:06
2008 TAC Cup
Geelong Falcons 3.5 8.10 11.12 15.15 (105)
Oakleigh Chargers 0.0 4.1 8.2 11.3 (69)

GOALS:
Geelong Falcons: Gavin 5 Leersen 2 Christensen 2 Denton Ledin Lynch Rounds Bartlett Thompson
Oakleigh Chargers: Weekes 3 McMahon 2 Sibosado 2 Castricum 2 Wall Clarke

BEST:
Geelong Falcons: Simpkin Boyd MacKenzie Gavin Lynch Denton
Oakleigh Chargers: Henderson Purcell White O'Sullivan Burstin Woods

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Geelong Falcons: Nil
Oakleigh Chargers: nil

Eastern Ranges 5.6 7.11 16.14 23.18 (156)
Northern Territory 2.0 5.3 5.5 7.6 (48)

GOALS:
Eastern Ranges: O'Keefe 6 Lofthouse 3 Renton 2 Cass 2 Kitchin 2 Brown O'Shea Harding Harvey Young Scott Gysberts Moore
Northern Territory: Tungatalum 3 Lindner Bee-Hugo Cunningham Wray

BEST:
Eastern Ranges: Sloane Blease Cass Brown Renton O'Keefe
Northern Territory: Heenan Long Cunningham Hale Wooding Ah Chee

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Eastern Ranges: nil
Northern Territory: nil

can someone that saw the game give me a few comments on these blokes!
oak- purcell.....burstin........hoegel????

Jobbo and Coon
29 Jun 2008, 18:22
any 1 no who won the jets game??

HBF
29 Jun 2008, 18:35
Bendigo Pioneers 4.1 6.7 10.11 12.12 (84)
Northern Knights 4.5 7.7 12.9 17.12 (114)

GOALS:
Bendigo Pioneers: Mason 2 Richardson 2 Healey 2 McKee 2 Bruns Clymo Coghlan Williams
Northern Knights: Zaharakis 5 Walsh 4 Smith-Whiting 3 Lambert Still Grimes Woods Power

BEST:
Bendigo Pioneers: Page Petrie Watt Coghlan Healey Richardson
Northern Knights: Witkowski Brunelli Still Walsh Smith-Whiting Zaharakis

Wow. Zaharakis has kicked the lazy 5.
Hopefully he has addressed those kicking queries I had over him last year.

blues2010
29 Jun 2008, 18:53
any 1 no who won the jets game??
Stingrays by a couple of points. Not the greatest game by both sides

footyman
29 Jun 2008, 19:00
Stingrays by a couple of points. Not the greatest game by both sides
You can say that again!! It was played with quite a strong breeze seemingly going towards one end so there ended up being a lot of scrappyness with players around the ball and both sides seemed to struggle to handle the way you needed to play with or against the breeze.

There were two dust ups, the one at 3/4 time was a ripper and as full on as you'd see in the TAC Cup. There are a few guys in each side who seem to enjoy that sort of thing.

Western had chances, they had the breeze in the last quarter. Spinella missed a goal with a couple of minutes to go from about 40m out with no angle and Jayden Post had what was virtually the last kick of the day from about 50m and missed as well. The Stingrays kick in from that was as the siren sounded.

Ordinary game but got fairly exciting in the last quarter because of the conditions, what had happened at 3/4 time and the fact it went right down to the wire. Not a lot of TAC Cup games are decided by small margins anymore.

footyman
29 Jun 2008, 19:04
white ran with ziebell all day and from my recolection i don't remember ziebell doing anything and i think white must of had nearly 30 possies

duhau on rockliff was a wierd match up but effcive i thought and i gave duhau the honours. Interesting. Both White and Duhau were in Calder's best three players and Ziebell and Rockliff were named in Murray's best three as well.

Where did Rockliff play cos I didnt see him in the goalkickers? Duhau is a great spoiler from out of position in a contest so I guess its not a stupid move to play him on a guy who is such a strong mark.

Delids
29 Jun 2008, 19:28
Can someone give some details on Sheahan from Bushrangers.
I hear he is very talented, footballer and Cricketer.
Age, is he elegible, what position he plays etc
The talk on this kid is massive, apparently will need to choose between cricket and footy

.M a t t.
29 Jun 2008, 19:38
You can say that again!! It was played with quite a strong breeze seemingly going towards one end so there ended up being a lot of scrappyness with players around the ball and both sides seemed to struggle to handle the way you needed to play with or against the breeze.

There were two dust ups, the one at 3/4 time was a ripper and as full on as you'd see in the TAC Cup. There are a few guys in each side who seem to enjoy that sort of thing.

Western had chances, they had the breeze in the last quarter. Spinella missed a goal with a couple of minutes to go from about 40m out with no angle and Jayden Post had what was virtually the last kick of the day from about 50m and missed as well. The Stingrays kick in from that was as the siren sounded.

Ordinary game but got fairly exciting in the last quarter because of the conditions, what had happened at 3/4 time and the fact it went right down to the wire. Not a lot of TAC Cup games are decided by small margins anymore.

Do you know if Wood played for the Jets??

Sezzac1
29 Jun 2008, 19:53
Interesting. Both White and Duhau were in Calder's best three players and Ziebell and Rockliff were named in Murray's best three as well.

Where did Rockliff play cos I didnt see him in the goalkickers? Duhau is a great spoiler from out of position in a contest so I guess its not a stupid move to play him on a guy who is such a strong mark.

White HB in 1st half vs Big Jack. did well. One of his better games in 08

Duhau HB/BP vs Rocky early. Nothing flash other than kept Rocky quiet early. Doesn't hurt with the ball in his hands.

Rocky, Jack and Sidebottom were mostly asleep in the first half. After 1/2 time you saw why they are in the VC team. All 3 dominated and blew CC away. Sidebottom HBF, Rocky onball/Forward and Jack anywhere he liked. I suspect Bunn's booming voice may have woken them up at the break ;)

footyman
29 Jun 2008, 19:56
White HB in 1st half vs Big Jack. did well. One of his better games in 08

Duhau HB/BP vs Rocky early. Nothing flash other than kept Rocky quiet early. Doesn't hurt with the ball in his hands.

Rocky, Jack and Sidebottom were mostly asleep in the first half. After 1/2 time you saw why they are in the VC team. All 3 dominated and blew CC away. Sidebottom HBF, Rocky onball/Forward and Jack anywhere he liked. I suspect Bunn's booming voice may have woken them up at the break ;)
Thanks Chief.

BTW, hopefully you saw the end of todays game - exciting wasnt it? :D

Sezzac1
29 Jun 2008, 19:59
Thanks Chief.

BTW, hopefully you saw the end of todays game - exciting wasnt it? :D

Left at the 20 minute mark ;) thought the Jets had it.

How many to be suspended do you think. I spied a couple of big round-houses thrown in my bino's :eek:

footyman
29 Jun 2008, 20:15

How many to be suspended do you think. I spied a couple of big round-houses thrown in my bino's :eek: 20 minute mark :eek: Congratulations!!! ;)

As for the fights, it was down in front of the grandstand where I was and obviously the TV camera was right over it as well.

I reckon there were four who could get nabbed, probably two from each side. One guy used a knee quite crudely to someone on the ground and might be in strife if that got captured on tape too.

macca69
29 Jun 2008, 20:24

How many to be suspended do you think. I spied a couple of big round-houses thrown in my bino's :eek:

Can waterboys be suspended?

Because I noticed Western's waterboy had a decent crack.

jocko99
29 Jun 2008, 20:43
ziebell was ineffictive on the had to be moved to half back in the second half where he got some kicks in the back pocket to rack up some stats, rockliff noticable but he kicked the ball well when he got it, the only one who dominated after half time was sidebottom otherwise the other ones i think were just comfortably beaten

TopGun
29 Jun 2008, 21:03
Can waterboys be suspended?

Because I noticed Western's waterboy had a decent crack.

Didn't even see that one! How did it start? I just saw both teams run in at each other

its game on
29 Jun 2008, 23:12

Only 4 points in favour of Sandy over Gippy at Trevor Barker on Saturday.

The battle for bragging rights for the ABC commentators was in doubt right until the final siren.

Close tussle with not too many standouts, thought Sengstock was great for Sandy down back, with plenty of marks.
Funniest moment was when Jarrod Molloy asked the Sandy crowd from the box to yell out BALL as loud as the Gippy crowd did, whenever a good tackle was laid.

All in all a close game, with Sandy's inaccuracy making the margin closer than it was, but really either side could have won.

footyman
29 Jun 2008, 23:17
IGO, to back my comment up only 12 out of 65 TAC Cup games so far this year have been decided by 10 points of less. We're lucky this weekend that two were in the balance until the final siren, I cant recall seeing one this year before today.

its game on
29 Jun 2008, 23:27
IGO, to back my comment up only 12 out of 65 TAC Cup games so far this year have been decided by 10 points of less. We're lucky this weekend that two were in the balance until the final siren, I cant recall seeing one this year before today.

No arguement, I agree, too many one sided contests.

Noticed Hooper kicked 4 and got best on for the Rebels, he's amazing the amount of possies he gets.

upncomer
30 Jun 2008, 01:27
Wow. Zaharakis has kicked the lazy 5.
Hopefully he has addressed those kicking queries I had over him last year.
He kicked 5 points also.

ant555
30 Jun 2008, 10:59

Pretty much summed it up.

GOALden Hawk
30 Jun 2008, 13:23
Geelong easily accounted for Oakleigh, no surprise given all the Oakleigh Metro kids were rested.

Geelong could be a big chance come finals time, a couple of kids returning from injury last week and seem to have most positions covered apart from depth in the ruck.

big jim 3
30 Jun 2008, 17:23
Geelong easily accounted for Oakleigh, no surprise given all the Oakleigh Metro kids were rested.

Geelong could be a big chance come finals time, a couple of kids returning from injury last week and seem to have most positions covered apart from depth in the ruck.

Oakleigh would of beat geelong if they had there state players in the likes of.................. shuey, kilpin, gotch, lisle, strauss, hannebery, plus they didnt have niccoulpoulous and scipon.....
IF OAKS HAVE THERE FULL SIDE IN, THEY WILL COME VERY CLOSE TO WINNING THE FLAG

Vic Crow
30 Jun 2008, 18:03
Oakleigh would of beat geelong if they had there state players in the likes of.................. shuey, kilpin, gotch, lisle, strauss, hannebery, plus they didnt have niccoulpoulous and scipon.....
IF OAKS HAVE THERE FULL SIDE IN, THEY WILL COME VERY CLOSE TO WINNING THE FLAG
It's the TAC Cup. Every side is missing players for one reason or another nearly every week. Sure, Oakleigh and Sandy cop it worse than most with school players. I really rate Oakleigh this year, but you can't really use that stuff as an excuse. Besides, Geelong were missing an AFL player. ;)

Ruckman08
30 Jun 2008, 18:20
doesnt matter your shueys and strauss's will be afl players next year
mate oakleighs fire power that were missing were much stronger than geelongs

big jim 3
30 Jun 2008, 19:13
doesnt matter your shueys and strauss's will be afl players next year
mate oakleighs fire power that were missing were much stronger than geelongs

exactly, oaks will go a huge way this year
they have huge depth, as they have shown with there full team in this year they are almost unbeatable,
they have some real good bottom age players playing well this year to (which helkps alot)
have beaten ranges, jets by over 12 goals.. but were beaten by rebels with there worst side in...

it will be intresting when oaks play murray in round 19 both will have full sides, but will they play there best teams with 1 week out from finals, will be intresting..

footyman
30 Jun 2008, 20:23
One thing I respect about Oakleigh and Sandringham is that they miss 20+ school players for half the season but never flood their side with 16 year olds like a few others have been doing recently.

Sezzac1
30 Jun 2008, 22:17
ziebell was ineffictive on the had to be moved to half back in the second half where he got some kicks in the back pocket to rack up some stats, rockliff noticable but he kicked the ball well when he got it, the only one who dominated after half time was sidebottom otherwise the other ones i think were just comfortably beaten

Sidebottom 31 poss, 4 marks
Rocky 28 poss, 6 marks
Big Jack 22 poss, 10 marks

9 gls to 5 gls after 1/2 time. The 3 may have had a quiet 1st half but I suspect the later 2 comfortably had the better of their Calder opponents when the game had to be won and provided plenty. Calder couldn't get past Jack or Sidebottom after the big break.

Sezzac1
30 Jun 2008, 22:21
double post

jocko99
30 Jun 2008, 22:37
yeah stats don't mean much to me, i watched and first half i think they were all beaten then ziebell went to half back, played loose and racked up some stats dosn't show much, rockliff, didn't know he had that much of the ball by the looks on the game, the most damaging players were sidebottoms second half where he consistently one the football and sheahan's run and goals in the first half. iwas looking forward to watching ziebell people made him out to be very powerful strong around the contest but didn't really see any of it

and ya look at the cannons and i can't really say anything they didn't have much. if anyone else was there i think we need a 3rd opinion

dons_08
30 Jun 2008, 22:44
geelong falcons will win the premiership
i call it now

HFF_07
30 Jun 2008, 22:59
can some one give me some details on how, Scully, Cotrell and Bastinac from the Stingrays played, didnt get a mention in the best, but are 3 very highly talented underage footballers, some have even touted scully as number 1, 2009.

footyman
30 Jun 2008, 23:13
Didnt see the Cannons v Murray game unfortunately but surely some allowance has to be made for the workload some of those Murray guys have had in the past month. And I think that was only Ziebell's second game with Murray, his first for about 10 weeks cos of school footy. I don't think its super easy for a side to just gel together, it probably took them a half to settle down.

As for Geelong Falcons winning the premiership, keep dreamin!!! I'll be sick if they make it and Dangerfield wins them the game. Theres plenty of footy to be played yet.

FairCall
1 Jul 2008, 00:39
Yeh surprised with stats for Sidebottom Ziebell and Rocky. was at the game and thought all were very quiet first half. Sidebottom certainly got plenty in second half which would have snuck him into my best but certainly not Ziebell or Rocky. Question stats on Ziebell's effectiveness. Got a bit in second half but didn't think he hit targets. I had McNeil best could have kicked a couple more goals but passed off, Klemke good 4 quarters, Sheahan good, big Browne would have been close, kicking 3 points would have cost him votes and Bryce played 4 quarters as well. It was scrappy game expected it to improve after first quarter but didn't. Calder boys showed great intensity and appeared to want it more than the bushies especially first half. Score didn't reflect their effort.

upncomer
1 Jul 2008, 01:46
One thing I respect about Oakleigh and Sandringham is that they miss 20+ school players for half the season but never flood their side with 16 year olds like a few others have been doing recently.
What's wrong with that, its good to give the talented youngsters a taste of it, and also, the gun 16 y.o's are normally more value to a side than a borderline 17 or 18 y.o. Don't understand your point there.

footyman
1 Jul 2008, 10:35
What's wrong with that, its good to give the talented youngsters a taste of it, and also, the gun 16 y.o's are normally more value to a side than a borderline 17 or 18 y.o. Don't understand your point there.
I find it odd that the two sides in the TAC Cup whose depth is most severly tested with school footy (Oakleigh and Sandringham) have a policy not to play 16 year olds. Of all the clubs surely they have the greatest need to find players regardless of their age.

Previously I haven't had a big problem with 16 year olds playing because many were eligible for the draft at 17 years old, but with the change in age this lot can't be drafted until 2010.

I do have a problem where clubs play kids at 16 years old, and by the time they're 17 they cant get a game for their side and by the time they're 18 they dont even make the list. It is after all an under 18 competition. I hope some kids aren't written off too early.

And thirdly, just what is the role of the TAC Cup? Is it to provide AFL clubs with draftees or to better all footballers for all levels of footy? Does TAC clubs rejecting guys at 18 years of age reduce the chances of them entering the VFL system? Should a TAC Club play guys who are 18 years of age to better their footy so they can take it back to local level?

I'd like to see a cap on how many player at a time. I agree with what you said that some 16 year olds have an impact. Northern played one on Saturday who did a good job in his first game and Western had a few on Sunday who looked comfortable out there too.

digdaddy
1 Jul 2008, 12:22
can some one give me some details on how, Scully, Cotrell and Bastinac from the Stingrays played, didnt get a mention in the best, but are 3 very highly talented underage footballers, some have even touted scully as number 1, 2009.

Scully was rested. Bastinac started slowly was probably in best 8. Cottrell didn't see him much

stats

http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=32443905&c=1-3020-0-67827-0&pool=-1

Gilly1972
1 Jul 2008, 18:00
yeah stats don't mean much to me, i watched and first half i think they were all beaten then ziebell went to half back, played loose and racked up some stats dosn't show much, rockliff, didn't know he had that much of the ball by the looks on the game, the most damaging players were sidebottoms second half where he consistently one the football and sheahan's run and goals in the first

and ya look at the cannons and i can't really say anything they didn't half. iwas looking forward to watching ziebell people made him out to be very powerful strong around the contest but didn't really see any of ithave much. if anyone else was there i think we need a 3rd opinion

I recommend you try watching the game with your eyes open next time ;)

jocko99
2 Jul 2008, 15:40
don't get smart