View Full Version : Thorp really needs to become a CHB
walhawk
28 Jun 2008, 00:57
Our lack of quality tall defenders was exposed again tonight. We may be lucky this September as none of Cats, Dogs, Swans, Pies or Crows have 2 big, strong quality forwards.
Unfortunately none of Gilham (slow), Brown (short), Murphy (slight) or Birch (better suited up field) is up to that job.
I don't think Thorp will be ready this year, but it is what the team needs and also the only way Thorp will get a game with our current forward options.
Is his body up to it?
Will his heart be in it? (I agree that he is a natural forward).
He needs to spend the rest of the Box Hill season at CHB, then given an extended run there at Hawthorn.
It's the only piece of the puzzle missing.
The Cryptkeeper
28 Jun 2008, 01:11
He HAS been playing CHB at Box Hill. And he has been doing a fine job of it to date given his lack of conditioning.
walhawk
28 Jun 2008, 01:14
Good. Leave him there.
hawksrule111
28 Jun 2008, 01:18
Good. Leave him there.
Agreed, if he was good enough he would be in the team by now. He's not up to scratch so stop this "we want throp" crap. He's not good enuf at the moment...simple
Love4Buddy
28 Jun 2008, 01:26
Agreed, if he was good enough he would be in the team by now. He's not up to scratch so stop this "we want throp" crap. He's not good enuf at the moment...simple
You have got no idea mate, he is definitely good enough just needs and injury free run at Box Hill! If he can remain injury free he will be in the seniors within a month..
Shanhawk
28 Jun 2008, 01:44
You have got no idea mate, he is definitely good enough just needs and injury free run at Box Hill! If he can remain injury free he will be in the seniors within a month..
Hold up a tick. He's played one senior game and is injury prone, so how do we know hes 'good enough'.
Im still a little baffled at the hype surrounding this guy.
B&YBlood
28 Jun 2008, 03:10
Been injured mate. How good can someone be when they havn't done a full pre season? Wait till he has done a full pre season or two and then u will change your tune. Thorp is a gun!
B&GBlood
28 Jun 2008, 10:40
He may be good enough, but until he is fit enough, he is not good enough to play AFL.
Lance Whittnal was a fine footballer, very skilled and smart. How good was he? Not good enough because he was rarely if ever fit enough to be good enough.
If Thorp gets his body right he will get his chance, until then he is not good enough.
#6 Mark Williams
28 Jun 2008, 10:51
He may be good enough, but until he is fit enough, he is not good enough to play AFL.
Lance Whittnal was a fine footballer, very skilled and smart. How good was he? Not good enough because he was rarely if ever fit enough to be good enough.
If Thorp gets his body right he will get his chance, until then he is not good enough.Hands down the worst comparison ever, comparing Whitnall to Thorp... lol.
The Birch
28 Jun 2008, 12:30
If Thorp gets his body right he will get his chance, until then he is not good enough.
You idiot, how can you compare Whitnall to Thorp? Whitnal had weight issues and his body did not suit the pace of the game.
Thorp has had injury concerns and has yet to do a full pre season, this is only his second yr in the comp. Have you seen Thorp play? He does not play like Whitnall!
tinnman
28 Jun 2008, 12:38
i saw a young bloke at Frankston last week #41 (Walsh i think) had a great set of hands took some good grabs in the back line, with some weight and mentoring could he be the big marking backman we seek, also if big Max was up and firing Robbie C could hold down CHB
Thorp has the potential to be good enough. In fact, he has the potential to be very bloody good.
But right now (26/6/08), he's not good enough. His body isn't ready for AFL footy and you don't put a bloke like that in a side aiming for a top four finish. Not yet.
Hawk Dork
28 Jun 2008, 13:28
Thorp CHF
Dawson BP/FB on the forward Gorilla
Hodgepodge
29 Jun 2008, 21:35
If he's fit enough to play in the reserves, i'd take him ahead of Boyle at least.
Hodgepodge
29 Jun 2008, 21:37
Apparently Dawson is going alright at Box Hill too . . . who knows he might yet prove to be the saviour. I always hoped Roughead would go to FB leaving Thorp for a HF/CHF role and Lance as the roaming forward . . .
The Cryptkeeper
29 Jun 2008, 21:43
Apparently Dawson is going alright at Box Hill too . . . who knows he might yet prove to be the saviour. I always hoped Roughead would go to FB leaving Thorp for a HF/CHF role and Lance as the roaming forward . . .
Nah mate, Dawson is shit. Just ask the experts that get liquored up and go to one Box Hill match a year. They will tell ya.;)
Not to labour the point or anything, but...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCiGfcKtzoA
Hodgepodge
29 Jun 2008, 22:09
All those clips seem to be from the 2008 NAB cup . . . maybe he's come good. I'll admit i don't watch BoxHill games.
Exactly, from his only 2 games this year in the seniors. I don't know about you, but that's done enough to make me forget the sight of Rocca shaking the lunch money out of his pockets.
Nah mate, Dawson is shit. Just ask the experts that get liquored up and go to one Box Hill match a year. They will tell ya.;)
You don't have to be liquored up to see he cant play.
No. You could be wearing those magic glasses that only let you see things from 2006.
walhawk
29 Jun 2008, 23:40
After watching Thorp yesterday, he is very accident prone. Lacked a little awareness & got crunched twice.
I only got there at half time - why was there a bandage on his head.
fishbowl
30 Jun 2008, 00:02
Thorp CHF
Dawson BP/FB on the forward Gorilla
Thorp as a sweeping halfback, releasing Birchall up the ground.
Dawson won't get another senior game, he will do well for Box Hill.
Dawson has played 14 games, he is 22 y 6m.
Rioli has played 14 games, 18 y 11 m.
Dawson to get a game, who do you drop?
dipper86
30 Jun 2008, 00:09
Even though Lance did have some fitness issues, his major problem was that his pace was comparable to a snail, the game became too quick for him.
RustyHawk
30 Jun 2008, 02:43
Never going to happen.
Forward all the way.
lethalselbow
30 Jun 2008, 08:09
I only see Thorp as a forward. No problems that he probably won't play a game this year as he's there for the long haul. Though he is looking better and fitter week by week.
Big guys always take longer to develop. We all know this. Comparing midgets with giants is just silly.
Ralph007
30 Jun 2008, 09:15
I watched the box hill game yesterday and I was disappointed not to see Thorp play at CHB. While he had stint there he was roaming all over the place. Needs to be left there for the rest of the year and then should be assessed after a full pre season and NAB Cup form. He looks a little slow at the moment.. Definitely needs to work on his speed and fitness
Also did anyone listen to the uninspiring Barry Mitchell quarter time speech... this guy needs a rocket up him I was nearly asleep?
B&GBlood
30 Jun 2008, 09:45
You idiot, how can you compare Whitnall to Thorp? Whitnal had weight issues and his body did not suit the pace of the game.
Thorp has had injury concerns and has yet to do a full pre season, this is only his second yr in the comp. Have you seen Thorp play? He does not play like Whitnall!
Excuse me I am not an idiot you self opinionated twat.
The obvious comparison is fitness, and while I always thought Whitnal was a pog, he was a fine footballer and had very good skills.
Whitnal was forced from the game because he wasn't upto it physically, so far Thorp has played only one AFL game because he hasn't been upto it physically; for what ever reason.
Now I have watched Thorp play a couple of games at Boxhill and I think he moves very well for a bloke of 6'4" or there abouts but he has not built any stamina yet. For this reason he is not good enough to play AFL yet, certainly not ready to force too many out of the current team.
Simple really when you acctually think about the reason for the comparison.
Here I'll spell it out for you to save you the effort.
Whitnall: highly skilled player who read the game very well; not playing AFL because of physical limitations.
Thorp: apparently highly skilled player with good understanding of the game; not playing AFL because of physical limitations.
Dannerz
30 Jun 2008, 10:51
I still see Thorp's eventual role in our side as a forward.
With Franklin and Roughhead both playing as leading targets out of the square, why can't we use Thorp as lead up CHF.
So many times in games we are forced to handpass sideways and backwards because we simply have no leading tagets further up the ground.
Some people will say that our gameplan comprises running and moving the ball quickly by hand, but we are stuck doing u-turns a lot of the time as opposition close in on the ball carrier and we end up handballing backwards because we have no viable options leading further up the ground.
I am not advocating Thorp be immediatly brought into the side, as we all know he is clearly underdone at the moment. But if he can put together an uninterrupted pre-season, I think that a lead up CHF role would suit not only the player, but also the club.
#6 Mark Williams
30 Jun 2008, 11:24
Now that just leaves Dowler....
Thanks for that.
You've reignited my faith in the boy.
Go Zac.
I am not advocating Thorp be immediatly brought into the side, as we all know he is clearly underdone at the moment. But if he can put together an uninterrupted pre-season, I think that a lead up CHF role would suit not only the player, but also the club.
Great post mate.
I think you may be onto something there, in the past couple of weeks its been guys like tim clarke that have been forced to play that lead up role, i dont wanna bag timmy cos enough of that is done on here but a bigger stronger target would be more suited to this role i reckon
Cindy2003
30 Jun 2008, 13:32
Just pleased see the guy play two in a row at Box Hill. Lets see him get another 6 weeks of good footy under his belt and let his fitness base improve.
Seen him play live. Seems to be similar height to buddy and very quick and athletic for his size. Huge up side if he can get his body right.
Only chance for him this year may be very late in the season or even to do a Dermie in a final. Lets be patient and lets see him finally get up to AFL fitness. May be next year after a full pre season but nice to know we have talent in reserve.
Also Tucky looked a lot better this week at Box Hill. Dowler starting to improve may have some trade value
macdaddio
30 Jun 2008, 15:08
Just pleased see the guy play two in a row at Box Hill. Lets see him get another 6 weeks of good footy under his belt and let his fitness base improve.
Seen him play live. Seems to be similar height to buddy and very quick and athletic for his size. Huge up side if he can get his body right.
Only chance for him this year may be very late in the season or even to do a Dermie in a final. Lets be patient and lets see him finally get up to AFL fitness. May be next year after a full pre season but nice to know we have talent in reserve.
Also Tucky looked a lot better this week at Box Hill. Dowler starting to improve may have some trade value
Was thinking maybe Tuck should had played againts the weagles instead of Clarke poor guy gets 1 game back and plays in a loosing side and gets droped..
Boyler_Room
30 Jun 2008, 15:29
I think Boyle needs to take a leaf out of Morton's book. Saw that he was not going to get a game in Hawthorn's forward line even though he played there as a youngster and re-invented himself and his career.
Even more remarkable as he came to this realisation before he had even played a game of AFL and then was able to execute it.