View Full Version : Ellis worries me
walhawk
28 Jun 2008, 01:06
Commetti hit the nail on the head tonight - it's as if he almost waits to be tackled before giving off the ball.
He knows how to get the ball, but is not as quick nor a skilled as he thinks he is. He always thinks he has more time than he actually does and usually ends up kicking under pressure.
Jury still out.
Line in the Sand
28 Jun 2008, 01:32
Commetti hit the nail on the head tonight - it's as if he almost waits to be tackled before giving off the ball.
He knows how to get the ball, but is not as quick nor a skilled as he thinks he is. He always thinks he has more time than he actually does and usually ends up kicking under pressure.
Jury still out.
He handballs way to often! Even when there is no one around him he will find a way to handball. It is really getting to me. It is really starting to be a worry
Gary Shadforth
28 Jun 2008, 01:39
Yes. He seems to be slow in decision making in the fast tempo of a game and gets caught or slips handballs to players under the hammer. I believe he has the ability to upgrade his performances though. Time will tell.
Needs to bulk up in the riight proportions during the summer months.
to be honest he imo is not good enough, bit harsh i know and he is still young, but his awareness and decision making are terrible and because he is one paced, hasn't got much goin for him, needs to show something the next few weeks to warrant a spot for finals.
philhawk
28 Jun 2008, 01:44
I just want to see him kick long more often.
TBH, I thought his decision making and composure was his great strength.
Lets not jump the gun too early.
Just out of curiosity when he was recruited what were his strengths? He seems very vanilla to me.
Also you need a Michael Osbourne thread, he was awesome and I love watching him play. The Chapman of your team.
fugumatto
28 Jun 2008, 02:13
I'd be interested to know if any of the people here questioning Ellis were at the game.
Boyle a girl? He is still young and up-soming isn't he? I thought he would be great on a HFF, as long as Hawthron have both Roughead and Franklin in, then Boyle would attract the 3rd best tall backman, and get a kick. With smalls like Rioli, Williams and Osborne, pretty good forward line, I would think.
Hey, where di the post I just replied to , go ?
This is Boyle's 7th? year on the list isn't it?
philhawk
28 Jun 2008, 02:25
Boyle a girl? He is still young and up-soming isn't he? I thought he would be great on a HFF, as long as Hawthron have both Roughead and Franklin in, then Boyle would attract the 3rd best tall backman, and get a kick. With smalls like Rioli, Williams and Osborne, pretty good forward line, I would think.
Hey, where di the post I just replied to , go ?
It was utter crud to it was deleted.
Thanks for the sensible reply, though. The poster who wrote that stupid initial post should take a good look at himself.
illnino
28 Jun 2008, 03:12
Lol commetti was actually just calling the play dude. Heard it bout 10 secs ago on the replay :)
"Ellis........Almost waits for the opposition" - Drew his man in and handballed off.....Great play!
Great game by Ellis tonight. Hawks will be back in form soon boys too! Don't stress!
PatientHawk
28 Jun 2008, 08:49
I don't have any concerns about his skill, commitment or decision making, but i would like to see him take someone on, just to see how much pace he has.
He is going well:thumbsu:
You have to be ____ing kidding me. Amongst our best last night. One of the few blokes in our side I trust to hit a target when we're playing like we did last night.
TheWiseOne
28 Jun 2008, 10:06
What game was i watching last night.. I thought he was in our best.
macdaddio
28 Jun 2008, 10:48
I just want to see him kick long more often.
I want to see the whole team start to kick long..
Last night and the past 4 - 5 weeks we are just too handball happy we are playing soft footy atm.............
Roger Rogerson
28 Jun 2008, 11:05
I was there and Ellis was fine with his decision making.
The Weagles had blokes dropping back left right and centre hence we couldnt kick long. We lacked that extra hard runner breaking from wing to half forward.
Buddy Vision
28 Jun 2008, 11:07
The whole team is over using the ball too much at the moment, but Ellis was good tonight not sure he deserves this criticism.
Milkman_Joe
28 Jun 2008, 11:15
You guys needs to relax. This guy still has a lot of upside! I mean a lot!
Give him a couple more years of conditioning and maturity and I guarantee he will be one of the best decision makers with the ball.
Thaihawk
28 Jun 2008, 11:48
I was there and Ellis was fine with his decision making.
The Weagles had blokes dropping back left right and centre hence we couldnt kick long. We lacked that extra hard runner breaking from wing to half forward.
To me he seems to hesitate in the same fashion as Youngie and Clark. However, as I only see the games on television I cannot see what's ahead. Maybe the players sren't presenting.
I thought he played well.You can't kick the ball long if there is two extra defenders in our forward line.You can see all that at the ground.Probably not on the couch
tinnman
28 Jun 2008, 12:11
Ellis is a dime a dozen player someone with decent skills and can run a bit not a true ball getter like Sewell or Mitchell. Tuck and Whitecross could do the same job just as well.
lethalselbow
28 Jun 2008, 12:14
I thought he played well.You can't kick the ball long if there is two extra defenders in our forward line.You can see all that at the ground.Probably not on the couch
Spot on. :thumbsu:
The game looks different on the television. I thought he was pretty good and have zero doubts he'll be a great player for many seasons to come.
He's pretty damn good at this stage of his career so it's a pretty good base to build upon. :thumbsu:
FatBoy's Wombats
28 Jun 2008, 12:24
TBH, I thought his decision making and composure was his great strength.
Lets not jump the gun too early.
Yep agree 100%. By waiting till the last minute he often draws and therefore releases a player! Short sighted comment in my opinion. His confidence is definately growing patience is a virtue...
Ulittledipper
28 Jun 2008, 12:38
What game was i watching last night.. I thought he was in our best.
He played a very solid game -hardly put a foot wrong!!
FriarTuck
28 Jun 2008, 12:47
Nearly the best decision maker in the team. Drawing an opponent and waiting for someone getting into position is not hesitating it is class.
Worsfold put Selwood on Ellis at the start of the game. That is how well regarded Xl is by opposition.
FFS watch the game before making stupid comments.
lethalselbow
28 Jun 2008, 12:56
There's an Ellis thread after every match. He's on the same list as Young, Murphy, Boyle, etc.
For some reason people just like to get stuck in. :thumbsd:
Hawkas_01
28 Jun 2008, 13:17
Nearly the best decision maker in the team. Drawing an opponent and waiting for someone getting into position is not hesitating it is class.
Worsfold put Selwood on Ellis at the start of the game. That is how well regarded Xl is by opposition.
FFS watch the game before making stupid comments.
:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Get off the couch and and go to the game instead of starting these gay arse threads and spruiking sh1t when you clearly know ____k all.
Barlow#33
28 Jun 2008, 13:26
Thought Ellis was ok, its great watching a kid think and try for the best option rather than picking the easiest option. He does have the skills to execute but atm gets caught sometimes . Hodge does it to perfection, stops... suveys his options and drills it to a target. Am hoping we will have two generals doing this in good time.
Old Bullman
28 Jun 2008, 13:30
Touch more experince with a dash more confidence and he will be flying. Does wait and look backwards when he gets it, a confidnce issue. Only 25 games played, another 20 and he will become an A-B Grader for us.
Jacobs08
28 Jun 2008, 13:38
Ellis is a GUN!!
flukeyluke
28 Jun 2008, 14:09
I thought he was OK. His kicking worries me because he always seems to kick the ball higher than is needed. You dont see him drilling his passes.
MisterBean
28 Jun 2008, 16:04
Ellis likes to draw a player before handballing. There's nothing wrong with that. In fact, it is a great mindset for a player to have. He occassionally will give off a hospitall handpass, but most of the time he spots a teammate in the clear.
He does tend to handball a lot, but then, he is very good at handballing. Look a the players he has around him: Birchall, Guerra, Ladson, Gilham and the entire Hawk Midfield, all of whom can kick the ball with distance and accuracy. It may just be that he is under instruction to handball to setup teammates who are better kicks than him.
Roughie
28 Jun 2008, 16:12
This thread will come back to haunt many posters
Hawkas_01
28 Jun 2008, 17:15
This thread will come back to haunt many posters
Yep
And I'll be the first to bump it.
So over these bagging threads by d___s who know SFA
hawkstars
28 Jun 2008, 17:24
Dont know what people are on but he was fantastic last night.
Yep
Well said.
Where are those old threads:
1. Sewell worries me
2. Croad worries me
3. Campbell Brown worries me
4. Roughhead worries me
Etc, etc, etc ...
skipjack
28 Jun 2008, 20:30
Yep
Well said.
Where are those old threads:
1. Sewell worries me
2. Croad worries me
3. Campbell Brown worries me
4. Roughhead worries me
Etc, etc, etc ...
Now while your passion is obvious and you obviously feel that a positive attitude is important, surely it's ok to discuss players?
Or should this just be a love-in where we all glow about how good everyone is?
Yes, it is important to back in our own players. Yes it feels great to get behind a player, and then see them come through with the goods.
But it's every fan's right to discuss their own players, and perhaps see fault in some of them. They aren't all perfect.
And in this particular case, if you feel so strongly, back up Ellis. Tell everyone what is so great about him. But don't just argue on the principle that none of our players should ever be questioned. It's unrealistic.
ScottMaginness
28 Jun 2008, 22:02
Ellis tends to hold onto the ball until he can give it off to advantage. Has played like that from day one. Looks frustrating at times but I'm sure if the coach was instructing him to just stick it on his boot and bomb it 50 metres every time he gets it he would as he's quite capable.
Doesn't turn over the ball that often and the times he gets caught he's usually in heavy traffic anyway.
Think his best position is on a wing.
Lower out expectations RE: Ellis
Watching Xavier Ellis at the moment reminds me of a young Rick Ladson. And whilst Ladson is a good consistent player, our expectations of Xavier Ellis in the future may be higher, but I have my doubts. Ladson took three-four years to cement a spot after being selected as a first round draft pick. I don’t see Xavier Ellis exceeding those heights unfortunately.
croady_fan24
28 Jun 2008, 22:12
I like Ellis but he needs to step up.
Struggles and gets confused when he has the footy in his hands.
Noneedforaname
28 Jun 2008, 23:21
I know Im overtepping the mark, but reckon he will develop into a Hird like presence for us in future years. Both slight builds, natural footy brains, poise and though he doesnt use it often enough, great skill. Leadership qualities as well?
Re. the WC game. I also dug seeing him give that Cur a push and shove him so as to get the ball and take a free kick. Nice to know he has a little agro and aint as timid as we may suspect.
I enjoy watching him play and develop. Look forward to 200+ games more from him.
play2win
29 Jun 2008, 01:25
which is worse?
a player bringing the ball out of the backline, seeing no option and disposing of the ball to no-one in particular
OR
a player bringing the ball out of the backline, seeing no option so retains possession but gets caught and gives away a free
when a team is in possession coming out of the backline, most team mates run to create space or provide an option to the ball carrier, this is when a turnover is most dangerous and most commonly results in an opposition goal.
lethalselbow
29 Jun 2008, 10:09
which is worse?
a player bringing the ball out of the backline, seeing no option and disposing of the ball to no-one in particular
OR
a player bringing the ball out of the backline, seeing no option so retains possession but gets caught and gives away a free
when a team is in possession coming out of the backline, most team mates run to create space or provide an option to the ball carrier, this is when a turnover is most dangerous and most commonly results in an opposition goal.
The second is the worse option, but are you saying that Elllis was consistently guilty of one or the other?
The players are instructed to hold on to it so they can delay the turnover and let the defence set up. You see Hodge do it all the time, hold on to it and give away a free rather than dispose of it to the opposition and let them rebound quickly.
noosa hawk mad
29 Jun 2008, 11:03
Yes. He seems to be slow in decision making in the fast tempo of a game and gets caught or slips handballs to players under the hammer. I believe he has the ability to upgrade his performances though. Time will tell.
Needs to bulk up in the right proportions during the summer months.
Agree Gary needs to hit the weights over the preseason he actually put on about 7 kgs last preseason but needs to bulk up more some people find bulking up easier than others! With his decision making think he holds on to the ball longer than he should looking for the right option still think he has alot of poise though just his decision making letting him down witch i hope gets better!
lethalselbow
29 Jun 2008, 11:11
The players are instructed to hold on to it so they can delay the turnover and let the defence set up. You see Hodge do it all the time, hold on to it and give away a free rather than dispose of it to the opposition and let them rebound quickly.
Really? Didn't know that. I would have thought a long kick to space, but when i think about it I don't see that happen often.
walhawk
29 Jun 2008, 21:58
So it seems most of us are over the moon with how Ellis is tracking.
He should be further advanced if you ask me. Clarkson is trying to accelerate his development by playing him around the ball when IMO he is not quite ready.
He was a junior gun and will probably play 200 games, but surely a supporter can express disappointment with a player's progress.
Roughie
29 Jun 2008, 23:26
So it seems most of us are over the moon with how Ellis is tracking.
He should be further advanced if you ask me. Clarkson is trying to accelerate his development by playing him around the ball when IMO he is not quite ready.
He was a junior gun and will probably play 200 games, but surely a supporter can express disappointment with a player's progress.
He has played the majority of his football in defence to build the defensive aspect of his game. By next year, he will be better then Thomas and Pendlebury, and better yet he will be able to beat his opponent, something that both the prior mentioned players dont do.
Hawkzzz
30 Jun 2008, 02:00
FFS look how many years we give guys like Ossie and Ladson to make it and we're already casting a verdict on a class kid in Ellis. I am amazed at some of these comments. It's the elite level and it takes time to get pre seasons under your belt and muscle definition into your arms and legs.
If you have followed AFL for a couple of months these outbursts can be forgiven. If not, then you have negative zero idea about developing a kid with talent into a man playing good footy at the highest level.:thumbsd:
Tasmaniac
30 Jun 2008, 11:24
Some poster's have no idea.
I look forward to this thread being bumped in a few years time.
X Ellis is one of THE smartest player's at Hawthorn, skills are fine. His biggest problem is in an era where athleticism counts for a lot he is very non-explosive, non-muscular body type (in my un-educated opinion). Sadly this lack of muscle/power will be the limiting factor in how good a player he becomes for the HFC.
Still, I epxect 200+ games should entitle him to some respect.
hawkheart
30 Jun 2008, 11:42
You can see all that at the ground.Probably not on the couch
Yep. Lots of ponticating on all sorts of topics from fans who aren't at the ground. Very different story on TV.
I seriously must watch a different game....
To me he seems very composed and is one of the better decision makers in the whole team. I can't be stuffed digging the stats up but I'd be willing to say that he'd be in our top ten for % of effective disposals and very low on the clanger rate...
I'm baffled with the seemingly constant unfair scrutiny this KID gets from posters on this board...If I wasn't so polite I'd probably suggest that those people that think he's battling or should be dropped have absolutely no idea about the game of football and that their opinions on all football related matters should be taken with a grain of salt....... But fortunately I'm too polite to suggest that and I'll simply continue on putting up with the constant unfair criticism that Xavier receives...
Some of you guys really are a*sclowns. Ellis has serious class, and creates for team mates with poise, and knowing what to do with it in traffic or by himself.
Yeah he gets caught with the ball at times, but 9 times out of 10 that's due to a team mate not calling for him to get rid of it...being more aware will come with experience.
Very, very good pickup.
hodgey_15
30 Jun 2008, 14:01
Delighted with the improvement of X - but expectations are far too high.
Tough job down back for a skinny kid but I think he has had a great season to date.
Give him time, have patience.
Hawk Forever
30 Jun 2008, 14:13
Ellis is filling a void that will be filled sometime in the future.Clarkson can persist as much as he wants.Some supporters are disillusioned about certain players.Every time i hear about a player who have defiencies ,lack strength,refuse to put there head down,refuse to tackle and so on.......i read in this forum that these players are in the team to play this role...a role as a loose link man.It seems that we have over half a team that play this role according to forum writers.If i was an opposition player in the finals i would target ellis ,guerra,young,birchall and clarke first.
Hedgehodgy
30 Jun 2008, 14:50
Ellis worries me as well.
Sorry but patience for Young and Ellis is wearing thin at the moment. Too many bad decisions and getting caught holding the ball or having to dispose of it under too much pressure which effects the disposal.
I was at the game and i have reserved seats so all Hawthorn faithful around me, they all seemed to have the same opinion.
Simon_Nesbit
30 Jun 2008, 15:28
Ellis doesn't yet have the body, but no-one can question his toughness - keep in mind most of this season he has been playing in one of Mitchell/Hodge/Sewell/Lewis' roles. They would all have 3+ years pre-seasons and ~10kg on him - yet his output is close to matching theirs.
When 'forced', he is actually suprisingly agile, but at the moment he prefers to draw men in and release other players - his kicking, whilst accurate and well measured is prone to longer than average hang-time.
His ability to "time" his kicks is extraordinary - probably the best in our team, but his kicking for distance whilst good (50+m) tends to 'float' allowing defenders to zone to the contest...you will note when he gets the ball forward of centre he is much more prone to kicking to space for forward to lead into, whereas in defence he releases others to run.
edar 07
30 Jun 2008, 19:26
i disagree. i think he waits to be tackled to draw the defender. he actually has alot of poise and makes very good decisions for such a young player. young is the worst decision maker in the team. he has been shocking. soft and stupid.
Huddo2Buddy
8 Jul 2008, 12:33
Jury still out.
Xavier Ellis knows how to get the ball and reads the play extremely well; however, he needs to bulk up. Yes, I would like to see him kick more because when he does it generally is very accurate. He has recently had a run at the centre bounces and will only benefit from this. This is only his second season playing in the firsts.
I dont know why people complain about Ellis waiting to be nearly tackled before off loading the hands? He is executing the game plan precisely? We rely on rebound off the back line with using an over lap to try out number the oppositions midfield on the run. Instead of him just waiting for a defender to turn to put pressure and letting off the hand ball he waits untill there is no doubt that he has his teamate with enough space from the defender between them before executing a handball. Its team orrientated, it shows his not scared, and he gives his team mate more space. He pretty much makes his defender commit to the tackle rather then letting him stop and block inbetween two hawks to put pressure on once the handball goes over top.
Hodgepodge
8 Jul 2008, 13:01
I was watching him last night in the Rd3 game and i was thinking he'd be better off in the forward line.
Unlike precious Dale Thomas, Ellis is in the backline to teach him the defensive aspects of the game as he develops into a midfielder. I know I would rather him in the back half then up forward.
ellis is a gun.
poise, decision making, skill.
he directs play when he has the ball and hes barely 20.
a great find, gilham could learn a few things of the X man, steven has shit for brains when it comes to making decisions.
Trickstar
9 Jul 2008, 20:42
Gee alot of people on here love to bag our own players - FFS why?? Other team supporters do enough of it we don't need to. Ellis, Young, Gilham and co are all excellent young players with heaps of potential and skill we need to support them and not bag the shit out them everythime they make a mistake or get tackled! Gee what do you expect - us to hold another team to no goals - hang on if Sydney score a goal this week then the defence will not play the following week - how can they be that useless to let a goal in a game of football be scored against us - hang on we should be that good we shouldn't need a defence! Wake up to yourselves FFS!
^^ Well said Trickstar. I agree with you. There are too many here expecting 20 yr old kids to play like 25 year olds. They forget that they have NOT had many games in the reserves but have been thrown into the deep end and are playing at the ELITE LEVEL. How people can argue Ellis worries them is beyond me. We've seen Osborne improve and he has been in the system for years. Yet Ellis already is a worry.
Talk about seeing the glass as half empty.:rolleyes: How about looking at how bright his future is. How much better off he'll be with more pre seasons and bulk into him......Oh and don't worry that he hasn't notched up 50 games yet...
I know Im overtepping the mark, but reckon he will develop into a Hird like presence for us in future years. Both slight builds, natural footy brains, poise and though he doesnt use it often enough, great skill. Leadership qualities as well?
Totally agree and have said this before.
What we have with Xavier is an intelligent and mature mind in a presently immature body. The former is what he is picked for, the latter will be overcome in time.
Will be surprised if he doesn't captain the Hawks at some stage of his career.
Hodge2Franklin
10 Jul 2008, 00:23
Some guys develop in a linear sort of fashion as they develop mentally in their confidence and how they define their role ... Ellis is one of them ...
Others it is all about their ability and not mental and they tend to show you it all pretty quick ...
Then there is the Buddy types who have it all and are superstars ...
Ellis is already a good player, but has the potential to be a champion ... Whether or not he becomes a champion is all upstairs and so far he is progressing exactly how his type normally do ... Because he is a smart footballer he under-rates his ability and is selfless to the team ... If he developes the confidence, mongrel and passion for success he could be a star ... I reckon he will be ...
Roughie
10 Jul 2008, 00:41
I agree with everything you said bar the mongrel part. Having 'mongrel' in you is the least relevant thing in football today. There are plenty of superstars who have no mongrel and are dominant, and the favourite for the brownlow is one of them.
X will be a gun, bet your bottom dollar. He is learning the defensive aspect of football before moving to the midfield, unlike a couple collingwood counterparts who shirk contests and do a few mecurial things to get recognition.
Hodge2Franklin
10 Jul 2008, 00:56
I agree with everything you said bar the mongrel part. Having 'mongrel' in you is the least relevant thing in football today. There are plenty of superstars who have no mongrel and are dominant, and the favourite for the brownlow is one of them.
X will be a gun, bet your bottom dollar. He is learning the defensive aspect of football before moving to the midfield, unlike a couple collingwood counterparts who shirk contests and do a few mecurial things to get recognition.
I agree mate ... As for the mongrel stuff, I think a better way to describe what I meant is fierce competitiveness. Players like Buddy just have so much cometitiveness to win it equates to a type of leadership that drags teams up from the Abyss to premierships ... Hirdy is one of my all time favourite non Hawthorn players because of this reason. I remember in school footy some of my friends knew a fair few Bombers players and I heard that when Hird was injured and or the team was struggling he would get so down he would hide away and barely talk to people. He just played to win ...
The great captains are all like this. Not about trying, just winning and they drag the team to flags by the ears ...
Hodge2Franklin
14 Jul 2008, 16:27
:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: - X-man :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
There were a couple of times on Sunday when X had a choice whether to go in hard or not go in. He took the hard option.
Don't worry about X. He goes alright.
Satchmo
14 Jul 2008, 19:11
You people need to get to a game and watch it !!!
Watch the replay and watch our Hodgey run to Xav on many occasions patting he's head and giving him a real rap when he's last on the deck.
Stop focusing on silly details.
Xav has come on in leaps and bounds for a young skinny kid still finding he's feet.
I love watching him take big steps.... you are watching the hawthorn spirit grow. He will play 200 for the hawks.
He is holding he's spot and contributing, a very mature young man.
Another pre-season under he's belt, and he will be a solid player next year.
hodgeysleftfoot
14 Jul 2008, 19:38
I was at the game and agree
Our most courageous
The guy is mental the way he goes in
Nothing to worry about here
This guy is good
Fanatical Hawk
14 Jul 2008, 21:45
I also went to the game and thought Ellis was more than serviceable. I have no idea why people are raising this issue. Ellis is progressing nicely.
His fitness has improved from last year and he is running harder and longer. Thought he did well to win a few hardball gets at the stopages. Puts his body on the line. Nothing wrong with his disposal. He appears to be getting more confident and taking on the opposition players.
I think a few people are forgetting that players like Hodge and Mitchell took 3-4 years before they became genuine 'guns'. I have no doubt that Ellis will become an 'A' grade midfielder.
I was right about Dew. I am confident that my prediction about Ellis will eventuate.
P.S. While I am at it I am going to predict that Dowler and Thorp will also make the grade. Have seen a few negative comments about these two which I dont agree with.
How about now ?
Still worried ?
Roughie
26 Jul 2008, 02:01
http://super-genius.org/images/worst_thread_ever.jpg
fugumatto
26 Jul 2008, 02:15
Gun.
boozeDragon
26 Jul 2008, 04:11
Gimme some humble pie, I'll eat two servings :o
I'd be interested to know if any of the people here questioning Ellis were at the game.
Great point I thought he was great tonight. 100 DT points and only 1 free against, so notsuree why people are saying he waits and then gets caught because that would be be holding the ball.
Our young blokes would have gained alot from that gane tonight.
The Messenger
26 Jul 2008, 09:23
Ellis was fantastic last night, he is as tough as nails and goes in as hard as any player in the comp. Has a cool head when he has the football and will not be rushed into choosing a bad option. Take him over Daisy Thomas and Pendlebury any day of the week, more ticker than both those boys combined.
Beckers
26 Jul 2008, 10:09
Just out of curiosity when he was recruited what were his strengths? He seems very vanilla to me.
Also you need a Michael Osbourne thread, he was awesome and I love watching him play. The Chapman of your team.
:thumbsu: Ozzie is the quiet achiever. Does all the hard stuff and is sometimes prone to brain fades. Has always had a hardcore of support from some fans while others despised him prior to this year. I think they have also been won over. Got to love the way Ozzie wears his heart on his sleeve!
Is that egg on your face?
lethalselbow
26 Jul 2008, 13:53
Jury still out.
He handballs way to often! Even when there is no one around him he will find a way to handball. It is really getting to me. It is really starting to be a worry
to be honest he imo is not good enough, bit harsh i know and he is still young, but his awareness and decision making are terrible and because he is one paced, hasn't got much goin for him, needs to show something the next few weeks to warrant a spot for finals.
Ellis is a dime a dozen player someone with decent skills and can run a bit not a true ball getter like Sewell or Mitchell. Tuck and Whitecross could do the same job just as well.
Apologies? Any time you're ready... :D