View Full Version : International Hawk Broadcasts

BuddyTwoThree
28 Jun 2008, 12:41
Hi All,

I've seen every game live this year but am starting a new contract in Abu Dhabi soon. Would love to watch/listen to live broadcasts when I'm over there, but I'm tipping that that's not going to happen!

Just looking for guidance from international members on this board about how they stay in touch with Hawks games (eg video, radio, web pages, torrents, sopcast, etc) and whether it's live or a delayed feed.

I used to get 5 games a week (but not too many Hawks games though unfortunately) on the Australia Network when on my Asian projects, but Abu Dhabi probably won't have that.

Thanks!

boozeDragon
28 Jun 2008, 14:38
Hi All,

I've seen every game live this year but am starting a new contract in Abu Dhabi soon. Would love to watch/listen to live broadcasts when I'm over there, but I'm tipping that that's not going to happen!

Just looking for guidance from international members on this board about how they stay in touch with Hawks games (eg video, radio, web pages, torrents, sopcast, etc) and whether it's live or a delayed feed.

I used to get 5 games a week (but not too many Hawks games though unfortunately) on the Australia Network when on my Asian projects, but Abu Dhabi probably won't have that.

Thanks!

Mate i'm relying on Australia network... when the game isn't live on that then I listen to the games online via internet radio (MMM or SEN). Then I try and download the high lights after game.

Someone once told me there is a site somewhere online where you can watch Channel 7 live on the internet although I haven't found this website and it sounds dodgy.

I did, however, watch a lot of Euro 2008 games on www.justin.tv which is a whole lot of live internet tv channels.

Hawk Dork
28 Jun 2008, 15:28
this has a few stations but not 7

http://wwitv.com/portal.htm

The Big pond football channell may get you the occasional Hawks
Its currently showing Carlton Essendon from Last week

PS if you find the Channel 7 on the net let me Know
So I dont have to stay up till 2.30 on Friday nights

zenmasterfu
28 Jun 2008, 20:02
I listen to the game live via the radio thru gameday live, and download the game some time in the week following.

TV captures of the game are nearly always provided by the nice people at acrossthetasman.com (a forum site) and the torrents usually posted at fr333dom.com, althought also possibly at mininova.com or demonoid.com

amos
28 Jun 2008, 21:29
The Australia Network (http://australianetwork.com/sportslounge/afl.htm) broadcasts generally four or five games a weekend internationally. There is a delay but the Saturday and Sunday arvo games are usually only a quarter behind. Here's the Indian TV info from their site for the next few weeks;

India
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 14: Richmond v Carlton Saturday 28 Jun at 10:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 14: Western Bulldogs v Port Adelaide Saturday 28 Jun at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 14: Melbourne v Brisbane Lions Sunday 29 Jun at 09:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 14: Adelaide v Geelong Friday 4 Jul at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 14: Sydney v Collingwood Saturday 5 Jul at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 15: Carlton v St. Kilda Friday 11 Jul at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 15: Geelong v Fremantle Saturday 12 Jul at 10:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 15: Port Adelaide v Kangaroos Saturday 12 Jul at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 15: Hawthorn v Sydney Sunday 13 Jul at 09:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 16: Kangaroos v Collingwood Friday 18 Jul at 18:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 16: Richmond v Essendon Saturday 19 Jul at 10:00
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 16: Brisbane Lions v West Coast Eagles Saturday 19 Jul at 19:30
AFL Premiership Season Rnd 16: Carlton v Sydney Sunday 20 Jul at 09:00

Furthermore, all games, including the three that weren't aired on the Australia Network as well as the Sunday and Thursday Night Footy Shows, On the Couch, Before the Game and Game Day, can be found elswhere (I won't link here but feel free to pm). Finally there's the option of live streaming over the net from the AFL site with triplem, SEN, abc, et tal (although it's only audio). I usually do that if the Hawks aren't on the Australia Network and can wait the torrent to come up.

Hawk Dork
28 Jun 2008, 22:29
What dish would you need to get that from central QLd?

amos
28 Jun 2008, 22:43
What dish would you need to get that from central QLd?Dream TV (http://www.dream.com.ph/index.as/) had it but I think they were taken over by someone last year. Before I was able to get the Australia Network through digital tv, I had a 1.8m dish to receive the Australian Network here in Taiwan. That said, surely a digital pay tv package through austar or foxtel or whoever would be better than the 4 or 5 games we get though, Hawk Dork. Remember, ours aren't live (only finals are).

@ BuddyTwoThree, I don't have a dish, well I do, but that's to get the cricket, not footy. These channels are offered on digital tv so if you're resideing outside Australia, you need to look only further than your tv stations or at worst, cable stations.

Hawk Dork
29 Jun 2008, 17:21
I would rather give $600 once to a satelite dish and decoder man ,than every year to the Vampires at Foxtel

doodlefeatures
29 Jun 2008, 23:08
This might help:
http://www.afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/2008_AFL_Broadcasting_Docs/International_Broadcasters_08.pdf

BuddyTwoThree
1 Jul 2008, 22:27
Thanks all !!!

Great options..... I really appreciate your help

PS. Can't wait for my brief trip home for Grand Final week to see the big game in Melbourne!! :D