View Full Version : What makes Roughead special.
MisterBean
28 Jun 2008, 17:19
During last night's game against the Eagles, there was a passage of play which highlighted what Jarryd Roughead is all about.
The replay shows two angles. The commentators are talking about turnovers in defensive 50 being eliminated. Just ignore them.
n7fv6McASBg
I think Luke Hodge was stunned for a moment by the great bit of work that Jarryd did. It's the kind of thing that Hodge himself does in order to setup teammates.
It does wonders for team morale, when you have a forward with such team awareness.
Roughead could have a day where he does nothing but kick 3 behinds, and still have a great impact on the game, due to the team contribution that he makes.
He does almost all the ruckwork when the ball is in the forward line. This greatly limits the amount of ground our ruckmen have to cover during a game. It also means our forward line doesn't get congested with too many tall players during stoppages inside 50. Once the ruck contest is over, he then also doubles as a forward target. In essence, two players for the price of 1.
He is also a great tackler who rarely gives away free kicks.
He also does great star jumps when on the mark. I'm not sure how this makes him a good player, but it certainly shows he is good at not only the 1 percenters, but also the .01 percenters.
croady_fan24
28 Jun 2008, 17:30
Big Rough! :D
ViperV10
28 Jun 2008, 18:06
Awesome bit of work from Roughy there. And he followed it up a minute or two later with a handpass to Hodgey for another goal. Loved his effort last night, just needs to kick straighter.
flyby hawk
28 Jun 2008, 18:58
Thanks Mr Bean and I agree with your comments.:thumbsu:
MustonMagic17
28 Jun 2008, 19:39
Star
When i was watching that I thought he was going to get done for a throw lol
He is a star.
How stupid r the commentators? eliminate turnovers, how insightful. Lift your game 7.
MisterBean
28 Jun 2008, 21:40
How stupid r the commentators? eliminate turnovers, how insightful. Lift your game 7.
In fairness to the commentators, they were talking during the replay about the cause of the goal, which happened to be an awful turnover. Fancy kicking the ball 30 metres out from goal, directly in front, with Roughead, Franklin and Hodge in the general vicinity.
No wonder we played so bad, and still won by nearly 10 goals. :rolleyes:
Buddy Vision
28 Jun 2008, 22:46
Surely his rough head makes him special?
Croad did the same thing against the Pies to rush a behind and got pinged for a throw.
Lynch, I think it is, signals a throw to the ump from on the ground.
I thought it was marginal on first viewing and think it's pretty crook in slow-mo.
Great awareness, team play, etc etc. Probably a 'scoop' aka 'illegal disposal' aka 'a throw'.
tinnman
29 Jun 2008, 12:48
i reckon he has done a tap to a team mate on at least 4 occasions for a goal must be very aware of whats going on around him. very constant perfomer each week buddy and roughy compliment each other so well with there different styles of play
He's special coz he's a ranga.
Brishawk
29 Jun 2008, 13:15
More a horizontal volleyball spike than a throw :)
Nah, he hooks it around the corner. It's a 'throw' and I'd be filthy if someone else did it to decide a game against us. Fortunately it wasn't a critical decision.
Tinnman is right about his taps to advantage from congestion though. He's done some t'riffic one percenter goal assists. Good (albeit a bit rough) head on his shoulders.
Mitchell Madness
29 Jun 2008, 14:56
watch it again, those who say franklini is selfish, he kept two players out of that contest with a good shephard
I don't think Franklin is selfish at all, but that shepherd touched no-one mate!
Cheeseman
29 Jun 2008, 15:58
I don't think Franklin is selfish at all, but that shepherd touched no-one mate!
Of course it didn't, they were repelled by his aura. ;):D
Mitchell Madness
29 Jun 2008, 16:08
was still 2 players kept out of the contest:thumbsu:
Roughie
29 Jun 2008, 17:23
was still 2 players kept out of the contest:thumbsu:
:rolleyes: His one percenters dont even come close to comparing with Roughs. This is why there are such a great duo, two polar opposite personalities and playing styles. Imagine if Rough had an attitude? I would think he wouldnt like being a 2nd fiddle.
I suspect the 1st fiddle 2nd fiddle thing is more for the media. (That's why the hawks won't let the vultures near Buddy, they'll get gassed.)
Roughie would be getting his propers within the club for the work he does, I'm sure
MisterBean
1 Jul 2008, 15:03
watch it again, those who say franklini is selfish, he kept two players out of that contest with a good shephard
I watched it again, and what I see is Franklin going for the mark, and then moving away from an opposition player when he had the opportunity to shepherd. And the way it looks, it seems his intention is stay outside the contest in order to receive an easy handball. Possibly not the best example to show that Franklin is not selfish.
On the point of wether Franklin is selfish or not, I'm not sure if he is, but the difference between Roughead and Franklin is, once you get it into Franklin, that's the end of the line. If you get it to Roughead, he brings his teammates into the game.
This is not a criticism of Franklin, but imagine this same situation with Franklin and Roughead's roles reversed. It's hard to imagine Roughead avoiding laying the shepherd and hanging out for a handball, while Franklin rushes in the with the sole purpose of tapping it out to Luke Hodge.