View Full Version : Brett Peake

Lach72
29 Jun 2008, 20:30
Quite possibly the worst footballer to pull on a Freo jumper.

Absolutely ____ing disgraceful

Bradesmaen
29 Jun 2008, 20:32
S-tupid
P-oor
U-nco
D-ebauchery

Latro
29 Jun 2008, 20:41
I think you are selling Thornton Short Lach. The only good thing he has ever done was get Connolly sacked.

Lach72
29 Jun 2008, 20:46
I think you are selling Thornton Short Lach. The only good thing he has ever done was get Connolly sacked.

I think not.

I have run out of adjectives to describe Peake's game...

No, I haven't: puss

sabre_ac
29 Jun 2008, 20:52
People get a bit excited when Peake runs with the ball and then seem to forget the fact he is the first to go missing, has problems hitting targets and actually doesn't use his pace that much.

Schammer has been the whipping boy all year, yet today showed what many were saying. The guys busts his gut week in week out, has a knack for finding the ball and eventually things will fall into place.

Peake on the other hand has dazzled a handful of times and done little the rest. The only good thing he did was stop wearing those ridiculous boots. That said due to injuries and the state of our midfield he has a place in the team.

PalaceGun
29 Jun 2008, 20:55
Schammer has been the whipping boy all year, yet today showed what many were saying. The guys busts his gut week in week out, has a knack for finding the ball and eventually things will fall into place.

Extremely bad turnover at a vital stage in the 4th quarter. Granted he's been better over the past few weeks.

summerthebat
29 Jun 2008, 20:57
I mean they both let us down time and time again, but hey Schammer is 150135 the player Peake is.

Bradesmaen
29 Jun 2008, 21:00
Schammer has been our best midfielder over the last say 4 weeks. Hitting atleast 75% of targets. That turnover today was as much his fault as it was Thorntons for not coming to meet the ball.

Lach72
29 Jun 2008, 21:02
Schammer has been our best midfielder over the last say 4 weeks. Hitting atleast 75% of targets. That turnover today was as much his fault as it was Thorntons for not coming to meet the ball.

For once I agree with you

markfarmer
29 Jun 2008, 21:33
He can not handball... 2 weeks of intensive handball practice...4 turnovers from weak handballs, behind players, etc. Times 10 on handball practice this week and next.....Its a simple solution to a simple problem

OR ,,keep him out of handball situations....????????????????????????????????????????//

Lach72
29 Jun 2008, 21:34
He can not handball... 2 weeks of intensive handball practice...4 turnovers from weak handballs, behind players, etc. Times 10 on handball practice this week and next.....Its a simple solution to a simple problem

OR ,,keep him out of handball situations....????????????????????????????????????????//

Yes...at East Fremantle

refresh
29 Jun 2008, 21:37
surely he can't play next game

Ripper
29 Jun 2008, 21:37
Didn't think He or Thornton were were that bad.

But scapegoat away.

chook2734
29 Jun 2008, 21:38

Surely you wouldn't prefer that he kick it? Some of those kicks wouldn't get a pass with the auskick kids at half time. I think he's played about 50 games too many.

Lach72
29 Jun 2008, 21:49

But scapegoat away.

Right...:rolleyes:

The J Dog
29 Jun 2008, 22:25
Quite possibly the worst footballer to pull on a Freo jumper.

Absolutely ____ing disgraceful

As somebody who had money riding on the Dockers, I can tell you I was getting extremely frustrated watching him today.

The others who made me angry at times were Mayne, who reminds me of McManus in more ways than one, and Schammer until his gutsy collision with McPhee.

That said, I thought Sandliands' game was UNBELIEVABLE! He was a hero today. Should get 4 Brownlow votes.

Chops_a_must
29 Jun 2008, 22:30
That said, I thought Sandliands' game was UNBELIEVABLE! He was a hero today. Should get 4 Brownlow votes.
Really? He looked as if he was drunk. Soundly beaten by Hille.

And Peake... what was it today? 5 touches for 8 clangers? :rolleyes:

Ripper
29 Jun 2008, 22:33

Crikey , sounds like you are trolling chops.

dugrene
29 Jun 2008, 22:35
As somebody who had money riding on the Dockers, I can tell you I was getting extremely frustrated watching him today.

The others who made me angry at times were Mayne, who reminds me of McManus in more ways than one, and Schammer until his gutsy collision with McPhee.

Dunno what it looked like on TV but Mayne does a lot of chasing and backing up. If he gets his skills up a notch he is going to be one hell of a player.
A bigger version of Mcmanus wont be such a bad thing. people will start hearing footsteps when he is around.

Chops_a_must
29 Jun 2008, 22:42
Crikey , sounds like you are trolling chops.
Sick of the usual suspects letting us down.

NiGHTFuRY
29 Jun 2008, 22:47
Peake wasn't that bad today. Find another whipping boy this week angry mob....

longsuffreosupp
29 Jun 2008, 22:58
That said, I thought Sandliands' game was UNBELIEVABLE!

unbelievable that he missed 2 relatively easy shots on goal?

juszko
29 Jun 2008, 23:06
Bit harsh mate haha, can think of worse players than him 2 pull on a Freo jumper..

But yes, we can't keep carrying him 4 too much longer. Trade bait! (If anyone wants him??)

chook2734
29 Jun 2008, 23:09

You must have more money than you know what to do with. Try following them with your heart at stake, not just your cash and then you can talk about frustration.

rgauci
29 Jun 2008, 23:38

Clearly not at the ground. Mayne was BOG in some people's eyes. Schammer did so much work off the ball, at times running 100m just to get on the end of a 30m kick. Was great today.

Comparing McManus to Mayne is laughable. Mayne's possessions were quality damaging possessions. The only thing the same is the hair and the commitment to the contest.

Mayne caused so many Bomber turnovers, often beating 2 on 1s.

I'll agree that wasn't the best game from Peake.

Shadow Man
29 Jun 2008, 23:49

Your a peanut!

Glenno23
29 Jun 2008, 23:53
Peake wasn't that bad today. Find another whipping boy this week angry mob....

Peake was awful....

I watch a lot of Freo and WC games (being that i live here) and he is a spud of the highest order. And i'm not just judging on this game today.

He turns over the ball alot, crumbles under pressure, goes to ground and can't hold a tackle.

He cost you guys a goal (when you were 6 points down with 10 mins left) where he went to ground and Jetta didn't, who ran on and passed to Lucas.

Needs to be traded/ delisted as part of your clean up at years end. Good luck.

kp junior
29 Jun 2008, 23:58

I suspect you're on your own thinking that. Should have kicked 2 goals, but otherwise dominated.

Bluto
30 Jun 2008, 00:00

You have no idea about footy. Mayne was one of the best players on the ground today. Worked exceptionally hard on AND off the ball, was creative in his ball use and is hard as nails. Should get the Rising Star nomination this week.

Bluto
30 Jun 2008, 00:02

Keep flogging that horse. Smashed Hille off the park.

Shaymuhz
30 Jun 2008, 00:07

But scapegoat away.

normally i'm a fan of peake but today he was deplorable. afl players just should not make the simple handballing errors that he made.

thornton on the other hand wasn't noticeably bad but i don't think he contributed to the team enough to warrant a spot for next round.

dockertor
30 Jun 2008, 01:12
Apart from missing shots at goal (could have been match winners) Sandi was great. Peake is way better than Schammer.

SupersonicDocker
30 Jun 2008, 01:23
Yeah there is a lot more upside to Peake than Schammer... Schammer is good trade bait especially after cannoning into Mcphee like that. However Solly does it every week more than once!

Earlier in the year Schammer / Peake / Crowley were probably the most hammered players on the board and in the media.

In order of efforts since

Crowley 8/10
Peake 6.5/10 (would be higher for 3-4 games before today)
Schammer 4/10 (has only really contributed for 1 and a half games all year)

Unfortunately i think today was a day that we realise just how much we need Mcpharlin AND Michael Johnson. I get sick of the Johnson bashing on here. Multiple errors came with the movement of the ball off the Half back line... Simply because players who don't normally do it were forced to under a substantial amount of pressure.

But anyway we dont have a lot to complain about after today. It was a high pressure good game and we didn't lay down and cry like certain bird species. Look at it this way, with a fresh list next year, most of the guys who get burnt on here wont be getting a game anyway so no big deal.

HawkPatrol
30 Jun 2008, 01:25
Did Andrew Browne play?

DOCKER CLINT
30 Jun 2008, 01:51
I rate him early in his career.

Reassess. Absolute muppet.

DELIST NOW.

SupersonicDocker
30 Jun 2008, 01:52
Did Andrew Browne play?

Nope, emergency

Josh Head came in for Mcpharlin

HawkPatrol
30 Jun 2008, 02:02
Nope, emergency

Josh Head came in for Mcpharlin
Browne for Peake, pure and simple. Peake is a hack, Browne is a gun. If Browne is delisted, I would love to see him in the brown and gold.

Rob
30 Jun 2008, 02:09
Peake I thought was just as bad as Schammer......until the last 2 minutes when both had chances to put their bodies on the line. Schammer did. Peake chose not to and cost us possession.

Result should be next game, Schammer stays, Peake goes. It's time to build a decent ____ing culture.

DOCKER CLINT
30 Jun 2008, 02:13
Peake I thought was just as bad as Schammer......until the last 2 minutes when both had chances to put their bodies on the line. Schammer did. Peake chose not to and cost us possession.

Result should be next game, Schammer stays, Peake goes. It's time to build a decent ____ing culture.

Fokin' aye. I was impressed with the way Scham put his body on the line. Peake did not.. and that goddamn out of bounds on the full.. argh.

PapaJ
30 Jun 2008, 03:34
I'll have to go back and watch the game because there is no way I would have considered Peake's game anyway near Schammer's. Forgetting that courageous last quarter effort, Schammer made some less than great decisions and one monumental stuff up, but he did a lot right both defensively and as a genuine attacking mindfielder. Peake on the other hand was just horrible. He seemed to be overawed buy the occasion from go to wow

Browne for Peake, pure and simple. Peake is a hack, Browne is a gun. If Browne is delisted, I would love to see him in the brown and gold.

The only way Browne will be delisted is if he breaks down again this year (quite possible really), otherwise given the amount of delistings/retirements we've got coming up, he'll be a required player I reckon for at least a season or two. Back to topic, looks like injuries are hitting hard again, but all things being equal, Browne will get a run while Peak will trundle in the WAFL.

The J Dog
30 Jun 2008, 10:06
Clearly not at the ground. Mayne was BOG in some people's eyes. Schammer did so much work off the ball, at times running 100m just to get on the end of a 30m kick. Was great today.

Comparing McManus to Mayne is laughable. Mayne's possessions were quality damaging possessions. The only thing the same is the hair and the commitment to the contest.

Mayne caused so many Bomber turnovers, often beating 2 on 1s.

OK, I'm being unfair, but I'm referring to a couple of specific incidents.

1. The spray at goals in the last qtr from 30m out on the left when he could have passed it in to a teammate (was it Pav?) for a certainty.

2. Again in the last qtr on the back flank when he was the extra man in a contest with Lloyd, and then instead of drawing in Lloyd and maintaining posession, he put the up-and-under back down the wing from which the Bombers re-took it and got another shot on goal.

No doubt he did a lot of good things in the match, and like McManus has a lot of heart.

ImperialPurple
30 Jun 2008, 12:59
Peake matches Thornton in the poo stakes, and Mundy in the soft stakes.

(just so you know i think this is the first time I have come and and said mundy is soft but he was deplorable today - but I have stated many times that Thornton is poo, and almost as many times that peake is poo).

raffrox
30 Jun 2008, 13:05
Apart from missing shots at goal (could have been match winners) Sandi was great. Peake is way better than Schammer.
Utter junk.

Schammer was twice as good as Peake. Peake can not kick unless he is running straight and if he can't do that he looks to run backwards and handpass to someone usually under more pressure.

Schammer was pretty good yesterday.

kuepper
30 Jun 2008, 13:22
As a footballer, you have, when disposibing it, two major things required:

1. Decision making
2. Skills

Most have one of those down pat - which can make up for the other.

Peake chooses the wrong option, and then butchers it trying to get there.

Shitful, no more, no less ... rubbish footballer.

Cheshire Cat
30 Jun 2008, 13:33
Watching the game yesterday he was absolutely terrible, especially in the last quarter. Really like the look of some of Freo's youngsters though, Mayne, Ibbotson and Warnock. :thumbsu:

theGav56
30 Jun 2008, 13:43
Peake was awful....
Needs to be traded/ delisted as part of your clean up at years end. Good luck.

As soon as you include "traded" you are saying that he is an afl quality footballer. We will be getting rid of enough players at the end of the year, so no point getting rid of a player who at the least can add depth. Unless of course a decent trade is available.

Stronzo
30 Jun 2008, 14:43
I would take Schammer over peake anyday of the week, any week of the year.

I missed the game today, though the last couple of weeks Schammer has been good. Peake does one or two good things, but is far from a complete football player. Can't see him getting much better either.

poshman
30 Jun 2008, 16:19
Peake was weak, slow to do the right thing, doesn't get enough damdging disposals and doesn't do the hard stuff to make up for it. the incident with jetta was shocking, yet sadly not surprising.

Frigate
30 Jun 2008, 18:27
I was hoping Peake would come good coz he has that ability to provide a spark. He seemed to be getting better after a very ordinary start to the season.

Alas his performance was simply terrible. He missed hand ball target after handball target. I was wondering why he was not getting dragged only to find out that our bench was empty.

poshman
30 Jun 2008, 18:31
Peake matches Thornton in the poo stakes, and Mundy in the soft stakes.

(just so you know i think this is the first time I have come and and said mundy is soft but he was deplorable today - but I have stated many times that Thornton is poo, and almost as many times that peake is poo).

Beware the braedsman IP............. but I agree.

Dr Ralph Dagg
30 Jun 2008, 18:37
OK, I'm being unfair, but I'm referring to a couple of specific incidents.

1. The spray at goals in the last qtr from 30m out on the left when he could have passed it in to a teammate (was it Pav?) for a certainty.
I thought that was Ibbotson.

2. Again in the last qtr on the back flank when he was the extra man in a contest with Lloyd, and then instead of drawing in Lloyd and maintaining posession, he put the up-and-under back down the wing from which the Bombers re-took it and got another shot on goal.
I don't know if you were at the game but he worked his backside off to get all the way back there running past Ibbo who was standing there with his hands on his hips ball watching. That he miskicked in the final quarter when he was buggered. If he can run like that after one pre-season imagine him after another two.

No doubt he did a lot of good things in the match, and like McManus has a lot of heart.
He's got more composure than Macca and much better overhead.

Dr Ralph Dagg
30 Jun 2008, 18:47
I think many of the comments about players like Thornton, Peake and Schammer and who is better miss the point. We get regularly beaten by the worst teams in the AFL. That probably means we have large number of mentally soft/averaged skilled players. Neither Schammer or Peake can win their own ball and they are not qiick enough skillful enough to hurt an opposition with their ball use. Scahmmer's courage and heart is unquestionable but, as ruthless as it sounds, even the contest against McPhee he didn't win.

I thought the whole team generally played poorly against a team not travelling all that well. Exceptions were Pav, Sandi, Grover, Solomon, Dodd, Mayne and to a degree Warnock. I thought Josh Carr was serviceable and I like the way Mark Johnson plays. Palmer will be a star but faded under a heavy tag.

Everyone else made way too many mistakes, poor decision making or faded in and out of the game. Even Bell racked up the possies but made a heap of errors. I was surprised at his disposal efficiency and question the statisticians. Some of these guys are young and inexperienced but the rest have long run out of excuses.

ImperialPurple
30 Jun 2008, 19:03
I do believe there's something in that Dr Dagg.

MadMac
30 Jun 2008, 19:08
Peake had a shocker. Thornton wasn't as bad as we're all acustomed to but nonetheless, he was still bad. Schammer is curageous and I never questioned his endavour, but is that enough?

Andrew Browne was one of Claremonts best again and I'm hoping he'll get a game against Geelong.

SupersonicDocker
3 Jul 2008, 01:22
I think many of the comments about players like Thornton, Peake and Schammer and who is better miss the point. We get regularly beaten by the worst teams in the AFL. That probably means we have large number of mentally soft/averaged skilled players. Neither Schammer or Peake can win their own ball and they are not qiick enough skillful enough to hurt an opposition with their ball use. Scahmmer's courage and heart is unquestionable but, as ruthless as it sounds, even the contest against McPhee he didn't win.

I thought the whole team generally played poorly against a team not travelling all that well. Exceptions were Pav, Sandi, Grover, Solomon, Dodd, Mayne and to a degree Warnock. I thought Josh Carr was serviceable and I like the way Mark Johnson plays. Palmer will be a star but faded under a heavy tag.

Everyone else made way too many mistakes, poor decision making or faded in and out of the game. Even Bell racked up the possies but made a heap of errors. I was surprised at his disposal efficiency and question the statisticians. Some of these guys are young and inexperienced but the rest have long run out of excuses.

Brilliant Post... This ends the argument.