How did the Horde rate Head today...??
I didn't think he was bad at all.
What did you think?
Certainly worth persisiting with...

Yep , He is no macpharlap though.

Tundrawolf
29 Jun 2008, 22:49
Good first up effort:thumbsu:

Certainly shows he has more to offer than others who have been given numerous opportunities only to be found mentally fragile when the going gets tough.

Danlington
29 Jun 2008, 22:52
good effort 1st up, his 2nd qtr was quite good... Still not sure why he hasnt played all year? I mean we've had a fair few injuries especially in the back half and i think he offers alot. Maybe its just his small frame? then again thornton has similar build yet we persist with him

smkwd
29 Jun 2008, 22:54
I saw worse guys running around today... needs to work on decision making a bit though... good raking left foot too, so could be better suited to a sweeper role... Heath Black may find he's been superceded if today's effort is anything to go by...

estibador
29 Jun 2008, 22:58
Reminded me a bit of Ibbo's first game this year. Wasn't scared to get involved but seemed to find the pace of AFL a bit quicker than he could handle.

Definitely did enough to deserve another game though.

NiGHTFuRY
29 Jun 2008, 23:00
I saw worse guys running around today... needs to work on decision making a bit though... good raking left foot too, so could be better suited to a sweeper role... Heath Black may find he's been superceded if today's effort is anything to go by...

Fair point there smkwd....
You may well be right. I am a fan of controlled aggressive and hard players like Black and unlike that tasteless thread calling Black an idiot, I agree he may need to work on altering his match plan somewhat so he dosen't get as much attention from the MRP as he currently seems to receive.
I can see the adavantage of persisting with Head.
Surely there could be room for both Black & Head ??

Chops_a_must
29 Jun 2008, 23:02
The Black Head combination doesn't sound right to me.

chook2734
29 Jun 2008, 23:07

I'd think Black has a lot left to offer too NF. He's contracted for next season and we could do a lot worse than putting him up forward. His defensive skills would be very handy and he will kick more than he misses with that left boot of his.

On Head, thought he did some great things, and a couple of not so great things. He'll improve as he gets more game time and gets used to the intensity. Certainly has the makings of a handy player.

Nodgey
29 Jun 2008, 23:11
Head's game was serviceable. Did enough to warrant another game. He has a bit of height (well, more than Black and Hayden) and got a couple of good spoils in.:thumbsu:

And although you shouldn't really bag a first gamer, as a natural left footer he should have at least scored from that shot on goal he had in the last quarter...

Jumbo
29 Jun 2008, 23:21
great thread title:thumbsu:

peterss
29 Jun 2008, 23:31
He shits all over Thorton.

Thought it was a good first game by Head....Has a booming kick on him aswell. Set up a few goals with his long kicks.

Looks like Freo supporters love Head and Eagles supporters love Cox ;)

raffrox
29 Jun 2008, 23:48
great thread title:thumbsu:
Was thinking the same. Was thinking, what does your missus think of that?

Back on the thread topic... he's definitely worth giving a few more runs.

NiGHTFuRY
29 Jun 2008, 23:51
Was thinking the same. Was thinking, what does your missus think of that?

Back on the thread topic... he's definitely worth giving a few more runs.

Mrs. Nightfury thought Head did a fine job. ;)

Scham
30 Jun 2008, 00:00
Thought he was just ok, but even though he's not young (in terms of AFL careers) I think he has heaps of up side still left and will be very good next year and going forward.

Having said that, I'd bring McPharlin in for him next game.

Latro
30 Jun 2008, 00:10
I would bring McPharlin in for Thornton before Head.

Danlington
30 Jun 2008, 00:13
no hayden next game you would think...so probably still a spot for him...i also think he could play a thorton type role only has better skills...thornton today wasnt disgraced though...

Scham
30 Jun 2008, 00:17
O'Brien in for Hayden, Jonno in for Thornton, McPharlin for Head IMO.

Jetau
30 Jun 2008, 00:43
Must play next week. Can kick the ball 60 metres.

Head >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Grand Canyon >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Thornton.

DOCKER CLINT
30 Jun 2008, 01:41
I'm always impressed by Head.

Latro
30 Jun 2008, 01:49
I would bring Obrien in for Crowley if he cant play.

How long did it take Roger to get over his punctured lung.

Rob
30 Jun 2008, 02:20
I like Head.

For a first gamer he wasn't bad. Not in our worst anyway.

I'm sure Geelong is now planning to see who will get the job on Head.

PapaJ
30 Jun 2008, 03:46
I'd think Black has a lot left to offer too NF. He's contracted for next season and we could do a lot worse than putting him up forward. His defensive skills would be very handy and he will kick more than he misses with that left boot of his. ...

This isn't such a bad idea. A little project for Black and the coaching department over the off season, or even give it a crack this season though one thing that is generally working is our forward zone - don't want to muck around with it too much.

On topic, I thought Head was good for a first gamer. Certainly showed some composure and that left boot is a ripper. A lot of people are making a comparison to Thornton and lucky for the white flash he had an OK game today which will make things more difficult for the selection committee.

I didn't realise just how slight of frame Head is. I saw him once at WAFL level a year ago or so and I thought he looked bigger. Maybe that is why we were waiting so long to see him, they were giving him as much time as they could to get some meat on him.

Like most first timers who come out and show something, he'll probably go backwards a bit over the next game or so and then bounce back up as he gets used to AFL pace etc. - that's assuming he gets another run or two.

rotto
30 Jun 2008, 10:37
Heads decision making wasnt great (1st gamer) but he seemed to do a good job on McPhee and his long kicking is a huge plus for me. Need to see in 2 more games at AFL to make a seasonable judgement.

Marlin01
30 Jun 2008, 12:09
Sounds like you guys think Head adds a lot to penetration.

surfsup
30 Jun 2008, 12:35
Cringed when I saw Thornton in the squad.

When doesn't this guy handpass to someone under pressure?

He looks good when he's running the ball out of defense, but a lot of the time he seems to run himself into trouble then handpasses to someone in a worse situation than himself.
Result = turnover

pinkus maximus
30 Jun 2008, 12:40
it was a good job by head on debut

can't really understand why it has taken so long to get a go though

prattsta
30 Jun 2008, 12:49
I thought he went pretty well for a first gamer. He had a heap of 1%ers (13) and a bunch of tackles (7) as well, which just goes to show how hard he is willing to work. Plus supporters get the opportunity to make Head jokes all day, which is a massive plus in these dour times.

NiGHTFuRY
30 Jun 2008, 19:10
Looks like we'll all get to see if Head is up to AFL. With the injuries to Hayden & Dunn he should surely be given a few matches to play to prove himself.