View Full Version : Mid Year Review
Here's my take on the players at the half way mark. Sorry about the lack of formatting.
1. Luke Webster N/A
2. Josh Carr 4 disappointing. needed to be a prime mover this year.
3. Byron Schammer 6 dissapointing but recent form is encouraging.
4. Haze N/A Such a bummer
5. Ryley Dunn 2 At least we saw him play
6. Dean Solomon 7 Started slow but very good consistently
7. Brett Peake 4 disappointing. Flashes of is best but inconsistent
8. Macca 3 Heart & Soul, bleeds purple yada yada. Should have a good send off.
9. M Carr 5 Congrats on knowing when to put the cue in the rack
10. Rhys Palmer 9.5 Brilliant debut. The best thing about this year. Lose .5 for kicking
11. Des 3 Shame about the injury
12 Brock O 2 No doubt his awesomeness will become apparent later in the year
14. Antoni Grover 7 Some solid work punching above his weight like usual
15 Ryan Crowley 8 Becoming an elite tagger
16. David Mundy 6.5 Some good games but not enough for someone of his ability
17. Mark Johnson 6 Can't fault his effort. Apparently great around the club.
18. Luke McPharlin 8 Superb defender and great rebounder
19. Clayton Hinkley 6 Hasn't looked out of place when given a chance
20 Chris Tarrant 7 Came back strongly from being dropped. Still can't kick goals reliably from set shots.
21. Heath Black 3 Very Disappointing
22. Scott Thornton 5.5 Tries hard but decision making is poor
23. Chris Mayne 8 Not much more you can ask for a debut year. One of our causes for optimism
24. Adam Campbell 3 Not given much opportunity.
25. Stephen Dodd 7 Started the year well. Good stopper..
26. Kepler Bradley 6 Shown a bit. May yet be a very good player.
27. Daniel Gilmore 5.5 Disappointing given his finish to last year.
28. Ryan Murphy 2 Our biggest disappointment of recent times
29. Mathew Pavlich 9.5 What can you say. Close to the best player in the comp. Our Champion. Lose .5 for hitting the post too much
30. Marcus Drum 6.5 Shown enough to suggest he will be a regular first 22 player if fit.
31. Aaron Sandilands 8.5 Dominating games the way we hoped he could.
32. Peter Bell 7 Good without being great. Will he play on? Should he?
33. The Wiz 5 Disappointing. May well be finished at this level. Hopefully not.
34. Rob Warnock 6 Can play. Hope he stays
35. Garrick Ibbotson 7.5 Smooth mover. Can play. Still a bit inconsistent.
36. Andrew Browne N/A Hope we see him before the years out. Can definitely play
37 Michael Johnson 7 Slow start but has shown signs of his best. Very important to out best footy.
40 Andrew Foster N/A Hope we see him next year. Can play.
41. Paul Duffield 3 Don't know what's happened to Duff. Really rated him at one point. Can play.
42. Josh Head 5 OK first game. Should play a few more before the years out
43. Rodger Hayden 8 Has become elite. Should have been AA if he stayed fit.
estibador
2 Jul 2008, 03:27
I'd bump Michael Johnson down .5 but other than that... looks pretty spot on.
NiGHTFuRY
2 Jul 2008, 04:31
Not a bad review at all E :thumbsu:
I'd bump Michael Johnson down .5 but other than that... looks pretty spot on.
I'd bump Thornton about 2.5 down
His last game was pretty good (and you're only as good as you last game right :)
Belnakor
2 Jul 2008, 12:53
I'd give Mcpharlin 9
Rabbitoh
2 Jul 2008, 18:16
Fair call, but I'd give Soloman an 8.
I'm a big fan of Roger Hayden, he is a very good player
pretty much spot on and highlights why we continually lose - not getting enough out of the majority of upper and middle tier players
chook2734
5 Jul 2008, 21:42
Hackdorn has done his own little mid-year review
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23974595-5005401,00.html
He seems to want to delist/trade the very large majority of the list.
Interestingly though, he says that the results this year show Freo are not far off and are on the right track.
I did find this on the weagles review a little amusing though :D
'WEST Coast is in desperate need of goalkicker and a crack midfielder with explosive pace'
He seems to want to delist/trade the very large majority of the list.
Interestingly though, he says that the results this year show Freo are not far off and are on the right track.
I did find this on the weagles review a little amusing though :D
'WEST Coast is in desperate need of goalkicker and a crack midfielder with explosive pace'
Interesting...
The hypocrite was on 6pr yesterday bagging us saying he can't see any progress but West Coast are on the right track
palmer2farmer
5 Jul 2008, 22:05
[quote=E Shed;11578263]Here's my take on the players at the half way mark. Sorry about the lack of formatting.
1. 22. Scott Thornton 5.5 Tries hard but decision making is poor
Should read - Score 0.001 soft as butter, sack immediately
Does Josh Carr still contribute to Fremantle or doesnt he do as much as you would want him to?
chook2734
5 Jul 2008, 22:59
Does Josh Carr still contribute to Fremantle or doesnt he do as much as you would want him to?
Has been very disappointing this year, but did seem to find a bit of form after half time against Essendon. You can have him back for Thompson?
Pav for AA
5 Jul 2008, 23:04
Perhaps if he could keep his feet in the contest their wouldnt be an issue.
[quote=E Shed;11578263]Here's my take on the players at the half way mark. Sorry about the lack of formatting.
1. 22. Scott Thornton 5.5 Tries hard but decision making is poor
Should read - Score 0.001 soft as butter, sack immediately
Haha nice, Chopper shouldve got a 9 IMO, good work tho:thumbsu:
estibador
6 Jul 2008, 03:08
A few that caught my eye:
Clayton HINKLEY: Has shown enough to indicate his pace and run-with talents can evolve.
Garrick IBBOTSON: Bigger, stronger and more consistent and is getting some important minding jobs.
Hack seems to be trying to portray every young midfielder we have as nothing more than taggers.
David MUNDY: A classy mover and ball-handler who has lost his zip, he needs to seriously think about a move back to Victoria.Now this reeks of deliberate destabilisation to me. Conspiracy theory anyone?
What about this one
Marcus DRUM: At best, the versatile utility would be retained as a back-end squad member. Hasn't made the most of limited opportunities.
estibador
6 Jul 2008, 03:31
True Latro.
If Drum was an eagle it would be more like...
Promising KPP showed glimpses of class in between being cruelled by injuries. Important player for the future.
chook2734
6 Jul 2008, 11:32
True Latro.
If Drum was an eagle it would be more like...
If you read those two articles without knowing the results this year, you'd think Freo would be lucky to have got with 100 points of anyone, yet the weagles have been cruising along nicely, struck hard by injury to their superstars, but still developing well.
Even this one
Luke McPHARLIN: One of the most reliable and competent backmen in the competition.
reliable and competent - not quite up there with Harvs assessment of him being one of the top 2 full-backs in the competition.
and this
Brent CONNELLY: Was shifted from West Perth to Perth in the WAFL to enhance his prospects. A long way off.
well, who would have thought a rookie listed, 19 year old 202cm 83kg ruckman would be a long way off?
It looks like Haggers has sat down and done the whole article in about 5 minutes.
FootyEater
6 Jul 2008, 16:08
gilmore 1
solomon should be 8.5
michael johnson should be 4.5
and mcmanus 1
chook2734
6 Jul 2008, 16:56
Obviously Haggers doesn't want us to replace all those terrible players with quality though
Jaymie GRAHAM: Just six mediocre games this season. Should have sought a trade out of West Coast last year. Should consider a move to Fremantle.
I would have thought the last thing Freo needed was mediocrity?
CALIB MOURISH: It's impossible to fathom why he is still on Fremantles list.
Kim Hagdorn your a disgrace and how you can call yourself a specialist football writer is beyond me?:thumbsd:
Angus McFuttock
6 Jul 2008, 21:34
Kim "Crumpet Face" Hagdorn has outdone himself again.
Compare his unprofessional comments on Mourish to those on Eagles rookie Arrowsmith - he must have copied a Gary Stocks press release.
I would have thought Mourish has made significant improvement in fitness and has been a solid player for the Sharks this year. Still a developing player who can be rookied for another year. He may turn out to be a Beau Wilkes after 6 seasons on the rookie list;)
Drum's assessment is a long way off the mark and Brock's is pretty bizarre too.
Pav for AA
6 Jul 2008, 23:04
CALIB MOURISH: It's impossible to fathom why he is still on Fremantles list.
Kim Hagdorn your a disgrace and how you can call yourself a specialist football writer is beyond me?:thumbsd:
Dont see the problem.
Mourish has had two years to play consistent footy for the Sharks, struggled.
I'd still persist for one more year though. He's paid to have an opinion, he's done his job. You're talking about it arent you?
In regards to Brock. My feelings are well known on the kid.
Just dont think he'll make it as an AFL player. Didnt waste a top 50 pick on him so if he cant string some games together at the tale end of the year it wont be a big loss.
Danlington
6 Jul 2008, 23:11
i didnt understand where the brock o'brien comment was from! Hagdorn is a tool, i think i counted 15(?) he wanted us to delist plus another 4 or so that were trade bait... his comments on tarrant were both harsh and unwarranted... and calib mourish is on the rookie list as is connelly they are allowed to still be at least a year away!
The best part of that article was "Freo Big Fellas" contribution in the comments section. Nice work cobber:thumbsu::D
shocking article by haggers, as has been mentioned how do the eagles get a better review when they have been worse than us?
answer he is a tool.
Woosh said he expected a top four finish, they have 16? premiership players and yet they get off scot free again.
brock should and will stay as he has hardly been around, browne will be given a shot hopefully and my buddy drummy just needs to stay fit and be put in the one spot.
as to the rest, unfortunately it seems chris was to soft with the list and we have a heap of middle age players not achieving much, the question is: will a bunch of new recruits do any better than the one's we currently have?
long term you would hope so, short term we may be in for more pain, however a couple more like mayne late in the draft would be handy.
Hope we get ballantyne late in the draft, and is there a priddis type age and caliber player in the wafl at the moment?
Well, based on my interpretation of the shambles that is Hagdorn's writing style this is who he thinks should not be at Freo next year. Stressed "interpretation" because it is not always straightforward to get the underlying point in his comments
e.g. "Adam CAMPBELL: A line seems to have been drawn through this aggressive forward's chances." I assume that means he is gone.
Hope there is a deep deep deep draft based on this!
1. Peter BELL: Gone
2. Heath BLACK: Wants him gone
3. Andrew BROWNE: Gone
4. Adam CAMPBELL: Gone
5. Ryley DUNN: Gone
6. Jeff FARMER: Should be gone
7. Mark JOHNSON: Gone
8. Shaun McMANUS: Gone
9. Calib MOURISH: Gone
10. David MUNDY: Wants him in Victoria
11. Brock O'BRIEN: Gone
12. Byron SCHAMMER: Cut unless skills improve
13. Chris TARRANT: Should be “cut loose” at the cost of $1million
14. Luke WEBSTER: Gone
And special mention: Marcus DRUM: Retained, just.
Well, based on my interpretation of the shambles that is Hagdorn's writing style this is who he thinks should not be at Freo next year. Stressed "interpretation" because it is not always straightforward to get the underlying point in his comments
e.g. "Adam CAMPBELL: A line seems to have been drawn through this aggressive forward's chances." I assume that means he is gone.
Hope there is a deep deep deep draft based on this!
1. Peter BELL: Gone
2. Heath BLACK: Wants him gone
3. Andrew BROWNE: Gone
4. Adam CAMPBELL: Gone
5. Ryley DUNN: Gone
6. Jeff FARMER: Should be gone
7. Mark JOHNSON: Gone
8. Shaun McMANUS: Gone
9. Calib MOURISH: Gone
10. David MUNDY: Wants him in Victoria
11. Brock O'BRIEN: Gone
12. Byron SCHAMMER: Cut unless skills improve
13. Chris TARRANT: Should be “cut loose” at the cost of $1million
14. Luke WEBSTER: Gone
And special mention: Marcus DRUM: Retained, just.
:thumbsu: Big over reaction for a team that really only needed to convert 2 - 3 shots on goal per week to be top 6
Ripp - is it your honest opinion that Freo are just a touch away from being the 6th best side in the comp?
You genuinely reckon you are at that level with just a tweak here or there?
Ripp - is it your honest opinion that Freo are just a touch away from being the 6th best side in the comp?
You genuinely reckon you are at that level with just a tweak here or there?
The stats seem to back it up. IMO it is a case of so close so many times , not so close but yet so far.
We have been in a position to win every game bar one this year at 3/4 time , hardly the stuff that requires tearing the place down and starting again.
For the most part the "process" has been quite good, far better then 2 wins indicate.
pinkus maximus
7 Jul 2008, 18:34
Marcus DRUM: At best, the versatile utility would be retained as a back-end squad member. Hasn't made the most of limited opportunities.
he's trolling
NiGHTFuRY
7 Jul 2008, 19:34
Lets have A freo board BF mid year assessment on 'Haggers'
Kim Hagdorn - compostulator extrodonaire. Attempts to be seen to saying something newsworthy when in fact giving us nothing. Critcism is rarely construction, or makes a sound point or even accurate.
Slanted and biased and rarely takes the blue n' yella glasses off.
This fact is recognised by more than just Fremantle supporters.
Regurgitates the same material. Tired. Picture should be attached to one of those funny "Fail" pics for good value. Should think seriously of retirement or perhaps a trade east.
Anyone else want to try.
dont bowl there
7 Jul 2008, 19:50
The fact that he thinks Tarrant has been bad enough to cut loose at a loss of 1 million dollars shows Haggers football intelligence. Then to say Ash Hansen's best is right up there with the best in the comp! He has a career high 4 goals Haggers ya ________.
In fairness, these are the Eagles that should/will be cut in the magical world of Hagdorn.
1. Steve ARMSTRONG: Last chance.
2. Michael BRAUN: Gone.
3. Chad FLETCHER: Should be gone.
- Also, there is a hidden message in his write up on Chad Fletcher. He calls him a "decorated warrior". Now, who is a famous decorated warrior from history? That's right, William Wallace with his blue face paint. Otherwise know as "Braveheart". And what happened to Fletcher in Vegas? His heart stopped... is this Haggers putting in print what is widely believed but never proved about the Vegas trip? All signs point to yes.
4. Jaymie GRAHAM: Off to Freo.
5. Mark NICOSKI: Trade
6. Matthew SPANGHER: Gone
7. Brent STAKER: Trade
8. James Thompson: Gone
Special mention: Chad Jones: Maybe, not a long term option
samseenee
7 Jul 2008, 20:28
Adam Campbell is a keeper. Harv's has given Murphy a go. Hasn't shown enough. Thinking Harvs will give Kiwi a go in the 2nd half of the season see how they compare and move forward.
Freo Big Fella
8 Jul 2008, 00:37
The best part of that article was "Freo Big Fellas" contribution in the comments section. Nice work cobber:thumbsu::D
I do my best.
I have plenty of Haggers stories courtesy of a relative who played for Midland-Guildford around the same time. Unfortunately libel laws forbid me from repeating them.:(
Angus McFuttock
8 Jul 2008, 01:26
A old schoolmate of Haggers once told me that "crumpet face" realised he was naturally unpopular as a kid and so he decided to play to his strengths ever since.
nesski47
8 Jul 2008, 14:40
I do my best.
I have plenty of Haggers stories courtesy of a relative who played for Midland-Guildford around the same time. Unfortunately libel laws forbid me from repeating them.:(
actually, while i don't condone you put these storied in print (for evidential purposes!), it can't be defamation if the stories prove true. :p